Intercontinental Singapore

vernica

thank u so much pompompurin.

now can relax a bit before starting other 'idea's
hhee

poyo

Hi, i'm new here... thinking to hold a luncheon at IC too...have liased with Jane thru phone and email, havn't meet her thou. She is so packed with appts..

Btw, any of you had a wedding lunch at IC before? I mean how's the food? Only heard lotz of the ballroom (will be gg down this wkend to view ;p).

kidnomore

hey ladies, just wondering has anyone checked with IC if to add on an additional dish, say veggie, how much do we have to top up?

pls advise. thankew!

edea_12

Hi Kidnomore,
I did asked Jane about additional dish for lunch. But she told me that for lunch, she'll recommend just 7 dishes. coz it'll be very heavy.
She suggested that I consider about it after food tasting to assess the portion. So currently still stick with 7dishes first. Will consider closer the date.
Actuali i'm also keen to know how's the food at IC? I mean the dishes on the menu are pretty standard wedding dinner stuff.. wondering if anyone hv feedback on the food.

calumon81

Dear all, just held my wedding dinner banquet at IC on 28 June 2009... All I can say is PERFECT!!.. From many of my guests, they commented food, service, ambience are good =)
Hotel staff are great too... It was like a magical princess-like wedding... Thumbs up to all who have contributed to a wonderful memorable night at Intercontinental Singapore. Many thanks to the hotel staff, event/hotel manager, Stephanie, chef, waiter/waiteress, Wedding Harmony, Truly Harmony, Harmonica Band, Jason, Danny, Kelvin Soo, Pamela, Bright Studio, Ada from Martini-G, Oxford Tailor etc ...
Special thanks to JP Mr Jude Yeo, all the jiemei, brothers and Guests

kidnomore

thanks adea, guess i will also assess the portion during the food tasting to decide if i wanna add another additional dish.

hi calumon, gd to hear your wedding went so smoothly! congrats to you~
kao_wedding.gif

edea_12

Hi Calumon,
Congrats to u...
Good to hear that the food was great! I love the ballroom & ambience.. but havent hear much feedback on the quality of the food, so was kinda worried.
I know Man Fu Yuan food is good.. but you know la, when it comes to banquet, then the quality will usually drop abit...
Thanks for your feedback!!

poyo

calumon> congrats! and so glad to hear your good comments.
Going to view the ballroom later and meeting up with Stef this cuming Thur, hope veri thing is smooth...
Anyone has any comments on the perks given @ IC? Strict?

edea_12

hi poyo.

i found them pretty strict when it comes to negotiating for more stuff. My fren was telling me for conrad, it was so easy for her to get more free carpark and rooms etc.
For IC, what you see on the brochures is what you get.
Mayb i not very good negotiator also la. I very mild one.. haha.. not aggressive at all. Maybe others have better luck.

poyo

edea> I heard the same thing as in they are strict on their perks. I went to Marriott, their co-ordinators are all sweet and accomodating (havn't meet up with Jane and Stef thou..hehehe)..
But, the IC ballroom is gorgeous!!! err..pricy thou...

gingoh

Intercon's ballroom is really very nice and grand...but their wedding coordinator doesn't seems very friendly or keen (at least the one i met)..i went to Conrad and the vibes i got there was so different...now im torn between the 2...sigh...

paultina

i signed up with IC during their wedding show about ±2months ago.. and yes, they are strict on their perks, u can't really nego for more. At 1st I was serve by a Manager, & she also doesn't seem keen, it was a straight "NO" answer from her whenever i tried to ask for extras peak or an exchange. i almost didn't sign up with IC due to her, but luckily i met Jane(co-ordinator). Although Jane also didn't give me extra peaks, but she is very much more helpful and her advise and answers to me shows that she is much more experience. I have only met Jane twice and had a few conversation with Jane over the phone and email, so far so good. Let's see how it goes..

Anyone knows when was this current theme(Timeless Classic,Magical Dream...) introduce? my wedding with be in March2010, i wonder if there will be another new theme out before my wedding.

Hi Calumon,
I still can't decide which theme to choose.
do u think u can show me some photos of ur banquet set up?

My email: [email protected]

Thanks a lot!

dreamer11

Gin Goh> how diff is intercon and conrad? I was about to sign up with Conrad till i chance upon intercon's reviews and decided to view it before i confirm with conrad. i saw the pics of intercon ballroom and it's really very beautiful.

I have viewed four seasons, pan pacific, conrad, mandarin meritus and marriot, conrad's service won me over. in terms of perks they are also very sticky but service is really good.

