How to know your partner is the one that you want to marry to

if you find yourself asking that question and trying to find answers to justify...then he/she is probably not THE ONE. search within your heart and you'll have the answers...that simple.

beetle

hmm.. just wondering am I too sensitive or wat leh.. i think my FH avoiding the wedding issue.. he alwiz say he have phobia .. he don't like tradisional wedding lo..

beetle

hmm.. just wondering am I too sensitive or wat leh.. i think my FH avoiding the wedding issue.. he alwiz say he have phobia .. he don't like tradisional wedding lo..

michy_wong

LadyBug, some guys just need some nudging. Some guys wanna make sure they have a successful career or able to provide for their families before they wanna get married. It'll be good if you can take the initiative to find out what's holding him back.

But dun do it too often k? Else it might just gets on his nerves...

beetle

hi soontobe.. how to plan i have not even get a firm answer oh..

hi michelle, u are rite. just tat sometimes when i bring it up he will tried not to answer or brush it off very quickly .. been on this issue on off few times..

michy_wong

dear LadyBug, that's so frustrating right? It's like going nowhere. I know how you feel.

I tell you what I did. I just told him, "there'll be a WIS coming up, and we'll go queue k?" And thankfully, he said yes. See if you wanna use it. :p

september

ladybug, if he say no and cant tell u a reason...then u can try asking...if he is nt really for a commitment yet? Wat are his plans for the future wif u? if he no plans and hv no wish to spend the rest of his life wif u...then u hv to decide wat is best for both of u lor....
and if he dun wan a traditional wedding, u all can juz ROM then honeymoon and skip the banquet part lor...

beetle

tat's wat in our mind in the first place.. i know i can't win to have the banquet thing.. so easy way is to ROM n go honeymoon.. n i agreed with tat.

tried ask b4.. he alwiz say ROM very easy one can sign anytime.. but talk is louder than action type lo.. he say must plan other more important thing first.. more stable than can married anytime.. sigh..
tot all girls have own fairytale story..
pretty in gown..

michy_wong

Give him the benefit of the doubt. At least he's trying to stablize things before getting married. Then you have to ask yourself... Do you wanna wait? And is he worth the wait?

jennhoo

Hi Ladybug,

Initially my FH is also the same .. always brush off or change topic ...

Until 1 day i make a big fuss and we had a very big arguement ...

The next day, he left me an sms to say sorry and also initiate to plan our wedding together..

Think ur FH will need some pushing ... maybe both of u could sit down and have a nice talk and ask him wats he is afraid of (ie commitment ...) If not just like me keep bugging he might just give in ...

snowbell42

Hi Ladybug,

well, i guess guys tend to b less sensitive than us gals... they need some pushing.. i also juz had an argument wif my bf recently over the planning... all he said was "he thot i was happily planning it.. so he din wanna interrupt" but in fact he had it planned juz tht he din mentioned to me... n he oni sent me the stuff he planned after the argument lor..

guys really need u to kick a fuss over it at times lor... but dun take it too hard 'cos u guys still have a long way to go after all tis planning s it's the new beginning of ur life together..

l_tgt

Hi all, I am new here. My bf always want me to share all the expenses with him even if it is his own expenses like car loan, car petrol and weekends expenses like movie, makan etc. He will always tell me to pay half of it which is making me very sad cos’ I don't earn much and I have told him about it. Also, if he knows I got extra money, he will also try to eye on mine in terms of asking me to pay half of all expenses.
Eg. if we go watch movie at 7.50 X 2, he will ask me to pay 7.50 to him. OR He will ask me to treat him to movies while I treat him to dinner. If I say no, he will say that he have no money and tell me that then we cannot do anything. If I miss him and ask him to go out, the first thing he will say to me is: “Can but I got no money horâ€. We have been together for 3 years already. Also whatever he promises me, he nevers do. I love him very much but is really depressed and worried about this situation.

Do you think this is normal for a man? Does your bf did the same to you too? Please help your sister here.

starris

Hi Lynda, how old is your bf and does he earn alot more than you? Is he in the finance line cos he sounds really calculative leh (pardon for being so harsh). Is he being this way because he needed the money for something else like saving up for your wedding, or does he splurge on other stuffs like electronic gadets, car gadgets, etc?

