Indonesian Brides!!

canny

Hey Teatree,

My fiance is bbqing steak for me as we speak. As soon as he is done, we can start makan makan lor.
Me starving! U going to All YOU CAN EAT buffet?

Leeds,
I agree that no working = no $$$. However, take a few months off to relax a little. Then u can start looking for a job.

leeds

Hi canny,

Yah i want to quit and quickly move to england lor, getting a bit sick of the long distance relationship. Its time for a change of environment too. I love england's laid back lifestyle!
Wow you guys are talking abt living there for good! How abt your family members? Are they there as well?

Teatree, oh yah they also have to give to bride's parents right? Its something like dowry i think. Where you having your steamboat?

teatree

canny,

yum yum
bbqing just the 2 of you? at your house? okie, won't disturb you while you eat your steak. heee..

yup, all you can eat buffet. that's why planning not to eat lunch, else too much food for today. but don't know whether can make it or not. even now, i've started to feel hungry.

felicity

teatree
haha ..i am trying to persuade fh to buy me a ruby.. dunno will hv success or not...haha or i'll just buy it myself otherwise. heard tt it is not as ex as diamonds.. dunno if tt is true..

wow steamboat.. yum. where are you going for steamboat?

canny
the dinner venue is not confirmed yet. i am quite keen on hyatt though. i like 4 seasons but the ballrm too small so i think will likely drop it unless i can trim the guest list.

canny

Hey Leeds,

My parents live in LA and my siblings live in SF too. Hehhee... so I dun think that should be a pblm .
England is nice... I like the outskirts and.. ohohohoho... the tea!!!

Teatree,
We have a grill so my fiance offered to cook for my brother, his gf and me tonite.
The steak was veri veri YUMMY! Hahhaha.... yeah.... all u can eat have to skip ur lunch for sure lor.
IS it seafood all u can eat as well?

Anna,
How many tables are you going to have? I think FS can hold up to 35 or 40 (if they open Cresent). Hyatt is nice. However, I find their lobby to be a little too dim. Hmmm... just me lor. I like BRIGHT places hehhehe... thatz why Las Veg. is one of my fav. places to visit for a week-end get away.

teatree

anna,

mmhh... i really don't know anything about other precious stones. if you're keen on checking the price yourself, can try larry's jewelry. i know their paragon branch stocks up some ruby jewelries

been to hyatt for a wedding once and the ballroom is very nice. think it's a good choice, very good location as well. how many tables are you looking at?

i'm going to happy pay steamboat and chef, recommended by one of the girls here, oraia, you know?

canny,

finish eating your steak? you made me feel even more hungry
. your fh sounds like he's good cook. hehehe... good for you, later on can share the burden of cooking.

canny

Teatree,

I think my fiance is a better cook than I am. However, he works longer hours than me. Thus, it is not everyday that he cooks.
What abt ur hubby? Does he cook?

felicity

canny
i'll be having betweeb 40-50 tables.. dun want the hotel to squeeze tts why i am thinking of dropping 4 seasons. i like the hyatt lobby. ;p

las v... i like the lovely hotel -the one with the flowers theme (can't rem the name).

teatree
oh larry has rubies? maybe i will go check too. i will prob also ask my usual diamond jeweller if can do a favour and buy for me. haha.

40-50 tables but will wait for the date to confirm first before i firm up the venue.

happy pay steamboat? not sure where is tt. its gd? must tell us yr verdict...
oraia - oh ya she pops by the 2005 brides thread. is she an indo oso?

teatree

canny,

ooo... but at least he can still cook. so on sundays, can ask him to cook. actually my father is a very good cook too. better than my mother but he only cooks on weekends when he's not tired. how come guys who can cook usually cook better than girls ah?

anna,

40-50 quite a lot leh. must make sure get a big ballroom else it'll be very cramped. yup hyatt lobby feels very posh. black and sleek.

larry's has some rubies. i suppose you must pay a higher price if you want to get from larry's cos they are quite expensive. are you thinking of the dark red rubies or the lighter almost pink ones? pink ones would be lovely
. may i know who your jeweller is?

oraia said that place is no reservation means no seat. haha... so shouldn't be that bad. will let you know whether it's really that good
. don't think oraia is from indo though.

leeds

Teatree,

I agree! Guys who cook, cook very well! My fiance is a good cook too, much better than me. Thats why now pressure pressure must learn to cook already. wah i miss his lasagne! yum yum...

