Intercontinental Singapore

acepolaris

selina, thks for sharing ur experience. I have signed up IC during bows 2009 but was thinking is it a wise decision? After hearing from you, I can rest assure I have picked the right choice.
But I was able to bargain for 1 bottle of wine per table & 50 litres of beer. Wanted to ask for free flow beer but can't.

selina79

Hi Poloris83,

You are lucky. Mine was on a weekend, so it is not possible to bargain for 1 bottle of wine for every table. I only have 13 bottles of wine from hotel. Balance i buy from outside wine supplier

Yr AD is on a weekday or weekend ?

ztcheong

hi polaris83,

u managed to bargain during BOWs? did u choose weekday or weekend? lunch dinner? i thought they don't allow changes

kidnomore

hey ztcheong, thanks. hopefully you can find the brochure, i wanna see what they offer at the BOWs.

kidnomore

hi calumon,

if i remember correctly, the themes & wedding favors are as below:

timeless classic - magnets
magical dream - luggage tag
oriental splendour - jewellery box
mystique allure - letter opener

harvestyellow

If I am taking a friday package what can I bargain for? Their wines and beer package are really not as good as other hotels. 13 bottles and 30 litres only...

only 60% invitation cards and 20% parking...

lv17

went to hotel intercon earlier, their ballroom is lovely! min. table is 27, i wanna do a dinner on a smaller scale, so have to exclude it from consideration.

Those of you here taking hotel intercon, all taking the grand ballroom?

selina79

>>> Hi LV17,

Intercontinental only have one grand ballroom which makes it stands out . Cos during that night you will be the " One and Only" couple holding your wedding.

lv17

hi Selina,

Agree with you on this, but it does not preclude the fact that some may hold their WD at their smaller function rooms. Like how they have been proposed to me to take up their other rooms as my budgeted tables is less than 27.

when is ur AD?

selina79

Hi LV17,

i didn't know that for weddings with tables less than 27, they actually propose couples to hold their wedding dinner inside function rooms. Not that i ever heard of.

If you click on my profile, my AD already over liao. It was held during Dec 2008.

Mine was held on a saturday, thus minimum no. of tables was 35.

Which other hotels you are looking at ? Are you particular with customory date ?If no, then i think you will have more choices...

Maybe you like to clarify regarding the function room, does it means that they actually partition the Grand Ballroom into a smaller function room ??

kidnomore

i dun think it means to partition the grand ballroom into smaller function room, coz IC has other function rooms besides the grand ballroom, but they're located at the basement...

lv17

For scales that are within the capacities of the function rooms, IC does provide the alternative of holding them in those rooms instead. But its too small, and i dun like the idea that those are function rooms.

Selina, any comments on ur AD at IC? weekend, your cost per table must be very costly.

honey_greentea

Any idea that whether IC has a garden or poolside that we can have our lunch reception there? am hoping to have a garden/poolside wedding

charwly

i forgot to ask the coordinator when I met her to sign the contract, but do they provide the Ang Bao box or must i go get one myself?

kidnomore

hi greentea, i'm not sure if IC has a garden or poolside that you can have yr lunch recep there, but they do hv a patio (for solemnization), but you have to pay for the usage..

hi char, ang bao box should be provided in their wedding package (if u signed their 2009 wedding theme, at least for mine it's included), but no harm checking with your coordinator.

kidnomore

hi char, no problem, glad to be of help.

does anyone know, from past weddings u all hv attended, or from yr own wedding, do guests consume more red wine or white wine?

selina79

>>> Hi LV17,

You may like to refer to my previous email reply to Wolkom on the comments from the guests.

As for my table, its $948++ per table based on previous pricing. Not sure what is the current pricing for year 2009.

honey_greentea

hi kidnomore, thanks for the info! have u seen the poolside view? isit nice and cosy? i'm afraid it would be hot if holding a lunch buffet there..

kidnomore

hi greentea, sorry can't help u there, i hvn't been to the poolside, neither hv i been to the roof patio...

