Indonesian Brides!!

teatree

anna,

what are you studying right now? still got how many more years to go?

hahaha... stone ah? it's rock according to my husband. when he bought my e-ring, he jokingly (i hope) said that so much money exchanged for such a small rock.

canny

Anna,
Ya. Take your time to look around lor. Anyhow, I think u have like 7 months to go. I know pple who only had 1 month to whip out the entire thing!

Teatree,
A friend of mine passed me some Jap Bridal books for reference. The jewelry designs in there are amazing. Hehehee... Maybe u can chck the mags out from a Jap bookstore to look for some inspirations for future purchases.

felicity

teatree
me doing my acca part time. yup many more yrs to go. quite tired of it by now. i stopped for 2 yrs actually and will be going back to sit for exams this june. in fact i just started studying over this wkend so i think i am in trouble considering i din attend any lessons and self study only...

are you studying too?

canny
i have more than 7 mths.. cos we are looking at dec next yr so i think i hv 1 yr 7 mth!!
how were yr gowns for your receptions? share the design? any pics?

teatree

canny,

really ah? always thought jap bridal industry is very different from singapore's. even the things they wear for the ceremony is entirely different. future purchases will be way way in future. heheh... we looked at some apartments over the weekend and the predicted damage would be in the range of $800k to $1M!

anna,

what's acca? anyhow, good luck for your exam

back to more exciting topic, what kind of gowns do you like? cos if you're planning to do your gowns in singapore, designers here specialize in different things. so maybe can start looking for bridal from there.

i'm studying too, chemical engineering. now doing my stint of working.

canny

Anna,
My bet my bet. I thought ur wedding is this Dec. Hahahaa... I am still in LA LA land after I saw Matchbox 20 and Elton John last Fri (I have yet to recover from that)

I dun have pics of my gowns yet. Will show it to u as soon as my gowns arrie.

canny

Teatree,

Hahahhaa... I know I know. Houses are ex in SG! My fiance hinted to me that I should start watching my expenses to plan for the future.
hehheheee..... will def. try but really depends how "GOOD" my hands will be.

teatree

canny,

hehehe... yeah lor! if you're looking at children soon then all the more you and your fiance have to save. aiyoh, your hands are already sooooo good!
or are you thinking of an upgrade of your e-ring already? hehehe....

me and my husband were telling ourselves that probably if we settle with an hdb flat, we wouldn't need to save too much. but we also feel that hdb is not a good investment. went to see one in bishan and it was really rather poorly constructed. pipings everywhere, paint coming off, don't even mention about the toilets.

canny

Teatree,
No lar. Not looking for any up-grade.
Me veri happy with my e-ring. U upgrading?! Hehhee.... Have I mentioned to u that my fiance is veri thrifty n careful with spending. Thus, he always hint to me that I have to save for the just in case scenarios. As for children, I think will let nature take itz course.

So... u looking to buy soon?

teatree

canny,

hehehe... don't tempt me dear. as it is now, i'm toying with the idea of upgrading. thrifty is actually a good trait, as long as it does not reach the level of becoming stingy. i think your fiance is very generous towards you. look at your e-ring!

nope, the earliest we can buy is june next year cos only then my lease with the current apartment ends. in the mean time, save hard lor...

canny

Teatree,

Hahahaa... How long have u been married? Hehehee.... maybe try to endure for a bit longer and do an upgrade for ur 5th anniversary lor.

My fiance spends only when he feels it is worth it lor. So... dunno if tt is to the level of being stingy?! At least, he only hints and not nags at my spendings.

Ya... just take ur time to look around for the right house.
Buying a house is not like buying kachang so have to be preety sure b4 u put ur $$$ down on a property.

zhane

Hi girls..

just wanna report..i visited a friend who owned the jewellery factory in jakarta..
veryyy dissapointed laa,,he didnt have platinum..as i doubt it already..
and designs are very poor also..

guess better to get in SG..
any suggestions?

felicity

teatree
acca is an accting qualification. stands for assoc of chartered certified acctants or is it certified chartedred acctants something like dat..

you looking for a e ring upgrade? hehe.. must find special occasion to hint.. maybe birthday?
wats yr e ring design? how many carats? is it a solitaire?

i do agree that the hdb flat maintenance is really bad for the older ones but some of the very new ones are quite like condos now so the distinction quite marred. yup, agree is very gd on the budget and no stress at all to get one.. we did consider but then there are too many rules to get one.. so will see.

