Intercontinental Singapore

jernelle

Hi Bubbles,

All the best for ur wedding today ! Congrats !!

kim_angelyn

Hiyee Babes,

Thanks for the well wishes.

Some hiccups in the morning.

But everything else was great on that night! Our guests commented on the good food, services and ambience!

The ballroom looks magical that night!!! (^.^)

Geez... starting to miss that day liew, hee...

kim_angelyn

chuababy,

Yep, a fantastic night we had! Alot of guests when I asked them about the food, all had smile and commented its good. And they said service was attentive too.

Nope, I'm using the current theme, Whimsical Magic.

kim_angelyn

germaine,

Yes, I'm especially pleased that the hotel laundry department managed to clean off a huge stain on my WG. This was one of the hiccups in the morning when I dirtied my WG during outdoor shooting. You see, I was leaning against our wedding vehicle as requested by our PG, and there was a huge oil tyre mark on my dress, can you imagine how upset I was during later part of the day, thinking I'm gg to wear that during the night... sob sob.

It was then that my sis suggested to seek help from the hotel laundry department and they promptly helped me to remove the stain, charging us a nominal pressing fee only. (^.^)

chuababy

wow bubbles....i am impressed with the hotel service from what you had mentioned...

Hi Selina, congrats on your big day too!

selina79

hi bubbles and chuababy,

thanks for the well wishes too.

By the way , we received good feedbacks from the guests on the quality of food , ambience and service.

There are even people asking for contacts for the wedding favours. In fact for our wedding favours , we used the ones provided by the hotel.

Guests also commented that the serving of food was fast and security was tight

Very tired physically after the event. We just checked out this afternoon.

>> Bubbles,

I don't know leh. I can't believe that i am suddenly married.

i feel that the wedding is gone in just a flash.. How i wish i could go through it again.....one day is really not enough.
How about u ???

By the way, is your gown MTM ? Cos i am in a dilemna , thought of buying back my MTM night gown. i spent a lot of time to come up with the design.

When i returned back the gown the next day , i was very upset as this gown is of sentimental value to me ..

Few of my gf including husband all discourage me from buying back the gown..

selina79

Hi bubbles,

By the way , we were not given the voucher upon check-out. We did enquire about it and was told that voucher is not ready yet.

How about u ? Did they only gave you the voucher on another day ?

kim_angelyn

selina,

I have exactly the same sentiments here. One day is really not enough and I wanna go thru it again!!! I missed walking down the aisle lei... hee...

Nope, my WG is OTR. Returned liew but kindof miss it now.... My EG is MTM and can bring home.

How much is your MTM EG going to cost if you buy home? If its within your budget, I think you should buy it for keepsake purpose. You can always alter it short the next time and you can get to wear it again. But if buy WG, then its not practical liew... as it takes up alot of storage space & you won't get to wear it again...

kim_angelyn

selina,

Are you refering to the Swarovski & Tiffany Vch??? We had requested to have it before our preweddding photoshoot, as my hubby then wanted to get the matching earrings for the necklace from Swarovski.

As for the Tiffany vch, we used it to offset for more wedding cards.

Do check with Stephanie.

Btw, you got 2 nite stay also right? The bridal suite super big & spacious hor, kekeke...

charlenefmj

IC'S BRIDES LIST

1. Married man - 22nd February 2009 (Jane)
2. Agnes - 08th March 2009 (Stephanie)
3. Huilin - 14th June 2009 (Stephanie)
4. Calumon - 28th June 2009 (Stephanie)
5. Caro - 11th July 2009 (Jane)
6. Jernelle - 1st August 2009 (Jane)
7. Grace - 12th October 2009 (Stephanie)
8. Cynthia - 24th October 2009 (Stephanie)
9. Emily - 7th November 2009 (Jane)
10. Chuababy - 15th November 2009 (Stephanie)
11. Charlene - 22nd November 2009 (Stephanie)
12. Wangy - 5th December 2009 (Jane)
13. Germaine - 6th December 2009 (Jane)

chuababy

hi selina, wow, i think the most happiest thing to a bride is to hear all the nice comments abt her banquet....your guests will always remember how great ur wedding is!

btw, u mentioned security was tight.....eh....meaning?

I had a fren who attended IC wedding before, he mentioned that the no of serving staff seem not enough....is that true? cos i understand the ratio of serving staff to no. of tables is 1 to 1.5

selina79

Hi Bubbles,

Your package so good ? They allow you to take back the MTM gown ? How much did you pay for your package ?

