Intercontinental Singapore

pekkle

I'm really in love with the opulent desire theme. Always wanted my wedding to be in all black and red. But I seriously feel that intercon is overcharging leh, weekday 788+++ which works out to be almost $920. Would like to hold it there but really worried that will lose $$$. So anybody else got other suggestions for such similar theme at other hotels. I noe oriental also has it but same price too. Pls share...

sweetpetals

Hi Jojo,

I also love their opulent desire theme.. Actually InterCon is not really overcharging in term of package.. I like their location compared to Oriental as location is so much convenient for my guests and have u seen their ballroom? It really very nice! High ceiling and best thing is it's pillarless. It's really very nice.. I personally like InterCon alot. They do give additional perks rite? Like additional of 1 x 30 litres of beer or 13 bottles of wine and gift voucher. Can really consider.. it's a once in a lifetime event. :)

rainbow79

I also have same concerns as Jojo too.
Many guests were surprised when I told them that the cost is $1000 per table, excluding wine.
Actually, HB prefers Oriental (though Oriental's ambience is more classy and spacious)to IC too, but I prefer IC as it is better located and seem like not many people I know has ever held their wedding there before.
I am also crossing my fingers that I will not lose alot $$. But I guess for some people, who will fork $100 per person right...

pekkle

That's y I always feel that wedding dinner is such a stressful event. Have to think whether will make a or lose $$ a not, I mean isn't wedding suppose to be a happy occasion? Instead its a worry now. Cos my hubby side got a lot of relatives wif children, and they r not veri generous wif their ang bao. So really gottta make serious consideration.

pekkle

I thought of that already. But guess what intercon lunch is the same price as their weekday dinner. And anyway, my hubby doesn't like the lunch idea. He very traditional one, prefers chinese seat-down dinner.

rainbow79

Ladies, i think dinner is better than lunch, regardless where you hold the function.
Ya, one thing abt chinese wedding is the seating arangement of 10 persons per table...which is a headache...how nice if my parents allow me to have long table which I rem some hotels can have such arrangement...
I also have married relatives with kids...so who will pay $400 for a family of four...
Stress hor..

sweetpetals

I guess majority people will know that InterCon is a 5-star hotel. They should know the rate for the red packet. My friend held his wedding in InterCon too. He didn't lose but gain 3k also.
:)

rainbow79

Well, unfortunately, my HB's colleagues do not know it and were very surprised to know that each table cost $1000 lor...
And some of my own guests also say it doesnt have the 5 star style...
Kind of abit worried and sad...

dadaling

same lor. some of my colleagues doesnt know its a 5 stars hotel! but nevermind lah, its not a matter of profit or loss. Its a memorable occasion to celebrate the wedding!

sweetpetals

I totally agree with dada. It's only onces in a lifetime event. I feel that most importantly is to find a venue which you totally love and will not have any regret. :)

But I find that majority hotels are having the same wedding favours unlike InterCon which they have different theme with different favours. More personalized for guest too.

kold_krab

Hi blurz_ger, understand from the above that your coordinator allowed you to confirm 33 tables when the min tables required was 35, for Dec 08? May I ask who's your coordinator? Just spoke with Stephanie Chua from InterCon, for a weekday one in Sept 08. Strictly min 27, we're looking at 25, even if table no.drops to 25, spending needs to meet the min. amt of 27. Any advice?

blurz_ger

Hi AXN,

You didn't turn on your PM function leh. Anyway, my coordinator was Michelle who already left Intercon. She allowed us to confirm 33 guranteed tables.

I signed with Intercon 1 week before their wedding showcase in June. I think the new wedding package requires 32 min tables is it? Maybe that's why she allow us to confirm 33 tables (based on old package). Can anyone advise if there is a revision of min tables for weekend?

rainbow79

Now that the Lunar 7th Month is over...It is back to wedding preparations for me....
Any Dec IC brides here?
Can some1 recommend where I can print the invitation cards?

bluedusk

I went to visit Hotel Intecon today and I simply love the Ballroom.

I think I am not shy to say that it is the most beautiful ballroom in Singapore.
(I have visited Fullerton, Grand Hyatt, Marriot, Oriental, Carlton, Ritz Carlton + other less glam hotels)

Pros: Pillarless, Glam March In, Gorgeous Chandeliers, Doors with Mirrors, Great Service and very nice theme weddings

Cons: The Wedding Flavors are not so fantastic for Opulent Desire Theme and the min. requirement of 32 tables.