agree with canny tt is not like buying kachang or ikan bilis or ikantri.. hahha.

canny

Anna,

Hehehee... u looking to buy a property too?! How I wish sometimes that buying a property is as easy as buying ikantri.
Heheheee... I like tt ikantri analogy.

teatree

hi hi gals,

zhane,
i think a lot of jewellery shops in sg sell platinum, but it comes with a higher price than white gold. hehhe... as you might have guessed, i'm never a supporter of platinum.

anna,
i see... is it easier to find a job if you're a member of acca? or you get paid higher than ordinary accountants?

hahhaa... okie okie... i will make my e-ring upgrade a 5-year project. it's a simple solitaire with 4 claws. what about yours?

what kind of apartments have you been looking?

leeds

Hello ladies.

Sigh me been so busy at work lately, only now managed to peep in to the thread, seems to be moving along quite fast ah...

Zhane, how about just buying the rocks from Indo? are they good quality? Then you can have it reset in SG?

Anna, oh you are taking partime acca course ah? Me also wanted to take acca, but i dont know how to squueze in time after work. Is it very hectic? Are the courses difficult? Heard a lot of horror stories from friends where they keep failing the exams and only manage to finish the whole course in 5 years!!

Teatree, still going to the gym with me tomorrow?? work has been so stressful these few days, definitely need to work it off at the gym

leeds

teatree,

can share why you dont fancy platinum? My fiance said he prefers platinum for wedding band cos can last for years. But i told him for that extra cost i rather have extra diamonds. hehe
Wat do you think?

teatree

canny,

hahahaha... I owe you a big lunch if i ever get an upgrade. the size of my ring after upgrade will determine the size of the lunch though.

leeds,

been wondering where you gone missing to. leeds, bad news, can't join you this wednesday. my body aches so much after helping my sis moved into a new apartment over the weekend
think will die if have to go for cycling for an hour.

i'm still very on about the outing on 20 may though, it's just that serenity and butterfly are no where in sight!

leeds

Hi canny,

me can only come in for a while, work is piling up for me!

So how's hunting? How long have you been searching for a house?

teatree

leeds,

at first, i used to think that platinum, with the kind of premium we pay for it, lasts longer than white gold. some more, from chemistry, platinum is supposedly more unreactive than white gold. after visiting many many jewellers, i have since changed my mind. all of them said that it's not true platinum is better than white gold. it still requires polishing regularly and gets scratches easily.

it is really up to the individuals but i prefer diamonds

leeds

teatree,

okie another day then...

yah is the outing on 20th may still on?? should get their phone nos too so we can call them.

Butterfly, Serenity, Halloww! Are you gals around?

canny

Teatree,

I will take ur word lor! Hehehee... me waiting for my BIG BIG lunch! I see a co-relation **SPARKLING**
(Jumping with joy!)

Leeds,
We are taking it easy on house hunting. BTW.... I think platinum is denser than white gold but scratches more easily. Hmmm.... plus dun have to rodium plate it.

teatree

canny,

okie okie... i'll inform you when i do get an upgrade
then you come to singapore hor?

err... there's this lady over at fairy's inc who said that platinum still needs to be plated. or maybe i remember wrongly?

canny

Teatree,

I will fly bac in a heart beat for ur treat!

Really?! Hmmm... this is not wat I heard from here. They said Plat. needs polishing but not rodium plating. u got ur rings from Fairy's inc?

leeds

Teatree, canny,

Remember to invite me for your big big lunch treat! haha...
i also want to ogle at teatree's new big ring when it comes!

teatree, platinum also need plating?? from the sound of it, better go for white gold and more diamonds yah!

canny

Leeds,

I concur. Hehehee... the more diamonds the better! Hahahhaaa.... We just cannot get away from the diamond topic hor?

teatree

canny,

hahahaha... well same as you, i wish the ring would come soon!

i didn't get my ring from fairy's inc but i did visit them. twice some more. they were just so patient with us.

leeds,

err... don't count on my words on that one. maybe you want to check with a jeweller instead.

yah lor, get an eternity ring. the sparkle is guaranteed to make you smile everyday. hehehe...

canny

Teatree,

Oh.... where did u get ur rings then? I read in the forum that Fairy Inc is supposedly good. Did u not like their designs?

