Intercontinental Singapore

finesse

Oh and just to update the wedding show perks..

Grand Ballroom
- $10 discount per table
- Complimentary 10 bottles of house wine (red or white)
- Complimentary unlimited flow of beer for weekday package
- one 30L barrel of beer for weekend package

Malacca Rooms & The Vault
- $10 discount off per table

UOB Exclusive Wedding Perks
- Complimentary 1 table of 10 persons for every confirmed wedding
- Complimentary Sunday Brunch for 2 persons worth S$208

kite~

I tried the Sunday Brunch before at HI. very nice. alot of variety
each person costs about $88++

gs1979

Hi Jean, hope u join us as HI brides too!! Was wondering how come there are only so few of us leh..heehee

Wow...the perks seems attractive leh. But my AD in May so cant wait till the wedding show then sign the contract. Abit risky lor. Who's your coordinator?

finesse

Hi Gintonic and Jolene
yeah wondering how come not many HI brides-to-be here at this thread.. maybe they also waiting to sign up at wedding show? Yes, I'll be at the wedding show to sign up... want to take advantage of the deals.. am trying my luck to ask for wine corkage waiver... heh heh.. hope can get. My coordinator is Michelle.. quite a nice and friendly ger

finesse

I'm going for a second meet-up this Wed with Michelle. So far, I've only managed to get 70% parking coupons.. 1 nite stay.. thinking of negotiating for 30 botts wine corkage waiver and a free helper room and free projector.. oh, and also 2nd nite stay.. do u girls think its possible? And what other things should i be asking for? Need your advice...

finesse

I'm going for a second meet-up this Wed with Michelle. So far, I've only managed to get 70% parking coupons.. 1 nite stay.. thinking of negotiating for 30 botts wine corkage waiver and a free helper room and free projector.. oh, and also 2nd nite stay.. do u girls think its possible? And what other things should i be asking for? Need your advice...

gs1979

Hi Jean, i think the perks u have asked is ok.
I thot the free projector & nite stay for helpers already included as additional perks in the package?? think u better re-confirm with Michelle when u meet up with her. I also requested for additional nite stay but was unsuccessful...but Michelle still managed to give me 70% parking coupons. As for the corkage waived, it depends on individuals. Try asking Michelle if you really have many friends who are wine drinkers. As my AD is on weekday, i'm expecting lesser guests to drink. but its difficult to say now as most of hubby's friends are "GOOD" wine drinkers so keeping my fingers crossed!!

By the way, anyone knows which BS will be @ Intercon's wedding show??

beanbean

I just had my food tasting at Intercon, and I asked to try their house red wine - the Cornerstone Red on their wine list - and I wanted to let you guys know that the wine turned out pretty ok. Light and very drinkable. The non-drinkers at the table liked it, though the more serious drinkers found it a bit light.

Just thought this might be helpful info in case any of you are thinking of taking the house wine, or if you (like me) got free wine from signing up at the bridal show

finesse

Hi Gintonic,
The bridal shop is most likely to be Irene's Creation. Michelle mentioned that they might be more than 1. Have any of you signed up for the wedding show? I heard that it is a sit-down dinner type of food serving. Unlike most wedding shows where they do buffet style of food-serving.. looking forward to it... any of u going too?

gs1979

Hi Jean, i din sign up during the wedding show. Me signed the contract end June. But i'm keen to attend the wedding show if its a sit down dinner type cos can try their food. heehee
I have signed up a bridal package liao but still looking ard for PG & VG for actual day. Are u confirm gg??

gini09

Those who book the dinner package during the wedding show is very worth it. Actually wanted to wait til wedding show then book but someone is eyeing on the same date so no choice have to take up. Didn't know can ask to try the hse wine during food tasting session. I shld try it, as we may intend to get hse wine as only lmt bottles of red wine is being waived for corkage fee.

finesse

Hi Gintonic.. pardon me.. wats PG and VG? hee.. i'm rather new to bridal stuff.. havent gotten my bridal studio yet.. still looking out.. which is yours? Yup, I'm going for the bridal show to sign up for the banquet package.

Gini09: Try asking for waiver of more wines! I believe its possible..

gs1979

Jean,PG is Photographer & VG is Videographer. I oso learnt all these short forms in the forum.
My Bridal Studio is FAME BRIDAL in Yishun. Me dun wanna travel around so signed up with them as its near my home. Had my ROM in May and i had a MTM dress. Realli liked it alot but i din buy it.
Heard the response for the show was overwhelming. I might be attending the show too. So if u confirm gg then we can meet up too. heehee

finesse

oic.. haha.. thanks thanks...
oh yes, i have heard of Fame Bridal. yeah my best fren staying in yishun also took one near her place.. so many times she just drop by and keep trying and trying their gowns... haha.. yeah i'll be going for the wedding show.. great, PM me your contact number then! we meet up there..

babybride

I am considering HI too..but need to confirm by this weekend else they will release my tentative booking..

I m stressed up to my neck!! cant seem to find a place for my AD next yr end..so popular..now left only HI for AD nite and OCC for the day nite after AD..Two different worlds right??

M considering OCC due to the grand ballroom design n spacious...n of caz the baggy ride...but HI is more of a "high class" le..the price for both also worlds apart..how huh? Does anyone got a piece of advise for mi?