Consists of 1 OTR and 1 MTM ?

My package consists of 1 OTR and 1 MTM gown.
But i can't take back the gown unless i top up. Anyway , i was very upset when i return back the ball gown. They quoted me 1.8K then i asked for better offer.
They reduced to 1.6K

So how now ? Really dilemna..

Ya , for the voucher i am referring to the swarovski voucher. I think they really forgot to prepare it and when i asked for it during the check out, i was told that it was not ready. I think Stephanie forgot to prepare it. anyway i am going to call her and arrange to pickup this sat.

Ya, the room is very very big..we stayed for 2 nights.

selina79

Hi Chuababy ,

My gf told me that she saw 3 guys standing looking towards the reception area . Then the event manager happened to look there and the 3 guys walked away shortly.

I only know from others that the serving of food is efficient and the banquet ended just in time..

Cos i was very busy going up and down the suite changing into my 2nd gown.

selina79

Hi Bubbles,

For my night gown it not possible to cut short.
because there are swirls on the lower portion of thw gown( just below my waist area)

Anyway i just have to think think again loh...cos i don't want to make a rush decision.

If cannot alter, would you buy it back as a keepsake ?

kim_angelyn

selina,

Better remind Steph again, as I know she is damn busy in Dec loh. She mentioned that she alone handles 20 weddings in this month....

Woww... were those 3 guys strangers? And targeting at your AP box??

My pkg was about 3k if I didn't remember wrongly. The downside was no tea-dress included. I forked out additional 500 bucks to make my own CS as tea-dress.

Babe, sorry to say this, but seriously its kindof ex to buy back the EG at 1.6k. I was thinking if its a few hundred bucks, then still ok de.

But then on the other hand, if it really means alot to you with sentimental value, and its within your means, then go ahead and purchase it, as you wouldn't want to regret in future or have grudges against your hubby that he doesn't let you purchase it.

Moroever, you can't really measure memorable keepsake with $$ value....

Alternatively, how about negotiating further with your BS? And suggest to pay in maybe 3 installment or so...?

Sorry, guess I ain't of much help either. ;p

selina79

Hi bubbles,

Its ok lah. don't have to say sorry about the comments. I also feel that they charge quite a lot for the gown. Maybe they want to make some profits out of it. Furthermore the material they used for my gown is not the best material. It is just normal satin.

Re the voucher , we will remind steph on it again.

anyway thanks for sharing your thoughts.

snowwhite09

I am an IC bride on 15/10/09!
I am just wondering about the bridal suite as me and my htb did not have a chance to view the suite.

Wondering how to executive bridal suite looks like. Any pictures to share?

charlenefmj

IC'S BRIDES LIST

1. Married man - 22nd February 2009 (Jane)
2. Agnes - 08th March 2009 (Stephanie)
3. Huilin - 14th June 2009 (Stephanie)
4. Calumon - 28th June 2009 (Stephanie)
5. Caro - 11th July 2009 (Jane)
6. Jernelle - 1st August 2009 (Jane)
7. Grace - 12th October 2009 (Stephanie)
8. Cynthia - 24th October 2009 (Stephanie)
9. Emily - 7th November 2009 (Jane)
10. Snowwhite09 - 15th October 2009
11. Chuababy - 15th November 2009 (Stephanie)
12. Charlene - 22nd November 2009 (Stephanie)
13. Wangy - 5th December 2009 (Jane)
14. Germaine - 6th December 2009 (Jane)

pompompurin

i'm considering intercon too. but i cannot get hold of the coordinator there. can anyone share with me the cost per table and any min table to meet?

graciebum

Hey everyone,

Its so nice to know that there is a thread for couples getting married at Intercon!

Can I ask how the experience is like ah? It sounds like it is a good experience overall. My wedding liaison is Stephanie and I'm looking towards Nov 14th or 21st. Still working out details with her.

I'm looking at a lunch banquet though.

Could i ask you guys, is the package pretty flexible, like it can be customised to what the couple needs or are they pretty strict on what they offer?

Stephanie really seems very busy last month and this month! Hope we can confirm it soon!

