Intercontinental Singapore

warrmead

hello everyone, i'm considering taking up HI buffet tea reception. anyone got any experience or advice?

need to know if i gotta pay extra for the seat covers (not mentioned in package) & also whether you all think the room can be upgraded from deluxe to the shophouse suite and any other free things that can be negotiated??

ingenue78

Hi rainbow,

Here's some photos on the stage tentage
41451.jpg

kite~

Hi ino,

thanks for the pics. Angeline showed me the wedding bells before, it's a new favour, very unique. Cos chopsticks bcome very common nowadays.

The stage tentage is so nice n romantic. Hey i did not see this set-up before, is this a new setup? thanks

rainbow

Hi Kite~ and Ino,

Thanks so much for sharing!

My coordinator is Adeline. Have met up with her twice since. She is rather nice but only agreed to things like increase in waiver of wine corkage (from 24 to 32), waiver of charge for use of piano and use of dayroom. I tried asking her for the upgrade of the suite from Shophouse to Special Suite but she said its not up to her to decide as its subject to availability. Kite~, did you manage to draft that into the contract? Am quite afraid whether I'd miss out things in the contract. How did u guys negotiate?

On yes, ino,your stage set up is very nice! I like it! whats the theme called? btw, Adeline din mention abt themes. Issit true? Or is this decided later cos my wedding is in Jan 05? Did any of you pay extra to decorate with flowers?

The new favor is very unique! Raffles hotel oso has this bell. According to the Raffles Hotel coordinator, its for guests to ring the bell when the couple march in as this is an English Tradition! Interesting! Heard from Adeline that they are looking at new favors like small bears!!

kite~

hi rainbow,

u're welcome

oh really new wedding favours like small bears, so cute. i hv seen this in Pan pacific that e wedding favour is small bears (1 pair).

I also met Adeline n Angeline, both are very nice ladies. wow increase wavier of wine corkage fr 24 to 32. may i know is urs a wkday or wkend, how many tables?

yes i hv signed up w intercon n these things has been stated clearly in the actual contract. oh ya we hv free usage of day room too.

ingenue78

hi kite & rainbow,

The name of the decor is actually called "Desire"
i paid extra $$ for the ivys and huge roses plus extra rose petals to be put along the aisle (and to be sprinkled when i march). In addition, i also put in candlelight for the centrepiece.

I had a mixture of chopsticks and candles. And yes, my guests did ring the wedding bells when i did my march-in. i must say it's really very nice...hehehhe

Here's a pix of the centrepiece:

41480.jpg

warrmead

hi ino,

Thanks for sharing these pictures. I'm between choosing a hotel for my reception in Nov and I think Intercon seems a really nice place to hold my wedding.

From wat i read, Adeline seems a nice lady. I will contact her and discuss. Thanks for sharing!

rainbow

Hi Ino,

Can i ask whether you chose fresh flowers for all the decor in the ballroom, including the flowers on stage? Did you have to top up a lot for them?

ingenue78

Hi rainbow,

Yes, i chose fresh flowers. Becoz my theme is Red roses, i needed all flowers to be red. To tell u the truth, i've never seen such big roses in my life...(mabbe i quite suaku lah). The stage flowers (fake ones) were cream and pink, hence i told them to remove it. (Note: They do not provide flowers for the tentage. It's only for the candlestands). However, u cld prob save some money if your centrepieces adopt the cream & pink colour theme.

To me, i think it's quite a sum for top-up for flowers, candlelight and rose petals. If u want to know the cost, i cld email u. What's yr addy?

Hi warrmead,

think u will not regret choosing intercon. the ambience is really romantic...

kite~

hi ino,

nice centrepiece, so romantic! can u email me the breakdown of the additional cost for the decors?

btw does the tentage costs extra $ or its come in the decor package? cos so far i went to see the wedding decor at intercon, they never put up tentage at all. pls. advise. thanks.

btw did u pay for e decor for the staircase?

carrots

Hi Rainbow,

you have managed to increased your waiver of corkage from 24 to 32. May I know how many tables you have and whether it is weekday or weekend?

