Intercontinental Singapore

bluedusk

Oh, my BS not confirmed yet though me and my HTB loves Bridal Veil alot as it is really professional and elegant.
But it is v v v expensive... up to 6k for a nice package.

darkwing79

Thanks alot for helping a blurr HTB. Yah I saw the price list. Went for the show few months ago. I think quite abit of the date already taken liao.

But I am only able to get a date somewhere in October. Taking leave with my WTB to get a date. Anyway I will email intercon and marriot and see what are the dates will available for Oct - Dec 08. Just to get a feel.

For Bridal Suite, was hopping to put some carrot to tangle as should be asking both parents whether they want to have a stay at the hotel after dinner. no need to rush for them also a good pat at the back for them for all their help.

Ladies, how to to negotiate ah? sorry really troubled about spliting of the cost of the dinner. How to get both sides to talk, like who will pay which side of the banquet, bride side who pay or how. Really have no idea.

Trying to bridge the gap as my family christians, my wife side non-christians.

Plus angbao go to who, how to split whos angbao go where or the groom pay all?

bluedusk

Hi, dun think will go for videographer. The good ones are really very ex and the 1k kinds are most likely not v good quality.

Just engaging a good AD photographer. I know a good one who charges only $800-$1000, depending on what you want. Quite worth it I feel.

serlz

I already confirmed my BS, PS and VG. Next month will be my 1st fitting. So happy. I chosen ala carte style for my wedding.

bluedusk

So happy for you serlz...

I am still contemplating about my BS... cos even though we are quite set on Bridal Veil for their professionalism and their man suits (super nice), it is really quite high end... sigh..

serlz

Hi Rainbow and bluedusk

I chosen silverlining as my BS.

wesniff

hi ladies.
i'm new to this forum. Looking at IC hotel for a wedding banquet on 16th feb08. Can someone pls kindly email me their wedding package at IC? thanks..

bluedusk

Hey BTBs and HTBs!

For some legal rights issues etc, I will only email the pictures of the Opulent Desire Setup pictures to those confirmed Hotel Incontinental Brides.

If you are interested to see, pls email me at [email protected]

State your AD, theme and Wedding Coordinator.

Anyway back to discussions, I heard from 1-2 pple that the food at Hotel Intercontinental is not nice.
This saddens me quite abit... WHY????
Is there a way to make sure the food will taste good?

hi all, im new to the forum too... glad to know so many ppl here willing to share information on this forum.

My AD is next year Oct 08. Im also very interested in Intercon. The ballroom is simply too lovely to resist! Called them last week to inquire abt the availability. Spoke to Jane over the phone. She said another couple already tentatively booked the venue on the same date as my AD. Didn't know abt auspicious date must pay extra $$. she mentioned weekend (Sat) min 35tables. Around 1048+++. Anyway will be going down to meet her personally tomorrow.

darkwing79

gerbera gal, I am also looking at intercon, but haven confirm due the dates ( auspicious dates) need to go ask pple who can interpret the tong shu for 08 for a date.

wesniff, its abit late too find a hotel date, you can try calling intercon to check.

Stephanie is real busy woman. hardly can get her.

I am comparing marriot and intercon.

Waiting for both to quote and discuss with my parents and WTB.

I am also looking at the roof terrace for solemnization. Its 2K for renting it for 3hrs not including of other charges.

So far both hotel I think is quite equal only cost is an issue

Hi Dark Wing!
I'm also quite keen on the idea of having a poolside/outdoor solemnization. but i'm not very sure if Intercon allows couples to use outdoor patio for ROM ceremony (tho i did remember coming across somewhere on their website that they do have such a facility) Will check with Jane when i see her tomorrow.

I have my AD confirmed. my parents insist me and HTB go seek the geomancer (whom they regularly consult) for the dates. otherwise i won't bother much but it's just to make them happy, the geomancer give us only 2 dates, one in Oct 08 the other in Jan 09, cos we told him we wanted a weekend preferably Sat dinner as it will be easier for guests to attend.