Maybe i would make an appt with intercon as my last one to decide. What's your view on the two?

calumon81

Hi edea (edea_12), prior to my wedding, there are various comments about the food and services. Some say good,some say not good. But definitely, the chef that we met during food tasting is good. I should say good service. He let us try additional dish at no cost as we intended to change one of the dishes. In general, my guests gave good comments on the actual day food, esp the Fish (though for some dishes at random table, the quality may differ slightly due to mass production =p)

calumon81

HI christina (paultina), you may want to ask yr coordinator to provide dates for actual wedding with different themes. It is always good to see the actual thing. On the pic, to be frank, you cant really decide.

calumon81

HI dreamer11 (dreamer11), from previous wedding banquet that I went to or met up with the respective coordinator, personally Conrad, Pan pac, 4 seasons, goodwood and IC were my top choices. I was confused too... Most important, think abt the number of tables, food, budget, convenience to the guests, wedding themes/deco, ... finally is the "feel" ... I fell in love with IC ballroom.. =)

calumon81

My husband and myself are glad that IC has high service level. My coordinator is Stephanie, who is friendly and my husband can chat a lot with her. Jane is helpful too. She assisted us promptly when Stephanie is away. Ravi, think is the head, is great. My husband said that he is impressed by the way he talks and handle things =)

Hope IC can continue to provide good and consistent service.

All the best to all of you. Be a happy bride ^^

richgrace

Hi hi!!

I am also torn between IC, Goodwood and Pan Pac.

I like IC's ballroom and suite. Love Goodwood is romantic and cosy. While Pan Pac price is reasonable.

All got good food reviews. Any advise for me?

candymix

hihi all, im still pondering if i should take IC..am quite off by their attitude..or maybe i should speak to the head, who has a greater control of things?

im trying to upgrade the menu and with all the topups, i render i should get more stuff or greater rebates on the topups but they are quite sticky about it..and they even wanted to charge me more for a change in dessert, which is a very simple yam paste..

feel tired having to negotiate many things with them because they refuse to extend wedding show privileges to me and the perks are very minimal compared to the others..

can you all advise? my current coordinator is jane..

edea_12

hi candymix,

my current coordinator is jane too. In fact i just met her today to place the deposit.

I totally understand what u mean. There are many other hotels which u can negotiate more perks.
So end of the day, mayb u wanna weigh between cost & venue lor.
Like I was telling my HTB tat IC cant negotiate much stuff leh. Coz i always hear stories of how u can ask for more perks etc... I was feeling the same way as u. Rather frustrating.
But he says he likes the atmosphere & IC ballroom. So he will go for that over the cost.
Overall Jane has been helpful. So probably is just IC policy to be so rigid lor.

Maybe u want to just go to a few more hotels to check out their package and services before deciding?

candymix

did anyone manage to wringle anything out of them at least? or exchange anything?

im upgrading the menu, thats why all the more i feel frustrated...

vernica

may i know what are the perks that you ladies are thinking of neg for?

cos i didnt neg for anything. saw many other hotels and thought it was quite standard and same for all...

candymix

I'm not sure abt wedding show perks but for the normal package, there was no mention of sound system usage, no dry ice for march in, 2nd night stay, and its either x bottles of wine or x barrel of beer but its or here, u got to pay for the other..

Other hotel package includes all these, genuine cake for u to eat, cocktail canapes, corkage waiver..even free flow beer for some..

Even though u may need it, its there for u to exchange into other things..

blueystar

I too took Intercon for next yr Oct.... I guess in a certain extent, they r quite rigid... but overall, my co-ordinator, Amy is nice too... if Jane's too busy, u can try to look for Amy.

the reason I took Intercon is we were overwhelmed by the Ballroom. Both of us like colonial style and after comparing with Goodwood, we decided Intercon's for us.
My friend did tell me she's pissed by a co-ordinator to an extent that she blacklisted the hotel even though i tried to referred her to mine. I guess it really depends on whether u r more tou yuan with the person anot.. ..

the reason i took intercon is becos the ballroom is exclusively urs on tt day, near the public transports and most importantly, the no. of tables fitted nicely to wat we r looking for and is within our budget... I guess it is wat BTBs shld consider... hope it helps....

edea_12

Hi candymix...

I agree with blueystar. The reason for me choosing IC was similar.
But candymix, u shld feel happy and comfortable when deciding on the venue. Coz you wouldn't want to sign & place the deposit, then regret later. coz you feel somewher else would hv been a better alternative.
I almost sign with another venue (restaurant) earlier but i started having 2nd thoughts and the feeling just din seem right. I tok to my HTB and we decided to look for new venue. I was quite worried bcoz i only had 9months before my wedding. & venue stil not confirmed!

As you have seen from most of our feedback are that they ARE quite rigid.
I will be doing luncheon with them. And I've gone through the contract just the other day.
The sound system is not an issue because it is all in-built and there's free usage of LCD projector which some hotels actually require you to rent. But no mention of dry ice.
Definitely no free 2nd night stay. I asked for an additional room at discounted rate, they also say cannot. They ask me to try booking online for better rates.

I think there is a genuine cake for u to eat and Corkage waiver is negotiable.
The other thing i really like abt IC is the different wedding themes they have and the wedding favours for each theme.

We can only share our opinion abt IC & the experience with you. So ultimately you need to weigh your options before deciding.

vernica

agreed with edea.

u mus be comfortable and happy with the venue my dear. you will be dreaming of it the next 18 months or so.

talk to your coordinator should u have any doubts or questions. Jane is always very prompt in replying emails.