My husband (then bf) would pay for all our expenses whenever we go out, even till now after we have gotten married, he will still pay. But once in a while, I would also treat him.

think_thrice

Hi Lynda, is your boyfriend having some other commitments (e.g. his family & home, etc)? Did you request him to buy the car for you?
My FH would normally pay for our expenses. But once in a while, I would also pay. And if it's too much, I wld offer to share the payment.

l_tgt

Dear starris and think thrice

thank you for your advice sisters. My bf is 25 and I am 24. He is an engineer not in the finance line. He has no other commitments beside his car. He mentioned that he is saving for our wedding but I though it is true cos last year we were thinking of ROM. We even book the solemnisation wedding and the date but we actually have to cancel it as he said he got no money so have to. I was so disappointed because he always make me dun trust him.

think_thrice

Lynda, I can understand how u feel. Have you had a talk with him on how you feel? Has he just started to work not long ago? Maybe there's some other financial difficulties he is facing that he didn't want to trouble you on.

soontobe

Wow, this guy is really calculative. My gf used to have a bf who sounds a lot like yours, everything also want her to pay half....even condoms!!!!! Luckily, they broke off, and now she's happily married to her HB.

Lynda, you better think carefully about this r/s. Technically, I'm supportive of sharing expenses between the couple. My FH & I take turns to pay for stuff, he pays most of the times coz he earns more than me. Even if we earn the same amount, I still think he should pay a bigger share. But I will "compensate" by buying him gifts that he wants lar.

Your bf really sounds too calculative. If he's already behaving like this now, I really cannot imagine what's going to happen when you guys are married.

Is he really serious about you? I'm really worried for you coz you were saying that you had to cancel your ROM coz he said he had no money. But, you won't need a lot of money to ROM.

Hi ladies. I got to know my hubby through the Net in late June 2004. We started out as online friends and slowly things started to develop from there. Three months later, he came to Singapore to meet me for the first time. About 1.5 weeks into the trip, he proposed and asked my parents for my hand in marriage.

It was truly a leap of faith for us - we had both gotten out of long-term relationships (4 years) and hardly knew anything about each other. That coupled with several other things like coming from different backgrounds, living in countries 7 time zones away, etc meant that our relationship needs some serious commitment to work.

We finally got engaged in Stockholm in May 2005, where I was meeting his family and friends for the first time. Where I was excited to be getting engaged, he was a bit aloof about it as he had been through it before (with his ex). But seeing how happy I was, made him somehow delirious with joy too.

In late December 2005, he moved to Singapore after securing a job. We ROM-ed in Jan 2006, had our wedding events in March and expecting our first child in November.

Little did we know of how things would work out when we started writing emails to each other then. Our transition from friendship to having a family together went at break-neck speed - we've had our moments, both good and bad but we chose to go through these together. We're still learning about each other's habits and quirks - it hasn't been easy
- but it's about accepting who we are and respecting that individualism.

We've been through a lot of things together and I wouldn't dream of trading him in for someone else. People used to say that I was crazy for saying yes to someone I hardly knew but I never regret that decision.

otak

Lynda Tan (l_tgt),
My hubby used to be like ur bf.Even during wooing days oso divide every bill equally.I was offended & after a couple of mths told him upfront since he is so calculative might as well be frez,actually its not his fault,he is too used to saving & never believe tat a guy shld pay for everything.Anyway after tat tok he slowly change himself & I can say he is a changed person now.

Perhaps all along you always give in & he alrdy noe ur weakness.I dun tik its right,b4 marriage alrdy like this le,how you expect to trust him for a lifetime?try having another tok wif him bah

cuclainne (cuclainne),
I oso noe my hubby thru internet.We mit thru Friendster & after knowing 1yr+ we got married!!All my frez said we are like a fairy tale came true..wahahahahaha

pro_photo

I think Sending your girlfriend to seduce him is a real test.