Leeds,
Agree with Teatree tt eternity ring will add lots of BLING to ur life! ehheheeee....

felicity

teatree
i think you must include me in yr lunch treat too cos i inspired the topic to come up again with my ruby talk.. hahha.

i hv not got my e ring yet. fh working on it. i told him roughly the design i want though...am asking for a trilogy ring cos i already hv a solitaire and a half eternity, so must get something different...

how many carats are you looking to upgrade to? wats the size now? round brilliant or other cuts?

canny
yup. we also looking at property but taking our own sweet time at it too. some wkends too lazy to bother to source... may rent first if cannot find..

leeds
ya very tired of studying the acca. you hv many frens taking? i stopped for 2 yrs cos very sick of it and just went back this exam..

teatree

anna,

hahah.. yes yes... you all must wish me luck okay? wait till my husband finds my postings here, he'll kill me.

i love love love asscher cut, so probably will try to get that shape for the upgrade. i don't know what size i want, but of course, the bigger the better. hhahaha... the one i have right now is 0.87 ct, round.

trinity is also goooooodd! hehehe.. what size are you looking at?

canny,

got the bands from larry's. it's not that i didn't like fairy's designs but it was simply too overwhelming for me to design my own. i'm the kind of person who has to see 'it' first, cannot imagine how something will look like.

have you got your eternity ring yet??

felicity

teatree

luck luck... ;p
wats asscher cut? hmm.. i think you try to walk past jewellery shop more often and walk in - see if he get the hint?

was thinking of getting 3 that enuf to cover the top of the finger so that do not see much of the band but then i already have 1 eternity so not much point. fh mention he wan to get 3 in the size of 0.33 each = 0.99...auspicious chinese nos.. hard to find though cos all must be same size same cut then.. will update you gals when i get it.

teatree

anna,

yup yup, 9 is a good number. but i thought trinity ring always got the middle one bigger than the 2 at the sides?

asscher cut is a square emerald cut. not very popular yet in singapore.

felicity

teatree
yup. from wat i know i think he will custom make cos 3 in chinese is to rise and 9 is forever...so he say v meaningful for e ring... the alternative is the normal solitaire but 1 carat is a bit steep and slightly less than 1 carat i already hv so no point buy the same thing.

oh emerald cut - i saw one at soo kee at suntec some time ago. very nice. although not brilliant, it has a very clear and transparent quality. really loved it but the price is wow!
i think though its better to get it loose and set it yrself.. you getting it in sg?

leeds

Canny,

yah wherever we go, end up talking abt diamonds again. haha
favourite topic amongst brides to be and new brides! hahah.... eternity ring adds blings to our lives! Yah me definitely getting eternity ring too then. Is your wedding band eternity ring too?

Teatree,

Asscher cut is quite unique, dont see many of that around in SG. if i get an ugrade, i also want a cut thats more unique, not another boring rounds hor... hmmmmm me dreaming of a marquise. haha.....

Anna,

yah cos i work in a bank, a lot of my collegues have done acca lor. Me also considering taking it. but still procrastinating lah.... *lazy* Trilogy is nice!! eh but i agree with teatree, the centre rock bigger i think would be nicer.

teatree

anna,

hehhee.. i have a better suggestion, get the centre stone to be 0.99
and the sides to be 0.33, don't know whether the meaning will be lost or not. are you thinking of round or other cuts for the stones?

yeah, the problem with emerald, and asscher for that matter, is that it is not as brilliant as round ones. the cut must be really really gooelse it will look just like glass.

hahaha.. i have not thought where to get it from. my husband doesn't even know that i'm serious about upgrading.

leeds,

actually hor, fancy cuts are slightly cheaper than round ones, so, not so bad on the pocket.

leeds

teatree,

really cheaper ah?? then must tell fiance not to get me round already ah. hahah.... i talk as if he's giving me an upgrade. Yah must get a good cut cos i've seen some asschers/emerald cut which are really big, but no sparkle at all.

anna, haha.... i agree with teatree, get a 0.99 for the centre, and small ones at the side. it would really be WOW!

teatree

leeds,

serious! i don't know by how much lah, but definitely cheaper. those things they can't cut into round, they'll cut into fancy shapes.

hehehe... all we do here is psyche-ing everyone else to get upgrade

how's your wedding band research? any progress?

leeds

teatree,

yah if our partners see what we talk abt everyday sure they'll flip and ban us from coming into this thread! very bad for their pockets! haha....

