Intercontinental Singapore

warrmead

hi kite,

we spoke to adeline that time.

anyway, thanks 2 a wonderful boss' arrangement & recommendation, i will be having my reception at conrad. so blessed & happy...

bluryo

Me a HI bride too! Have confirmed 2 weeks ago. AD will be in Jan05. We requested for a upgrade of the room to cos hubby din like the shophouse suite at all..... But it'll be subject to availability......

kite~

hi sleepy,

welcome to HI thread.
what other perks u gotten? who is ur co-ordinator? adeline or angeline? cheers.

bluryo

We spoke to Adeline. We were contemplating between Conrad & HI...

Anyway, must say that Jennifer from Conrad was much friendlier and accomodating than Adeline. We din get any additional perks other than upping food tasting to 10 pax. A bit rigid, but cos time is tight and options are limited, we settled for it. Moreover, we din like the service sections in the COnrad ballroom, tot it was a bit unsightly...

Not quite happy about the $30+++ top up per table for 2005 though.....

juzz

I am planning to hold me wedding at HI this december. but i will be taking the weekday package. has anyone ever had a weekday wedding there before?

I actually planned to have mine in 2005..but becuase of the price increase, i push it forward to 2004...

bluryo

Hi Juzz,

Wise choice, get to save some money..... we really wanted a sat and that's the only Sat the Master gave us for the Year of Monkey.... so no choice lor...

HI's Sunday package is cheaper that Saturday package... you may consider that.

juzz

ya, i wanted a Sunday initially...but all the Sun dates have been taken up in Dec...*sob sob* so no choice, I have to do it on a weekday...

The next alternative is on Friday..the only weekend available..but it's on Christmas Eve!! not too sure if it's a good idea to have it then...

juzz

Hi Sleepy and kite,

Do u know if for the additional flowers deco...like the stair case and in the ballroom, usually how much more would we have to fork out??

oso, the rental of the projector for screening of videos?

I read in some of the threads above on the service of the painist...will she be playing during the dinner or only at the reception...?

Hope u can help me cos i'll be meeting Adeline on Monday...i'm afraid that for my weekday package, i may not have that much of bargaining power

celwong

Hi juzz. I am a ex bride of HI, hope to help.

mine was a weekday package too, think e flowers for the staircase is about $50 ~ $60 defintely below $100.

I top up a bit for the ballroom, using fresh flowers on the stage cause the pastel one they have clashed with my theme. think total top up about $200.

icy

hi sleepy,

I just talk to Adeline on sat, i think she is quite firm on perks for 2005 dates. No additional of perks that she can offer, not even food tasting, more moeny for more pax on food tasting or more dishes. Money for projector and etc.

Oh ya, and plus the $30+++ for next year. *sigh*

kite~

hi juzz,

hehe paiseh. i m one of the Dec 04 HI brides. i booked last Nov. Singaporean very KS. imagine that was the sunday i left with on last nov 03 and most wkends was booked. so i quickly booked that dec sunday since it's an auspicious day.

hmm just my personal opinion. Dec really left w limited wkends bcos of xmas season. Normally ppl will either go carolling or countdown on xmas eve or even travel overseas. Anyway i m already prepared that my guests or frens will travel to overseas in Dec time.

For the additional flowers decor, u hv to pay $60 for decorating the staircases. but if ur wedding is during Dec, i felt that there is no need to decor e stairs as some xmas decor will be put up there. I saw it when i viewed a wedding last dec 03.

As for additional flower decor for ballroom, hv to pay extra but not sure e pricing.

yes they will provide free service of the piano but NOT pianist. Not sure whether it's a grand piano anot, i guess its e normal kind. if u hv frens or relatives who can play well, can ask them to play.

Good Luck!

juzz

Hi Celine,

thanks for the info. i think i'll def choose to add more flower decoration to the ballroom cos i think it the initial decor provided may not be enuff.

How was the attendance for your wedding since it was oso on a weekday? did the wedding start late?