And of course to engage me to take the photos as proofs.

agnes_jo

Hi Lynda and gals

For my case, whenever, we went out for meals and my bf don't pay for my shares (sometime) I will be upset. To retaliate I will do something or behave badly toward him. Think it is childish, but I don't know how to put in to him.

Worst is, my bf's daddy is a control freak. He will check on what my bf had spend and question my bf how come he spend so much.
Once, my bf bought me a watch, and his daddy asked him how comes there was a reduction of money in his bank account. When I came to know about that, I was upset and angry with his daddy. Its eating me up till, at time, I don't even wish to visit his place.

sounds like my ex. he doesn't take me to fancy places (not that i mind at all) but he makes it sound as if i owe him for the $3 chicken rice, etc.

when he started taking motorcycle lessons, he told me that he was looking at buying this really expensive helmet and that i should start saving to buy him the helmet. i'm like what?! for my birthday he buys me stuffed toys from the $1.99 shop (that's how stringent he is with his money).

whereas the husband is different - sure he keeps track of where the money goes to but he's not a control freak over it. even when we were dating, he would pay for most things cos he believes in providing for me. now that we're married and he earns about three times my salary, even our emergency savings is from his salary. he knows that i don't earn that much, i have my own bills and i give my mother a monthly allowance so he doesn't pressure me to contribute to this fund even though he's reminded me that it's 'our' money if i ever needed it. of course he's not going to give it to me for a sudden shopping splurge but it's nice to know that he's not calculative. even if i managed to save a little money of my own in my own account and my parents need to borrow it, he's ok with me giving it to them as long as i tell him.

and since he's been on his own since he was 17, his parents don't control his finances but i suppose that's how they are. when i was in stockholm, i had spent a day with his mother (that time i was still just a girlfriend) and she insisted on paying for everything, from my lunch to the ferry ticket back to the city. she refused to take my money because she said i'm on vacation and need the money for other important things like souvenirs for family back home .. i think that was very sweet and perhaps this is where the husband got his attitude towards finances from. if it's a special occasion, he certainly doesn't think twice about spending the money.

oxidise

Hi Lynda and gals,

sounds pretty much like my old story, my ex and i used to quarrel all the time about dollars and cents, and truth be for a relationship to be tainted by money is the worst kinda feeling.

i met my ex a day before my birthday and was made to buy drinks since UOB card offered a one for one promotion. i seriously had no qualms paying, but i hate it when someone i barely knew then forced it on me to pay for something as microscopic as 10bucks. imagine. and on my birthday itself i paid for his and mine movie tixs. am i not even worth a movie since i chose to go out with u on my birthday? sheer pettiness.

i have never been out with someone like him, for me i am more the chin chye kinda person, if my gf pays for lunch this time, i will make sure i will pay for the next. cos i know it's not the money ,it's the company.

anyhow, i am out with a gracious and gentlemenly guy now *smiles* who goes along the same line as me with regards to money, i dun expect him to pay all the time, it's not an expecation rather a mutual understanding. he doesn't let me pay most of the time, but now and then i would pay and sometimes buy him his fave treats and/or things he need like eg. hair wax.

trust me, for a couple to quarrel about money is not only frustrating, it also taints a relationship quite badly. it's simple, i trust him and he trusts me so money shouldn't come between two people.

pinkloveang

Hey cannot lah....how can split bills when dating? Terrible leh! Calculate until so detailed. I once went out with this guy also split the bills very equally, after that. I refused to go out with him, ignore his call. I hate stingy man. I live by the motto, want me? afford me!

i used to know this guy who openly ask me to buy him a meal...he will say:"还一下, 会死哈!"
dammn rude guy...not only ask me pay already pissed off..and some more ask me to die??? what the..FXX!

pinkloveang

yah Cynthia! I mean why got this type of cheapskate man?!!! Not one or two, I think quite alot leh!! They dare to open their mouth and ask for free meal, why not I wash his clothes too. Think i'm the parents ah?! Siao!

oxidise

yep that's true.. because of my ex bf.. my next bf (who is my hubby now!! 7th july this yr!) shone so brightly, and showed me how true love is supposed to be in the 1st place.

thats good evian...
we always hope life will become better and not worse..
only when go through bad times can strengthen us..life is not a bed of roses mah...

littlebride2008

It seems like in this life there's a lots of different stories happen to different ladies.

