Jade Yamada MUA - Anyone tried her for AD/Solemnization?

weddingdoll

Oh. for me, i went for a trial (paid $100) for it after the trial. all went well, i like the makeup and hairdo etc.
she told me she will reserve my AD date for me for 1 week, for me to consider if i wanna hire her as my AD MUA la. so i replied (email) her after the 4th day of my trial to say i would like to engage her.

so i Ibank transfer her and she sent me a softcopy of the reciept.

mspinkychloe

This is really crazy, getting pissed over nothing? Her working style is different from other makeup artists. But each makeup artist are entitled to their own working style. Give her a break man!

I asked to meet up with her over a cup of tea, but she rejected. Citing work reasons, which is I can understand as she works for an agency, she reports to a company. Not like other freelance makeup artists that are pretty free.

And yes, this is her reply via our email correspond she only meet up for trial session because she "will submit our email to her agency to request time off or leave." She works for a company so everytime must be accounted for. she also said trial can try out the makeup and hairstyle to see if you suitable or not.

Like Doll, I went for a trial, paid her via interbank for my deposit and yes she send me a softcopy of the receipt.

erxin

chey I thought wat happen, don't like how she work, move on to the next makeup artist lor. not as if she uglified you or what.. xiao ti da zhou.

comatised

Hi Happily 3,

Am very surprised that you had a bad experience with Jade because I had a really nice experience with her and she is a very sweet lady! Very responsive and responsible lei. And have confirmed her as my MUA for AD.

Maybe somehow your characters clash or something. Move on and find a MUA that you like and can communicate with!

erxin

erh, i somehow feel my response abit ahlianish. heehee opps. after seeing lai's replies. my apologies.

happily13

I didn't want to have a trial as I have confident in her with all the extremely good feedbacks from Doll and Chloe. But she refused to meet up as I wanted to pay the cash deposit to her. Is there any freelance MUA here that do not accept cash deposit?

Yup, I agreed she is really busy, will take up alot of her precious time by meeting up. Hence, it makes me wonder will she be rushing for time again on my AD if I engage her?

She also refused to disclose her agency name. But I thought the receipt will bear the name of her agency? Oh, so is only after I paid, then I can know the agency name? Something suspicious here..

In addition, her attittude is bad as she sarcastically said that if I feel uncomfortable with bank payment, I can engage other MUAs. I still have all her sms messages with me.

Anyway, thanks for her advice, I will engage either The Make-up Room or pretty box artists as I feel safer to pay my deposit to a professional make-up studio. I can also meet up with my MUA before the AD and not on the AD if I am not having any trial.

erxin

Anyway why you want to know who she work for? i have a copy of her receipt. it said there, "all artisans affliated to this company, reserve no right to represent the company in any forms" she does freelance work, outside her permenant fulltime job. maybe that's why she dont want to disclose? Besides, I dont see any point in wanting to know her agency name.

To me, she was not sacastic when i was talking to her. in fact when she couldn't make it for my wedding photoshoot, she told me to have trust in local makeup artists as she believe they got the skills too. Definitely not sacastic like you said.

Anyway since you are not engaging ms jade, no point talking here since this thread is about her skills and all.

happily13

Hey, I will paying my deposit thru bank transfer first and you mean I do not have the rights to know the name of the agency that I am paying to? She mentioned the receipt will be issued by the agency. But can only be sent after I pay her first. Sounds very dodgy.

Meiling, this is a forum where all BTBs can share with all, their reviews or feedbacks on Ms Jade, not only on her skills, but her working styles and attitude too.

erxin

The deposit is paid to her. Not her company. I think you need to get that right. No point arguing. Like we all said already, if you don't like her working style, move on. She request interbank transfer, you not happy, move on. so simple. don't talk until like she did a major harm to you like that. Dodgy or not, I don't think it's right for you to comment on that.

happily13

But how come you have the company receipt if the deposit is paid to her?

