Intercontinental Singapore

kidnomore

yeah yeah, pls share with us on the food tasting experience & which food item do you all like best.

ztcheong

I think both sides of the family have to agree on what's in the menu. so later then decide lor.
But in general, i think man fok yun serves very good food. So there is nothing to worry about.

wiggie

We are seriously considering hodling our AD at IC. Would just like feedback with regards to the parking situation on weekends, since the carpark is shared and Bugis is a pretty popular/crowded place. Does it take driving guests a very long time to get in?

ardente

Im not sure how it'll be like during weekends. BUT I went to bugis a couple of Saturdays ago and I remembered telling my fiance "good thing our wedding won't be on a sat" because we had to queue for about 20 mins to get into the carpark

Good thing was that we went there at around 8+ so perhaps at 6+ not so bad?? I'm not sure but it will be better for you to "beta test" it yourself

piinkplatypus

hi!

im holding my wedding at IC 2nd half of this yr but booked it last yr at last yr's rate. But coz i booked last yr, now i dunno wat the current themes look like..

anyone has any photos of 2009 themes or comments abt the themes? im wearing white wedding gown n red evening gown.

tks!

kidnomore

hi pink, if u wanna match yr red evening gown, then u might want to take a look at their oriental splendour theme which has red as the main color.

the other themes:
timeless classic - blue & ivory
magical dream - pink & ivory (i think it's with ivory)
oriental splendour - red & gold
mystique allure - black & fuchsia

you can actually go to IC website to have a look at their color theme. as to how the deco. looks, u'll hv to talk to the coordinators there, they'll show u the theme deco.

hope these helps!

ardente

i've not decided what theme as well hehe. Thinking of either the magical dream or the oriental splendour

I really raelly like the mystique allure but I think my in laws will faint at the black table cloth theme. You know lar... old ppl don like black! :|

calumon81

Timeless Classic (Ivory and Baby Blue)
Magical Dreams (Pink and Brown)
Oriental Splendor (Red and Gold)
Mystique Allure (Black and Fushia Pink)

FYI
I went down to IC to check out the new themes:
For timeless classic - Ivory roses with Blue "crystals"

For Magical Dreams - Pink roses with Brown "branches"

Not sure if we can select the colour or the type of flowers. Will be meeting the coordinator soon.

piinkplatypus

tks ppl for ur input! =)

i think better to go down to IC during someone elses' wedding to c what the themes actually look like.. cant really picture haha

hi calumon, may i know usually how early ahead of ur AD do u hv to meet the coordinator? tks!

kidnomore

hey calumon, u thinking of changing the flowers to a different type? i think mine comes with white roses (to match the theme probably).. but i'm thinking of changing it.. let me know what yr coordinator says, ok.

hey pink, yeah, u can check with the coordinators there to see if there're any wkend weddings coming up with which theme, then u can go have a look. and yup, i agree with arddy, the mystique allure is nice, something different & special, BUT of coz it's the older generation that might have objections to having black as the main colour theme...

kidnomore

hey elmo, we've all tried, it's nooooooooooot e~a~s~y to bargain for addition perks. the ic coordinators have 101 reasons to "defend" for not giving the addition perks we wanna ask for.

but well, u can try though
, let us know what's the outcome, ok. good luck to you!

chuababy

hihi elmo, it is hard to bargain for more, but you can always exchange items which you dunid for something that you want. for me, tiffany vouchers etc are items which are not a necessity, so i exchanged for more wines.

ardente

i managed to get an extra night stay the night before... i didnt do much bargaining also, just ask them if possible and they said they can arrange for me.. but i think its not the bridal suite but doesn't matter lah

kidnomore

hey arddy, that's cool. who is ur coordinator? so urs is one night in bridal suite, the other extra night in the normal guest room?

and i dun hve the tiffany vouchers as well, i think those are the 2008 packages, if i am not wrong. ;-)

ardente

mine was stephanie chua, yeah 1 night bridal suite (actual night), and the night before in some other smaller suite.