I'm considering Intercon and Regent. (cos by far, Regent is the only venue which is still available for my AD) i didnt know my AD is 'auspicious' date, super "hot" date and by the time i called the hotels up, most of them already booked for the date which i want. Don't know if i shd change my AD or not... since so many venues taken up already...

rainbow79

Does anyone have pictures of Whimsical Magic Set up?
The next wedding as understood by Jane is end Oct which is rather late for me as I need to print my cards soon.

darkwing79

Hi gerbera,

Yah, I also going to look for geomancer. I am looking at Friday. Intercon just send a outdoor package. its the rooftop patio, @2K++ with freeflow of softdrinks and 3 canopes.

wah looks like OCtober is out for me.. should be nov liao. I am looking at either fri/sun. Saturday is last choice.

Regent is abit out of the way for me. So not looking at any hotels that doesnt have adequate public transport. Later guest disappear fast fast due to no transport and it will normally run rather late.

Will discuss with my WTB. marriot having showcase but should be asking for quotation and make an appointment to look at the bridal suite, ballroom for both hotels.

Now just make sure the cost can factor in.. hitting Topping 35tables liao.

Hi Dark Wing
Thanks for the info regarding the outdoor set up at Intercon

Hope you can settle on the date fast, without the date its really difficult to make decision.

yeah i agree that Regent is kinda out of way too. unless u are driving, otherwise its not convenient. I've called up Marriot but the venue is already out for me cos there is confirmed booking. I'm looking at Grand Copthorne waterfront too, depsite their grand ballroom already taken by someone else, and they only left the smaller ballrooms. but no harm taking a look. Heard their service and ambience is not bad.

But having said that Intercon is still top of my choice for wedding venue.

Hi folks, for those interested in oriental splendour theme, there will be a wedding on 4th Oct. Whimsical magic on 9th Oct. There will be no themes using opulent desire for the time being. think the next one will be sometime in nov

darkwing79

I have made appt with stephanie, next saturday. 6th Oct. For a site show with stephanie.

Heard she is reallllyy busy.

Hws she like? any comments?

hi darkwing, how's everything coming along? have you decided on your date? Btw how was the site visit to intercon last week? I did not liaise with Stephanie so can't comment on how she's like, but i believe you've already met her by now. So will u be taking up intercon or marriott? or still contemplating? :p

darkwing79

wah.. ladies

slowly leh.. scare liao.. hehe..
gerbera gal, ya.. haven decide haven get the date yet..

but that day the ballroom looks good.. with the natural light quite cosy too with the elegance theme with baby pink roses

Not too bad. nice lady, but very busy coz only 2 of them doing wedding coordination, weekends 1 on roster.

very comfortable with her and that day the place was setup well and cosy.

woo83fy

Hey Darkwing, so have you decided?

I just signed the contract with Jane and I am very satisfied with it.

Marina Mandarin's service is not that great i heard but how is it for you?

darkwing79

Hi woo83fy,

haben, haiz, need to go find a AD. So far all the ones we call to query all very expensive.

like see date only all use knife and chop chop.

I am looking at Oct 08, hopefully.

One of the friday, I know 17th Oct is a very Auspicious date,. very ex. try not to get.

Man.. I want to pull hair liao

Do you have any one to recommend? geomancer or shifu to see the tongshu?

ollie27

Hi darkwing,

You might want to try calling Master Jing and he'll provide you the dates for the guo da li, an chuang and the wedding date.

JING ZI LONG FENGSHUI CENTRE
64A Geylang Road, Lor 25A
(Next to Aljunied MRT Station)
Singapore 388252
Tel: 6741 7377
Fax: 6788 6062
email: [email protected]

cookiez

Hi Dark Wing,

I got my AD from a temple, shifu located at Sembawang. Me and hubby just have to give her a angbao as a token of appreciation.

