Intercontinental Singapore

ublur

Gintonic, ya he sang on our ROM. He promise to sing to me on our AD as well. He is not a great singer.. still can do.

Jen, wow, sounds really great and dreamy...

gs1979

Hi JEN, thanks for the info. I'm glad that the sound system was great. Me nearly signed up with TWP too but hubby prefer another VG. Our photo montage will be done by hubby's best fren as a wedding gift to us. Just chosen the song for montage. Songs for march-in & 1st dish not selected yet.

By the way, does intercon provides any music to be played before the banquet start & during the dinner or do we need to prepare & bring our own CD??
Possible to do rehersal aweek before AD??..cos my cousin advised to test out the sound system as well as the rehersal wif our flower gals & page boys.

jen_bibi

HI Gintonic

yes, they do. so we only prepared 3 songs. No worries, u r in good hands!

Just need to call yr co-ordinator to arrange e timing cos dat's wat hubby did. we went down twice before e full dress rehear on e AD itself.

once to check e sound system n played out songs. also to ordinate with e banquet manager n sound system guy. (tell them generally want we wanted)

they will also give some advices on e dos n don'ts.

another my hubby went down with his main co-ordinator to liaise with e banquet manager.

they will help if e ballroom is available. also can i check who yr banquet manager for yr AD?

gs1979

JEN, thanks thanks. my coordinator is Michelle. R u referring to Kenneth, heard he is the banquet Mgr from my AD PG cos Kenneth oso engaged for his AD??

jen_bibi

Hi GIntonic

no i'm not, mine wasn't kenneth but a malay guy called Abdul. he was really a friendly and helpful guy. he was there e whole time n we saw him before, during n after e dinner. he was always here but he never disturb us (e wwedding couple) cos he will always liaise with our main co-ordinator or the wine co-ordinator.
u must remember to assign this 2 persons n intro them to him cos he will liaise with them thru out e dinner.

before we went in for our 1st march in, he was outside waiting for us n told us to relax n enjoy e evening n every thing are going smoothly.

thinking back, i really misses e whole wedding. *sob* *sob*.

do that note dat if yr wedding falls on a wkend. do info yr guests to come early cos some of my guests got struck in e jam/ carpark n e dinner ve to start at 8:45pm. n even then some guests also arrived later.

gs1979

Jen, now i rem this Malay guy cos i saw him @ the recent wedding show. Maybe Kenneth is the wedding sales Mgr. heee...
So when u collecting your AD Pics & Video?? Definitely feels touched after watching it. Wedding is once in a lifetime, will of cos rem the moment vividly.

my AD is on weekday, the day after Labour Day. So shldnt b v jammed rite?? Me hoping to start the dinner @ 8 or 8.30pm.

jen_bibi

HI Gintonic

i ve collected my AD pics. all very nicely done but i found some dinner pics not to my liking but e % not very high. so overall is ok to me

if a wkday, then should not be a problem lah but 1 day after labour day is it near a wkend? cos if yes, u ve to worry abt guests taking block leave n going on a long holiday. read from papers that next yr quite a number of 'long' hoildays if u know which day to apply leaves on.
so remember to info that on yr day. also u ve to do alot of RSVP before that.

i did mine n found abt 1 table of ppl not coming , luckily i reduce e no. of tables. but on e day itself there r still ppl who din turn up. so i still ve empty seats.

gs1979

Jen, 2nd May is a tuesday. So i think have to RSVP by sunday cos labour day is on monday. The guest list is always the headache part, cannot predict til the v last min. My mum getting 10tables from me but now said need another 2 more, really worry abt elders cos they always said "let them arrange themselves". haiz...

Read from another thread that a gal suffered 10K lost as her banquet venue is @ RTP. dat's alot..

ublur

hey gals, i had finally confirmed with intercon. will be holding my wedding there. However, i did not manage to request for many perks. Michelle is pretty firm on the perks..

jen_bibi

Hi Gintonic

sorry but where is RTP???

my mum also got 10tables but in e end i gave her 2 more. 1 thing her friends gave on time cos my mum cater a bus for them. (to n fro hotel)

my relatives also headache cos when u ask them, they will reply 'free then go loh" wat kind of answer is that??? n if u ask how many, they will reply... 'y??? yr table not enough???' so jia li

i lost $7K cos average ppl will give $85 but some joker will give $40 loh...

i'm ok if they give $80 cos is 'market rate' but i can't stand those who knows yet like come for free food attitude.

eg. i got an ex colleague, ask close to e wedding whether can bring wife? then ask whether got free carpark coupon n also who he sitting with n who he dun want to sit with etc. n later i found out he gave only $88 for 2 pax.. *faint*

but i ve some ex colleague who not able to attend n still tell me very early abt it n still give a big ang bao.
so u won't know until yr wedding, where u will see wat kind of ppl u tot u know.

