How to deal with neighbours whose shoe rack lying ard ur corridor

yokonoriko

Hi to all, I have just shifted to a new condo. Found that my neighbour shoe rack is pretty near to our corridor. I hate shoes along coriddor except for ur own compound. SO i try to shift the rack slightly nearer to their place. To my surprise the next day they tie cable tie to another shoe rack. There is not only one shoe rack but there are 2 racks that stack together so tat makes it 4. Can u imagine the nos of shoes? Mine is a corner and so is theirs. So far I have check with the floors from 1st to to the top. He is the only neighblour that put way beyond his compound. Desperately needed so ways and advice of how to deal with people like them. Thanks.

yokonoriko

Green, I don't feel that is so easy. I think maybe i file complain to management. But I also don't want to be complain queen as well. Just hope that they have some initiative.

Cos I also worried that they might say " This is a common area... Bla bla bla... Moreover I preg now, temper will be lousy. I don't think I would like to flare up and after that it will turns out to be very ugly.

why not take this opportunity to teach ur unborn child the virtues of tolerance and generosity? you know, "tai jiao"?

as u mentioned yourself. Its common area. Look at the big picture. If everyone has their own "hate this hate that" conflicts, then its very hard to live as neighbours right? Talking nicely to your neighbour is definitely wiser option than complaining.

sane

I agree, it's better to talk to them nicely.

My neighbour's wet clothings were dripping down to my clothings and all I did was just to knock on their door and tell them in a polite manner, they were considerate enough to apologise and keep their wet clothings too.

yokonoriko

I will only be shifting on the 15th. AFter that I will talk to them. Hopefully they are nice and considerate enough....

What will happen if they still leave it outside? Any other plans??

u bought the the space inside your house. the rest is controlled by the management... u can complain to management, but that will psark off the start of unnecessary tension...

all these simply becos u find things an eyesore and feel that u have ownership of the corridor spaces...

what for?

habe

Yoko, I have the same problem as you. I haven't moved in to my new place but my neighbour did, and seeing that our house is still unoccupied, she has taken the liberty to put her shoe rack, clothes rack outside my door such that i can't even open my door when i first got my keys. I had to move all the clothes rack and bamboo poles away on my own cos nobody answered after i rang their doorbell a few times. My mom who was with me was quite furious and insist that i buy up that space from hdb and put a grill to enclose it(mines a corner flat so nobody else will walk past that space other than us, neighbour is corridor unit).
i dunno if i have the option to do that but even if i do i won't becos like this you will be 'declaring war' with your neighbour even before you step in. with neighbours, its better to be cordial rather than enemies - heard of the phrase - "neighbours are better than far friends"? but unless they turn out to be nasty even after your tried your best to be nice, then that's another story altogether.
But for a start, Yoko, like very one else advise - talk to them first(and in a calm manner, dun pick up fight once you start talking) before you decide to complain to management.
I'm going to have a chat with my neighbours too when i see them, hopefully its just a temporary situation and will dissipate when we move in.

habe

But actually Yoko, other than causing an eye sore - does the shoe rack hinder your movements or cause u any inconvenience? if it doesn't think you might not have any grounds to complain - after all its common area.

eyesore isn't a good reason. Again, I emphasize you to look at the big picture. When u screw up your relationship with your neighbour over something this trivial, u will be in for alot of unhappiness and more conflicts.

It like your neighbour telling you he doesn't like your face. How would you feel? Work this our rationally and calmly.

On checking with management, I would suggest you to first look at the rules on common area set by the management. If its clearly violenting some rule, then you have a case. Else, learn to be more tolerant.

Also, you haven't EVEN spoken to your neighbour but already having idea that it will not work and preferring to complain to management. Use more EQ in the way you live with others.

greyarea

well, i think i'll find it eyesore and irritating too if my neighbour shoerack is closer to my compound irregardless if it's common area. i mean, you have your common area, i have mind. so, be considerate to each other and don't go overboard lor..

but then there's nothing you can do even if your neighbour are those inconsiderate and "ba tau" ones..just sway lor..

yoko,
i think going straight to management is like staging a war with your neighbour up front already liao. probably speaking to them nicely abt this issue will be a more gentle approach..approaching the management should be the last resort because this is like "fan lian" already..

how abt this... leave 2 plants on either side of your door to mark the boundaries... but keep them abt 1-2m from your door... it's something not unnormal and if their shoe-racks are in the way, just knock on their door and ask them if they could shift things abit... u can tell them tat it's one of those fengshui things that u've been advised blah blah...

tat way u can get off on a good start and also establish an understanding tat they dun clutter tat area becos of fengshui... of cos if they turn out unreasonable, then u can buy a super duper big shoerack to put outside and 'Up' them...

lol..
Powder!! UP them!
lol.. since u cannot match them in their game, play along with them lor..
wahahahahahaha.......

