How to hv white teeth?

gogo

i bought my FH a whitening toothpaste. used for 1 mth, cant see any result. how? cant be too expensive. no money le...

btw, he doesnt smoke.

cin

Hi Gogo,

I highly recommend going to the dentist and ask for the powder jet blasting cleaning... i can't remember the name for it, but the dentist at Peace Centre ground level does it. I went for cleaning before my ROM, wanted nice and shiny teeth
it costs $80 for almost one whole hour of cleaning and spraying. And the effects are marvelous...but a bit uncomfortable when they spray the powder jet...like tiny grains of soap powder/mini particles of sand hitting your teeth and gums. Not painful, just uncomfortable..but very clean! No more stains!

darlie

Cin, the shiny teeth only last for a few months or it will last as long as you keep it clean?
Do you have the address?

toothy

A. Brite White 1 hr at clinic- $1800
They whiten the teeth, some sort of infra-red (??) light, it whitens a few notches within the hour.

B. Brite White HOME system- $300/ 400 thereabouts
They make a mould tray of your teeth, you smear the paste, put over for 1 hr at home, every day for 2 or 3 weeks.

C. Another brand HOME system- $300/ 400 thereabouts
Same as B but the concentration of the acid is increased every week.

A is fast and hassle-free.
B can be used alone as alternative to A, or, as FOLLOW-UP maintenance as and when needed after A.
C can be used alone as alternative to A.

Note: Whitening is "bleaching", mainly for superficial STAINS. WON'T help cases where the enamel is actually coloured throughout the whole core- those need veneering (about $400 per tooth).

ms kpo

hi Cin, this sounds inexpensive & gd ... i am keen, can provide more info? is this permanent or u hv to go back all the time?

darlie

hmmm How come the price difference is so much btw Cin and Toothy's dentist? $80 is actually very cheap. Why is that so?

toothy

darlie, cos they are different procedures.

one is cleaning teeth, the other is bleaching.

Ideally, wedding or not, should clean teeth at dentist regularly... it IS part of the regular check-up.

toothy

Oh wait, but Cin mentioned hers take an hour... hers are probably an extended version of the normal cleaning.

My HB also has tea stains that are easily removed by normal dental cleaning.

All methods of "whitening" is not permanent, lasts only as long as you avoid
* soya sauce, tea, coffee, coke etc
Helps to drink from a straw.

cin

Yup, it is a type of cleaning, except that they use a powder jet to blast the stains and dirt away, AFTER they do a regular cleaning for you. Not all dentists have this...I remembered the name already...it is called Prophy Jet cleaning... i don't know other places which it, but my regular dentist recommended me the one at Peach centre ground level. I also forget the name... lemme go call Peace Centre info desk and revert back to you girls...

As for how long it lasts...if your teeth is stained, it cleans away all the stains, and will last as long as you maintain good oral hygiene. Of course, if you smoke, drink caffeinated drinks and don't rinse/brush after that, it will have a shorter shelf life lah...

Mine was brown stains caused by tea and dark soya sauce (haha, according to my dentist)...so he recommended me to go for the prophy jet cause normal cleaning cannot clean out the stains in between the teeth area.

One thing though, if your original teeth is not white, but yellowish, the outcome will still be your original teeth colour, but of course, sparkling clean lah, without any stains etc.

I must say, it really is a good stain removal method..it even cleans out the gaps or in between your teeth...i kept licking my teeth after that cause felt so clean hee hee

If you are looking for clean, stain free teeth, this is a good bet. But if you want Miss-Universe-white-teeth, go for bleaching...

ms kpo

hi cin. let us noe the name & contact of the dentist... i am very keen. coz think mine is stained by tea etc. i dun smoke at all. but surprisingly, those smokers sometimes got brighter & whiter teeth than mine. hope 2 hear from u soon. =)

darlie

THanks for the info. Gosh, I think I may have to go for the bleaching which will cost a bomb. arghhh. Toothy, you went for the blenching before? You seem to know alot about the different kinds of whitening your teeth.;P

galgal

Hi Cin,

Can also gv me the contact & name for your dentist ? The name & exact location of his clinic too. Thanks !

cin

HI girls,

Sorry, took such a long time finding the number cause i got my buildings mixed up hee hee. In the end, called my regular dentist and ask him for the info again. Ok, please see below:-

Leong Joo Kee & Partners Dental Clinic
35 Selegie Road
#01-32/34
PARKLANE SHOPPING MALL
Singapore 188307
Phone: 6338-1188

You might want to call up and ask for more info, price etc. The treatment is called Prophy Jet cleaning (powder jet blast) and for me, the treatment was $80 for almost one hour of cleaning. Remembered my mouth was damn tired after that, open too long haha...

toothy

Put lipbalm on the sides of your mouth in case too dry it may tear. Always do that for any dental treatment

darlie

Hihi Cin for the info. Great help. And Toothy thanks for the little tip too. ;D

ms kpo

hi cin,
thks 4 the info... was the procedure painful anot>?

i juz went to my regular dentist but i 4got to ask them abt this cleaning thing. how long was it already tt u had this cleaning thing? teeth still white?>

cin

Hi ms kpo,

The procedure not painful just a bit uncomfortable... it doesn't turn your teeth white, just gets rids of the stain, so you will have clean, shiny teeth but in your original colour lor...i went for cleaning in feb before new year...teeth still stain free
but me will go down once more before wedding, to make it extra clean and shiny hee hee...

elaine77

Hi cubby..