I just wanted to feedback here about her working style and attitude, is this not allowed? I guess sharing negative feedback about Jade Yamada is not allowed here, since she has SPOKESPERSONS here, haha..

erxin

i'm not her spokesperson. i was trying to clarify certain issues you got it wrong with her and now you are being sacastic. i don't think there is any need for me to reason out with you. waste my time.

mspinkychloe

chill gals! Happy13, since you found another MUA, good for you. btw, receipts are given only after you paid. not before you pay. silly here.

pls stop arguing already. no point since there is no end to this. as long as we feel comfty with ms jade, that is good enough. k?
shall we organise a outing for manicure?

happily13

There are no issues that I have got it wrong with her. I have all her sms replies.

My posting here is to highlight to the rest of the BTBs that she has very "special" payment method and her attitude. But my posting in this thread received alot of defensive remarks for this negative feedback about her. Ok, only good feedbacks about Jade Yamada in this thread

mspinkychloe

she request deposits via interbank transfer. is that wrong? that's her working style wat. i enquire some MUAs, also say the same thing. so wat's so "special" here?

i'm not speaking for the rest of the brides but i think it's rather unfair to discredit her just because she request deposit via interbank transfer.

whatever it is, if you got a problem, just direct it to her instead of complaining here and rec'd no conclusion.

happily13

She is special as below:

1) She does not accept cash deposit by meeting up, insist on bank transfer. Other MUAs accept cash deposit by meeting up. Can't get to "see" her in-person, only appear on AD (don't know whether will appear after paying deposit). Unless pay for trial make-up, then can see her.

2) Don't know whether the deposit will be paid to her own pocket or agency. But receipt issued by agency. Will not disclose agency name before you pay the deposit.

Just summarized her specialities. I do not need to have conclusion here, just highlight for the rest to take note.

kiasubride

hmmm... i got no problem with her leh. just like the other brides, i paid her on the spot for the trial and deposit. she said will email me receipt next day. then next day i got it.

no problem in communicating with her too. she helped me alot in colour combination for my gown, bouquet. so just a big misunderstanding?

oh yeah our big day more important. i'm so worried on my actual day out of my nervousness, i tremble alot..very paiseh leh!

weddingdoll

happily13 (happily13)
actually her working style is not "special"

previously, i went for a trial makeup with another MUA (singaporean).. and I paid her after the trial and when i decided i want her, I Ibank transfter her.. and she didnt issue my reciepts too.. but.. i got jade as my AD MUA in the end, cause the first MUA I hired, got pregant. hence cant make it for my AD
actually its quite common to IBank transfer MUA the deposits..

we are not spokesperson for her, rather we are trying to find out more and dissusse. so chill okay?

and by the way, happily13, I think its better to have a trial, because what suits us might not suit you. and trial is for u to have a feel of her skill, do u click with her, do u feel comfty with her and most importantly, will her makeup product give you breakouts etc (which i doubt so, cause her products are quite high end, Channel)..

weddingdoll

happily13 (happily13)

I understand what u are driving at cause u feel unsafe transfering $100(the deposit) to someone you haven met before right? So by all means, go for a trial. its only $100..
its really no use gathering 'feedbacks' on forums cause like i said, what suit everyone, might not suit you?

and Jade is the 3rd MUA I hired and yes, almost all MUA have the same payment method. Which other MUA have u asked /enquiry ?

and, if ur so suspecious of the MUA (talking in general), so what if you know the agency name? If someone is out to cheat your deposits, she can jolly well come up with a fake agency name right??

i think to hire a MUA, one need a certain amount of trust. Trusting the MUA's skills and her character. this applies to engaging any other MUA (not only jade) as well...

comatised

RELAX...Take a deep breath...let's not forget our objective i.e. being the prettiest you can ever be during your wedding. So I think we should move on lah...anger only creates more wrinkles!

I chose Jade because i) she is charging affordable rate and ii) i totally clicked with her even from our 1st email correspondance. Hence as mentioned it's surprising she can be sarcastic. I mean, I sure she also wants more business right?

If considering those professional companies with professional payment method then I guess have to be prepared to pay more?

happily 13, take your point that you didn't have a nice experience with Jade. But I guess some people just cannot click with certain people. Don't take it too hard lah...