Yep that way works. My neighbour also took up the entire corridor while mine is the corner unit. They hang clothings, carpet and watever along the railing... Even have a sewing machine at the corridor and to my door step area.

Well when I moved in, I just put my joss paper bucket at my doorstep there lor and I burn abit of joss paper there (marking my territory in a subtle manner). Now they no longer place their stuffs all to way to my side liao.

Look at the bigger picture of having good relations. I could have been more anal as when my house was completing and my contractor was touching up one day with some of my furnishings already in, the main door was not closed and my neighbours just came in my place and orientate themselves. My guys tried to ask them out but they just bo chup and explore here and there.

On another note when I was about to move it, I bought a new broom and put beside my main door as I wanna sweep the corridors. The next time I pop by, my broom was taken by my neighbour and placed together with their belongings at the corridor liao.

we tried to overlook this thinking on the pro that probably they will be sweeping the corridor for us liao haha. Anyway I also juz bought cakes for everyone at our level to introduce ourselves and getting to know more of each other, the friendly relation builds. In future if wanna negotiate about anything, also alot easier. As if you start on the wrong footing, the tension sure last one. Try some soft approach first.

well can understand tat there's nasty neighbours... just tat best to start by being cordial and giving everyone a benefit of a doubt... sometimes for empty units left unoccupied for too long, pple tend to take liberties at the outside space so tat's part of human nature... must give pple time to adjust to your presence also...

Nabz.. HBH!!

U like that burn joss paper etc maybe ur neighbours thot u zhou gong tao to them ah.. so they quickly siam lor.. lol..

like for my case ah.. its my upstairs neighbours lor.. knn! they hang their dripping wet (maciam raining) clothings out everytime & will kena all those at the bottom.. really CCB.. but bor bian lor.. lunz...

my other neighbours go up to tell them off ah.. they can reply what?? what?? u go live on top of me & drip me lor.. kaoz....

yokonoriko

SOme neighbors are just so inconsiderate and going the proper way may not work. But will try to talk to my neighbor. Hopefully they more zi dong. What makes me feel that they will not be is bcos I tried to shift just a little bit less dan 1 foot AND SLIGHTLY NEARER TO THEIR DOORSTEP and the next day i came back and saw they actually use cable tie to put their original position back again and tie the 2 racks together. SO what do u think? They are going to be reasonable? I doubt so. Moreover I don't think that I will see their faces that often cos most cos both of us are at the corner unit. I wish i can open my door and clast my music but too bad. I have a kiddo at home. I don't wish to declare war. I have try to be nice and get my agt to inform them but they still do the same. Honestly, even complain to management i don't think it works. If they are considerate, when my agt tel them and when i try to move alittle I think they should be able to sense it.
Another way that I thought of is telling my neighbor that I am going to paint the wall cos is very dirty. SO i need to move their shoes away if not will kena paint. Then after that I quickly buy 2 plants and the red bucket for burning joss paper to place there. (anyway is the same thing, they gonna feel that u are declaring war)

why do you want to make assumptions instead of really trying to contain the issue from a softer approach first? The main issue I see in your approach is, you are already seeing the worst of him. So, your reaction and course of actions are hostile. Ask yourself, is that the wisest method around the problem?

I don't see how difficult it is to 1st try to work things out as peacefully as possible. You shifted his stuffs without asking. That, to him, is rude too. Stop depending on non verbal clues to guess his or your actions. It serves no purpose but for you to get even more defensive. Communicate and talk to that fellow. If you start with building the bond & friendship with your neighbour, it doesn't take a genious to realize you would probably have a much better chance of working things out.

E.g. Do a friendly visit to his family. Get to know them better. After some self-intro and ice breaking, apologize for shifting his stuffs with some excuses like you were moving your stuffs or cleaning the place. Then, suggest that he could help to make some adjustments so that you could also use the common area of some plants or something.

You see, many things can be worked out diplomatically without burning bridges. This is not sucking up to your neighbour or something. But, simply exercising some EQ and creativity to resolve things peacefully. Its also harder to decline someone that 1st build on the relationship before the request than for someone that pushes with brute force down their throats.