Min. no of tables required for weekend:32
Price: $1040 Nett (inclusive of 10% service & 7% GST)

rainbow79

Hi Bluedusk, I agree that the interior of IC's ballroom is beautiful but the exterior (eg hotel's lobby, hotel's front parking esp Marriot and Fullerton) lose out to the grand settings of Oriental, Marriott, Fullerton etc...which puts it at an disadvantage.

Btw what is the wedding flavors for Opulent Desire? Seem like this theme is more popular than Whimiscal Magic...

noxy

The wedding favours for Opulent Desire consist of Red colour soap petals formed into the shape of a rose.

Can't really remember the other one though.

I've seen the full wedding set up with Opulent Desire.

After I saw intercontinental - All other hotels just pales in comparison.

But the sad thing is Intercontinental is so expensive

serlz

My FH and I like Opulent Desire. Tat is why we will be choosing this theme for our wedding in March 08. Cheers

bluedusk

Rainbow, the exterior is actually quite nice, but I will agree the lobby looks quite plain and small but who cares? =P

The Ballroom is gorgeous and majestic and the reception is cosy and nice for taking photos (got nice stairs)

The other wedding favour for Opulent Desire is a small photo frame (half of A5).

If I am taking the Opulent Desire theme, I will definitely choose the frames over tha soap (the Wedding Coordinators say that you can bring them home earlier and put your own pictures inside)

But honestly, I do not like all their wedding invitation cards and so I will be printing my own most likely. Any cheap and good suppliers to recommend?

rainbow79

Hi Bluedusk,
I think that the Whimiscal Magic Invitation cards are nice...
I agree the Oriental theme from IC Invitation cards are rather plain...
But IC does not have big car parking space in front of lobby as compared to Marriot, Oriental, Fullerton cos my HB wants to take photo of the car convoy lor...
I am also looking for suppliers to print interior of my wedding card...
As for Whimiscal's wedding favours I am still not sure so need to meet up with Jane then understand better.
Anyone taking Whimiscal theme here?

bluedusk

Hi Rainbow,

I am considering Whimiscal theme too but I think Opulent Desire theme still reigns as my favorite.

Hmmm.. IC may not have a big car park infront of lobby, but the stopover is actually quite nice. Dunno if we are talking about the same place.

Fullerton's exterior and bridal suite is definitely top notch I must agree.
Er Oriental and Marriot is really not up to standard I feel... (esp Oriental, except their service is good)

But for me, the most impt aspect is the Ballroom itself, so InterCon is the choice for me in the end.

rainbow79

Well...initially I wanted Marriot Hotel as the front parking is really grand but after reviewing the food (from a wedding show) and the interior ballroom, I din really like it much.
In fact, IC's food was not bad (also review from wedding show), and the interior is nice..except for the exterior...but luckily the min tables allowed is comfortable for HB and me cos we din want to take those other hotels with min tables of 40 as we din want to spend too much too...

bluedusk

Me and my HTB went to IC last Sunday to check out the Ballroom wedding setup for Opulent Desire.
It was awesome and my HTB commented that only IC looks as good as shown in the pictures (cos we have been disappointed by many hotels)

Thus confirmed our decision to take the Opulent Desire Theme.
It is really not that dark looking and the red backdrop for the stage looks very classy and auspicious too.

I also changed my mind about choosing the wedding favours into all frames as it will look much better having alternate frames and rose soaps.

Centrepieces for non-vip tables are alright, not super fantastic (but easily one of the best)

My Wedding Coordinator says that the centrepieces will not be removed even when dinner is being served (i wonder how) so I intend to add on nice stuff on it (maybe sweets, or some small deco things for guests to bring home if they want)

darkwing79

Hi Bluedusk,

pop by IC thread for a look. Which package you took?

I am thinking of down sizing my guest list.

Are you having any solemnization there? got ask whether usage of the pool area extra charges?

Rainbow, I did went to the wedding show too. Have you been able to see the bridal suite and the ballroom? Marriot was also part of my choice.

Can any brides of IC kindly share their AD photos? sorry for the trouble. really wish to narrow to my last 2. fullerton is out of the list $$ problem.

Thanks ladies in advanced.

Thanks bluedusk for your enlightenment and also I have managed to talk to my WTB about the cost involved.

Can email me [email protected]

090308bride

wow.... so much activities here already!!! Ladies.. do you all still remember which bridal suite did Intercon promise? Is it the executive or the president?

