Indonesian Brides!!

teatree

hi zhane and butterfly

so long never 'see' you! hehehe...

zhane,
oooh you did! good for you. i think their things are quite nice, and really not as expensive as the image of the shop conveys. i remember the smell of the shop. whenever i pass by that area can always smell it, very nice! what did you buy? is it oil type or potpourri?

how're your rings and gown? have you collected the rings?

butterfly,
haha... what assignment that you must do dar? i thought teacher needs only to dispense assignments to the students?

and sadly, i don't have a holiday next week. some more uni here don't celebrate teacher's day anymore. hiks! i remember in secondary and jc always have holidays for teacher's day, youth day etc etc... now no more.

yeah, still attending the morning service.

oraia

hi canny,

neh.. hehehe. i just came in to say hi to you girls that i used to chat with at the diamond lovers thread hehehe.

how are u? all ur gowns all done already? so long haven't heard fr u!

canny

Hey Oraia,

My gowns all done already.
Me getting ready for my photoshoot on Wed. I have juzt finalized the shoes I am wearing to match my gowns.
Vain Vain hor
What about u?! When and where is ur photoshoot? Have u decided the designs of ur gowns?

oraia

hey canny!

wow! how exciting!!!!
ur cheongsam is ok? thought it was too loose for u the last time...

i hv also gotten all my shoes. me oso vain vain :p
my shoot's nx week. in sg lor. hehe. not gg anywhere...

canny

Hey Oraia,

I was lucky enuf to find a good alteration lady.
Thus, I fixed the cheongsam! Yeah!

Must share pics of ur PS lor.
Who is ur photographer?

How many gowns are u changing for ur PS?

teatree

hi canny,

haha, yeah me also same old same old. except that now i've started school i can't visit the forum that many times anymore.

oooh that's exciting! no particular tips, just smile for the whole day
. how do your WG and EG turn out?

oraia,

what kind of gowns did you decide on in the end? suddenly i miss all those hectic prep days. hehe... which part of singapore are you going for your outdoor shoot?

oraia

hi canny,

phew!
lucky you! i have 1 WG, possibly 2 EG, and 1 cheongsam. may or may not wear kua.

photographer's andrew choi.

how about you? how did you gowns turn out???

hi teatree,

my WG is full duchess satin, but it's shimmery cos of some organza overlay. don't know how to describe. my EG is pink.

but a couple of the gowns are not fully ready yet. shd be ready by end this wk!

canny

Teatree,

Hehheee... school has started? My WG and EG turn out great.... I think .
So veri happy with it.

Oraia,
Wow... u changing so many times for ur PS. I will be having 1 WG, my TY EG and my evening gown / CS. :p Cannot afford to change too much lar... too cumbersome cause I am doing all outdoor shoots. U have any pics to share? So exciting hor.

teatree

canny,

yeah, so boring! and since i'm doing my desertation which is experimental i'm in the lab almost every day.

i remember you were going to have a reception in SF, how was it? where did you disappear to after that?? hahaha...

glad that your gowns turn out to be awesome. you got pictures of them? *hint* *strong hint*

canny

Hey Teatree,

Ya... was veri veri busy with work + 2 engagment parties in SF & LA. :p hahhaaa... plus, have not gotten into the wedding planning mood till recently when i realize tt my wedding is abt 3 months away only.

Pics... hmmm.... will def show it to u lar. I still have not gotten time to clean up my pics yet. Maybe sometime in Dec or after my wedding when I have more time. :p

oraia

hi canny,

i oso wan to see ur pics!!! must rem to send me when u've sorted them ok?

no lah, i think i'll prob only change in the studio. when i go outdoors it'll only be my WG.

how did you collect ur TY EG ah? he sent it to you ah?

am sure ur PS pics will be lovely! u're so lucky to have it in SF!

canny

Hey Oraia,

Sure sure will share my pics with you.
I want to c urs too. Rem. to share also lor.