These are the things i'm worried about cos i will be looking at about 28 tables, which may look little in the ballroom and if my guests do not turn up, it'll be really no-show!!!

do u have any pics from ur wedding that i can take a peak at? esp ur ballroom

super stress!

juzz

Hi Kite!

So, u are a Dec04 bride as well...so lucky that u managed to get a weekend date. my wedding was quite sudden cos i've gotten my flat and my mom says that it's good to get married in the Year of the Monkey! that's why we have to do this last min mad rush...

The piano service sounds pretty cool..esp if it's played during the reception..*dreamy*

and yes, ur concerns were the same as mine when i was choosing b/w xmas eve and the weekday...i do not wanna be the mean bride that spoils everyone's plan for xmas eve..otherwise, it would be quite romantic to have it on that day..heehee

did u manage to negotiate for more perks from them when u booked?? the last time i met adeline, she wasn't that negotiable...

kite~

Hi Juzz,

oh really! hehe i didnt know Monkey is a good year to get married.

yup intend to ask my cousin to play the piano provided. remember to ask them to state free usage of piano.

hmm so far i didnt really talk to Adeline but she seems to be a nice lady. I signed up last Nov 03 and my co-ordinator tat time was Enya. I negotiated w her.

so most likely u getting a friday?

juzz

hi kite,

ya, apparantly, Year of the Monkey is better than than Chicken which is next year...the most auspicious date is on Jan09. I've tried everywhere and they are all fully booked on that date. *gosh*

hmm...i do not have any relatives or friends who can play the piano well leh...will urs be played during the reception ah? i wonder how much they charge to engage their pianist. i've seen from the early threads that they oso have someone to play the harp...*romantic*

My wedding wun be on a Friday..it'll be thursday, the weekday package cos i'm more comfortable with getting about 30 tables and not 32. and Intercon weekday package is really affordable. wish me luck with my meeting with adeline tonight!!!

kite~

Hi juzz,

intend to ask my cousin to play e piano cos now she is grade 7 if i m not wrong. highest is grade 9. but she is just 10yrs old. :p

i think to engage a pianist or harpist wil be very ex.

so hows was meetup w Adeline? any luck? u signed w HI?

juzz

Hi kite,

actually, after speaking with adeline, i think i my eventually change my venue to Grand plaza parkroyal...

as my package is on a weekday, she wasn't that comfortable with throwing in additional stuff for me...sigh...and moreover, the weekday package is not exactly fantastic...the menu looks plain as well. I've asked for top up to 30 litres of beer and upgrage to the special suite, but to no avail.

but for GPR, they are available on one of the Sunday..and lotsa perks. I was seriously considering b/w these 2. Best of all, there is a private jacuzzi in the bridal suite and coordinators get a free night stay as well, free flow beer and waiver of all wine corkage. so overall, my parents and FH are prefers GPR.

So i guess i may not be a HI bride afterall..

anyway. i'm sure u'll have a GREAT wedding there

celwong

Hi kite, would try to upload some pics need to go and scan though.

Juzz, congrats once again in finding your desired hotel.

kite~

Hi juzz,

oic. anyway wish u all the best and hv a great wedding at GPR.
hope to see ya somewhere here again.

juzz

Hi Kite,

Thanks for ur well-wishes!

Hi Celine,

I would still like to see the pics as well cos I have not actually signed up with either hotel...my heart is still with the beautiful ballroom of Intercon..heehee...*confused bride-to-be*

bluryo

Hi Juzz,

The rental of projector is at $150+++ if i remember correctly. Quite cheap compared to other places like Conrad, which charges $450+++.

Grand Copthorne Waterfront (did i get the name correct?) also has a very beautiful ballroom, and it's new too. You may want to take a look. But that place is less accessible than HI....