& yeah, u're right to say it would be hot to hold a lunch buffet there, coz it's outdoor.. plus the weather is pretty crazy now, so there could be rain...

unless u can bargain to hv free usage of the roof patio, i wld rather go for indoor dining if i were u. (just my 2cents worth)

ztcheong

hi Kidnomore,

i think typically weddings, they serve beer and red wines right. anyway some packages in IC only come with either or. u have to pay for the extra if u want to have it on ur AD.

kidnomore

hey ztcheong, yeah i was thinking in that case, should i get more red wine or just get extra white wine will do, what's the trend now? red or white wine more popular?

hey greentea, yeah, i dropped the idea of having my rom at the rooftop patio after hearing we've to pay for the usage (cut cost, cut cost... haha). indoor has air-con, more comfy for my guests.

hey suzy, for lunch, it's min 25 tables. for dinner on a sat, it's min 35 tables.

lv17

hi kidnomore, actually white or red wine depends on ur menu, altho in the strictest sense, both wines dun really complement Chinese cuisine. So you have to guage the general wine drinking habit of your guests, if they are not fussy, you can stick to just red wine for simplicity; if they are rather cultured wine appreciators, then you can include white wine as it tends to go better with fish, prawns and chicken the typical dishes in a typical wedding dinner menu.

lv17

hi Suzy, kidnomore is right, the min tables in IC on a weekend is higher, i.e. 35. I have about 20 tables too, but cos mine is a weekday, so min tables is 25. Am hesitating whether to increase 5 tables to have my dinner there cos i really like IC overall. But a table there is not cheap, n if i were to invite 50 more guests, i will have to extend my scope of invitation to not as close frens and distanced relatives, of which absentism rate and chances of loss from them are high. Dilemma.

porgee

hi IC brides.. i just had my wedding at IC in jan and i am still left with quite a no. of bottles of red wine left.. anyone who is keen to purchase can email me at [email protected] rest assured that these wines are the original ones provided by IC..

kidnomore

hey lv17, maybe u want to take a look again at your invites, probably u've left out some pple, then u can hv 25 tables for yr lunch banquet liao
*kidding!* haha.. but seriously, per table in IC is not cheap, and their rate is double +, not nett, so plan carefully lor.

we're also trying to cut cost - not so close friend? --> cancel off.
anyway, in my own opinon, wedding is supposed to be celebrated with really close friends & relatives, if not for other factors, we wld hv it as a small affair.. best is those sit facing each other in a looooong table kind of setting.

rockofice

Anyone know how much is IC charging for weekday banquets? Are the perks and service good? Is the kitchen from the hotel's chinese restaurant?

lv17

kidnomore, agree with you on celebrating with close friends and relatives, thats y im keeping e dinner a small affair. looks like i really have to forgo IC.

those looong tables, some country clubs have it. but not easy for guests to mingle during the meal.

ardente

I should be having my wedding in IC. Went down to speak to the coordinator and she emailed me the contract already. However, I have 1 week to make the deposit so i'm still keeping my options open.

IC is $838++ per table on weekdays (mine is on a Monday) and $1088++ on Saturdays.

They have very pretty themes and matching wedding favors / table decos / stage decos/ flower stands. The ballroom is also gorgeous.

I know the food is good because it comes from the chinese restaurant there and I've tried before. however, I felt that the weekday banquet menu is only so-so. Nothing creative, unique or fantastic about it.

I have the Oriental Mandarin's menu and for $828++ ($10 cheaper), its menu is much more spectacular. The quality of food also comes from peach garden which is oso good.

However, i much prefer IC's other stuff 'cept food. Oh no what a dilemma. I have 1 week to decide :|

wiggie

Any idea where Public Holidays fall under? It seems as though they have revised the prices and categories since the last time I got their brochure.

kidnomore

hey lvl17, actually long table setting not difficult for guests to mingle around, can walk about & talk to each other, kinda like free & easy style (if u know what i mean).

hey arddy, i supposed yrs is a 8-course dinner banquet right? IC has only 7-course (incl. dessert) for lunch... 7 is kinda weird if you all ask me..

joof

Dear IC brides, anyone has completed their wedding or food tasting for 2009 menu? Could you share with me what are your fav dishes? email me [email protected]. me going for food tasting soon, headache on which dishes to select.