Israel anyone?

elmo2109

I will be going to Israel & Egypt in end May.
Need to hear from those who visited these countries to share their experience with me.
Thx in advance.

bao_bao

Hi Elmo,

I have always wanted to go Isreal and Egypt, but safety there is always a concern, esp Isreal. You are quite brave to plan a visit in Isreal admist these chaotic times. Are you really just going there for leisure or for religious reasons. Care to share?

och

hi elmo,

many islamic countries in the middle east do not allow visitors with israeli stamps on their passports to enter their country. i believe egypt doesn't either, so do plan to visit egypt before israel, rather than the other way round.

mtdt

hi elmo,

i went on a backpack trip to egypt, israel, greece and turket but that was a long time ago, back in 1998!! but i must say tat it is a great trip...

Egypt -
First stop was Cairo - of cos all the famous plcs like the pyramids (must watch the laser show at nite), museum etc is a must go.

Spend 1 day at Alexandria, but find tat it is nothing much...

then took a train up to Aswan,
of cos must visit abu simbel!
And definately take the nile curise... it will bring u to edfu, ensa, kom ombu, luxor, karnak and valley of the kings.

after tat, we took a curise across red sea to
Sharm El Sheikh. (climb up mount Sinai and see the sun rise, very pretty!!!)

from sharm el sheikh, we went across the borders to Israel - eilat.

Israel

Eilat - the first town, sea side place, very modern. nothing abt war, or bombs is mention here... just like a resort.

went upwards to dead sea... then to Jerusalem.
old town and new town etc... spend 3 days here too

then went to Tel Aviv. another modern town. from here i took a curise to another greek island.

I still have the hard cafe Tshirt at Tel Aviv.
heard tat the shop is closed already.

hope tat this gives u a preview of the two plcs that u r going...

sailor_p

I went Israel and Jordan with my church two years ago (2004). It's a beautiful place. It's awesome - and I believe it's a choice you'll not regret.

In Israel, they accept US dollars and major credit cards. So, not to worry. Always make a point to visit Dead Sea from Israel side as scientist cound that the ingredients from Israel side contains more minerals than other countries surrouding Dead Sea. Try to get Ahava Dead Sea products - the handcream is good!

Israel is safe. In fact, this is a good time to go as not many people are going and you get to enjoy sightseeing without other tourists around (unlike popular places like Australia, NZ, etc).

och

hi mtdt,

i'm interested in visiting egypt too. may i know how did u travel between aswan n sharm el shiekh?

angelbb

Hi elmo2109,

Israel is beautiful! And very peaceful too. I was there 2 months ago... went to Tel Aviv & Dead Sea, followed by Jerusalem. If you wanna see some picts, I've got some uploaded on http://community.webshots.com/album/117706140GCcjVf

for more info, you can try browsing on http://www.sareltours.com (pronounceD Sar-EL tours) They provided guided tours in Israel, though I'm not sure whats the charges like. Many of their tour guides are messianic jews, and they will be able to tell you sooo much about the beatiful land. So one thing I do advise, is gotto read the bible before you go sightseeing. Really.
But trust me... it's worth it.

starfruit

U will need a seperate passport to enter Israel. Singapore immigration will only issue u the passport when u have a valid and confirmed itineary/airtickets to Israel. U can use the Israel passport when u are in israel, when u cross over to egypt, u can switch to your singapore international passport. U can go apply for your visa (both egypt and israel) once u have both the passports.

sailor_p

Hi Freesia

For Jordan, I only visited Petra, the rose city. But's it's really manificent... unbelivable! From Jordan, I went to Israel by land. Jordan contains vast pieces of wasteland - makes me aware of why the children of Israel moans and groans during the 40 years of wandering - it takes God's grace to survive there for 40 years.

I stayed at Marriott Petra - beautiful hotel in the midst of a waste land. Early morning, we can looked across the valley to see Aaron's Tomb.

Oh yes, we visted Mt Hor where Moses put up the bronze serpent. Eye-opening experience. Awesome!

sailor_p

Hi Freesia

I went to Jordan and Israel at the height of suicide bombing in 2002 March with my church. For Jordan, we do see a number of groups from China and US around. There are less people at Israel. However, it was very safe and we don't see any bombings till we switched on TV in the hotels!

mtdt

och,

at aswan, i took the nile curise that stops us at luxor. then from luxor, we took a bus to a port and took a curise across red sea to sharm el shiekh. sorry tat i could u give u the details as it was many years ago..

And yes, must get a separate passport when going to israel. abit messy... when i leave egypt, chop at the old passport to indicate you left egypt, then chop with the new passport at the israel custom. Same thing when leaving israel.