The master we went to advised us agst getting married in the Year of Rooster as we both are Snakes...not sure abt the other zodiacs though... But this Year of Monkey is very good for Snakes.

warrmead

hi juzz,

i nearly signed with HI but in the end signed with conrad cos of boss recommendation. I also liked HI actually but find the price quite steep for their tea reception.

i read dat u may consider GPR, which i oso got call to enquire. but i find that their follow-up not good lor. I called at least 3 times 2 fix appmt 2 see someone from the catering sales, whc they promised will call me back but until today, still no calls from them. So got abit angry with them & dropped them from my list.

Went to check out M Hotel b4. I think they're not bad. Worth talking to them. They're also quite flexible and give quite alot of perks too. all the best in ur search ya!

juzz

Hi Sleepy,

Yap, i saw the ballroom of GCW, it was really magnificent..but the sad thing is, I do not have that min tables required by them..i'm looking more at 28-30 tables.

I really wish to get married in the year of the monkey, but do not wish to drag it till jan 05 whereby the banquet will be subjected to the price increase!!!

juzz

Hi Warrmead,

ya, HI price is really pretty steep..esp when u compare with the package of GPR. However, the nice ambience and class of the ballroom is the reason for the difference.

who did u liaise with at GPR. i met with a lady called karen and she did say that they were very short-handed at the moment. i too faced difficulties contacting them!!

I think i'll really have to make up my mind soon..otherwise, i may end up with no ballroom for my wedding! *stressed*

warrmead

Hi Juzz,
I agree with you. HI has the grand feeling & i especially liked the wedding favors. Not many hotels offer wedding bells. But it was really
over our budget. *hiaz..*

i talked to Elaine at GPR. she said Brenda, who's her boss will call me to follow-up but did not receive any calls at all lor. My brother had his dinner banquet when GPR was still very new. It was very good so I thot I will have my wedding there untill they failed to get back to me lor.

Read up bridal magazines. It helps to narrow down your search. No stress oki..

juzz

Hi warrmead,

i think i'll stick strictly to either HI or GPR. better not source around anymore otherwise i'll be really confused!

anyway, will be attending the wedding show for GPR tomorrow. heard they will be launching a new theme tomorrow, i'll see if i'm impressed...if not, HI here i come!!

ambien

hi all, Also interested in Hotel Intercon for next year...just a few concerns hopefully some of you can help me out.

1. I want a Saturday or Sunday wedding - are there problems with parking since Bugis is quite crowded on weekends?
2. Do they allow or provide live bands to play during the dinner?
3. How's the chinese food which is prepared by Man Fu Yuan (supposedly acclaimed)

Thanks very much!

juzz

Hi Warrmead!

Good news, I'm back from the wedding show of GPR and have finally decided on HI!!... *relieved*

I found the ballroom of GPR pretty small as cpmpared to HI, although it's the same pillarless and high ceiling kinda ballroom...But, it really lacked the romantic ambience of HI..i went over to HI immediately after the GPR wedding show and managed to get a peak of a wedding set up at that time..it was fantastic and I could practically visualise my wedding there...

Anyway, I have finally made my decision and never felt so relaxed from the day I said I DO to my FH...

Hope we will both have a wonderful and unforgetable wedding at our dream hotel!!!!

pok

Hi Juzz, can let me know the weekday and weekend minimum package?

What is the contact no. for the person incharge?

ingenue78

Hi Allison,

i will try to answer yr queries:
1) I had my wedding on a Fri and some of my guests feedback tt they can't find parking lots. I wld think Sat's situation is worse.

2) Yes, they do. But you will need to tell them in advance.

3) My relatives told us that the portions are generous and the food is one of the better ones tt they have tasted so far (for hotel weddings)
The service is excellent as well.
;-)

kite~

hi juzz,

welcome to HI thread again n hv decided to choose HI over GPR.

so confirm urs is on wkday dec 2004? hv u signed up w HI?

juzz

Hi Pok,

weekday - 697 nett
Fri, Sun - 849 nett
Sat - 889 nett

I'll be taking the weekday package but having the weekend menu. so there'll be like 80+++ top up per table.

