Intercontinental Singapore

hi woo83fy and Rainbow
speaking of the free drinks, everytime go to the wedding room to discuss, i paiseh so just ask for plain water. haha next time go down i must order juices or soft drink at least.

I saw the wedding flavours for the 4 diff themes. Which one do u gals like best? Personally I like oriental splendour's wedding flavour. Whimsical magic is a keychain and coaster still not too bad. Charming elegance has the aromatheraphy pillow and the soap crafted in roses. Opulent desire has the photoframe and i believe alot of guests esp the guys don't wanna receive photoframe. haha...

do u gals and your hb drive there to meet the coordinator or take mrt/public transport? my HTB always drive there twice liao, but never receive any complimentary carpark coupon from Intercon coordinator before. been to other hotels last time to check yet they remember to give complimentary... wonder issit their practice not to give?

rainbow79

Hi gerbera_gal,

Have u tried asking from yr co-ordinator for the complimentary carpark coupon?
I think we also paid the parking ourselves leh...

darkwing79

mei you leh, The last time I was there with Stephanie, din give automatic. I think have to ask.

kena chop by Bugis's Parking. Before 5pm / 5.30pm, Chop once then after chop another time.

=(

noxy

my bf and I went and they automatic gave us the parking coupon.

Sometimes they are just too busy til they forget to give. The nxt time you go, just ask from them. Alot of hotels give complimentary parking coupons. If they didn't give just ask from them

rainbow79

Ok, so the thing is we got to be thick skinned lah...
Actually Parco's parking is so limited....dunno got enough parking anot..

noxy

yeaup, just ask. alternatively, u can create a small talk and say that you had a hard time finding parking lot and hint to them that you drove on that day.

woo83fy

hahaha... cos when the dicussion ended, our drinks are like only half drunk. So when Jane left, she just said you can stay and finish your drink.

anyhow.. i am choosing Opulent Desire theme but I dun really like the invitational cards and the flavors.
My htb suggest putting interesting artistic shots into the frames before giving them.

However if I want to buy wedding flavors.. how much will it cost to buy for 320 pple? =P

rainbow79

Hi Woo83fy,

maybe u can put yr photos in the frame.
For me, I am thinking whether to put the different flavour at alternate seats as suggested by my co-ordinator cos I know if I have 1 table with all ladies, they will prefer the key chain to the glass coaster...
though the box and pretty bag holding the flavors are nice too..

woo83fy

A regular weekend dinner for Hotel Intercon is $888++ (10% svc and prevailing GST)

As far I am concerned, most good dates and weekends are being taken up already.

sherlin

Hi Dark Wing> Can send me the price list for 2008?

Anyone knows if there will be any wedding show at Intercon? Thanks!

unsuregal

For weekend auspicious and very auspicious date, the price can easily be more than 1200 and this has not taken into account of additional wine cost as intercon do not give waiver of corkage.

darkwing79

Aiyo,

Sherlin, what is your email?? how to send

Yah, best is not an auspicious date, then at least your cost will only be just at 1000+ abit.

The only thing is saturday for intercon is more expensive.

Friday and Sunday is just about there for most of the hotel in the area.

woo83fy

There is waiver of corkage for all hard liquor, duty paid. And Waiver for 1 bottle of wine per table if I remember correctly.

As for beer, you can get up to 60L or 30L + 13 bottles of wine.

There is not much to bargain for, esp in 5 stars hotel and above.
However, they may accomodate you in other areas if the hotel allows and depending on the season.
The contract itself is quite good enough in my opinion

For eg, I believe I got double nights in the Bridal Suite because my AD is on a Sunday and Monday usually is an off peak season.
And it is in October, Nov or Dec where it is peak season already.

So DarkWing, have you decided? Coming to the end of the year already. Better confirm soon.
For me, I was apprehensive to confirm so soon at first, but once I paid the 5k deposit, I just felt so relieved and relax knowing I have booked a great date for my AD.

darkwing79

hi woo83fy,

going to now waiting for IC to confirm with the dates whether available or not.. and also need to go ask my WTB's parents for verbal approval./ should be somewhere in Nov 08

Hope can confirm soon. coz still got BS to worry about.

Going to the Style Wedding show this sunday at sentosa.

woo83fy

Hi Darkwing,

To faster confirm just give the coordinator a call. They are very busy so email maybe will reply a bit later but usually within one day =)

Nov 08 is quite hot as coming to the end of the year. Sept and Oct are the best times I feel, anyhow, just check with them and let them know nicely that you really want to confirm asap.