My hubby is 8 yrs older than me. Knew him during my Industrial Attachment (poly life for me tt time). Before the end of my attachment we started dating, it been about 2 years since then. He's quite a insensitive guy, don't know how to see gf face at that time. I have raise questions about marriage but he always avoid that questions, it was also till we have a big arguement then we planned, we have ROM on 1st Dec 2007, banquet will be on 6th Dec 2008.

Personally, i felt that it will have to depend on the guy themselves, sometime argue will backfire things if the guys are not the pushing type, u know "MCP" type will backfire. It will sure depend on how much u loved him & how much he willing to forsake for u.

shybride

this thread inactive for quite long liaoz, but i can't resist adding my 2 cents' worth. I used to be with this guy who's 8 years older than me. He's not really stingy but quite thrifty. He was quite surprised when I refused to split the bills everytime we went out. Told him I don't like to calculate like that, but i would pay sometimes. Prefer take turns to pay rather than paying him back for every meal you know? OK he accepted it and we followed this arrangement.

Then for X'mas he bought me this container from Action City lor. it's less than $10, i know cos i saw it before. i was so sad, he sure didn't have financial problems, he was 34 years old lor.. felt that he didn't value me at all.. doesn't have to be expensive stuff.. but.. less than $10..???

Valentine's day he bought me a pendant from perlini. But it's quite big. when he gave it to me, he also said 'it's quite big so i dunno how u going to wear it..' Duh. if he didn't know, then why buy it for me??!!

anyway we broke up. now i m with a very sweet guy who is thrifty but not towards me. So don't be disheartened! there are good boyfriends out there! : )

sella

I would like to give a piece of advice for those who are having hesitation about your marriage.

It is best to go through a marriage preparation course before the wedding. The course will be able to let you know what to expect in marriage so that you will know whether you are ready for a lifelong commitment.

It also enable you to learn much more about your partner. And that will be able to tell you whether he is the one for you.

Marriage preparation courses are easily available organised by various organisations.

You will only need to spend a merely few lessons to make that marriage works a lifetime.

minnie_goh

Hi Marssella

This courses are not cheap rite? I think i came across one that cost few hundred..

Wat are the agenda in this courses? mind sharing?

phantazia

My religion has made it compulsory that i muz attend before i get married. I've on idea wat its like too. But i m sure its very beneficial. Anyhow, to Lynn n other gals who posted regarding their horrible cheapskate guyz. I had my fair share too. Had a regular officer gd looking bf who nt only ask me to give him 5bucks everytime he sents me home by bike, also made me buy few hundred dollar biker boots for him. Wen i broke up wif him, i deliberately asked it back frm him n he said "no problem, i can return it to u." I deliberately ask him again n again bt he din return. Anyway, i already expected tat he won't return. My b-day he got me nothing. Another guy also equally bastard. Doesn't buy me stuffs, so this time round i m also smart, no longer spend on guyz unless is superbly cheap. I remember once i deliberately ask for 5bucks to buy a bowl of noodle from coffee shop while he was already eating n his face black like charcoal. Anyway, i juz refused to pay for anything if i can. He doesn't pay much for anything. Even on my b-day he will also calculate n tell me str8 in my face tat dis yr first yr can only give u this cuz if this yr buy u expensive stuffs, following yr muz buy even more expensive. N he got me a ice blender as my 2nd bday gift n 1st b-day wif him was a BIG SCOLDING ( he always loose his temper at me). At tat time his pay was twice of mine n savings was ard 50k. I had nt much as savings cuz had to pay for my studies too, n i was still studying at tat time on loan. So he asked to marry me. I was very hesistant bt we still went ahead to almost gettin a HDB till i back out from the 1st appt payment or sumthing. He gave a deposit of 100bucks to secure the place den told me to give the agent 3k for his commission. WOW!!! I was so mad. First he din propose, den he ask me give 3K. I wonder m i suppose to show my sincerity or him? Anyway i refused to give. The agent(which he was the one who searched for) kept calling him for the 3K, he doesn't wanna entertain him so gave the agent my number n the agent kept bothering me wif the 3k. Thnk god my fren was kind enough to laid out the property rules with him n he used foul language n disappeared for good. I think i wanna start a tread on "GUYz in Singapore to avoid list" and list out the full names of all theses idiots.