Anna,

I like hyatt too! it was one of my shortlisted hotels, but too bad its much too big for me. Oh the coordinator is sooo good, will throw in a lot of things like extra flowers, candles, sesh etc.

leeds

Anna,

i think rubies you dont need to go to Larry's lah. Sure inflated prices! go there just to see their designs lor.
cos generally rubies are not that expensive, i know my father buys some in indo and thailand, quite cheap leh...

felicity

teatree
i looking at the deep red ones cos i already have the pink ones set in a cross pendant design but dunno where my mum or grandma keep it... must go ask her for it. hope it is somewhere i can get hold of...

ok keep me update of yr steamboat.

the jeweller is wholesaler... so if you wan i can pm u her contact but better to tell me when you wan then i pm you cos i will call her first and say its my cousin etc then than i thinkcan get better price...must hv a deisgn in mind first cos i think mtm is quite gd

leeds
who is the coordinator? share the name and contact so i can go approach him too....

ya i think i will give larrys a miss then. my dad got my pink sapphires fm burma but i dunno where.

teatree

leeds,

lasagne ah? me didn't have lunch so now keep thinking about food. heee... like this, i must ask my husband to learn how to cook. now he got no drive already. last time, before we became a couple, he used to cook pasta for me cos i love that very much. hehehe... now no more liao. some more keep asking me to cook for him.

oo yaa, i'm joining you on wednesday next week, the cycling class. may i know what to bring that day?

anna,

oooo okie okie. wholesaler would be more affordable. design wise, can always copy from those branded names. how big are you looking at?

anyway, are you also diamonds or precios stones lover? hehehe... i'm one crazy girl when it comes to diamonds. have not considered other colored precious stones though. but better not start.

felicity

teatree
ya more affordable cos we can copy those brand name designs haha. and her copies quite gd. no complaints. is actually my fren's jeweller then she recommend to me cos i want to copy one of the rings she has.

i oso very diamond crazy at one point. then later realise its quite a waste if collect more than can wear cos if all wear at one time will look like those outdated indo ibu..hahha.
so i stop but recently see ruby v nice.. v tempted...
so what designs hv you collected so far? rings? pendants? earrings?

teatree

anna,

which girl is not diamond crazed? hahha... just trying to find justification for my own madness
hopefully i can be like you, to be able to stop. but i doubt it lah.

yup yup, those indo tante look like christmas tree. every which way they turn, you can see some sparkle. hehehe...

i don't have that many lah. don't have the money to buy. have a half eternity ring, that's my wedding band. i also have a solitaire pendant, drop earrings, and a couple of solitaire rings. how about you? since you started much earlier you should have more than me *wink*

leeds

Anna,

The coordinator i met up in hyatt is Nafisah. I think she's very good, very patient and really will throw in a lot of things. she can do theme weddings, very creative and will try to accomodate to your style. I like her a lot lor... Have fun discussing the details.

hehe... talking abt our good friend diamonds ah??
I like diamonds too, but obviously no $$ to 'collect' lah... Only got those everyday wear like earrings, a few pendants, ering, a few other rings thats abt it. Now you making me tempted to invest in some gemstones too since they are much cheaper.
If you got any contact, i also want to know yah.

leeds

Teatree,

Yah my fiance makes the BEST lasagne really! Tried some in SG, none as good as his leh... hehe... And i think he purposely tells me to go watch tv, or rest or watever when he's making it so up till now I still dont know how to make it! mean hor dont want to share the secret recipe. wah really no lunch ah? So make sure you eat 2 meals' worth of food later! Must update us on the steamboat ok.

huh wat to bring ah? sports clothes and shoes lor, everything else like towel, shower gel etc is provided lah.

canny

Anna,

Bellagio? Is that the hotel u referring to? Yeah. it gorgeous. I luv the musical fountian they have in front of the hotel.