TY Fed Exed my EG to me lor... it was perfect! Just want I imagined to be... hehheeee... well I like it lar. :p

Dunno how my pics will turn not leh. Crossing my fingers that it will be good. Hey, does andrew choi do albums for pple who did not take PS from him? I am thinking about doing my album in SG. Cause in the States, i was quoted USD $2k for an album. Too much lar

oraia

hi canny,

kae! waiting anxiously to see urs!

am sure ur gowns are lovely lovely!!! what's the style for ur WG and EG? halter? bustier?

don't worry ok? enjoy ur PS! u'll be a beautiful bride! am not sure if andrew choi does albums. i doubt so tho'... but u can check

teatree

hi canny,

you mean the album doesn't come with the package? 2K is really rather expensive. i'm sure you can find someone in singapore who can do albums for much less than that. how about your moomedia?

so many receptions for you, that must have been a lot of fun! what did you wear for your engagement?

canny

Oraia,

My WG is strapless... simple lar. hehehee... nothing spectacular. :p

U?! must be looking forward for next week?

Teatree,
yup.... album does not come. In the US, most photographers work like tt. Itz a super ala Carte culture. cause i think the photographer belives in selling their "expertise" than doing other frou frou stuff such as album. Oh well...
I chcked with Moo... but still have not heard bac from them yet.

Did not wear anything spectacular for my engagement cause they are brunch parties.
hehehe.... just wore some of my nicer sun dresses.

teatree

hi canny,

one more day to your photoshoot
. is it going to be all outdoor shoots or there'll be some taken in your photographer's studio?

how much does pre-wedding photography cost over there? should be quite steep yah, considering it's 2K just to do the ambum.

canny

Hey teatree,

The cost of the photography alone is about 2k USD with no albums and wat so ever only shoots + proofs. This excludes hand bouquets and MUA...

My PS is all outdoors. :p

oraia

hi canny,

yup! quite excited abt next week!

u must be really excited too! must share w us how ur PS goes ya?
hoping that it'll be lovely weather for u!

yes, i agree w teatree - USD2K is v v ex for just the album!!!

canny

Oraia,

I know... I dun think i wan to spend 2k on an album, Can you please try to find out for me from Andrew?

Will tell you more about the pic session after today... so excited.

canny

Hey Teatree,

Me back. Yesterday was so tiring.. but had a great deal of fun. Everything went smoothly other than us trying to fight the downtown traffic. ;)

zhane

Hi girls..

butterfly,
u r very true,,kinda xciting to get all these stuffs.one by one..tired..tired but happy.

teatree,
i bought the oil & poutporri.cant help if buy just one of them..hahaha,,
i already collected the gown & ring.both are fine lha..

i just finished my PS last week..
take 3 days..1st day in Anyer..2nd in Alila Hotel ( we canceled the Mariott )and 3rd in Sentul.aiyoo..very tired!!spend lot of money & energy make us have only one hope :Wonderful Result!!
must wait ard 1 month to see..akhh..gak sabar neh..hehehe

Hi Canny..
hows ur PS?remember to share the pics w/ us yaa..

teatree

hi canny,

so glad that your photoshoot turned out to be such a fun! when are the photos going to be ready?

which places did you go to? is pre-wedding photoshoot popular over there?

zhane,

sounds like you have lots of fun too! 3 days, you sure have lots and lots of photos so i'm sure many will be fantastic. hahaha... you also don't forget to share your photos okay? hey, did the photographer drive you to all those places or you must arrange for your own transport?

so you're changing your wedding reception to alila?

zhane

Hi teatree,,

in the beginning, we plan go together w/the phtgrphers & his assistance w/ our car.but we have 2 friends join to accompany us plus my MUA.
see..,me,fh,2 friends,MUA..= 5 persons full already..so we decide to split.
my phtgphrs drove his own car lhoo.all those 3 days we follow him frm back..