sleepyskies

My bf used to very thrifty when we were dating..initially he used to pay for the expenses but later on, he asked if I could chip in too. I felt offended but started to pay for stuff (popcorn & drinks etc) whenever we go out. When we finally got together, I told him he came across as very calculative when he asked me to chip in on the expenses. To him, its fair for the gal to 'share' some of the expenses when going on a date..we shouldnt expect the guy to pay for everything. Honestly, to me..that is plain 'niao'. haha. But thankfully, he is totally changed now..he pays for all our expenses when we are out. But I still pay for dinner, movies etc from time to time.

Minnie - Most of the marriage preparation courses cost a few hundred bucks. But I think it is money well-spent if it gives you a good headstart (at least a mental preparation) for marriage life. You can visit MCYS website for more details on the various courses offered by the different agencies. Have attached their link for you - http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/CourtshipNMarriage/ExchangeYourVows/Resources/MarriagePreparation/. Do consider signing up for one...I will be attending 1 too once I decide on the course/agency. Hope this helps.

tianai83

Hmmmm same like sleepyskies>> my HB is a very thrifty guy, that's what others told me. n i see it with my own eyes.... Hmmm but glad that he is thrifty to himself hmmm but haha hmmm splendid towards me.

We know each other since poly time but only stick to hi bye friend... n i totally cant remember his name for 5 yrs or more.... Hmmm but when after grad got once we were at a chalet hmmm we got back contact n is just develop naturally...

Well guys do hesitate at time, how we got married was really hmmm weird... we just wanted a HDB flat.. so we try out luck. n hu know we are so lucky, within months a got our new flat... n must get married within 3months...
But as we are both very poor we have a very simple ROM... at my aunt's house... n he spend the whole money he ever had that time just to marry me... hmm in the end after the whole ceremoney he left only 30 bucks... haha that's not what i wanna say la.. hmmm but its the answer he give to our solemizer... cos the solemizer ask him why do we want to get married.. n he just answer with a certain - Cos i love her.... but i was luffing lik hell back then... haha... cos i was lik gonna answer : becos of the Flat.... Hmmm but i was quite touched oso.. hmmmm well its definitely ok for me to pay for my share i believe, but hmm my hb he is quite insisting on me to yi kao him... so hmmm haha... i can say i din choose the wrong guy... even till now he is still very sweet, when we go tour, he will squeezae the toothpaste for me, n he knows i like bathtub, so he will prepare the bathtub so when i woke up i can have a bath soak haha... So i m really thankful n appreciative towards his small n little movements...

sept_09_bride

Hi. my HB also scare of commitments and dare not commit.. nv dream of getting marry to him as he always says NO to marry.. slowly.. he changed dwnt he yrs.. i din push him tat much.. i juz stick with him for a long 7 yrs.. all along, he knws i wana marry.. which gal dun rite??

last yr.. actually i wana get rom in dec.. we did talk alittle abt it.. then out of the blue, he got me a solitaire ring.. din propose or do anything.. juz give me the ring.. then i say, we rom in dec wan?? then he nv says no, he juz push the date back and says y not in 09-09-09.. mre meaningful date.. im so delighted.. as he finally wana marry me.. juz tat he's waiting for the rite time all along..

we juz got marry (ROM) nt customary yet.. in 09-09-09.. guess wat.. during our solemnisation.. when he says the vows.. im so move to tears.. these are tears of joy which many ppl dun understand.. i juz cant imagine this day will happen coz all the yrs we are together, he nv wana commit..

i believe, wat guys are thinking these days, we are nt aware.. n i believe, they are planning things themselves without sharing with us.. believe me, for those ladies in this thread.. ur bf might b planing something themselves.. guys also wana commitments bt they wan to b mre stable before getting marry..

im a v good example.. im nw happily marry.. he even wana a nice customary wedding for us.. nw we are saving up for tat day as well as our hse..