Try pearlie white.. its quite good, im using it now. They have another one, Sensitive also quite good. BUy one to try.. you can buy it from watsons.. ntuc and other supermarkets.

chelle

If anyone's interested in bleaching still, there's this place in the east i know that's only $900. It's valid till june.. usual price would be $1500... do tell me if you're interested!

koras

i once heard my frn telling mi that mustafa sold those type of whiteing power like form.
Those indians use them. And it really works for my frn. But when she went there to buy again, could seem to find it.
wonder anyone self here used them b4

burningfire

is it true tat if ur original teeth is not white it will always be yellowish? there is no solution ar? i tried brushin veri hard but onli like whiter a little onli.. but still look yellowish to me..

ugly_teeth

Hmm.. remember, must always do maintenance..

Avoid drinks that leaves stains like coffee, coke/pepsi etc. Avoid sweet stuffs because they'll leave a layer of plague, and it makes cleaning rather a hassle.

The plague if left there for quite some time, can cause yellowing of teeth..

That's why they have the Disclosing Tablets.. chew, and then you'll see whether the plagues are still there or not.

Brushing, Flossing and Rinsing with mouthwash frequently helps to maintain oral hygiene, as well as a set of healthier teeth.

Oh, and remember not to brush too hard ah. Brushing too hard will cause damages to the surface of your teeth.

Get a good toothbrush too~~

revlis

usually chinese tooth are shade A2 (normally) .. but if u drink a lot of coffee, tea and smoking.. of cos ur teeth will turn yellowish...

and if u intend to go for bleaching.. dun expect ur teeth to be extremely white. . the most u can get is reduce by one or two shade..

i wont say avoid coffee or tea or drinks that stains .. u can still contd to drink .. but do rinse ur mouth after u drink them .. by doing so.. u will not get stain

it is not necessary to brush after every food, rinsing will do . actually twice a day is enough (one morning and one before you sleep) .. cos plague will only start to form 24hrs later

too much of chloride mouth rinse is actually not good.. cos it will cause teeth to turn yellowish also

get a size 35 soft toothbrush

for Oral B would be size 35 soft
for sensodyne, small head soft

actually the softest is sensodyne but i realised that watson has stopped selling it.. i feel so disappointed...

a soft tooth brush clean better than a hard toothbrush .. i know some of u might not get used to it cos u feel that it is not clean .. just brush gently on ur gum line .. imagine using a hard toothbrush and brush on ur gum line.. it hurts rite ? and in long run .. ur teeth will be shaky (trust me
) cos ur gum move down and expose the roots of ur teeth .. and sooner or later teeth will become shaky ..no point having very very clean gum but having abrasion at the gum ..

as for why a small toothbrush instead of a big one.. how do u wash the last few molars if u use a big tooth brush ?
when u open ur mouth big big and try to push ur big tooth brush in .. u cant brush the back of ur molar .. so get a small toothbrush.. and push it at the back but close ur mouth and u can brush it .. dun believe... u all go and try

revlis

oh and the method of brushing is also very impt ..
i know from young our pri sch nurse teach us to brush horizontally .. but actually we should brush vertically up and down up and down .. (divide ur top teeth into six part) one part should take about 10 secs ... so brushing should take about 5-10mins

if ur teeth bleed.. dun stop brushing.. contd to brush at that area but gently ok ? else it hurt :p
it bleed meaning that that area is dirty .. thus all the more u need to clean it .. u will realised that after a few days the bleeding stop and ur gum is healthier

but if bleeding persist... go see a dentist.. might be some unknown problem

nutty

revlis, wow u sound like u are very well-learnt in this area. Are you working in a dental clinic or are u a dentist?
which brand of FLOURIDE mouthrinse would u recommend?

revlis

hi nutty peanut,

i used to work as a part timer assistant in a dental clinic many yrs back ... learn a lot from those dentists .. they taught me alot

actually if possible.. try not to use mouthrinse regardless is flouride or chloride.. we only recommend to use it when u got gum infection else normal brushing and floss is enough .. bad breath all these are not due to heatyness ..usually ppl have bad breath cos their teeth are not wash properly ..

but for those wearing braces.. u need to use mouthrinse cos there are some areas which u cant brush properly and clean due to the braces ..

sorry i dun have a specific brand of mouthrinse to recommend cos my dentist has taught me not to use mouthrinse if necessary

revlis

to all mummy out there ...

when ur child start to have teeth .. do brush it for them using toothbrush but without toothpaste. cos toothpaste will cause the child's teeth to have white color spot here and there .. if u wan to let ur child learn how to brush teeth .. is ok but always rem no matter wat u still need to do a brush for them.. cos if u just let them do their own brushing .. by the age of 6 or 7 or 8 .. they will have a lot of spoilt teeth cos they dunno how to brush the proper way ..

