Intercontinental Singapore

groom_bride

Ollie, can u share what perks they give?

angel, agreed w you, compare to e old package it seem better than now

ollie27

Hi bride, I managed to asked Michelle for 30L of beer instead of 20L and increase the invitation card to 70%. That's all she's willing to compromise..

dougan

I went for food tasting, the folllowing are good: Barbecued Suckling Pig and Jelly Fish, Shark’s Fin with Fresh Crabmeat and Roe (lots of stuff in it), Prawn with Taro (unique but taste great!), Yam paste (not too sweet). Both the suckling pig and roasted chicken is well-roasted and yet not too 'dry' according to my family. Any other feedback? cos we need to change this fish and vege.

yuki31

dougan, so on the whole ...this dishes are good? hw long u take for the food tasting? i am thinking if we can start around 8pm ....

dougan

hi yuki, hope u have enjoyed ur trip. yup, juz to highlight the outstanding ones thou on the whole they tasted pretty gd except the vege which my family finds too salty but yet it all dep on individuals. we started ard 8 and ended ard 9.50pm. enjoy!

yuki31

dougan, yes i had a great time at my trip...thanks ... we can have food tasting at 8pm? i check with them they told me latest is 730pm leh ....

wat fish and veg u took previouly? i shld be choosing my dishes by next Fri

u printed ur card already?

dougan

hi yuki, we started at 8pm cos we were late...told them that we are starting at 7.30pm thou. we took perched fish fillet (which I thought was really great) but parents dun like, they want a whole fish. For vege, it was broccoli/mushroom (too salty).
yup, printed and collected.

yuki31

dougan, icic my parents asking if can fixed at 8pm n i worried if it is too late or not ...
i was thinking of taking the fish with black bean sauce ...forgot the name of it ....still goin tro my menu...

where u printed ur cards? me looking for printer now ...

dougan

hi yuki, i went to hi-tech cos it's near my place n my workplace cos the rest are closed by the time i knock off and i work 5 1/2 days so can't make it on sat too. anyway, artwork and quality of print ok lah but limited selection of cards if u need to top up. thou we still managed to find nice cards of church wedding and top another 80 cards that is quite similar in size with our intercont cards.

ublur

hi gals.. I just had my food tasting.. The whole session turn out great, but need to do slight amendments to my food menu list. Generally, food is good and the portion is big. brought both my parents and in laws to view the ballroom. They all loved the ballgroom a lot.. so happie

yuki31

dougan, hw is hi-tech service? take hw long to get the insert printed? how is their charges like? are u printing map?

blur blur, glad to hear ur food tasting went well
me still selecting my dishes dunno which to choose ....

droplet

Anybody know when is their next wedding show? I have shotlisted Conrad and Intercon, but I cant decide which hotel to choose. Intercon seems to be more stingy than conrad in terms of their additional perks.

dougan

Hi yuki, not very friendly but will still get things done upon request. we went there on the 5th, get my 1st template on 11th, made changes and get amended template on 17th, collected inserts & cards on 20th as requested. u can call them at 64589455. gtg for mtg. talk to u later.

ublur

yuki, yup, was glad that the whole session turn out great.. s for printing service, I highly recommend T dragon.. they did a good job for me.

adeline, intercon is quite stringent. Most brides here are not able to get much perks from them.. they just had their wedding show last month, so I don't think they will have another one so soon. maybe early next year..

finesse

Hi I'm a happy bride who just had my wedding on 25 Sep with intercon. Just wanted to tell those interested in Intercon that our friends had lots of praises for the hotel, in terms of the food, ambience, service and the helpfulness of all the staff. I must really say kudos to all the team at Intercon who gave me and my husband such a memorable memory.. the decor of the ballroom after renovation was splendid and grand too.. happy that we chose Intercon

yuki31

dougan,icic they are not too friendly ah ....hmm ...maybe i check them out to c how ...hw much are they charging for the inserts? do they provide the gold string?

blur blur, i heard good comment abt T Dragon too but heard they are quite exp izzit? how are their charges?

wat must we bring down to the printer the first time?

clar

Hi Yuki

For your wedding reception area, does your package include the setting ??
How many floral stands alond the red carpet??
And stage decor??

gs1979

Yuki, how come u not using intercon assigned printer - Jasvy??

Clar, usually the wedding pkg includes all the decor and floral stands. U wil get to choose them together when u finalised everything. heee..Intercon uses very big petal roses on my AD and end up i brought some stalks hm cos it b a pity as they threw it away after the dinner.

gs1979

Yuki, yes alot of pple complained Jasvy no gd cos the boss toks in a hao lian tone but he is very professional..and can print out the cards in 2-3days time. My Hb enquired thru t-dragon and was told dat they need 2-3WEEKS!! So long leh.