Anybody knows whether there is any wedding this weekend and what is the theme? Thinking of dropping by to take a look..

I am so stress now.. just come back from my cousin's wedding in oriental, and it is really good.. so worry that mine will be a flop..

serlz

Dear BrideBride

The bridal suite intercon promise is the president suite for only one day. However if you wan a min stay of 2 days, you can ask to downgrade into the normal suite.

Hi Dark Wing

I also had my soleminization that day. No extra costs incurred but they only allow me to use either the ballroom stage or the space near the staircase. I dun think they allow us to use the pool side.

rainbow79

Hi Darkwing: Notice that you are a guy from yr profile...Seem that you are v active...cos normally it is the bride who are very selective on the wedding banquet, BS...good effort...
Anyway, now u are selecting bet Marriot and IC isit?....When is yr AD? cos if it is a yr or within, better book fast if you want the dates u prefer...
I have not seen the bridal suite too...

Bridebride and Serlz: What is the difference bet the president n executive suite? Can show me the pics?

Yesterday theme was Whimsical Magic....but I couldnt go down and see.....

Bridebride: How do u find Oriental? Does the place have more ambience and "feeling" than IC?
I also very concerned abt my wedding's success too... cos my HB's cousins are having their weddings in Nov and Dec ....Gulp...

darkwing79

Hi Selz,

No usage of any outdoor area. Hmm.. have to double confirm liao. I am considering an outdoor soleminization.

Hi Rainbow,

Yah I am a HTB. I dun mind doing all the research and sourcing. Coz Brides being the spot light is stressful enough I think. I just doing my part. At the end of the day the cooler head should always do the back end work. Not the one who is always at the limelight, anyway its something I like to do. Planning and coordinating.

Yah, I am thinking of either one. Cost price and venue and also minimum requirement is more able to make it.

My AD should be around Oct 08 to Dec 08. Still need to go find the dates should be a Friday.

What about you? Hows things going with you. I got my guest list almost settle liao.. Ask my mum to help.

We have our reservation with oriental due to the fan like ballroom and their BS.

I am still thinking how to piece things together, simple small church soleminisation then the dinner.

Asking my pastor once date, venue, confirm. I should be getting my keys to my flat around Mar 2008. So try to get things matter done first. So can concentrate on the house reno and stuff.

serlz

Hi Rainbow

The President suite is at the highest floor in the hotel. Right now, there is only 2 suites there, cater for bridal and guests. It had a living room, bedroom, etc, about the size of the 3 room flat. Executive is not as grand as president suite of course.

I dun have the pic with me but I will arrange to take my PS over the hotel and room.

Hi Dark Wing

Ya, think you better double check with your coordinator again if outdoor soleminization is possible.

rainbow79

Hi Darkwing,
I have not been to Oriental Ballroom so dun know how it looks...

But tot Marriot min table is 40 on weekends (Weekdays not sure, since u are holding it on Friday)...

Ya..agree both prices are more or less same so that why HB and me were thinking of either one but end of day the min table at IC won over Marriot.
Wow..yr guest list is fast..
I am still changing my guest list every now and then...
Anyone here not inviting own dept people?

Serlz: Will check with my coordinator which suite we are taking again...that is not so impt though it is good to have a bigger and nicer one lor..

darkwing79

Hi Rainbow,

Yah its 40 (sat/eve of PHs) weekends and 35 for fri and sun. If I can rem correctly.

ok lah.. not alot but still need to get the nos out. As it will easier to make a rough estimate of which hotel suits best.

Some of the brides also cautioned to be ready for no shows.

Should be able to finalised by next month.

Somemore still got the WG n EG to settle. That one lagi headache coz cant plan one *sigh*.

090308bride

oh thanks Serlz.. you also planning to take photos in the suite? I have requested too! But then Jane said that I can only be able to confirm the availability on the day of photoshoot.. hmmm.. not really that good right?

Hi Rainbow.. I think Oriental has nice ambience.. but the feel is different from Intercon.. I think Intercon is much more classy.. service in Oriental is good!

serlz

Hi Rainbow
Ya it best that you check with your coordinator the suite for you.

Hi BrideBride
I have not checked with my coordinator yet about the PS in the suite. Hopefully she can allow me to use it.

rainbow79

Hmmm....Oriental has a more solemn ambience cos it is dark inside with the black and red deco...that why I guess my HB likes it...