If you do it nicely, even if they are thicked skin, they would find it harder to decline and not give face. Don't you think so?

yokonoriko

Noise pollution is terible too. Whether is it noise or what. We also hope to hv nice and considerate neighblours.
Walking along some old corridors, can passby strings of panties, clothings and donu what rubbish. I wonder how some pp feel if u have to walk past all these everyday.

beezy

Mine is the corner unit. During that time, we haven't block our unit but we have bought the area. I used to have a neighbour who placed all sorts of things outside his unit. toys, bicycle, clothings, carpets.... So much that they started to put at our place as well. We had problem walking to our unit.

We talked to them nicely, they apologized... but that lasted only a few days.. then the problem came back again. We almost tripped over quite a few times... Then my mum decided to call contractor to install the door gate.. and we bought 2 very big pots of plants and place one on other side to ensure that we can open the gates as what powder had suggested above.

"Walking along some old corridors, can passby strings of panties, clothings and donu what rubbish. I wonder how some pp feel if u have to walk past all these everyday."

I feel nothing. Frankly, this is all so common. If you are upset over this kind of things, I can assure you to be miserable and upset for a long long time. And to me, its more you than your neighbours. i.e. your entire mentality and reaction to things you deem not nice or unacceptable by your standards. Others do not live by your standards. Learn to accept differences and work things peacefully.

Instead of hoping for good neighbour, think of how to make the entire environment friendier. This would work better towards having better neighbours. Most people are not MONSTER with no decency. They are just different. Most are able of both being nice and nasty. Do you want to bring the worst or the best of them? Your choice. Go figure.

habe

my point as well.
to me if its just causing unsightliness and not posing any other hazards to us or anyone else i think we should just leave it.if we wanna even bother abt ppl hanging panties/clothings, then i think we might be crossing over to being "busybodies". maybe to them only like this to they feel "at home"?
my current neighbour sticks 5-6 big posters of half naked men with emphasis on their nipples on her balcony window facing ours. everday we go to balcony and we are greeted with nipples. To us yes unsightly and even offensive, maybe to her its art?

beezy

habe, they were not very happy at first until we told them we bought the area. We spoke to them nicely... saying that the things are a hazard to people walking to my unit. It was only after a long while before they are willing to reduce the number of items they placed out in the corridor.

think for those who are very affected by the surroundings, might have to consider working harder to buy landed property else those condo units whereby it's 1 unit per floor... or those where u have a private lift... solves everything. communal living requires abit more tolerance... but if kena nitemare neighbours, wah... can only accept that your territory is the space Inside the house Only.

I dun bother about what my neighbours place at corridor unless the pile of stuff e.g. cardboards along the corridor is a serious, potential fire hazard.

luckymandarins

My neighbours at my condo used to burn offerings during every chinese festive occasions. I am very tolerant since it's their religious beliefs. Moreover, I kinda like incense smell too cos reminds me of my deceased mother burning offerings when I was much much younger.

There was once they were burning offerings and ash got blown into my house, fortunately I was at home then. Imagined my horror when I bypassed my main door heading towards the kitchen and saw ash allover my front lounge. I am not exaggerating... loads of ash...
I tell you it was certainly not an easy task to clean away ash. After mopping up the interior... I took pails of water outside to wash up the coridoor even as they were still burning their offerings.

I quietly wash up my corridor including my bicycle... Cos I know they will take the hint. My neighbour also took their own sweet time and only when they were done then one slightly remarked "oh... the ash got to ya side... Sorry".
I mumbled the ash got into my house too.

Henceforth... this problem has yet to occur again. Keeping my fingers crossed! Think they are more considerate now.

I really pity those who have nightmarish and SUPER inconsiderate neighbours, those who treat the common areas like their storage space. Insufferable and totally selfish!

yokonoriko

There is no rights or wrongs. Perhaps u can stay then stay in condos w pte lifts or landed. Well, is true. And this place is a condo with both corner units, ur compound is not full and u can place near ur door. Why u have to take advantage other pp so called compound. I am not saying u can't place along ur own corridors and within ur own area. Not that ur place is full!!!! Even is a common area for people to walk n not to place or treat like ur own storage space. If want to own a bicycle then put at the proper lot or just in front of ur place. Not till ur neighbour place. Some pp place their bicycle till rusty also never even bother to ride. WHat can i say. Different pp different mentality . Keep their junks along corridor and collect dust. or create fire hazzard and when there is a fire broke out then start to blame each other. Prevention is better then cure isn't it. Maybe some population singaporean will only learn their lessons when fine is impose. Eg. DOn't flush toilet fine. Why fine bcos they buay zi dong and will cause inconvenient and unhygenic for the next user. SO.................