I've also signed up with them but they only give me waiver for 12 bottles after much discussion.

rainbow

Hi Carrots,

My package was for weekend, min 32 tables. The first draft of the contract only gave waiver of corkage for 24 bottles.. but we managed to negotiate for 1 bottle per table! You can try to negotiate further! Good luck!

carrots

Hi rainbow,

Do you think it may be a bit too late now that I've already signed the contract?

You mentioned that your coordinator is Adeline. My is Angeline and I find that she's quite rude sometimes and there's always not much room for negotiation. Is it true that Adeline is taking over all of Angeline's portfolio?

When will your wedding be?

ingenue78

Hi kite,

Tentage is within their package. Think shld check with your co-ordinator again. Unless they changed their theme again...

nope, i did not pay for the decor at the staircase coz it doesn't gel with my theme (it's fake flowers in pink and cream colours again). anyway, i think spending money inside the ballroom is more worthwhile as all of us spent most of our time there...so more pple can appreciate...hehehhe...

hi carrots,
think u can tok to the co-ordinator again. think they are quite flexible. perhaps u can tok to them nearer your wedding date?
i agree Angeline can appear quite rude and unaccomodating but there's really nothing much we can do lah. *sigh* If u wish, u can ask for a change in co-ordinator.

kite~

Hi carrots,

I m similar to you!!! in fact i m quite pissed off cos i signed up with Enya last nov and she cant even wavied any of the wine corkage.

Then last mth, i met Angeline and Adeline, Angeline managed to wavie 12 to 24 bottles only for wine.

Mine is a wkend n i hv signed up 30 tables min.

Dont worry, even though u hv signed e contract, u can try ur luck bargain again.

Angeline n Adeline are nice ladies as compared to Enya. Enya never even bother to bring us to the lounge for a drink, n never let us view e suite, wedding favours, definitely not a nice person.

Hi Rainbow,

lucky u! u managed to wavie 1 bottle for a table. Is ur a sat or sun?
mine is on sun. probably sat they wil give in more as sat is more ex.

carrots

Hi Kite,

You mean you managed to get the waiver after you signed the contract?

Btw, i think we've previously "met" in the French Bridal thread. So how, have you decided on the bridal shop or still looking around? Me still deciding, though.

scribblez

Wonder if some kind soul could forward me the package rates and details for Hotel Inter-Continental? Been trying to search for it online in vain.

Thanks very much in advance!

i_am_cow

hi scribblez, you could call up intercon, ask to speak to any banquet sales person and ask them to email details of the package to you =)

warrmead

hi ino,

yes, FH & I met up with Adeline. she really nice & tries her best. she gave us seat covers FOC too cos she felt for our weding style is nicer. So sweet. We went MC Hotel & were told had to pay for it.

we liked the place very much. we will book with intercon for my wedding matrimony. doing a tea-reception. church style. we also liked the idea of bells for our favours cos it'll match our matrimony very well.

i really like your stage and overall decor! to clarify, they provide the tentage FOC but if we want to change to fresh flowers we'll need to top up rite? do they give floral stands along the walkway too?

May i also request for the breakdown of your decor?

thanks so much for sharing! email: [email protected]

Abt the theme, is it that they have a few types for us to choose?

kite~

hi smurfette,

yup e wedding bells are cute, got 4 different colours.

hi warrmead,

yes e seat covers at intercon is free by default. unless u want to add flowers to the chairs at the main 2 tables, it wil cost add. $

if u want to view the diff types of wedding theme decor, u can request Adeline to send e soft copy to you. Tat time, Enya sent it to me.

ingenue78

hi warrmead,
thks for the compliment! i note tt yours is a tea recep. Not sure whether the package, in terms of decor, is the same as the dinner package. Can check with yr co-ordinator. ;-)

Seat covers are usu free for those who hold Dinners. I heard of hotels whereby they do not provide seat covers. I think it all depends on how they package the deal.
HI provide ribbons for the chairs for 2 of the VIP tables as well.