IC feel is more warm...flora...woody kind...a totally different image as compared to Oriental so that why I am taking Whimsical theme cos it is like those kind of end of year feeling which one feels dreamy and feels like floating...(too imaginatic :p)

Anyway, IC is fixed so I got my choice...

bluedusk

Hi Darkwing,

I thought there is an outdoor patio for solemnication at IC which you can use?
But I believe that is restricted to below 40 people.

We haven signed the contract but we have already tentatively booked the date.
Not much perks they have to offer and I do really know how to "bargain" for more.
Take note the deposit is $5000.

I have pictures of the Opulent Desire setup which I will post up here once I have uploaded them into my com.

My Solemnization/Holy Matimoney (with praise and worship and all the church rituals) will be done IN the Ballroom itself.
My AD order will be as follows:

Reception
First march in
Holy Mat/Solemnizaton
March out
Video Montage & Performance by Live Band
2nd March in
Start of Dinner
Champange and Cake Cutting
Thank you Speech
Phototaking
End of Dinner

darkwing79

Hi bluedusk,

wah deposit go up to 5K liao.. Thats a surprise. normally its 3K down.

I think the outdoor of 40 family and friends would be a nice setting. something like in the movies.

Which BS are you getting?

oh, did you went to find an asuspicious date? I have to coz to more or less to give in to elders. And less offensive As I am a christian but my WTB is not.

Got any recommendation how to get one. Those geomancys consultation are expensive just to get dates

Any ladies here can recommend?

darkwing79

Hi Rainbow,

I am not supertsituous one. the finding of dates is just an intend to be on the safe side with my in-laws and our elders. If can I would prefer in Lunar 7th mth. Coz my WTB's birthday is august and our anniversary also august.

Want to find someone who can interpret the tongshu can liao i think.

Any suggestion? I heard can go temple and find someone who can read can liao issit?

Any ladies can help?

Thanks sorry ah.. bluur HTB

rainbow79

Hi Dark Wing,
Yes u can go to temple and ask the person to choose some good dates for you.
Give yr chinese birth of dates and both parents' year of birth.

darkwing79

Hi Rainbow,

thanks for the tip. Will ask my WTB when she is going to the temple then just follow.

Easier that way i think. Going to geomancy really to me is abit waste of resources just for a date.

Thanks Rainbow. Great help !!.

Oh, just a note I am topping 35 tables, just got a note from my WTB. FIL may need more. should be going for the 35 w/40optional.

back to the financial planning board.

Thanks ladies, greatly appreciated

090308bride

Hi Serlz.. just called Jane today. I think the bridal suite is executive, which they have 2. Presidential suite only has one.

Hi Bluedusk.. please post the pics soon.. I would like to take a look .. else we will be going down this sunday to take a look.

Have you gals/guys thought about having a Jazz band to play? Would it be very expensive?

rainbow79

Hi BrideBride,
I think the reception area is kinda small to fit a Jazz band....

No problem, DarkWing.
Just rem to give a small red packet after the temple consulatation to the auntie lor...

Any idea to make to wedding dinner more interesting, without making it look stupid or silly... and also doesnt cost much much more...
Btw, are your getting IC's wine or getting from outside?
What is the qty to order? 1 bottle per table?

bluedusk

Hi Darkwing,

Do take note that for auspiscous or very auspiscous dates, Hotel Intercontinental will charge $100-$200 more but of course the package will come with more things as well.
Initially i also want August, but think both sides of the family not that keen (Me and my HTB are Christians but our family are not)

Anyway my AD is lunar 8th month but non-auspicious so is the standard $888++ per table.
It will be good to ask Jane or whoever to keep a tentative date for you cos weddings in 2008 is very very hot.

However take note if there is someone who can pay the deposit immediately and wants your date, you are only given 2 weeks to pay the deposit otherwise the date will be given to the other party.

BrideBride: Have been very busy nowadays, so I guess the earliest I can post is on Sat.
But pls go down and have a look anyway, then you have a clearer picture.

I am engaging A Little Dream Band to play for me during the dinner itself.
It will really make the dinner livier.

Some ideas on dinner:
1) If time permits, I will get my friends to take videos of various guests saying their wishes and blessins during the reception, then quickly upload into the laptop and then transfer them for everyone to see in the LCD during the 4th or 5th dish

2)Games and Lucky Draw (unlikely though)

3) A Little Dream Band (Start of dinner - 3/4 dish)

4)If got $$$, i will hire a quartet to play towards the end of the dinner. ($300-$500)