However, a thing to take note of. She is very strict in choosing the date. Must sure you tell her properly which month you looking at. Last time, my hubby told her we want a date at the end of the year 2008 and she really chose end of the year for us. Actually, my hubby refer to september instead of november.

When we asked to change the date, she dont allow. As it is not good for the couple. So make sure you tell her correctly.

From what I heard, she is quite good in choosing dates for wedding.

darkwing79

wah thanks ladies..

without you all here.. I sure pull hair liao..

Ollie : hows the charges like.. expensive. Called a few very expensive.. kena chop..

Very scare. I ask my WTB and see how

Thanks alot ladies =)

hi woo83fy
i'm going to meet up with Jane again to discuss abt my wedding package. most prob will take it. But as we all know, intercon is quite inflexible with throwing in extra stuff. Just wondering did you manage to get any additional perks, apart from those listed on the brochure?

ollie27

Hi darkwing,

No probz. If I dun rem wrongly his charges is $120. He'll give u 3 auspicious dates to choose from, after which u choose the date le then he will give u the an chuang and guo da li dates. His service was quite good, I requested 9 auspicious dates from him, bcos first 6 was not the dates I want..hehe..but he did tell us which are the 3 best dates.

woo83fy

Hi DarkWing, since you are into Auspiscious dates and stuff, please try to confirm your AD asap as you know many couples are very kiasu to book their wedding way in advance.

I am not so much into auspiscious date and thank God my AD is not (according to Hotel Intercon) so it is still $888++ despite being on a Sunday in Oct'08.

Gerbera_gal, they won't throw in much stuff esp when comes to wine and food but if you have any special request, they are quite flexible to help you with is as long it does not involve alot of cost.
You can try asking for an extra night stay at the Bridal Suite. But not all couples can get it. I know of another Intercon Bride who can only get 2 nights if she downgrade to a lower class suite as her AD is in Dec.

All the best!

darkwing79

Hi Woo83fy,

actually no lah, Im tryin not to get AD actually, going to a geo for me is just of pure respect for elders.

I dun believe in such stuff. Just want to hit off with my in-laws' relative with a good step.

pOint noted too, I saw steph's stuff, so far the only thing which is putting off couples for AD is the price for intercon. 1048. Which is almost Fullerton price.

See How will update again.

thanks ladies

rainbow79

Yes, seem like everyone thinks that Intercon is very expensive esp the price is quite close to Fullerton.
But there is no point pondering over it since we have chosen the hotel, so just focus on getting it done well. :0)
Btw, what is Fullerton's price?

woo83fy

For Fullerton's Straits Room's Dinner Package.. it is $1630 per table for min 8 max 12 tables.

It is very much more expensive than Hotel Intercon and they have less perks.
But note that Fullerton is TOP hotel in Singapore, so cannot blame.

I am not too sure about their Ballroom though, whether the pricing is different from the Straits Room, but to be frank, their Ballroom is not so nice... it is fancy becos of the steps.

I love their Service though, still top class.But after that Oriental Hotel followed by Hotel Intercon. =P

hi woo83fy
thanks for the suggestion
im looking at sat, but not auspicious date pricing its $948.

agree that fullerton's price is very ex. been to oriental to attend wedding function. their service is really good. but Oriental 2008 package for weekends is really very very ex! $1088.

cant comment abt hotel intercon service, cos i never attended any weddings there before. the only thing i like abt hotel intercon is the ballroom. thats the only thing which draws me to them. hehe...

rainbow79

I dun fancy Fullerton's steps cos I can be clusmy at times and imagine tripping over during the march in...
HB and I did go down to view the ballroom and understand the wedding package...
If not wrong, rem it was something like 11xx after +++ per table so not far from Intercon..but the min tables, L shape march in if one wans a longer march in and the steps discouraged us from taking though the bridal suite is 2 storeys with 2 nites stay and nice parking lobby and posh posh place lor....