and u can start bringing them to a dentist when they are 4 or 5 ... expose them to dentist so that they will not fear dentist like most of us do when we are young.. the dentist will just do some polishing for them... or if the dentist feel that ur child is still young .. is ok .. just let them watch the dentist do cleaning for u.. let them know that dentist will not harm them.. they are here to help them clean the teeth properly .. bring them at least twice a yr when u visit the dentist.. but of cos ur dentist must know how to pacify children .. some dentist got no patience with children.. in that case dun ever bring ur child there else next time got phoebia dun dare to go dentist.. worst rite ?

our human teeth if u take care of it .. can be with u till end of ur life.. need not wear denture etcs

nutty

Revelis, care to share why is it that we shouldn't use flouride mouthrinse unless unncessary? How about people who have teeth decay before n was fixed by either fillings or root canal?

revlis

hmm i mentioned earlier on .. it will cause teeth to turn yellowish

i dun see any issue with teeth decay before and was fixed by filling or root canal.. u also mentioned that they have been fixed mah.. so wat the issue here ?
hee i blur by ur qns ..

nutty

cos my teeth very sensitive and the dentist also spotted a few other teeth whcih are showing signs of decay. So I have now learnt the importance of taking good care of oral hygience. Thats why i wish to start using mouth rinse with flouride to clean my teeth thoroughly too.

noscon

anyone tried the new product advertised on tv right now? have to wear like a case for 30mins each day one.... cant remember the name but its selling in guardian for like $49 or $48

noscon

i just bought a prodt from guardian but its not the one advertised on tv. Mine is $29.90 and takes like 3 wks to see effect. It requires twice a day application... now waiting to see if its any good....

loterie

Unfortunately, teeth get stains by the food or beverage that we consume. Coffee, tea..etc.. But if you are a coffee lover like me, wat you can do to minimise is by drinking coffee using straw.

But before that, its good to do teeth whitening for that bright effect! Can recommend you guys to go for teeth whitening (in-clinic procedure + Home-kits) and you will also get a session of scaling and polishing (worth up to $120). This promotion is valid till March 07. Normal Price w/o Scaling & Polishing is $850. At Camden Medical 16th Floor, more info call 6565 6888

zestyzan

Hi all, I discovered a very good whitening toothpaste AP24. Apatented formula that provide anti plaque protection over 24hours, only one in the market. Have tried, really happy about it coz I like to drink coffee!!

chocolatecake

Currently i m using a herbal powder that i bought from mustafa.It cost only $2.40 only. its call VICCO,yellow colour bottle.can use for quite long time.

I ever do teeth bleaching but the yellowish came back after a year.

think i will opt for a cheaper method. Can see the result in 1 week time.Some of my colleg asked how come my teeth is so white, its due to the herbal powder.

Affordable way to get whiter teeth.Just that the herbal smell quite heavy.but overall its worth a try.

cloudd

Rozana, you're using Amw** right? Not everyone is suitable for that.

I'm using TheraMed Express whitening, small tube. Lasted 2 weeks and I saw my teeth gets brighter by 2-3 shades within 1 week (I stick to the instructions of use). You're not supposed to use for long period.

After the end of the period, now I'm using Zact.
I'm a moderate coffee drinker, about 2-3 cups a day. Teeth was quite dark before using.
For less than $20, no harm trying this toothpaste.

rosewhite

anyone tried using iwhite? IS it effective? It is supposed to use for a week, can be found at guardian or watson.

zestyzan

SOrry, I'm not using Am***...

Trust me, its safe even for my 4 and 3 yo children! Now its on promotion, selling at $7.50. Gd time to try...I actually buy to give away to friends and relatives. They looovee it too!

rachel1987

hi can try one of hte best tooth gels on the market. this non-abrasive, non--flouride formula contains 100% stabilised aloe vera gel with bee propolis .the result is a formula that keeps breath fresh and whitens witrhout bleaching.(130g) at $16.35

interested can email or add me at msn at [email protected]

germieee

i chanced upon this post and decided to reply.
basically i feel that whitening toothpaste dont actually helps. it may help to remove the external stains but definitely whitening the tooth internally.
there are generally 2 types of whitening :
1 using a take home kit which u use at home yourself, the other is done in the dental office by the professional, which is much faster,
the in-office whitening is of course more effective and faster than the take home kit where the dentist makes u a tray which u bring home.
teeth whitening may be done by lasers, or by chemicals. not much difference whichever way you get it done.
i'm a dental professional btw, hope this answers your questions.

geeksavvy

I've used a lot of teeth whitening products and the colgate tooth whitener didn't really work for me. I'm currently living in the states and the drugstore brands of teeth whiteners actually work really well for me. I'm currently taking orders for Crest White 3D professional effects and seeing if i can ship it to Singapore. If anyone is interested in it, I have thread going on in the marketplace section under others. Look for "Crest White" and you're bound to find it!