gini09

Would like to check if anyone have request and have HI as one of the PS venue? If yes, do we need to write in for such request?

jen_bibi

Hi Gini09

if u ve signed with HI as yr AD dinner, no need to write in lah, just tell yr co-ordinator when u going to take e PS can liao. i think if u want to take pics in e hotel room also can. (if available).

i did check with my co-ordinator n she said to let her know when... dat's all.

ublur

JEN, wow, so serious eh? how come some of them are so stingy. $88 for 2 pax? He din know the current rate? well, i guess we can't choose, jus pray hard pple wil be more generous. you mention you lost 7k, does it include the tables you give to your mum?

jen_bibi

Hi Blur blur

these ppl come for a 'good' meal, they dun care wan. He even dare to write his name on e ang bao leh.

i got another ex-colleague can asked me when i went to give her e invite whether this is a 5 star hotel n how much is 1 table, she even do it infront of another colleague. i pai sai n said is a 5 star n table is above average. she still pressed on n ask 'got $900 plus?' n i juts noded, guess how much she give???...$60... *faint*

i think most of them know but they dun bother loh.
my mum rtn all e ang bao or else e 'lost' will be even more. frankily wedding dinner r suppose to be like dat lah, dun keep thinking to 'earn' then u won't feel so 'hard pain'.

During e dinner, i was very happy to see everyone attended n enjoyed themselves. Is only when we showered n eating supper (at 2/3 am) cum watching tv n counting ang bao then e 'funny part' came.

imagine e 2 of us sitting in e living area with bathrobes on n eating leftovers from wedding dinner n opening ang bao n saving... 'wa!!! can't believe this person give so n so' n laughing at each other's ang bao collection. my hubby got 1 ang bao even more funny, e person give coins ($149.99)... i was laughting so hard when he screamed "wa!!! this person who!! can even give coins!!!"

wat a wast dat we dun ve video camera with us or else will be funny to watch e scene again :p

ublur

JEN, oh my god, how come he can still be so thick skin? I hope my parent dun invite too many pple cos relatives sure bound to lose money. Friends and colleagues still not so bad. that person who gave you $1499.99 ringgit is good sia.. still dare to give? i heard from my friend that got relatives packet a $2 toto ticket for her wedding!!

I am still hopping to break even leh, though it's quite impossible. keeping fingers crossed.

jen_bibi

HI blur blur

not all relatives will give 'little' lah, i ve quite a number giving $400 to $500 plus leh even for a family of 4 or less.

good luck to u, remember to post when yr wedding over so that i know how u 'fare' :p

gs1979

Jen, that fellow who gave u ringgit really a BIG JOKER leh!! agreed wif wad u said, u will only noe abt the pple u invite when they turn up for your wedding.

Like now, most of my colleagues all noe that i'm getting married. U noe lor, there r pple who can get along and there r oso pple who are v "fake" in every workplace. Sumtimes they wil ask me now "market rate is how much huh"?? But u nvr noe that those who can get along might give u only $40 lor...its v unpredictable. My mum mentioned to me that dun think of earning or break even, marriage is a happy occasion to share your joy wif others. At 1st i dun really agreed but somehow after reading wad u posted, i must say its quite logical.

I have abt 40 odd colleagues & hubby has only 10...thats y my hubby keep saying invite those who r much closer like 5yrs or more. U noe wad, i got "bombed" when i joined my co for like 2mths. I hardly even noe the colleague yet i was invited...so funny rite??

gs1979

But its a happy & joyful occasion, therefore the most impt thing is to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves. End of the day think of all these stuffs make ourselves lagi stress out!!

gini09

Thanks for the advise. But the problem is I dun even know who's my co ordinator as the Banquet manager whom I signed up with is no longer with the hotel already.

Wah you really lost a lot... think I may be worse cause my mum won't give me back my ang bao money one... haha...Just have to save more for the worse case scenerio.

little_a

My AD was over on 26 Nov 05. I had a wonderful time. Thanks to all my helpers. All my aunts stayed over at my place on Friday night. I woke up at 5.30am and my MUA came at 6.15am. Prior to doing up the makeup, my dad fed me for the last time (some teochew tradition I think). My photographer and videographer were very funny and made the whole event so lively. The groom came to pick me up at 8.15am and minus the hassle of gatecrashing, we left by 8.30am for the church.

For the church procession, I had 4 flower gals, 2 pageboys, 2 bridesmaids and 1 maid of honour.... Thanks to the choir and soloist for their lovely voices which made the whole church ceremony very lovely. Friends commented that they love my church ceremony and that it was very beautiful. I engaged Lavish Dine for my tea reception in church and received very good feedback from my friends and relatives. Friends also told me that they like all my gowns.

