Intercontinental Singapore

ollie27

whimiscal magic is like a fairy tale theme..beautiful too

Hi blurz_ger, the opulent desire wedding over le. If there's any upcoming wedding using opulent desire theme i'll update you again. So you'r planning to use that theme too?

blurz_ger

Ollie: I think it is a bit too black. But after looking at the very limited pictures from the Intercon website, my sis and mum think it looks not bad. That's why i want to snap some pictures to show them the actual ballroom setup.

Anyone seen the Charming Elegance setup before? Got any pictures to share?

~sblbee~

Glad to know many of you attended the wedding show. I went for the wedding show too, mine was in the morning, didn't sign up as my preferred date 1 Nov 2008 was already booked by a couple before us. I liked the opulent desire theme. Though intercon is one of my top choices, but I got to scout around for other hotels, looking for alternatives.

090308bride

Hi Rainbow.. ya.. mine is next year March.. another 9 months more.. got to start planning for the wedding already, else, might not be in time for the pre-wedding photoshoot..

butterbaby

Hi Ollie,

You are welcome! = )

Anybody choose the Charming Elegance theme? I am considering either Charming Elegance or Whimiscal Magic. Saw the Charming Elegance's invitation card, dont quite like the design. Whimiscal Magic's one is so much nicer...however prefer Charming Elegance setup, look so romantic. *hehe* contradicting....

rainbow79

Hi butterbb,
when is yr AD? Y2007 or 2008?

Ya, agree whimiscal magic's invitation card is the nicest...
The oriental one is the worst....

I know why you like charming elegance cos it is those summer image right...

butterbaby

Hi Rainbow,

My AD is in 2008.

Indeed. Oriental one look so similar to their menu.

I like charming elegance theme for it white roses stands by the march in. For Whimiscal magic I tink they using winter branches, right? Look unique & beautiful...

Now still considering which theme to choose, though I still have time lah, but later choose gown muz be matching to my theme too. *hehe

Any idea what favour they having for these 2 theme?

rainbow79

Hi butterbb,
I am not particular on the favours. Not my main focus lor....

I think regardless which theme you choose, the gowns shouldnt vary much in design.
I din consider my wedding theme to choose my gowns lor...

blurz_ger

Hihi, i think i will take the theme into consideration when i choose gown leh. for example, if oriental theme, wear cheong sum will be nice. if whimsical magic, dreamy dreamy kind, i will go for princess ballgown with organza. :p but of cause, different people have different preference lah. looking good in the gowns is still the most important. this is just my 2 cents worth lah. :p

dadaling

Me too! Torned between whismical magic and charming elegance. My BS designer wants me to start my mtm gown in early aug, but i still cannot decide which theme to match my gown. dilemma!

rainbow79

Hee....fortunately, my ideal theme and the gowns I chosen are close as I don't look nice in cheong sum and those mermaid cut.
But I think my evening gown abit too low cut..opps..
anyway, are yr changing to another evening gown when one is sending the guests off after the dinner?

090308bride

HI Rainbow.. you have already chosen your bridal studio?

I am thinking of a gold evening gown.. but it seems that if I am going to wear.. it wil blend to the background.. going to Kai to do my wedding gown.. so excited..

Is there any wedding during this weekend where I can take a peek at the setup?

rainbow79

Hi BrideBride,

Yes i have chosen a BS along Tanjong Pagar...

Wow...u chose KAI...exp leh...
If I have budget, I will choose Divine Couture or Ted Wu.

090308bride

Hello Rainbow..

As you see.. choosing Kai has always been my dream.. just trying to make my dream come through with a big hole in my pocket.. I keep thinking.. its once in a lifetime.. I must fulfill my dream.. hahaha..

My sis in law is using Divine Couture.. they done a beautfiul job for her..

I have also gone to Ted Wu.. wow.. its even more expensive than Kai.. but the embiodery is fantastic.. nobody can fight.. haha.. the only thing I dont like is the service attitude of the sales girl.. attitude..

rainbow79

Bridebride: Well..that is 1 thing of those high end BS which their service can be quite stuck up lor...

Well....good that you are realising yr dream..hee

butterbaby

Hi all intercon BTB,

Do you all know Michelle is leaving intercon? Guess my account will be transfer to another lady by the name of Jane.