I think if you haven't placed a deposit, you can try asking them for it?

all the best!!

kidnomore

oh! u mean the smaller suite was given to you the night before your AD? so both u & ur hubby stayed in the hotel prior to your actual day? wow..

thanks, i'm going to try my luck too~

kidnomore

orhhh... hahaa, i thot yr wedding over oredi, arddy.
congrats to u, oct bride.. another 6 more months to go!!

hey elmo, yeah parking is another headache, though i think they will hv enuff parking lots, it's the "trying to get into the carpark during weekends" that is a killer.. hv u seen the long car queue outside the hotel, it's
kao_dizzy.gif
i think i will hve to ask my guests to come really early liao.

calumon81

hi Pink, maybe abt 3mths before AD to discuss further on the theme, food-tasting etc...

Hi kidnomore, not planning to change the flowers... white rose/pink rose is fine.. most importantly is the ambience, service and food... * wink*

kidnomore

hahaha calumon, i totally agree with u
ambience, service & food and most imptly, my guests will enjoy themselves on my wedding day.

candy

Has anyone had their wedding or has seen the Bugis Vault? I am having a small scale wedding and thats the place they recommended. Any feedback on this? Thanks.

kidnomore

hi candy, bugis vault is located at the basement of the hotel (if i am not wrong, went there before to take a look at their smaller function rooms).

personally i'm not comfortable with holding my wedding at the basement.. for yourself, if you are having a small scale wedding, i think you will hve more options on having it either at restaurant or other hotels (with their function rooms on the normal level rather than basement)

else, you & yr ftb can go there see see & decide if you like it or not.

just my 2cents.

candy

kidnomore,

I did went down to see. Its a little mixed feeling about this place. And after thinking what you said, i do agree with what you mean. Afterall its a wedding, you will want to hold it big and grand. If its a birthday party then its ok to have it there :p

Thanks for sharing.

kidnomore

hi candy,

Yup, coz to me, wedding is a once in a lifetime thing... I decided I don’t want to have my wedding at a basement after attending an ex colleague’s small scale wedding (also held at the basement of another hotel). I dun like the feeling, & the reception area, I find, is not bright enough..

So I thot, if any brides here are willing to spend some parts of their savings on hotel banquet (be it small or mid scale), I wld strongly advise having it on the normal level than basement.

So, all the best to you & your htb & hv fun in yr wedding preparation.

hi diane,
mine is the '09 package, min. no. of tables for '09 lunch is 25. not sure if it's already out, but u can email the hotel coordinator for the '10 package.

chuar77

I have the following items for sale.
These are bought last month, thus in very new condition.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 9 bottles, $70 each

2) Chivas Regal 12 yrs, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $55 each

Please email to [email protected] or sms to 91106030 for enquiries now!

zhanglilian

I went down to Intercon to take a look at their themes le. Torn between the Timeless Classic & Magical Dream. My bf prefers Timeless Classic. But actually all these not important cos it depends on the gown you are wearing.

edea_12

Ya,
I've seen the themes too.
Mine will be a lunch so likely going for softer colors like Timeless Classic or Magical Dream.
But most prob will go for the Magical Dream. The pink so sweet...
You decide on the theme then can get gowns to suit the theme.

edea_12

By the way, any of you had a wedding lunch at IC? Planning to do lunch, but they only have 7 course, you think it's weird? Although I feel, usually by the Rice/Noodle dish & the dessert, most ppl are already very very full & cant eat much. But wondering if it's ok.

mille0702

Hi edea,
My bf & I also dun like to have 7 courses,is better to have 8 or 9.Auspicious number.Haha.We juz ask them to add one more dish to make it 8.Maybe u can add vegetables or something light.

pompompurin

hello vernica! i'm a regular slient reader of this thread before i signed up with the other hotel. i really liked intercon's ballroom. tough choice making the decision you know.
i'm glad to hear that your coordinator is jane. she was the person i liaised with. she's good, highly recommended! i'm sure your big day will go very smoothly with her around.