The tentage is part of the decor and is bare. If you want flowers or ivys to adorn the tentage, you will have to pay extra $$.

ok, what they provide as part of the package is :
1) stage decor (fake flowers)
2) Aisle decor (6 flower stands)
3) Centrepieces

If you want to decorate the staircase, it's additional $$.

warrmead

hi kite,

thanks for infor. i will ask adeline. i intend to ask my MIL to do our floral arrangement/decor cos she works as a florist. dunno if they allow external party to do this. think they engage june florist rite?

as mine is theatre seating w/o tables, i will need some decor along the aisle. wonder if they provide floral stands?

kite~

hi ino,

i didnt know HI provide tentage til i saw ur pic. really very nice. i wil ask for it since its FOC.

hi warrmead,

not sure which florist they engaged but dun tink it's june florist. u can check it out w adeline.

warrmead

hi ino,

thanks for your email and infor.

now i do hv a clearer pict. is true that for tea recep hotels may not necessary throw in the seat covers. so i'm quite happy HI gave that 2 me.

I also agree with u tat should spend more on the inside.

so the florist you've engaged is external? i.e. sourced on ur own rite? not the hotel's supplier hor?

ingenue78

my florist is from the Hotel.
i wasn't keen on using external florist as i cannot ensure that all the roses would be of the same size and colour.

The florist is not June's Florist. It's another florist called Fleur Connection

warrmead

hi ino,

thanks for your infor. ya you mentioned in your email the name of the florist.

i guess i have to check with HI on quite a fair bit of details. sigh. so many things to settle.

but i really do appreciate all your advice. it certainly helps! A BIG THANK YOU!!

berger

Can anyone help me?

How is the food and service at HL.

have check the quotation already but think is abit ex so wondering is the price justifiable for the place.

methyst

Hi all, this is my first post.. want to share the experience we had for our wedding banquet at the InterContinental Singapore; the only different thing is we had a Chinese sit-down lunch instead of the traditional dinner.

We give thanks to our Lord Jesus Christ for the amazing experience we had in the process of preparing for the wedding, from the gowns (Amor Meus @ the Esplanade, cheongsum and kebaya designer extraordinaire), the flowers (Secret Garden www.secretgarden.com.sg, fantastic flower people), the photographers (Beetles@Work & Hilarion Goh www.hilariongoh.com, full marks for both photogrphers), the hotel and for the wonderful friends we had who helped us so much.

The hotel coordinator we had is Angeline (Angie), who more than exceeded our expectations. She was always prompt and helpful in both responding to our requests (mostly last-minute..hehehe), and make good suggestions, from what type of colour for the table-cloth and seat covers, to the choice of menu.

We enjoyed the typical package from the hotel, but a few important extras were provided FOC. We had the use of their Malacca rooms for the church wedding ceremony, and then did our tea ceremony at the foyer of the ballroom.

Typically for other hotels, if you want to use another room for solemnisation or ceremony, the hotel will ask for payment. But we were very blessed that on that day, the rooms were not booked, and the hotel kindly provided the rooms, with beautiful floral arrangements, ivory seat covers, a small platform, and a good technician to overlook the music for the march-in and etc. We had red carpet, and the guests threw flower petals as we marched out. Incidentally, I know of no churches that allow flower throwing (they could require the couple to clean it up after the event if they do allow).

We also enjoyed a complimentary upgrade to the deluxe suite, at the top floor of the hotel, facing Bugis Junction (the other side faces the construction site). The bridal suite, is very sweet, but we had too many friends coming in from overseas, determined to hang around for drinks and reminiscene about the good ol' days, so the deluxe suite was perfect.

Our lunch ended at 3.30pm, and then some close friends went to the suite and hang out. We ordered room service, chat and had a good time. Then we had dinner and they went home. As our guests left, we had the whole night to ourselves, and still sober. We walked around Bugis Junction in the night, and enjoyed the surreality of being newly-weds, but stress free as the banquet is over. Whew..and best of all, we could actually wake up for breakfast at the Olive Tree the next morning, which we would never happen if it was a dinner instead.

InterContinental staff are well-trained, they provide prompt service, and met our demands with a "can-do" attitude. Our banquet coordinators were always on hand, and always courteous. We enjoyed the famous long walk down the red-carpeted aisle of the ballroom, with all its old-world charm and colours.