As for Oriental, seem like I heard many people comment that the service and food is good...

woo83fy

Hi Gerbera_Gal,

My gd fren who attended a recent Hotel Intercon wedding mentioned that it is the best wedding dinner she attended this year (up to 10 weddings already)

Besides the beautiful ballroom, she mentioned that the food was very very good. So I kinda trust her taste cos she is quite picky in food.

Oriental is really quite ex, and honestly speaking, their ballroom is really not very nice. But their service is really very good, esp the Banquet Manager. It's a pity he is not from Hotel Intercon because Banquet Manager is super impt.

=P

rainbow79

Hi woo83fy,
Which day did yr gf attended?
Sat, Sun or weekdays package cos the food is different for these days...
Hope the food and service will be good cos we are really paying well.
The wedding favours are also nice too not those typical chocolate, cakes, chopsticks etc so I think that is where the cost go too...

Oriental has a posh ambience cos it is furnished in black and red decorations but I find it abit too dark as compared to InterCon lo....
InterCon gives me a warm feeling so maybe that's why some people find it is not posh enough cos usually posh places give a cool and somber mood?

woo83fy

Alright here is the breakdown of the Top 3 Wedding Choice for less than 30 tables' Pros and Cons.

NOT IN ORDER

#1 Fullerton
Pros
- Very Professional Service
- Beautiful Hotel throughout
- Great Location
- Prestigious
- Beautiful Straits Room
- Stairs for march in in the Ballroom (if you are into that sort)
- AWESOME Bridal Suite

Cons
- Super Expensive (even if our friends are willing to help break even, it is not so fair to ask them fork out $163)

#2 Oriental
Pros
- Great Service
- Food is reputable to be good
- Nice themes

Cons
- Weird Fan Shaped Ballroom
- Not so glam/nice Bridal Suite

#3 Hotel Intercon
Pros
- Most Beautiful Pillarless with Sparkling Chandeliers
- Good Food
- Nice Themes
- Very Convenient Location
- Good Service (free drinks at their poshy cafe everytime we go there to discuss)
- Long March in

Cons
- Reception Area not fantastic
- Not as Prestigious sounding as the previous 2

Heehee.. of cos these are my personal preferences, but I believe I speak for those who are not afraid to spend alot on their one special day of their life. =)

rainbow79

Hi woo83fy,
Really agree with most of what you said...
the part of IC on "Good Service (free drinks at their poshy cafe everytime we go there to discuss)"....I always dun know what to order so order those cheap drinks like coffee, coke ....

Another thing is hor...u know IC offer mixers, eg soda drinks during the dinner or cocktail but i doubt many of my guests will know got such drink and stick to those soft drinks or beer/wine...how do i tell them got such drinks hah? so they got option to try other drinks which I think contribute to part of our cost per table again...

woo83fy

Hi Rainbow,

We Hotel Intercon Brides have similar tastes I am sure.

I have seen like zillion of hotels (posh and budget) and finally chose Hotel Intercon for the abv mentioned reasons =P

Hahaha.. I always order coke even though should try other more expensive drink. =P
There is one time there is nuts also (my htb was thrilled)
After the discussion, me and my htb will just linger there and continue drinking.

Hmmmmm... We can tell them in the invitational card or we can ask the waiter/waitresses to specifically mention if they ask.
Usually when i go wedding dinner, i will ask what drinks they have to offer.

=P When is your AD?

rainbow79

Hi woo83fy,

Wow can linger there to cont drinking meh..
cos I tot usually u will tok in the wedding discussion room with the co-ordinator and seem like they have many meetings one after another so cant linger long and finish my drink...
What other expensive drink hah?
My HB will say me cheapo leh...:p

Well, u do ask but can tell u many people dun ask cos they assume that it is soft drinks, beer...they only ask whether they have red wine...
Funny to put have mixers in invitation card right...
I thinking how to tell my guests...of cos frens u can tell them verbally that they serve mixers at cocktail...but colleagues and relatives???

Will PM u my AD cos dun like to make it public la..