Reached the hotel around 2pm and checked into the shophouse suite. Took some rest and around 4.30pm, I took a shower. By then, my MUA arrived and started to do up the makeup for my mum and sis. My makeup started at 5.15pm and by 7.00pm I was all ready for the night. For the ballroom, I chose Maroon with tealights.. we bought three packets of tealight candles and candle holders for the guest tables.. we wanted the tealight candles to last thru the dinner and the effect was very nice.

Prior to the first walk-in, my emcees had started to gather all the children below certain age to line up by the aisle. Got two of my colleagues (one gal & one guy) to rehearsal the march-in together with the clapping. For the first walk-in, I had 4 flowergals to walk in together with us. After the 2nd dish, we had to change into my evening gown and had requested for the mua to do a 2nd hairdo for me. For the toasting, we only had "cheers" instead of "yumseng". As majority of my guests are christians and catholics, "yumseng" will be too rowdy and spolit the atmosphere. After the toasting, my emcees sang a song for us and my choir also sang two songs. I was so touched that I cried.

Everything ended around 10.45pm which was considered very fast. We started only at 8.45pm as many guests had difficulties finding parking lots. All my guests gave very good feedback on all the dishes. We topped up for cod fish and yam paste. As for wedding flavour, we chose the plush dogs and the guests love them and find them very unique and cute.

Generally, we made a lost of $5k cos with all the topped up, our table is about $960/ table. If not for the money that my mum had given me, we would have lost even more cos we have got several tables of Malaysia relatives who gave in ringgit. My father-in-law paid the dinner banquet and hence at the end of the day, we did not made any loss. We are also allowed to keep all the ang bao money from the banquet this allowed us to have more to spend for our honeymoon. Really enjoyed my AD and thanks to all who helped.

gs1979

gini, i have told my AD PG to take photos @ intercon after i finished my tea ceremony @ hm.
Dun worry too much, sure can go there to take pics since u have signed up wif them. so when's ur AD??

little_ger, thanks for letting us feel more assured that our choice of chosing intercon as AD banquet venue was a right one!! Your AD with the choirs seems romantic & great!! U must have felt so touched that u cried. maybe i could get some jie meis to sing for me. haha!! So what is the age group of your pageboys & flowergals? My 2pageboys are Pri 3 & 3flowergals are Pri 1 & K1. Guess with the intercon's interior, it b a beau scene walking down the aisle wif these pageboys & flowergals...got the dreamy feeling.

jen_bibi

HI Gintonic

i invited like 70 ppl from ex compan n none from nex cos i only started work like 2 months before e AD so i pai say dun want to 'bomb' them. some of them know abt it but i did apologise to them regarding this n they understand.

e dinner is a happy occassion for e parents too. my mummy was so happy on e day n alot of ppl congrat her. she was smiling so much e whole day. seeing her like dat, i also very happy. Once e dinner finish, u won't think much regarding e $$$ lah.

Hi Gini09

u can call HI n ask them who is incharge of yrs now. they will assign someone to take over so dun ve to worry abt this.
do give them a call

gs1979

Jen...agreed wif wad u said. at least your new colleagues v understanding. Me quite stressed & pissed off @ work recently. been with the co for 4yrs+, b cos of alot recent unhappy work issues, i starting to dislike some of my colleagues. was wondering dun wanna invite them but it b too obvious. i wanna self-protect myself incase they oso dislike me & end up giving $40 ang bao. How huh??

jen_bibi

Hi Gintonic

this no choice wan. u either invite or dun invite, very hard to predict how much they will give. one thing is they got come can liao lah.
maybe when u invite them n after e dinner both yr relationship becomes better lei... this u never know.
those dat comes with $40, u can predict wan lah, they wanted to give like dat also no choice. count yrself luckily they din pack tissue paper packet instead.

red088

Am choosing between Malacca rooms in Intercontinental vs Renaissance. Am looking for small places e.g. 8 - 15 tables. Intercontinental min 8 tables -- S$658+++. Renaissance min 15 tables -- S$628+++. Anyone tried their food? Which one is better??

red088

Am choosing between Malacca rooms in Intercontinental vs Rendezvous. Am looking for small places e.g. 8 - 15 tables. Intercontinental min 8 tables -- S$658+++. Rendezvous min 15 tables -- S$628+++. Anyone tried their food? Which one is better??

gs1979

red088, Jen & little_ger just had their AD. u can b rest assured of the food service @ intercon. Thumbs for their food!! the part of reason y we chosen Intercon is b cos of their food menu...its ala carte style compared to those hotels wif std menu. By the way, the food is served by the famous MAN FU YUAN. I'm doing my food tasting in Mar'06 cos AD is in May. Wad abt u? whens ur AD??