Teatree,
Hahaha... it may be a blessing in disguse that ur hubby does not know how to cook. At least he does not make a mess of the kitchen. Right? Mine always make a BIG MESS! heheheee...

Leeds,
Hehhee... I dun think we can get over the diamond topic hor? So ur hubby from Indo? I know veri few Indo guys who cook well. U must be veri lucky.

teatree

canny,

hehhee... not really blessing in disguise lah. sometimes we cook pasta on weekends and tension always runs high on such occasion. i hate to see mess and will immediately clean up but he'll, though accidentally, spill some sauce on the kitchen top or drop something on the floor. have found out that whenever he cooks, i shouldn't be around.

leeds, anna,

steamboat was..... very filling! i ended up going home with stomach so full i didn't feel like walking. hehehe... that place was not what i expected though. a little dingy and hot. the food was good and seriously cannot get seat without reservation. saw lots of people standing around outside, and it's not even weekends!

canny

Teatree,

Me too. I cannot stand unclean pots and pans in the sink. I like to wash as I cook but my fiance does not do tt. Oh well. Guess we have to live with it lor.
So when does school start for u?

leeds

Hi canny,

Yah my fiance is from Indo but has been in england for abt 8 yrs now. He cooks almost everyday there thats why very good cook lor. No lah not lucky, i find it very stressful to keep up to his cooking skills!! but of cos on lazy days, its always nice to see him whip up something delicious while i laze around...

Teatree,

Where is the steamboat place ah? I heard from other gals in other forum that Roxy Sq has the best and very cheap steamboat!

canny

Hey Leeds,

Oh! So ur fiance been in England for a long time already.
Is his family there? Hehehhee... I know itz a nice feeling to see our fiance cook while we relax. Does he come bac often?

teatree

canny,

that's what i do too! wash the dirty pans and plates in the midst of cooking. hehehe... something drop on to the floor then i will quickly wipe it.

i'm starting school in august
looking forward to it.

hey, how's your house hunting? managed to find anything that you like?

leeds,

think once you move to england you have to learn how to cook cos got lots of free time. Ha!

that steamboat place is in bugis, tan quee lan street. the name is happy pay steamboat, buffet style for $15.80 only. they don't have free flow water though, drinks must buy and quite expensive. where is roxy?? me still don't have enough of steamboat

canny

Hey Teatree,

Ya lor. I guess we belong to the same TYPE A "breed". Is this going to be ur last yr in school? House Hunting is bad! We got outbid several times already. Anyhow, we just let nature takes it course and see wat happens lor.
Wat abt u? Buying anytime?

leeds

Hi canny,

i was in england with him for abt 5yrs lor. Last time we dont come back to SG often but now I make him come back here whenever he's got hols lor.
His family is still in SG.

Oh you are looking for a house? The bidding system is similar to england leh, very troublesome! Heard will take months to finally manage to secure a house right? The most annoying is one minute you can be the highest bidder, and while sorting out the finances to pay the deposit, somebody else comes along and outbid you and take the house away with no warning. Am i right? thats what i heard from my sis there... So where are you planning to stay after your wedding? Does your fiance own a house already?