Anybody under Jane? How you find her?

rainbow79

Hi butterbb,
Ya, Michelle is leaving IC and will be passing her acct to Jane.
Received her call.
Maybe can meet up with Jane one day?

serlz

I have also signed out for Intercon in Feb07 this year. My AD in March 2008.

Hi Butterbb

You so good.... Managed to get so many additional perks during the bridal show...

travelbride

Intercon service is really bad, particularly their wedding manager, Stephanie Chua. One of the worst wedding manager I have ever encounter.
Pls reconsider if you want to sign their package.

sea_blue

oh dear...what happened? Was it some mis-understanding?

I had Stephanie as coordinator for my wedding in June and she has been really nice and accomodating during my preps. I think I definitely was a troublesome BTB then, always changing my mind. heehee...

I cannot even begin to describe what a great banquet manager I had on my AD. Very experienced and he took care of everything... even my guests commented on the wonderful service they got from the serving staff at their tables.

So.... what happened ah?

sweetpetals

Hi Spabelle & Travelbride,

I am sorry to hear that .. but could I check with you what happen? As I am considering to hold my wedding in InterContinental.

mrslim

Hi...All IC BTB... Jus wanna check it out wif u gals... After confimation of booking... Hows is e payment like? Deposit how much? Can break into how many instalment n min how much per instalment? Need to hve credit card? Tks in adv!

sea_blue

IIRC, it's 5k for deposit once booking is confirmed.

After that, the rest of the bill you pay after your AD dinner. You can choose to pay when you check out the next day. Can use your ang bao money cash or credit card. I thought cc better coz can earn points.

mrslim

tks soo much for e infor sea blue... i made an appt wif Jane tmr afternoon
Actually more or less confirm wanna sign wif IC liaoz... Jus hope dat can get more "freebies" from them... kee! :D

blurz_ger

hi mrs lim,

how's your meeting with Jane? manage to get more perks from her? hehe. i'm also having Jane as my coordinator, but haven't met her in person. is she nice? :p

hi charmaine,

Intercon just had a wedding show in June. don't know if they are going to have another one any time soon.

mrslim

Hi blurz_ger... my meeting wif Jane was ok... bt cant get much perks from her n now waiting for her to email us e quatation... hope she can gimme wat i ask for.... hee!:p
So when is ur appt wif her?

blurz_ger

hihi, i signed the contract with michelle before she left intercon. jane is the new coordinator assigned to us. haven't arrange any appointment with her, but planning to meet her soon. want to discuss the wedding theme with her. hehe. :p

mrslim

blurz_ger: oic...she is a very nice lady... hopefully u will njoy e meeting wif her
... so wat theme hve u choosen? n when is ur actual day?

blurz_ger

mrs lim: my actual day is still far away... Dec 08. haha. want to confirm the theme so that i can start deciding on my gowns. currently deciding between charming elegance and whimsical magic. both themes are very nice. hard to make a choice. :p

mrslim

Oh really... actually mine too:p... 5th Dec 2008... so urs is which date?
Me thinking of Oriental
cos me & my hubby loves e wedding favours... :D

mrslim

wahz... eve of new year lehz... sooo happening!!!
wedding favour will b a dbl "xi" logo pocelain container n a pair of chopstick... very oriental lorz... keekee!!!:p
Jus dat e invitation is very "ang kong kong"... other den dat everything is very nice... n cos we've lots of old old realatives n guest... plus i was thinking of doing my gown in a very chinese style... so we decided to hve oriental lorz... keekee!:p

roxaspooh

So, errmmm, spabelle and travelbride,

Any details or experiences to share about Intercontinental which was that unpleasant? If not, how would we gauge to 'reconsider', like you mentioned? Share?

serlz

My wedding manager for IC is Stephanie. Find she quite nice and patient in person. She gave me a catalog with 4 themes inside so I can decide which one to choose.

chibi_pony

Has anione signed up but is unable to meet the min no. of tables? Does IC accomodate slightly lower no. of tables and allow tentative bookings? Thk you.

blurz_ger

hi chibi_pony,
think you can try to discuss with the coordinator when you meet with her. for my case, my coordinator allowed me to confirm 33 tables when the min tables required was 35.

serlz

Hi Tan CS

I dun have the new package price list. Mine is the old package price. I am not sure whether IC can accomodate lower no. of tables but you can check it out. Btw, Stephanie's email is [email protected]. I hope this info helps you.