jen_bibi

HI red088

e food we tasted during the food tasting are e same as e food served during e wedding so u dun ve to worried dat e food tasted on e 2 days r different (which some hotels food may varies).

i asked some of e food expert (parents n brothers n sisters) cos both hubby n i have no time to taste e food properly.

furthermore, they ve a high expectation on e food level than us (our taste buds not working since birth :p )

if u ve a small table size, u can consider having your wedding at e Man Fu Yuan itself... hubby's friend is thinking of holding her/ his wedding there.

red088

thanks for the information. Prob of having it in Man Fu Yuan is that people usually perceive it as restaurant and give smaller red packets :p

What are some of the good deals we can get out of Intercontinental e.g. 2 nights instead of 1 night etc?

am trying to fix my AD. have work commitments in Q3/4 and plan to have AD before that i.e. Q2. Prob is bf's brother having his AD end April so may 'xi chong xi'.. am in a dilemma and dun feel like having it at all

gs1979

red088, u can fix ur AD end sept cos next yr got "2 7th lunar mths" then u & ur bro wont "xi chong xi". Yes, pple might give lesser ang baos b cos of the venue. But normally restaurant food menu will cost lesser as compared to hotel banquets. For smaller wedding dinner, me not sure abt the perks u can get. Those perks are usually entitle for banquet lunch or dinner.

have u call up their wedding co-ordinators??

shaenyeo

Anyone chose the maroon wedding theme? Is it very chee-na?

Am concerned that it is, but i like colour and wanted a romantic feel.

Having 38 tables... if anyone has the experience, do let me know!

gs1979

Hi Yeo, the maroon wedding theme is v dreamy. Not v chee-na, y do u think its v chee-na?? U can arrange your coordinator to show you the ballroom & also the shophouse bridal suite.

shaenyeo

hi there gintonic, thanks for the advice. Am going down to see it tomorrow. Yeah i like romantic more than grand, so that's why selected the maroon theme.

gs1979

Yeo, u'r getting married in 3weeks time. Congrats congrats!!
do share your experience & pics if u have with us.

shaenyeo

Hi again. Have decided on the maroon theme. It is indeed very nice!
Will share experiences and also pics once it's all over. What an end to the year.

beanbean

hi shaen, noticed you asked about having 38 tables. i had 39 tables (+1 reserve) at the intercon in oct. i thought it was a nice spread cos you would want the ballroom to look full and not too empty. still adequate space to walk around to talk to your guests so no worries there! what was your concern anyway?

shaenyeo

hi beanbean, I was initially concerned that it would be too crowded. Made a trip down last week and found that it would be ok, even with 40 tables, so am reassured. 2 more weeks to wedding!! Nerves and excitement are setting in...

gs1979

thanks beanbean & shaen for sharing your info. i was oso kinda worried abt the space too. My sis attended a wedding recently @ intercon and she feedback that it was abit cramp, maybe she was seated near the door so pple got to walk past her to exit for toilet.

shaenyeo

yeah that might probably be it. I will take note of that and make sure my relatives r not seated too near door else might be irritating. anyone had a band and the sound system was good enough?

axel

Through a 1st round of research, I made the following three choices:

1. Hotel Intercontinental

2. Grand Hyatt

3. Marina Mandarin

Comments about all aspects on food/ballroom/perks are greatly appreciated! Many thanks!

gs1979

Hi Axel, i been to view the ballroom at Grand Hyatt too before signing up with intercon. The ceiling is not as high as intercon.

As for MM, the hotel just revamped with a new look so the ballroom definitely looks v new & grand. But not many hotel ballroom like intercon has chandeliers, dats part of the reason we chose it too.

Overall, its the std of the food. For intercon, the banquet is served by the famous Man Fu Yuan restaurant, so can rest more assure abt comments from guests.

Hope the above info helps!!
By the way, have u view all the ballrooms??

axel

Thanks Gintonic!

I saw Intercon on monday and there was a wedding dinner on that day. We were quite impressed but was worried about the size of the ballroom as it looks pretty cramp.

Going to see Hyatt today. Most likely the Sir Stamford ballroom, will be taking a look later.

Will be seeing Marina this weekend so that that the hotel can be confirmed by next week.

Heard mixed review about the food for Hyatt and Marina but mostly good than bad. Almost all good reviews for Intercon.

gs1979

Axel, dun mention!! we are all here to share ideas & views.

Do share wif me after viewing MM's ballroom. By the way, food @ Hyatt is gd too, heard great comments from hubby's frens. But we still prefer intercon, guess its love @ 1st sight!! haha...