Teatree,

yup yup definitely must learn to cook when i'm there. After all i wont have anything to do, everyday stay at home shake legs lor... Roxy Sq is the old shopping centre at Katong area, near parkway parade. Heard the other gals talking abt it, supposed to be real good and cheap. You should try it out and let us know good or not. hehe...
Yah hor these buffet places always charge very exp for drinks then make their food so tasty to make us so thirsty!

felicity

canny
yup. bellagio. i really love the flowers there. me love flowers & stones. haha we women really cannot quite get over liking such impractical things.. btw: anyone here collect or likes gem stones other than diamonds? me is really tempted to go get a ruby cos its cheaper than diamonds. i think in the other thread one of the gals say i can get a 1 carat for sgd400. not so much as diamonds ya? but i dunno what is the quality.

teatree
wow! the steamboat sound very yummy. make me miss chinese new yr reunion dinner.
talk abt yummy i think i ate too much for dinner. so full now and fat. tdy i really ate like nvr eat before..always enjoy my mum's cooking...hard to diet like that..

leeds
can will share the contact with you but do tell me when you want to contact her so tt i will say its my cousin or something like tt then she will give more disct.. haha. he gd thing abt her is tt you can custom make the design you want and since she hv no shop for retail so cheaper cos only got workshop for wholesale.

canny

Hey Leeds,

Yeah. The bidding system here is ridiculous. Heard that it England is the same too. Sucks hor?! But which part of England will u be moving to? London?

Anna,
My mom gave me an emerald pendant many years ago as a B-day gift. Veri nice too but i dun get to wear it alot. Hehehee... I am a color gal so always in bright color clothes that clash with green.
However, my aunt bout me a pair of thai ruby ear-rings last yr. Not too bad leh. Did u chck thai rubies? However, I dun know how to assess quality in other gems... hehheee... cannot help.

felicity

canny
oh emerald. nice. but agree its difficult to match. i heard tt burmese rubies are the best. my dad got me a ruby cross but i am not sure where my mum kept it since cos i dun wear it much. nope hv not check out any rubies actually. i'm trying to get fh to buy for me. haha.

teatree

anna,

yah lor! i also need to diet. heh... but not much results. gaining weight is always so much easier than losing it. your parents are in singapore too is it? that's nice, can enjoy home cooking almost everyday

your ruby price looks interesting, i don't know that can get a 1 carat ruby for S$400. so, have managed to persuade your fiance to get it for you?

canny,

we're currently renting cos don't know whether we would want to move somewhere else but lately my husband has the urge to buy. so we've looking for a suitable one, preferably a condo.

mmmh... i don't know that buying property over there is such a hassle. can even get oubidded at the last minute!

leeds,

haha... yeah yeah, the place was so hot that i felt they were just tyring to get patrons to chop chop finish the food and go off.

read that you're going for a steamboat gathering with the 2005 brides, tell me how food at chong qing is ah?

leeds

Canny,

Yah same system in england! Dunno how long it will take us to secure a house too in the future. errr me moving to leeds, my fiance doesn't like london cos the cost of living is so high and too hectic for him. sigh... i actually really really love london!! Good luck bidding for your dream house!

Anna,

OK will get the contact from you when i'm going to buy it. Yah i think you should be able to get 1 carat ruby for abt $400 or even less, but really depends on where the stone is from. Haha... much cheaper than diamond ah. Any luck with your fh buying it for you yet? Any design in mind for coloured stones that wont look too matured??

Teatree,

i've tried chongqing at suntec before and i personally dont like it! some other gals also said not that nice, but cos we need a big table plus the location is convenient for eveybody so we stick to that place lor. You really like steamboat ah??

teatree

leeds,

hahha.. not really a fan lah, but i always have cravings for certain type of food. when not satisfied yet, will keep eating it until i'm bored lor

mmh... serenity and butterfly go MIA again. don't know whether they're still on for the outing

canny

Anna,
Start the **HINT HINT** game.
Let me know the results of the game... hehehhheee.

Leeds,
Thanks! I am sure everything will be jus fine. But how far is Leeds from London? Can u visit it over the week-end?