FYI, We did hotstamping at Jasvy for 200pcs @ $180. Additional printing is charge at @ onetime printing fee of $50 cos alrdy got the template.

yuki31

gin, yap tat wat i heard as well ....so dunno wan to find them or not ....did u print map for ur invitation?

is there a need to have a map? i heard it is seperate charge...

theaprilwedding

I'm considering the Intercon and wondering if any of you would have 2007 package for a weekend dinner (buffet preferably). Our date is on 2 June 2007.

Also, does anyone have any pictures of the Black Jewel theme I read about in the thread? My add is [email protected].

Thanks muchly!

clar

Hi for those signing with Intercon for the package in 2007.. How do you settle or wat's your best plan for wines since no waiver ??

dougan

hi yuki, actually they juz sounded a bit bo-chap over the phone when quite alrite when u meet them. yet again, they managed to get the inserts out by the day i wanted so to be fair i have no complaints lah. they charge 80 bucks for 200 pc, normal printing and 20 cts for every additional pc. map is charged at 40 bucks for the entire lot, i din do that for IC cards but did it for the church cards. oh ya, the icons are at no additional cost. they onli have 4 diff colors for the inserts and choices for cards are quite limited and a bit 'tu' as compared to focal-ad but too bad i din have time to go down to focal -ad so got to make do for my church invitation.

gs1979

Yuki, no need to print map lah. U can just inform ur guests to drive in by the carpark facing opp the National Library. The ballroom is just above the carpark.

yuki31

dougan, icic thanks a lot
i will check them and focal ad out first ...keke :p u printed map ?

Gin, okie thanks
scare some relative dunno the way ....keke :p

dougan

hi yuki, no mention. i din print map for IC, did it for church only.

hi gin, hope u r coping well wif pregnancy. btw, was thinking of getting some of my frens to park at national library instead so u know the carpark at IC is really crowded during sat evenings. any of ur guests park there cos am concerned as to what time that carpark closes. also, how many times do we need to meet up with IC b4 the wedding to finalise details?

rainbow79

Hi ladies, I am so lost bet IC and Marriot.
IC looks grander with their newly furnished ball room but Marriot throws in more perks.
Is it true Marriot food is not as nice as IC but quantity more?
I think IC's coordinator Michelle is very friendly. Impression seem to be better on IC but the wedding show from Marriot throws in attractive perks too. Any advise? Both are my dream choices and prices abt the same.

gs1979

hi dougan, tks..bb & myself are doing great!! Now into 5mths, can c my protruding tummy. Btw, just to update, its a PRINCE!

Ok, regards to the avail of parking lots...as my wedding is on weekdaz so i wasnt too worry at that time. But since yours is on weekend, then i suggest your guests could park at raffles hospital or even the shaw house if they dun mind to walk down. (cos after 5pm, its $1 per entry for weekends). Me not v familiar with the carpark at NLB.

yuki31

Gin, wow it is a little prince
so glad everything is going well for u ...keke :p so can u feel it moving abt ...when is it due?

for the parking, ur guest have any problem tat day? mine too weekday ...

dougan

hi gin, glad to hear that, happy for u. wow! so fast already halfway thru. Jia You and cont to eat and rest well ya.
hi yuki, my AD is 2nd Dec but i haven't hear fr michelle yet and i dunno what to expect. Now still busy with my room cos the furniture juz came in and we have not gotten the mattress yet...sigh...
have u found ur furniture already?

yuki31

dougan, icic my ROM is 1 day before ur AD ...keke :p i not too sure coz michelle dun seem to contact me ...everytime i plan then ask her when can i do this n tat ...

i havent brought furniture n bed yet coz my FH still havent clear his room ...was afraid dunno can in time for AD or not

gs1979

Tks Yuki & dougan!!

dougan, ur AD is on 2nd dec still early for michelle to contact u abt any updates. Usually she will call u abt 2-3weeks before to finalise the theme of the nite and also the confirmed no of tables cos the banquet team need to cater food. Dun get too stress up...b a pretty bride!!

Yuki, my guests didnt feedback nor complain abt parking lots leh. Just dat when leaving the hotel got a bit jam lah. Also, since there is MRT accessible so i guess even those w/o transport oso hv no probs.

clar

Hi Gin

Congrats to you..I signed my contract with Michelle (Intercon) and AD next yr Dec..