my wedding reception is not in jkt lho..but in pekanbaru.forget ya?

philcath

I'm from jkt, js got rom with a singaporean man. Can you all advise me abt immigration matters? We've submitted all the docs for PR application. I'm wondering if it'll be approved..are there any circumstances that it'll be rejected? Thanks a lot. Hv a nice day

toot

Just discovered that there is thread on Indonesian brides, which is quite surprising. But looks like this thread has been inactive for some time yah...
Anywayz...me also an Indonesian bride, getting married June 05 in Indonesia itself =D
Is there any other 2005 Indonesian Brides out there ??

limko

Any Indo brides still around? Me and my FH are Singapore PRs and will be living in Singapore after marriage........tute, you still around?

limko

Hi Kwan,

I guess its just the 2 of us around. I am not sure about florists coz I have not started on preparations yet but there is another thread on Christian Brides and I just saw someone recommend a florist that does church deco for $150.

Maybe you can check out the thread. Anyways, where are you and BF originally from? Been here long?

greenisfresh

Thanks, i'll check the christian brides.
I'm from Jakarta, my bf from Banjarmasin.
We've been here for more than 7 years.
when is your big day?

limko

Nice to meet another Indonesian here. Me and BF are from Surabaya. I have been here forever (meaning from 6 mths old) and BF have been here for 4 years (+/-). I am still not settled on the wedding day yet but it will most probably be 18 June 2006. Still about a year away. How are your preparations coming along? Having the banquet here or in Indo?

dolphin48

Hi there..... can i also join in?
I'm from Medan but i've been staying here since the age of 5. My FH is Singaporean. My big day is Jan next year.

greenisfresh

How did u know your bf?
currently i'm looking for a cheap and good florist :p

I will have my wedding here only. we had our engagement in Indonesia.

hi daphne..
welcome..

limko

Hi Daphne,

Welcome! Wow, since age of 5 ya? But I am still longer than you. I have been in Singapore since I was 6 months old so I am practically a Singaporean although my passport is still green. Congrats! how are your wedding prep coming along?

Hi Kwan,

Its funny that although we both work in SG, we met in Indo instead. He was actually "introduced" to my older sis instead but the chemistry was between me and him instead. Now my older sis is happily married in surabaya. Hehehe! Hmm, did you check out the Christian Brides thread? Why don't you consider using the church's in-house florist?

dolphin48

hi limko, ya i think you are almost 90% singaporean already.... my wedding prep? i think nothing much to do at the moment besides waiting for my photoshoots....haha....

btw, do you all still speak the language?

limko

Hi Daph,

I can still speak Indo thanks to my parents and my maids lah! Hehehe! Hmm, which bridal shop have you signed up with? Where are you havign your wedding? ARe your family here as well?

dolphin48

Hi limko,

i think my bahasa is very broken cos i speak mandarin with my parents and i only speak indo with my maids. cos most of my relatives are all still in indo. My parents are here too. I've signed up with Golden Horse Awards in Tampines. You? I'm having my wedding in RTC. When is yours?

Do you still go back to Indo?

limko

Hi daph,

I speak all 3 lang with my parents, mandarin, eng and indo. So, am glad for it coz now can speak indo and eng to BF. He does not speak mandarin but I force him to learn. :p hehehe! I have not signed up with a bridal shop yet. Still have to settle banquet and church issue first. Think BS can wait.

What is RTC??? My wedding is may/june 2006. Still long! Ya, I go back Indo at least once a year coz many of my relatives are still there and my sis just got married and move there this year.

Hmm, what made you sign up with Golden Horse? Are they good? Have you taken your PS?

dolphin48

Hi limko

that's good. I'm thinking of picking up the language but i find it weird to suddenly speak indo with my mum...haha... my cousins all shake their heads when they heard me speak. :p so i better brush up my language.