Teatree,
Good luck with house-hunting too!
U looking around the Orchard area? Hehehhehee... Veri close to everything.

teatree

canny,

no lah... orchard area is just too expensive. probably bishan, novena or newton area. still quite close to town but definitely cheaper.

haha... good luck to you too

canny

Teatree,

Bishan and Newton are great areas.
Agree that Orchard is overpxed. But alot of Indos live there?

teatree

canny,

yup, lots of indo live in orchard. think my building got lots of indons. don't know what's with indons and orchard area. hehehe...

are you thinking of renting there if you don't find your dream house?

felicity

teatree
i agree is so easy to gain weight but so hard to lose it.

how tall and heavy are you?

ya my parents are in sg so i can enjoy home cook food. yr parents are in jakarta rite? hmm.. you looking at buying a property? which condo are you looking at?

canny/leeds/teatree
ya i will start the hint hint game. or maybe i will just tell him direct i wan tt for birthday present... then hv to wait till b/d comes.. will keep you all update..

i am thinking of a simple oval cut or pear cut or emerald cut set like a solitaire on a thin yellow gold band cos i think red goes better on yellow gold??
any opinions on the gold and the cut? do you all think emerald cut is nice for ruby? or pear or oval?
so happy tt rubies are cheaper than diamonds. haha.

canny

Teatree,

Yeah... may rent until I find or manage to bid for a house.
Juz that buying house is not like buying kachang... so I dun wan to rush or put in bids that I dun feel comfy with. My older brother looked for a year b4 he bout a house in SF city 1 day ago.... sucks hor?! Maybe, we all very conservative... hehehee... cannot rush into things like this.

Ha... true true... Indos + Orchard always go together.

canny

Hey Anna,

I think Oval or pear will be nice for a ruby. If u wan a nicer solitaire setting. U may be able to set ur ruby on a thin band with paved diamonds 1/2 way round the band. May look nice lor.
What do u think?

teatree

anna,

errr... i'm 1.71 m tall but very heavy.... 61 kg now. gained 3 kgs since started working.

yeah my husband said he's so sick of leaving in a rented place. add up all the money we pay to the landlord and can buy an apartment lor. we have not really started looking yet, have not decided how big we want it to be. will keep you updated once we have some places in mind

what about you? still looking for one?

haha... hint first lah. after several hinting and he still doesn't get it then you can directly ask for it. you know how thick some guys can be.

teatree

anna,

if you want yellow gold, i think pairing with diamonds will look a little too much. there'll be 3 colors. just ruby with yellow band sounds good cos red and gold go very well together.

hhmm... actually can hint for what canny said. hehehe... white gold band with rows of diamond and oval shape ruby

canny,

one year huh? but true lah, you'll spend a lot of time in the house so must look for a really suitable one. still looking at palo alto area?

canny

Teatree,

Yeah. Still focusing around the Palo Alto and Redwood Shores area for now.
Hehehe... it took my elder bro 1 yr cause he lost in a total of 25 bids. When he got a house yesterday he was so happy!

teatree

canny,

no wonder he's happy. 25 times is a lot of times! hehehe... i would have got frustrated.

how many brothers do you have? are you the only daughter?

butterfly

Been 3 days since i last log in and there are so many things hapenning... So what's the hot topic now? Heee... *confused...

felicity

butterfly
the topic is houses and bidding system in the us and uk for house.
and buying gemstones

canny
ya i think you're right. oval and pear prob better but i get the impression that pear will be smaller in size? dunno if this is true.
the design = gd suggestion but may just leave it to fh to decide.. haha cannot make too many demands.. later he buy all the wrong things.. still hinting...

canny

Anna,

Hahhahaa... U so farny! Ya true true cannot make too many demands. Take baby steps! Oh... so how's the hinting game going along? Have u decided on your bridal salon and etc. yet?

teatree

hi hi ladies,

butterfly, yup, we always come back to the topic of gemstones. very bad hor *wink*

anna, hehe... can always ask your fh to buy the stone only. leave the setting to you.

felicity

canny
no. hv nor decided on the bridal studio yet. hv not really look ard cos i am having exams in june so qute busy. besides ad only really late next yr - planning for dec so i think still early now..

teatree
haha. we are so terrible. wonder if other women also so crazy abt stones (my fh call them all stones) he always tells me dunno wat so nice abt stone.