It's Friday tomorrow...let's end Thursday nicely in preparation for TGIF!

happily13

I have checked with 2 MUAs and they accept cash deposit and will also appear in-person to meet me. For example,

1) Well-known MUA, Liren Neo, with contract signed after paying the cash deposit on the spot, fair enough.

http://www.lirenneo.com/enquiry.html

2) Trainer MUA, Cincelia Tan, will issue me a receipt after paying the cash deposit during meet up.

I have yet to check with others like bobbie from The Make-up Room or Pretty Box. Will let you know.

I do have the right to know the agency name before I make the transfer. Whether fake agency name or not, I have to give her the benefit of doubt.

weddingdoll

it didnt cross my mind to even ask for the agency name. cause .. there is a difference between freelance MUA and company MUA..

if you are more comfty with more well-known MUA, to each her own.

I had just wanted to clarify that jade's way of dealing is not "special" cause that how alot MUA operate, even the well-known ones. those that you mentioned, are from a certain company, hence they operate a different way..

but actually, its not much use to just meet up the MUA. like i kept saying, you really have to have a trial with the MUA to test her skills. this is money that cant be saved. So what if you meet her, give her the cash and she issue you a real reciept

she can still 'run away' and not turn up during your AD right?

erxin

wah the debate is still going on! hee... come on, nevermind liao lah, happily13 is getting other makeup artist liao, not getting jade. so no point debating liao.

Doll, i tried explaining the same way as you, but she don't get it. what to do. like what you said, you must at least have certain degree of trust in the MUA right? don't need to compare lah, all got different working style wat. cannot assume everyone suit your way.

Lai, i remember jade got tell me before coz I saw her agency logo on her receipt. she works for them fulltime, but on weekends, local brides are her freelance work lah.

so funny, we should be more concern about her skills, now we talking about her agency. haha!

happily13

Cincelia is a freelance MUA although she also have her agency. Both welcome me to meet up with them before paying the deposit, see my gown, discuss my preferred styles before paying,

Anyway, just don't understand why can't meet her up and pay her cash deposit. And the mystery here whether the payment is make to her or her agency.

erxin

..... it's no more a mystery since you are not engaging her anymore. different working style ok? duh.

weddingdoll

really is duh. since u had decided to not engaged her, where is the mystery?
The only mystery is why u so INSISIT she is "special"

READ CAREFULLY

YOUR MONEY, PAY to JADE.
She is <u>FREELANCING</u> AS BRIDAL MUA
She is FULL TIMING at the AGENCY

Since ur so stuborn to insisit she is dodgy, then DO NOT hire her.
My god, i m GLAD i m not in service industry. Else I have to face careful people like you. Thank god.

happily13

COOL DOWN DOLL!! U seems very agitated with my comments on Jade,

Ok, lesson learnt here, no bad comments on Jade Yamada in this thread here, all brides to take note, if not will be scolded, haha...

weddingdoll

*roll eyes*
what a STUBORN insisit on her own way woman.
doesnt understand it even 4 or 5 people are trying to explain the same thing over and over to her. duh.

cymk

Hi gals.. i juz wanna share that i juz had my trial with Jade. She's great!! Timed the trial before a wedding dinner so relatives and htb got a good look and had good reviews. Only the hair a bit off.. but i guess it's bcos my hair too layered... but other than that.. it's FABULOUS!! Can't wait to be made up by her on my ROM =)

p/s: I was chatting with Jade and found out that she's working for a magazine and not a make-up agency so I guess you can't compare her with other MUAs who are attached to agencies like Make-up Room or Pretty Box.

weddingdoll

my AD was over more then a month ago and I love my evening hairdo...! here's a pic~

by jade of course.. one wonderful thing about her is, she is super on time. when she say 6am, means 6am sharp. =D

1338801.jpg

1338802.jpg

l was wearing a DIY birdcage veil.

Just to feedback about Cincelia Tan, since some of you have mentioned about her... Just wanted to share about her service which i feel was not good. Anyway, Ms Cincelia is a bridal makeup artist and also does selling some makeup products from her company. What surprised me about her "amazing" service was that she would make an appointment to meet up with you, then say that she didnt bring the items.

And of course, i would be very upset. After travelling so much to meet her, she says that she doesnt have it with her. Should have said earlier right?

Therefore, i would not even want to engage her makeup services as well... Where has her credibility gone too? I find it hard to trust her again.