I think for transport wise Weekends (Sat) is more pack..

dougan

Tks Gin! Ah, finally gotten mattress and furniture will be all in by this week... Will be meeting up wif Michelle next week.
Yuki, are u gonna paint ur room? If so, think u better start shopping ard for furniture cos u nid to make sure the color scheme matches ya. Kick ur FH out of his rm fast n try to get the rm up at least a mth before AD so that it'll free u from other things, like RSVP. Cos we are having a tough time coping wif RSVP (save the date) and our room since last week. But yet again, it's fun setting up ur own place, i'm satisfied wif my design and i even get to design my own bed!

yuki31

dougan, i wan to paint the room but FH dun seem keen on doing tat ......yap i shopping ard for furniture , saw some i like but very hard to get the whole set ......ya lor i remind him everyday but he still din do anything .......haha

wow u so good design ur own bed oso ....keke :p
wat mattress u getting? any reco?

i send our save the date email ...keke :p
will send out invitation card after tat ...next mth

dougan

yuki, i learn to realise that our pre-occupation is the wedding but not so for guys, cos they have too many other things to do so they dun focus as much attention as we do, if u agree wif me. it's not that they are not interested but they dunno and dun have time to do 'research' like us, like now...haha. so what i did was to look ard, narrow down and present my ideas, then u get a better chance of getting some response and counter suggestions.

aiya, i shop ard and merge the design of 3 beds into one, choosing the color of the laminate that i think will fit into my wallpaer, that's all. but really enjoyed it. happy to see the end result.

i din shop ard too much for mattress so dunno what's good. got fr ikea cos we are gonna be away for 3 years after the wedding, so dunno what will happen to the mattress, get a cheap one so that if it turns mouldy, u wun feel the pinch.

ublur

i second gin.. i got simmons bed.. very comfy and good.. i think a good bed is very impt.. we spend like 7-8 hours sleeping on it. so it's impt that we can have good sleep and rest at night..

I will be having my wedding next wk at intercon.. so excited now.. having wedding jitters

tigerlily125

congrats blur blur!!
best wishes for your wedding
hope all goes smoothly
heard from my married friends that the planning for the wedding takes so long but on the actual day itself, its over so fast..
so you must really enjoy the day n not worry about everything

yuki31

blur blur, congrats & best wishes for your wedding. when is ur AD? me having food tasting next week too ...keke :p

Gin, yap i looked n tried a few Simmons mattress at Robinsons ...my FH say he like Simmons n Serta so dunno taking which yet ..

blur blur / Gin, how much does ur Simmons mattress cost? i saw a few but all bedframe are sperate ...FH prepare it come together ....keke :p at the same price.

dougan, yap agree that guys dun really focus on wedding stuffs ...i alway do the research n ask my FH make the decision ...keke :p

wow u goin oversea for 3 years? then ur flat be empty?

gs1979

Yuki, u lookin at queen or king sized? mine is a king sized mattress...beauty rest series. But bedframe is from king koil cos i needed a storage bed as no enuff space in my room. Normally, a gd simmons mattress shld cost ard $3k. But if u r getting with bedframe then it shld not b more than $5k. I dunno if i'm rite.

Blur, how much is ur bed? Btw, so excited for u leh...u r finally walking down the aisle with ur hubby. Is ur hubby gg to sing for u again? I played back my AD video and i do missed those moments. tigerlily is rite...preparations needed such a long time but on the actual day itself, everything happened so fast...u onli realised its over when u woke up the next day.

ublur

thanks gals... so happy and excited now. jitters now leh..

tigerlily, ayyaya.. planning for a wedding is not easy leh. take long time.. started doing my planning a year ago, finally the day has come..

Yuki, great.. the food tasting session for me turn out great lah.. I only bought the mattress as i m having a platform bed.. the platform and head rest are done by my carpentry..
I got a king size glendale from simmon during robinson sales..i had tried the bed and still prefer softer bed. backcare bed are too hard for my likings.. abt 3k... 70% of hotels in singapore are using simmons bed. I get to know of this brand when I was having my hotel stay few years back and it's really comforatble.. told my hb , bf then that i wan to have this kind of bed for my new house.. so the next min we were searching under the bedsheet for the brand of the mattress and it was simmon lor..

Gintonic, 3k for my mattress.. but i tink worth it lor..
yup yup, my hb going to sing this time again, but i don't know which song he is singing.. meant to be a surprise for me.. yaya.. time flies so fast.. not u expecting ur little one soon and I m having my AD soon.. so excited..