We saw many hotels, but I guess InterContinental Singapore is truly unique in its presentation and style. We had an unforgettable time. A big "thank you" to the staff of the hotel!

warrmead

hi feb 2004,

saw with interest that u used beetles@work & hilarion goh. which of them did u use for AD &.or outdoor photography? i'm actually also considering them. u could email me your thots on this since the forum is actually abt HI.

my email: [email protected]

incidentally, i'm also planning for a holy matrimony. very much wanted to settle 4 HI cos really liked the place. but the min pax. is a bit high for us to commit. so with reluctance, we had to look for other alternatives.

kite~

hi feb 2004,

congrats n happy for you!

btw i went to view the suite, angeline brought us there n i realised how come the suite does not hv any dressing table?? strange? the one we went is shophouse suite.

methyst

Hi warrmead,

I used Beetles (Kelvin) for studio, and Hilarion for actual day. Both photographers far exceeded my expectations with their level of professionalism, and service.

Particularly Hilarion, who was always very accommodating, and flexible: we had a great time throughtout. The other recommendation is: his rates are very competitive, even though it seems similar to other AD photographers. What counts is his ability to deliver colour-corrected prints with border, album, and CD-rom the day after our wedding.

This he did 3 times, 1 for our ROM, 1 for the lunch in Singapore, and 1 for the dinner in JB. Our friends who are also about to get married will be using him for their wedding as well.

methyst

Hi kite~,

The standard wedding package for InterContinental includes the shophouse suite, which feels very romantic. But depending on availability, you could request for an upgrade to the deluxe suite.

However, must stress this arrangement is strictly based on availability of rooms.

kite~

Hi feb 2004,

before i signed up with intercon, i did request for an upgrade. Lucky you, managed to get the deluxe suite. is bigger than normal shophouse suite rite? btw ur wedding is on wkday or wkend? just over in Jan 04?

mine wil b in dec 04. its a peak period, think very difficult whenever bigger suite wil b available.

Btw do u hv any pics on intercon ballroom to share? thanks.

methyst

Hi kite~

About the upgrade, perhaps you could tell the coordinator that you really, really, really, would love to be upgraded for free to the deluxe, and that it would be great if they could do so..

As for the pictures, will be uploading them to a site soon, will keep you informed once they are up.

kite~

Hi feb 2004,

we did tell e co-ordinator twice we wish to upgrade for free but they rejected.

anyway look forward to see ur pics. TIA

warrmead

hi feb 2004,

thanks for all the infor u gave me. u're most helpful.

oh yes, do show me ur pictures when they're ready.

warrmead

hi kite,

from our experience with HI, they're quite accomodating with requests if they are able to. our co-ord was also able to upgrade us to a deluxe room during our negotiations.

in fact, even though we eventually decided not to use HI, that was not without good follow-up with us on the reasons why etc and how and what they can do to change our minds or accomodate to our requests.

this, i am quite impressed with them cos some hotels, the min u say "no", they just bo-chap and change attitude right away.

kite~

Hi Warrmead,

May i know who did u liase with? she is so nice to upgrade to deluxe room for u.

before i met angeline, i signed up w Enya. she is terrible, everything no no no. even wine oso cannot wavied not even a bottle!

until i met angeline, she agreed to waive some of wine bottles even we signed up! but then we keep trying for a upgrade but no luck! maybe i shld try again n b thick skin. haha

Whoa, thanks for the compliments methyst.
Both of you are just so sweet and certainly that made it easy for you guys to be photographed. I know that I had done those very daring shots but thankfully, you guys could accept them "phew"!
That's not my norm, as some others may not be able to except those "blurry" action shots and those with daring composition. Glad that you guys were able to accept them.

methyst

Hi kite~

Perhaps you can try asking for the upgrade, nearer to the date, i.e. 1-2 months before your wedding, when things are more firm then. Now, they themselves may not be sure of how the bookings will be during Christmas.

Hi Hilarion!
Thanks again for your wonderful work. We had a great time too, and you certainly captured those moments well. Catch up with you soon to talk about the other event!

juzz

hihi!
i'm pretty keen to hold my banquet at intercon and I have made a tentative booking as well...anyone who has held her wedding there before?? pls do share your experience with me!

Thanks!!!!