For BS, just make sure you are comfortable with the designers and their style.
Whitelink in my opinion, is for budget couples as they have a very comprehensive package, but quality is not that good (esp studio photography)

But since if you are walking down the aisle in such a beautiful ballroom (IC or Fullerton or whatever 5 stars), pls invest in a good quality BS.

Wedding is once in lifetime affair, dun be afraid to spend for good quality and service.

My personal recommendation will be Bridal Veil, as they dun hard sell, nor will suddenly throw in this and that kind of boutique.
Style: Clean cut with striking crystals. All 20 couples invited to their show were floored by the material and workmanship.

I simply love my BS... and the service.
Just go down and have a look and you will understand what I am talking about.

darkwing79

Hi Woo83fy,

Bo bian leh.. still need to to ask my dear's parents. Proper procedure.

Then can .. somemore, IC still need to wait for the couple to reply.

Haiz..wait loh..I also think Nov, Dec getting hot liao. most of the dates before already taken liao..

I think someone took the 17th Oct liao.. Auspicious date

woo83fy

haha.. you are a good guy, your wtb is really blessed~ =P

Dunno why also but quite alot of couples getting married next year. Maybe because of the '08 year.

Good to get yout 5K ready for deposit too, then you can fully secure your date.

rainbow79

Hi Woo83fy, my BS is the average one, not the Ted Wu, Divine or Kai level....
My main focus is on the wedding banquet...
But I agree that I felt so relieved when I have confirmed the hotel...

woo83fy

Hi Rainbow,

Didnt want to splurge on the BS as well, but there arent many styles that suit me from other BS.

Anyway the ballroom is so gorgeous, even a cheap wedding dress will look nice. But if you get married in a ugly place, having a nice dress also no use.

In conclusion, i am so glad we found such a wonderful place in Hotel Intercon! =P

darkwing79

Hi woo83fy,

Thanks for the complement, I think everyone of us here searching and helping each other out deserve that compliment too. =)

Yah going to get that money ready..and also trying to arrange for a meet up with Jane i think.

She is one emailing me. I think is either Stephanie or Jane.

Will discuss with my wtb, how to get the necessary stuff done and arrange the meet up. Hope this time can get complimentary parking.

Kena chop by B.Junct. expensive sia. =(

NIce to see many ladies here confirming their big day.

Now need to talk to Jane on the ROM at the waiting area. How they intend to setup and also asking my paster whether he can be JP or not.

At least things are starting to get into motion.

Takecare ladies, cant do without so many helpful BTB here.

woo83fy

No problem DarkWing, its a joy to help.

I remember how initially both of us wanted to use Fullerton.

(my username is also bluedusk, =p)

Next year we will need alot of help from one another since our AD will be quite close. (mine Oct, and yours Nov)
hee.. =P

What theme are you thinking of going for??

hi folks!
I just signed my contract with Jane yesterday. quite happy with it too

Agree with woo83fy that its no use wearing a nice and beautiful gown if the venue does not match up. Intercon's ballroom gets my vote anytime.

Darkwing, if the coordinator never give complimentary carparking, mai tu liao, just ASK. they will sure oblige. my HTB asked for it after we signed the contract before leaving. Hope u can confirm your date soon, cos most of the popular dates are already booked.

woo83fy

Hi Kelvin, as it is a Saturday on a Oct 08, most likely it is already booked or tentatively booked.

However for those couples who tentatively booked w/o paying the deposit, they will have to forfeit the date after 2 weeks if someone wants to fight for the date.

Just call the coordinator and ask. Better larh

woo83fy

Hi Gerbera Gal,

So Happy for you! Which month is your AD? Maybe we can discuss how we can make our special day even more unique and special :D

darkwing79

Hi ladies and guy,

yah kelvin, like what woo83fy said, better call up the coordinator.

The executives are ultra business nowadays.. weekends as well.

I am meeting Jane next week. She fully booked during the late afternoon timings.

better arrange fast.

Yay! I am not lonely liao.. another Groom To Be!!

hi woo83fy
my AD is in early Jan 09. actually i wanted a specific sat in Oct 08, but it was already taken when i called up. so i am left with the alternative date which my geomancer gave, thankfully its still available. phew!!

Jane told me that there are 2 other couples inquiring about the date which i've secured. luckily i checked and asked before they do, cos i do not want to go thru that 'alamak... huh it's not available anymore?!' kind of feeling. honestly i was quite disappointed when Jane told me my first choice date in Oct 08 is confirmed by another couple, thats why i decided to go with my 2nd choice date instead of holding my wedding banquet at some other venue... cos i simply love intercon's ballroom! Despite having seen so many other venues, Intercon is still the best, even though it doesnt have a nice/grand lobby/reception area or 2 storey luxurious bridal suite.. but the ballroom wins hands down. eventually your guests will only remember the quality of the food and the ambience of the venue which they are surrounded by for that evening. No one will give a damn about the rest.