Anyone breakeven for HI on sat nite dinner?

jen_bibi

Hi babybride

me booked my wedding at HI for a sat night, but sorry i won't be able to asnwer your q on e break even part cos my wedding not over yet (NoV) by then i think is too late for your decision liao.

but i think most impt is go with yr heart, see which 1 u like best!

gs1979

Hi Dixon, u looking @ weekend or weekday package??

Hi pingypooky, sorrie my AD is next yr so no pics to share. But U can attend their wedding show to see the ballrooom set up. Intercontinental is a gd choice for AD...wont regret!!

Hi Babybride, min tables for weekend @ OCC is 40 but Intercon is only 32. The food & ambience @ intercon is definitely a better choice. Have u seen the ballroom @ intercon??

There is an upcoming wedding show on this sunday 2nd Oct. Do check out!!

finesse

Hi Dixon
Per weekday table (dinner) at HI is 658+++ and weekend table (dinner) is 798+++ (fri and sun), 818+++ (sat). These rates are before the promotional discount. Hope these help

babybride

Hi Gintonic,

Thanks for replying...yeah i agree tat the place is more "high class" as compared to OCC...especially the suites..but the comfortable no of tables is 37..we are lookin at ard 39 (maybe)...somemore 1 more yr down the road, scared later know more pple but cant invite them le...now convincing bf to choose HI...

now m stuck n stressed...never know its so stressful to even find a appropriate venue within budget...

any one has any comments for Raffles the plaza? or OCC???

gs1979

Hi Jean, u've got mail!!

Babybride, then u need 2 consider bigger ballroom lor..my fren has signed up wif grand corp waterfront. Their min for weekdays is 35. U can try Pan Pacific too..i just attend a wedding last nite. The couple has got 47tables!! Long aisle & high ceiling too. But i honestly feels that Intercontinental Ballroom looks more ROMANTIC & ELEGANT as compared to many ballrooms i have seen.

jen_bibi

Hi Wendi

i ve their invitation cards but i think their cards are so so only (only 1 looks nice). if u want, leave me yr email address so that i can email them to u.
i even ve e weddign favors too (also so so).
i tot their wedding favors will be special but they are the same compared to 3 or 4 stars hotel.

finesse

Its official! I'm now proudly a HI bride! I've just signed up with HI yesterday at their wedding show.. my AD's 25 Sept 2006.

Gintonic: It was nice meeting u and yr hubby yesterday at HI..
also, looking forward to knowing more HI brides here!

gs1979

Hi Jean, nice meeting u & ur bf too!! heehee..
So envy the couple who won the 1st prize leh. So now u can an xin & take ur time to do your BS search.

gs1979

Latest update on HI BTBs
kao_wedding.gif

Piyoling / 19 Oct 05
little_ger / 26 Nov 05
Gintonic / 02 May 06
Moonlight / 08 May 06
Slimmy / 06 Jun 06
Greenleaf / 20 Jun 06
gini09 / 23 Jun 06
Jean / 25 Sept 06

finesse

Hi Jen
My coordinator is Michelle. very nice gal.. follow up with us throughout this last 2 weeks though she's very very busy with preparing for the wedding show and even after we signed on the dotted line yesterday morning, she bothered to get someone to show us the wedding suite after that and came by to ask our comments of the food etc. Very happy overall to have confirmed at HI!

Jen's wedding is when? Are u having at HI too?

jen_bibi

Hi jean

ya, having mine at HI too but it at last yr wedding show.
mine is on e 19th of next mth.

just did my food tasting abt 3 wks ago. out of 9 dishes only 1 'din make' it. e food very very good n hope that on e AD will be like dat.

Hi wendi

sent liao

finesse

oohh.. congrats Jen! Must be very excited now.. wishing you a most beautiful day and pray everything goes well for you! Don't be stressed k? Just be a beautiful bride on that day! Send us pics if you have any...

jen_bibi

Hi jean

Thanks for your well wishes.

WOW, yrs still ve abt 1 yr to go but things move very fast 1.
this time last yr i just booked my ballroom n 1 mth from now i will be walking down e ballroom.
so nervous n excited, think i will 'miss' e feeling after my AD.

wanted it to come but dun want it to be over :p

if got pics, i will let u see

gs1979

Hi gals, i tasted their in hse wine - Conerstone recently @ the wedding show....hubby and me dun really like it cos its too light.

kitty_li

Thanks Jen,

Harh...?? Aiyoh, why do pple get that impression? Coz it's at the Bugis / Rochor / Bras Basah area? So sad...it's such a nice hotel. Uh-oh..."ska-li" the pple also give "4-star" rate for AP...cham. hehehs...

gs1979

Congrats Jen!! U must getting more & more excited!! Do rem to share your pics when ready. So where u gg for Honeymoon??

Hi CSI Fan, HI is gd choice & u wont regret. My hubby & i love the ballroom @ 1st sight...haha!! No other hotels have the same kind of interior. v v romantic. Even my parents who attended a wedding @ Conrad recently oso find the decor not as nice as Intercon.

jen_bibi

Hi gintonic

thks! ya, getting excited, HM is in NZ but not so soon cos going to be school hoilday soon. Waiting till feb so not so 'crowd' overseas