You can contact Adeline, the banquet manager...but so sorry, i do not have the number with me now. you can go to the hotel website for the number....

good luck!

juzz

Hi kite...

ya, i'm glad that I have finally made my choice...and a good choice indeed *dreamy*

Yes, i'll be having the weekday package, it'll be on a Thursday...unfortunately, all the weekends are fully booked for the month of Dec..

and nope, I have not signed on the dotted line yet..but will be meeting up with adeline this week to finalised on the details..btw, i heard that the down payment is $5k!! *gosh* quite a hefty sum!

kite~

Hi Juzz,

HI ballroom is really dreamy n perfect for a wedding.

yes so far HI has the highest deposit of $5k among other hotels.

Good luck n try to ask for more perks.

warrmead

hi juzz,

glad u've made a decision!! i'm sure you'll enjoy your wedding at HI. it is really a lovely placed. i heard they are also gonna have teddy bears for wedding favors on top of the existing chopsticks, potpurri and bells. that's really one of the major draw of HI.

actually i'm not a HI bride, was nearly one... so abit like gate-crashing here la. heehee...
i've confirmed with conrad recently so i also participate at the conrad thread.

juzz

Hi kite,

thanks, i'll def try to get as much perks as i can out of adeline...heehee..but then, i'm a poor negotiator leh.

i may not have followed the above threads, but can i tell me what are the things that you have negotiated for and has been successful?

As of now, I have managed to:
1. get a 10 pax food tasting
2. Day room for the helpers
3. waiver of wine corkage for the first 24 bottles

failed to get an upgrade of the suite..but i think i'm fine with the shophouse suite cos it's really kinda unique...*dreamy again*

juzz

Hi Warrmead,

yes, yes, i do agree that HI has unique wedding favours as compared to the other hotels..i'm fascinated with the current porcelain bells. I din know about the bears though but i think it'll be really cute!!

conrad is a nice place to have a wedding as well..i've attended a wedding there before. The hotel is really posh and classy, i'm sure u'll have a great time there!

kite~

hi juzz,

tats gd u can get 10 pax for food tasting. mine just oni 8 pax but w full 9 course menu. urs? 10 pax w full coz too?

i managed to get 1 day room for helpers, more invites n parking
plus free usage of piano.

good luck!

juzz

hi kite,

nope, my 10 pax is not for the full menu..if i remember correctly, it should be 5 dishes.

i've heard that the wedding invites for the hotel is not impressive at all..that's why i may be planning to design the cards ourselves... as for parking, since mine is on a weekday, i could prob negotiate for more since the traffic may not be as heavy as on weekend....

tengteng

I signed up with HI last year, and the coordinator was Enya... was rather surprised that she resigned. Didnt know that we can ask for upgrades and request for other wedding favors instead of the usual chocolates... sigh...

Would like to know will the hotel call us 3 months in advance to confirm the number of tables we are having and other details? Having my wedding in July.. and havent heard from them yet... getting quite worried...

Thanks a lot !!!

Regarding the piano... the foyer is rather small... dun think the beautiful sound can be heard admist the talking of the guest... and they will place the piano under the flight of stairs leading to the malacca rooms... quite a wierd place.... people wont take noteice of it too

juzz

I have just signed my contract with Interon last night...*hoooray*

anyway, it's quite confirmed that the new wedding favours will be teddy bears..and if you are pretty keen on having the unique porcelain bells, i've heard from adeline that they are trying to exhaust the stock asap. So if ur wedding is sometime at the end of the yr, chances are the bells will no longer be available.

Hi bell bell,
if you have not heard from them, then safer to drop them a call now. cos adeline oso told me that they'll call me up in Oct to start on the preparation. my wedding is in dec.

kite~

Hi Juzz,

congrats!
must be feeling relieved right?
wow teddy bears, cute n unique. cos nowadays chopsticks is too common liao hor.

my weddding end of this yr. guess wil take e bears. hv u seen e bears?

when is ur AD?