:D

selina79

Hello BTB,

I am an ex IC bride. Held my dinner last yr.

Overall it was really a very good experience. No regrets at all..from the ambience of the ballroom, to the food, service , suite etc.

I noticed some of you have the same fustrations as me in terms of the perks. Personally i do agree that they are very rigid in terms of perks when other 5 stars hotels are offering better perks and cheaper rates per tables.

I really love a lot of things in IC.
Anyway i just follow my heart and signed up with IC.

Just curious, what is IC 2009 pricelist for saturdays ?

2010btb

Hihi IC BTBs,

I am also very keen to book luncheon for IC next year! Could anyone kindly share their package with me? [email protected]
Just want to know what is negotiable on their side. Booking of banquet is such a stressful thing....

2010btb

Thanks vernica,

I actually have the standard pricelist already. Just want to check what is still negotiable on their side besides the items in the pricelist. Or nothing is negotiatable? Could anyone enlighten me? Thanks thanks.

paultina

i have also sign up wif IC during the wedding show for 27tables.

I got complimentary 2 x 30litres barrel of beer.
Plus another Complimentary 30litres barrel of beer or 13bottles of wine to choose.

I have no idea how much will my guest consume. And was wonder if i should choose the Complimentary 30litres barrel of beer or 13bottles of wine.

Can anyone share his/her experenice with me? estimate how many barrel of beer are open during your wedding?

Tks a lot!

selina79

Hi Christina

Actually nowadays ppl seldom drink beer. That's why for my wedding in dec 2008, for one of the perks ,we opt for the 13 bottles of wine instead of 30 litres of beer.

We bought 4 ctns of wine from a external supplier as wine from IC was very ex as compared to other 5 star hotels.

Ss your AD falls on a weekday or weekend ?

Mine was on a weekend ( Saturday). To my surprise , the guest consumed a lot of wine,so we had to order additional wine from IC @ SGD480++ per ctn. I am not sure what is IC beverages current pricelist for 2009.

Anyway do rem to ensure that there is waiver of corkage for every confirmed table.

edea_12

I oso find nowadays most ppl prefer wine over beer. Most of my frenz say 1 barrel of beer is enuff. So Christina, since you already got 2. I think you should get wine instead of 3rd barrel of beer.

vernica, personally for me, i was hoping to get more complimentary carpark, as many of my family and frenz drive. And my fren was telling me Conrad was willing to give unlimited for her. But IC is non negotiable.
I was also concern about waiver of corkage, which they do have waiver for every confirmed table. And as mine is a luncheon, so I guess, prob 30bottles of wine should be sufficient.
hmm... other perks i was looking at was mayb like a discounted rate if I book extra room? coz was thinking about booking for my parents.

2010btb

hi vernica,

I am most concerned with waiver of corkages and free barrel of beer... the rest like extra rooms and extra parking coupons are just nices-to-have.

Do you think I can ask them for the wedding show perks when I meet the coordinator?

gingoh

Dear all, I have been thinking about the 2 hotels and I am still undecided! haha..

It's really a tough choice..IC's ballroom is really nice and spacious, Jane's email replies are always very prompt..but conrad's service is simply superb..perks wise, conrad wins hands down too...its ballroom vs service..and I WANT BOTH!!
sigh..

selina79

Hi Christina

No prob. Just sharing my past experience with current IC brides.

When's your actual day ? How's preps so far ?

ardente

Hi girls, my wedding is incoming (2months+). My coordinator is stephanie and what some of you mention is right, they do seem somewhat rigid. In fact, its totally opposite from my ROM lunch coordinator (Ivah from Marriot Hotel) who was totally nice and make me feel at ease all the time.

Intercon i feel is all business like.. not much personal touch or personal effort from the coordinators. However, the reason why i chose intercon is because of its restaurant (Man Fu Yuan) which I like very much and I'm quite sure the quality of food will be great.

When i signed up, I managed to get a 2nd room night free.... however, not the same room as the bridal suite but another suite called straits if i'm not wrong.

But I think it really depends on your package. Meaning how many tables, whether weekday or weekend (I think they want to fill up their weekday slots so perhaps they will be more lenient and give more perks). For me, I upgraded my menu as well bcos the standard menu looks really lousy to me.

All in all, I will let you all know in 2 mths hows the experience haha.. can't really tell now.

Good luck to all BTB!

kidnomore

hello all IC couples, wanna check where do you all go to for printing of wedding invitation cards?
Is there like a template for IC if I choose not to use the recommended printer from IC?
I can also print on the invitation card itself, not necessary to use insert, right?

Thanks all in advance.

selina79

I went to T-dragon to print the inserts because
IC recommended printer is located at East area. Really out of the way for me.

Tel : 62928338
Excelsior shopping centre #03-23
( Near cityhall mrt, adjacent to Funan Centre IT mall)

You can opt to print onto inserts or print onto the cards. You just need to bring a pc of your wedding invitation card to the printing co, the printing co will do it for you.