Glad to know we have all made a good choice! I believe Intercon won't let us down

woo83fy

Hi Gerbera_Gal,

Mine AD is in Oct 08, but is on a Sun.
When I enquire about the available dates 2 months ago, many of the weekends in October are already taken up.

Even though I tentatively booked my date, I gotta pay the deposit v soon cos there are couples wanting the date I booked. Fierce competition I must say. =P

So congrats for securing your AD, now waiting for Darkwing to secure his.

I agree with you regarding the ballroom. In fact initially I couldnt go with IC cos I couldnt come up with 32 tables. But we managed in the end to, because we really love the place!

Have been daydreaming how to make the march in and the wedding dreamy on that day.
Any great march in suggestions?

rainbow79

Hello ladies,
I guess we are very great hosts who spare many thought for our guests in terms of convenience of location, great ballroom and food ??(havent gone to food tasting yet)....

Well..so many 08, 09 brides and grooms here that I feel I am the most senior here cos i am a Dec 07 bride lor....

woo83fy

Haha Rainbow, that's why will need you to feedback to us the quality of banquet service and food. =P

AND of coz show us your pictures once they are done!

darkwing79

Aiyo rainbow,

you where got senior?? alamak..

bo bian mah.. 1yr ahead must book and confirm liao.. must make double double sure leh.

Worst than me researching on my car. LOLz

hi woo83fy, you thinking of going for which theme? haven't seen any of the wedding theme set up for myself so can't comment much based on pictures and photos. It's really different feel altogther when you see it for yourself in person. Jane mentioned the next wedding show will be around the first quarter of next year. I'd still go for it even though i've signed the contract already, just to get a feel of their service, food and to see the wedding themes.

Hi Rainbow and Ollie, wow! your wedding dates are nearing! hope the preps are going well for both of you. Which themes are you gals using? Must feedback on the food once you've gone for food tasting ok! haha... oh, btw just wondering have anyone of you seen Intercon's bridal suite? I have no idea how it's like... issit like those normal business-like suite? or do they put in some effort to 'decorate' it so tt it will bave a more cosy and 'newly wed' feel?

ollie27

Hi gerbera gal,

I'll be using opulent desire. I've went for the food tasting on sep le. If you want to know more abt the food tasting u can pop into my multiply site, juz give me ur user id n i can add u in. hehe..

I've seen the bridal suite during last yr wedding show, they din decorate it that day. But its cosy.

darkwing79

Hi Gerberagal & woo83fy,

I think I am getting the classic elegance. Its the gold and cream theme. Maybe add a little lilac into the theme to add some color. To me and my WTB fits the ball room well.

Oh the bridal Suite, If I can rem. Its rather classical in design, those english home that kind of feeling I think. If thats the correct description for it.

Like what ollie27 said, its cosy and dun really need to do much deco. Its good enough.

Its not really business like, rather high ceiling if I can remember correctly.

See how is goes for my meet up next week. Should be early Nov 08 for me. hehe =)

Congrats to ollie27 and rainbow79

woo83fy

Hi Gerbara Gal, I am going for Opulent Desire Theme! Of coz from now till later next year I still can change. =P

I have some pictures on the Opulent Desire Setup so if you want you can PM me

To Ollie: Did you do anything to add in to the deco for Opulent Desire? I also want to know about the food tasting, but probably will ask you after your AD, on the feedback of your guests =p

sweetpetals

Hi Dark Wing,

Which day will you be meeting up with Jane? both myself and my partner will be seeing her too.;-) perhaps will be on the same day.

ollie27

Hi Dark Wing,

Thanks! I think the gold and cream will goes well with olive green too! Juz a suggestion. You'r meeting Jane on 3rd Nov? Same here..I'm meeting her for the finalization of the tables, wedding favor, etc...

Hi woo83fy,

Dun think I'll add anything more to the deco. If there's any feedback from my guests, I'll update on it.

ollie27

Oh ya, woo83fy, I rem you wrote you do not like the wedding card. Same here, but to my surprise all my ex-colleague and frens said that the card is beautiful..hahaha..I'm so surprise

woo83fy

Heeheehee Ollie, but I really do prefer those invitational cards that are more plain with better quality paper.
My HTB suggested to give half of the guests the Hotel Incon cards (relatives) and the other half we make ourselves (friends)

=P