I remember tat I left israel on a cruise to greece. Their custom is just a table , side by side, so have to hold two passport on hand... first israel's leaving chop at the new passport, and immediately, next step is the entry chop for greece... very messy...

We wanted to go to Jordan - Petra too, but we spend too many days in egypt, so have to forgo jordan... so sad about it...

freesia

Hi sailor_p
Thanks...I am planning to go Jordan next month...however now hesitating to proceed or not due to the recent happening in Iraq and today's news on Jordan, those bombs being found....
Any advice from you on visiting the place?

starfruit

Hi Freesia,

Have u confirmed ur trip to Jordan. With the recent unrest around the region. I am not sure if its that safe to travel to jordan now.

2 most visited place in jordan includes anman and petra. So how many days are u planning to stay in jordan?

sailor_p

Hi Freesia

Not to scare you but my church also organised trips to Israel this year - however, they take up the Jordan component.. heard it's for security reason...

elmo2109

wow so many postings. :eek:)

actually the trip is organised by my church(once in 5 yrs). My pastor knows a female chinese tour guide at Israel. This lady has been staying in Israel for more than 10 yrs. Her job is tour guide but her calling is to share gospel with the Jews. So basically quite safe lor.

The trip is $3300 per pax (13D11N), staying at 4 star hotels.
by SQ(transit at Dubai then to Cairo) and all meals are included(BLD).
We will go Cairo first then to Jerusalem then back to Cairo. We won't be stamping on the passport.

I'm quite excited on the pyramid, float on the dead sea and ride a camel. hehehe...

sailor_p

Hi Elmo

R u from city harvest? My beautician is from City Harvest and would be joining her church to visit Israel in June.

Heard Ho Yeow Sun visits her salon... but haven't gotten the opportunity to see her... hee hee... enjoy! Do buy dead sea products...

starfruit

hi Freesia,

So what have u planned for the 9 days to Jordan.
I think u can spend a few days in Amman and as for Petra, 2 days max is enuff. U can complete the Petra site within a day. Guides can be arranged at the entrance of the site. The park closes on Sunset each day and is u start your tour in the morning, u would complete it within a day. U can then stay a night at a hotel near the petra site(there are many hotels near there, u can even book online) and move on to other location the next day. It's a nice time to visit Petra now as its dry and not muddy as compared to the winter/spring period.Its easy to get around Jordan and language is not a big issue as most of the ppl can speak english.

Is this going to be a DIY or packaged tour?

I think tourism in the middleeast region has generally declined over the last couple of yrs due to the unrest in the region. u just have to be very careful when u r there and not get caught in places where there is a hugh crowd.

starfruit

Hi elmo,

Its a long journey from Cairo to jerusalem. It takes 6 hrs by car from Cairo to the Israel borde and u will need another 4 hrs by car/coach from the border to jerusalem. Will u be flying or by coach/car? and will u be staying a night at jerusalem? I think u will still need to stamp on ur passport if u r entering israel to visit jerusalem, Ite best to get both passport ready before u embark on the trip.

freesia

Hi Starfruit
When did u last go to those places? Do you know how long it takes to clear the visa process when we reach the airport over there?
Besides avoiding crowds, is there other things to take care of? How are those locals over there?

sailor_p

Hi Freesia

Do be careful of the guys there. For me, I was in a big group. You will notice that the ladies in Jordan are very conservative. As such, Singapore ladies like us, even "wrapped" up in jackets and jeans are considered "open" in their eyes. They got quite "excited" to see us. For example, when I was in Petra, we had a horse ride (with the jordan guys holding to the horses) - some of them would be curious to find out about us - but they're still quite well-behaved. They will make comments like "Are all singapore ladies so beautiful?" - I mean the tone of the voice made us uneasy... just ignore them.

freesia

Hi sailor_p
So u would advise that we girls should try to cover up in long jeans and shirts right? and wear dull color clothes? I'm only afraid of hot weather....

elmo2109

I'm not from city harvest.
thz starfruit for your concern. I'll be staying overnight at Egypt then to Israel.
Day 1 Cairo -> Day 2 St Catherine -> Day 3,4,5 Jerusalem -> Day 6,7,8 Sea of Galilee -> Day 9,10 Dead Sea -> Day 11 Cairo

bao_bao

Hi Elmo, Sailor, Freesia and Starfruit,

I am also thinking about going for a Middle East tour, particulary Isreal, Egypt and Jordan. Care to share with me a travel agent that is experienced in Middle Eastern tours? It is really exciting reading about your experiences and seeing the photos!