Your experiences are appreciated!

angelmh

i am interested in intercontinental too..

but i'm hearing mixed reviews of this hotel.. can any ex-brides who hold their wedding to share their experience??

i'm attended by ivy and she seem pretty nice and easy to nego stuffs... anyone attended by her too?

precious_11

Hi Angelia,

Intercon is taking part at the BOW which is taking place this weekend and they are having promo for their packagaes... go check it out if you are interested.. coz i think its more worth it to book at the fair... i know the weekday packages for Sept 09 are $80 cheaper per table + another 2 complimentary tables...

Hope the above is useful..

angelmh

cher> thanks for the info... been to the bows2009 and saw their new theme that's y shortlisted them.. however, i'm hearing mix reviews that's y hoping to hear from other brides that had held their wedding here b4..

pearlypearl

Hi, can anyone send me the package for year 2010? Or does anyone have the coordinator's contact??

I greatly appreciate your help!

Many thanks!

acepolaris

hi, u can look for ravichandran (director of events). His ofc no. is 63387600. Spoken to him at bows2009. Quite a nice chap! Their current package is only until March 2010. He mentioned 2010 package will be out aft CNY.

kidnomore

hi all, i'm wondering what is it that we can "bargain" with the hotel for the banquet? did you gals ask for it & manage to get? coz i've signed up with hotel intercontinental as well, but me & fh din bargain lei..

do u gals think we can still get what we asked for now that we've paid partial amt of the deposit? (we're gg to pay the remaining amt for the deposit when the coordinator calls..)
kindly share yr experience with me, pls.

kidnomore

hi yuyan,

i din bargain at all, so got all the normal stuff as stated in the contract.

how ar, did u sign up with ic? got 'bargain' for more perks?

porgee

hi everyone, my wedding banquet at IC just ended yesterday.. as my guests did not drink alot, i am left with 16 bottles of red wine (hardys collection).. if anyone is keen to buy some of the wine.. pls email me at [email protected]
rest assured that the wine is the original given by IC..

chewpig

ya i did sign up. quite hard to bargain and also the staff were saying different things at different time. like one was saying got auspcious date charge then confirm dun have..
they keep on emphasizing how much i am saving. my package was a friday then they treat it as a weekday. u got waiver for wine?

chewpig

Hi Ice, nice pics u got there.. i was shown a suite and the bedroom was abit small but the living room was BIG.
what's the name of the suite u are staying?

blueystar

I signed up at BOWS too.. . I asked for increase in cards and carkpark coupons onli.. . not much though like additional 5% or so ... . the main attraction is the price cos seems like they r givi the last yr's price and the complimentary tables r gd as well.. ..

kidnomore

hi yuyan,

woah, if yr package is a friday & they treat it as a weekday then not bad right? coz usually fri is considered as weekend mah? i got waiver hard liquor, but not wine maybe coz there is already complimentary wine per confirmed table liao. =D

hi ice,

thanks for sharing picture of the suite, i'm still wondering how does it look like. is this the bridal suite? which floor is it located?

cheers.

chuajianye

hi people,

i'd gone down to Intercontinental last Sat (17 Jan) to look at the ballroom. My WTB and i liked it. Can anyone give any feedback on:
1) Preferred coordinator,
2) Perks to bargain for,
3) Condition of bridal suite
4) Food quality and serving size
5) Banquet manager and waiters' service?

Thanks in advance !!

chuajianye

One last thing, my WTB and I have searched the Lunar calendar for auspicious dates in OCT-DEC 2009. But we'd also found another list online which is slightly different. For example, we found 17 Nov and 1 Dec as good dates for marriage, but the list we found online do not have those days, whereas 2 Oct, 16 Oct and 5 Dec are common auspicious dates.

Can anybody share your experience of finding a good day please? my WTB and I will not be using our birth-dates. Prefer to keep it simple. Thanks

angelmh

Chua Jianye (chuajianye)> not that i know of and i believe most of the couples will go to a shifu "count" the dates for them.. they will base on the couple's birthday, both parents and siblings's birthday as well to advise you on the wedding date.

graciebum

hey you gals,

Do any of you know whether the 2009 package comes with the voucher that was mentioned? Cos there was no mention of it when we met her.

charwly

hi,i'm thinking of having my wedding lunch and solemisation at intercon. anybody did anything or planning something similar? am wondering where they do solemisations there. wonder if anybody has done it at the double volume space outside the ballroom before?

kim_angelyn

char,

I had my solemnisation at the foyer (outside the ballroom) before my dinner started. No cost incurred. I'm sure no problem doing that for luncheon.

Alternatively, you may explore having a smaller function room or at the roof-top patio. But not sure how much the cost are.