Me haven't really gone round to shops and see wedding bands lor. A bit paiseh to go by myself, and i notice they dont take me seriously cos my fiance is not present.
But i have decided on eternity ring! I think the row of sparklies will look nice on my finger. hehe....
*dreaming... Have you seen any nice eternity ring to recommend?

felicity

teatree
gd idea! 0.99 but hard to find le.. and pricey.

actually i heard that fancy cut is more ex than round brilliant. how come you heard differently?

leeds
oh you hv a lot of colleagues who completed the acca? not many ppl in my line do the acca le... yr colleagues - are they in research as well? or in accts?

leeds

anna, i'm not doing research. My collegues either did cpa, acca, or cfa lor... These qualifications all very useful if want to work in banks lor. actually if i remember correctly, you dont need acca in your line of work too right?

teatree

leeds,

what you said is so true! service is quite bad whenever i step into those shops without my husband in tow.

eternity ah? try larry's. they have quite a collection but might be a little pricey. lee hwa also got some eternity rings, but they also have some horror stories like diamonds falling off and they are definitely overpriced! another option is fairy's inc lor, can design your own rings. service is excellent.

anna,

errr... i've heard from some jewellers the opposite. think it's best to do our own research.

well, ask your fiance what he's comfortable with. not good to over spend on such things when there are other more important things to settle.

canny

Hey Teatree, Anna and Leeds,

Hhahaa.... I c we are back and deeply engrossed in the BLING BLING topic again.
I LUV asscher. They are so preety aren't they. Teatree, asscher cut is also on my radar screen for e-ring upgrade in the future (may be many many years down the road) My mom's gym buddy has a 2.5 or something asccher cut and itz beautiful! I think asccher is a fav. among the hollywood stars. Reese Witherspoon has a asccher.

Heard from my mom that my eternity ring is completed and instead of making it 3/4 my jewler made it a full band.... (oh well...) Ohohoh... Lee hwa eternity rings will have diamonds falling out?! wow... ttz bad hor?

Leeds,
Have u gotten ur wedding band and from where?

Anna,
U may be able to get a ruby eternity band to match ur e-ring. Have u thought about tt b4?

felicity

canny teatree
i'm getting abit confused now. is asscher cut the same as the standard emerald cut or is a special type? is it a brand name?

canny
ruby eternity band? hmm.. hv not considered that. i think eternity band diamonds better? how big are the diamonds on yr eternity? i think small diamonds look sweeter on a full eternity though for a half eternity i think big diamonds are gd.

leeds
you have lost me here... hmm i tot a** job (dun wan to spell it out here) is a research job? no?
then what is the job nature?

canny

Anna,

Go to www.bluenile.com and under loose diamonds section u will be able to chck out asscher cut diamonds. They are a cross hyrbrid cut between emerald and princess. Itz like emerald cut except it is sqrish looking.

Hehheee.... diamonds are indeed a girl's best friend. I think my diamonds on the eternity band are not very big. I also not veri sure. Cause my mom and the jeweler took charge of the entire project. Hehhee... my mom usually has good taste, so I entrusted this impt task to her. I will be seeing the eternity band when I am back in LA end of May. I will let u know as soon as I c it.

teatree

anna,
emerald is rectangular in shape while asscher is a square. cutting wise it's exactly the same i guess. yeah yeah check out bluenile, lots of bling!

big diamonds for eternity ring would make the ring very chunky. don't think it'll be comfortable to wear either.

canny,
wow wow... when do you get to see your eternity ring? hehehe.. . your mom is so good. when i told my mom that i'm getting an half eternity ring as a wedding band while my husband just got a plain one, she complained why they rings are different. she feels wedding rings should be identical. heee...

canny

Teatree,
I will get to see my eternity ring when I am bac in LA for Memorial Day week-end.
Hahhaa... my mom really kool leh. She was the one who asked me to go for an eternity band. Hehehe... rem I was thinking of a plain band at 1st? But my mom said that I can always wear my e-ring on the right hand and the eternity band on the left. Have u seen a full asscher cut diamonds eternity band? I saw it the other day at my jeweler... so NICE!

teatree

canny,

i have not seen any asscher cut 'live' here. singapore, like, doesn't have any asscher. do you have any idea whether asscher would be cheaper or more expensive than the usual round?

errr... that was my idea, to put the e-ring on my right hand, but found out that i got the ring knocked more often cos i use my right hand more often