RTC is Raffles Town Club

Why did i sign up with Golden Horse? Maybe cos i feel comfortable with my designer and my BF also like their gowns so i went with them. My PS is Sept so right now, just try to lose some weight...haha....

Are you going to hold another dinner in Indo since both you and your BF are Indonesians?

limko

Hi Daphne,

Ya, its hard to pick up the language because you don't use it often here. In fact my Indo was probably as bad as yours until I went to study overseas and met lots of Indo friends. I don't think you have to worry so much because your BF is Singaporean so you don't have to communicate in Indo with his family unlike me. Sometimes, I really get tongue-tied and like say all sorts of weird things unintentionally. I think his parents think he is marrying a moron.

Oh, Raffles Town Club, hehehe, sorry, I am a bit suaku!

I am currently shopping around for a BS but not aggressively doing that yet because I need to settle the banquet venue and wedding date first.

Actually, I was going to have a reception in Indo and church wedding followed by buffet lunch for Singapore but my MIL wants me to have the church wedding in Indo so I am very upset now because I don't get to invite any Singaporean friends and also I will be married in an unfamiliar church.

dolphin48

Hi limko,

where did you study? hehe.... my mum always say i'm useless, have a maid at home also can't speak the language well.... maybe cos most of my friends are singaporeans and for those indonesian friends that i have, most of them speak hokkien so haha....there goes my bahasa....

As for your church wedding, well, wat you can do is throw the buffet lunch (maybe w/o the church) for your friends here? that's what my cousin is doing. She is holding her dinner in kalimantan and throwing another casual and smaller scale dinner for friends here on her ROM day. Afterall, it's just to get friends to come together and celebrate with you. If not, then you got to talk it over with your MIL about your uneasiness in marrying in an unfamiliar church.

limko

Hi Daphne,

I studied in USA. You are not useless, I was like that too, then I am useless too? hahaha!

I also have more Singaporean friends than Indo friends, find that I can connect better, maybe coz I am so Singaporean. Are you a PR or Singaporean already? Planning to become Singaporean if you aren't? Actually, I was contemplating whether I should convert to Singaporean but BF say don't convert coz he is not sure whether we will move back to Indo and its harder to get Indo citizenship.

Ya, actually, what you suggested sound like a good idea. Thanks for the suggestion. Maybe I will do that. I have spoken to my MIL but she does not want to budge and I don't want to cause any unpleasantness by insisting so that's that.

Where do you live? I live in the East! Are you working now? What are you working as? Sorry for being so nosy but its good to see another Indonesian preparing for her wedding. Maybe we are able to understand each other better. Hahaha!

dolphin48

Hi limko

yeah, it's good to meet another indonesian here cos most of my friends are singaporeans. I agree on the understanding part cos even though i've stayed here for so long and more into the culture here but cos of parents, the thinkings and mindset is still different and sometimes, my singaporean friends can't understand why i have to do certain things or why my mum insists on certain actions / beliefs etc....
sometimes my friends will say that i'm "kuno" but well, no choice...
I live in the central and yeah, i'm working in orchard area. I work in a IT software company. What about you?

limko

Hehehe, that is exactly how I feel. I guess we are in a unique situation because we are not completely singaporean yet not completely indonesian. Wonder what my kids will turn out like! I have a cousin who married a singaporean and noe she is singaporean too and her kids are original singaporean, i think but it is weird coz her kids can understand indo and can speak a little too.

Ya, Indonesians are generally more traditional than singaporeans but I don;t think that it is necessarily a bad thing looking at the divorce rates in singapore.

I am working for my dad as sales and marketing. Hate this job but I have a resposibilty towrads my Dad, just joined this company in Mar and very stressed now. I pray that one day I can just stay home and be housewife. Don't need to be tai tai! Wah, gotta push my BF to work hard....hahaha :p

If you don't mind me asking, how old are you? I am 26 this year and BF is 31 (very old ya) but ppl say that I am mature for my age so he suits me just fine.