Many many thanks! : )

starfruit

<font color="0077aa">freesia</font>: I am not sure how long the visa clearence process at jordan takes. Guess it all depends if there is a crowd.
I agree with sailor_p that the men at jordan will try every opportunity to come and talk to u. As for the horse/donkey ride at Petra, i also have friends who gave me feedback that the local guys who try to help u mount will linger their hands on ur legs when they help u up the donkey/horses etc. Its quite yucky and u just have to be more aggressive and tell them to move their hands if it makes u uncomfortable. I didn't experience this cos i got my hubby to help me up the donkey. U want want to get ur friends to help the girls before they get up on the horses/donkey themselves. Its best not to dress too revealing. And if they try to talk to u, u can also just smile and ignore them.

<font color="0077aa">elmo</font>: so will it be a very big group that will be going?

<font color="0077aa">baobao</font>: sorry i cannot help u cos i didn't arrange the tour, it was done by someone else in my group.

elmo2109

10-20pax in my group, well we also welcome other churches to join us. So baobao if you have 4k, then you could join us too.

freesia

Hi Starfruit
Thanks for sharing...It'll greatly prepare myself on what to expect...
I'll be travelling only with my hubby with an accompanying local tour guide from Jordan. The trip has been pre-arranged by our tour agency.

Hi Bao_Bao, I happened to be at the last Natas fair, and passed by the agency that offers tours to these uncommon places...Agency name is called: Transnix

bao_bao

No prob Starfruit! Thanks Freesia. I will check it out!

Thanks Elmo! When will you be going to Isreal? I have to discuss with my htb first, we are holding our wedding next March, so may have to look at finances first. It can be an expensive trip so have to plan properly.

starfruit

HI Freesia,

I have some friends who went to Anman and feedback to me that Petra is the only place worth visiting and that there is nothing much at Anman. This is just for ur reference so dun be too affected by it ok. As such, i only arranged to visit Petra after hearing their feedback. Anyway, I am sure ur local tour guide will show u more intesring stuff at anman and other parts of jordan. Of and tipping is kinda "required" there. Its best to carry US dollars. U can use US dollars or Jordanian Dinars ( their local currency). We carried mostly USD and changed our USD into JDs when we were clearing the custom. Its useless to hold onto ur JDs so make sure u spent them all before coming back.

jazzyboy

There's really no problem with the passport. You can ask the Israeli immigration NOT to stamp or chop on your passport, they will understand. And there will be no records that you ever went to Israel. I went there late last year and one week after that I went to Malaysia.

elmo2109

I just came back from my trip. It was an awesome trip, enjoyed it so much :eek:))
Israel is heaven(cooling, green, great scenery, peaceful, friendly) while Egypt is like hell (hot, poor, deserted).
Israel didn't stamp on our passports. They are very careful.

freesia

Hi elmo!
Wonderful to see you here, I've also just back from jordan last sunday...I assume we were just next to each neighbouring countries at the same time?

elmo2109

I dun see any terrorist threat there leh. People there live a normal life. It's as developed as Singapore got shopping centres, KFC etc. The dead sea is superb, dead sea prodicts are a must buy. Israel has very good steak and BBQ peter fish, yummy. You will fall in love with it.

stpeter

Hi I've heard so much asbout your trip to Isreal.
I know that a special passport is required to travel to Isreal. Does this mean that once you leave Isreal, you'll have to surrender it back to the Singapore authorities?

stpeter

Hi I've heard so much asbout your trip to Isreal.
I know that a special passport is required to travel to Isreal. Does this mean that once you leave Isreal, you'll have to surrender it back to the Singapore authorities?

stpeter

Hi everyone out there,
For those who have been to Isreal, Please tell me more about the passport issue as I need to prepare myself for my impeding trip to Isreal. Heard it's quite a hassle.
Care to share, anyone?
Thanks so much.

daystar

been some time since anyone posted in this forum.. but i been to Egypt, isreal and jordan last dec and it was a great trip! =)

Weather was fanastic, people were quite nice, food was alright too!

cuppacinoloves

Hey m

Planning to go there too , hows the experience? would it be a place where ouples would enjoy themselves? like , it is a ideal place for honeymoon?haha , i am pretty excited about honey moon already x)

rainpod

Hi, I have some leftover (not a lot) of Egyptian Pounds and Jordanian Dinars. If interested, please email me at rainpod#yahoo.com.sg (replace # with @). Thanks.

quency

The Upper Galilee is gorgeous and if you are into hiking, there are beautiful places.
Tsfat is also a beautiful-powerful-spiritually challenging place, it is very special and is definitely worth a 1/2 day-1 day.
You can live without seeing Akko in my opinion, especially if you have nothing to do in the area.
The Dead Sea is a must, amazing scenery etc you'll love it.
And the nicest beach next to Natanya is Beit Yanai.
Enjoy!

dixie08

I used Isram Tours 8 years ago to Israel and they did a very nice tour.
We will probably be going on the tour with Israel Tour Connection this May.
Feel they both will be fine.