reminds me of a neighbour we had many many years ago when i was still just a small child (in kindergarten). don't know what is wrong with him - he has the corner unit and our flat was just next to him. my mom kept some pots of plants outside our home but it's not situated in or near his 'compound' at all. he would complain that the leaves dried up and fell on the floor, wind then will blow until his doorstep so my mom stopped keeping plants. btw my mom wasn't the only one on the floor keeping plants - he had some too!

one day, she bought me a nice pair of white sandals. we left it on our doorstep. next morning, it was missing .. my mom went to search for it and found it thrown onto the parapet. the last straw was when my mom opened the common rubbish chute and smelt kerosene in it - she was so frightened that he would set the house ablaze (that time my dad was working night shifts which leave my mom and the kids only at home) so we moved out. the person who subsequently moved in didn't have good relations with him either .. don't know what was his problem.

his family members were all nice, except for him. his son even went to our flat to apologise before we shifted out, saying he himself doesn't understand his father's behaviour.

thankfully we've had good neighbours since then - the current neighbour staying next door to my parents sell carrot cake and on some days, he would pack some to give to us for dinner .. when he goes away for vacation, he'd ask my mom to help water his plants.

and so far, since i've moved out of the family home, i've also encountered good neighbours .. i used to stay in a walk-up and one of the upstairs neighbours will walk their dogs in the evening. she and her husband would tell us to go into the apartment first and then they'll come down with the dogs .. there is a family with young children on the ground floor and the kids love to say bye-bye to us when we're leaving to go to work ..

once our drain pipes in the toilet choked, causing water to rise and we were worried it might leak onto the parquet flooring if we left it until morning so we called a plumber at 2am - he checked our place first and then said he needed to check the neighbour's toilet downstairs too .. we were in a dilemma cos it was very late and didn't want to inconvenience anyone but the husband went anyway and the guy was very accommodating to our request - anyways it was fixed and the next day, the husband went to his apartment again to apologise for waking him up.

i think the key is to treat people, whether they're your neighbours, colleagues, etc the same way as you would like to be treated yourself ..

remarry

I had a neighbour, who is a committee member in the RC somemore...

His wife had erected shelfing units along the common corridor and planted so much plants.... even used the area to store unwanted fish tanks etc etc.

Then one day an ambulance was despatched to another neighbour's house and had to pass by this corridor... the stretcher was stuck! Complaints was made to the RC, but no action was taken cos he was the RC member!

cassafina

hhaa.. i jus bought my place.. but havent shift in yet .. my neighbour .. thinking that its an empty unit .. simply chained her bicycle to my gate ! ! !
hahha.. its still there although i visit once in a while.. and am very sure my neighbour saw me visiting ... and she knows that its occupied now.. but the vike is still there..
hahha.

tat's abit extreme... it's like preventing pple from entering the house for viewing n stuff... i would chain a hungry doberman to THEIR gate...

at least i give them an option to tame the dog or feed it first... keke

jinnous

My upstairs neighbour (think PRC cuz ever heard the exchange) always put out their wet underwear and bras out and dripped on my freshly washed laundry lor....

I dunno how many time I have raved and rant but they still bochap. Now whenever I hear bamboo pole sounds I will rush to the kitchen and see whether they are putting the wet undies out and I would immediately keep my laundry. Damn selfish ppl. Haiz.

There was one time the bra dropped and got stuck on my window pane. And I heard this "knocking" sound in my kitchen! I tot wat happened! When I rushed to the kitchen, I saw a bamboo pole poking my window pane! I shouted to that auntie to stop pounding my window pane! My window was full of scratches and marks. I was really pi$$ed lor.

I told her I will bring out and asked her to come down and take herself. The next question she asked almost bowled me over......,"ah, what floor you stay huh?"

Communal living is like that. That night 2 am in the morning I have neighbours staying above washing their window and pouring buckets of water down. I woke up from my sleep from the splashing sound of water on my condensing unit.

Heng I on my aircon and sleep arbo my room all wet but there goes my window. I know which unit been doing that. Would see how far they go before my patience snap.

yuene

Wow, chain a bike to your gate somemore? If it were me, I'd go knock on your neighbour's door and when she opens it, just look very happy and say, "Hi, so sorry to disturb you but I think one of my friends just gave me a bicycle as my housewarming gift! Left it chained to the door. They didn't leave a message to say who it's from, though... would you happen to have seen who left it?" LOL just kidding. Just ask her if it's hers and if she can remove it.