HOW MUCH WILL YOU GIVE TO A WEDDING LUNCH?

hopeful81

Just very curious, how much will you give for a wedding lunch at a restaurant? what is you opinion on lunch?

von

i tink lunch is quite gd...dun occupy too much time of the guests and they dun nit to worry abt leaving late.

i will give min of $50 to the max of $100 dependin on relationship with the couple.

wat abt lunch @ hotel, buffet style, banquet style ?how much will ppl give ?

My hubby just attended a lunch banquet at the Marriot. He gave $80. The groom told him that the lunch package price was actually the same as the dinner...dishes all the same.

hopeful81

thanks for the info..... at least i can roughly gauge how much we have to fork out.

alhana, how did your husband find the lunch banquet? ya, it's very true, lunch and dinner almost the same price and the dishes do not lose out too......

HI tweeties & hopeful

He said the food wasn't very good..it's not the first time I've heard -ve comments abt Marriot's food. My friend went there for a wedding dinner a few months back, and she was even more harsh..said the food sucked. Well, to be frank, not many hotels serve great food for wedding banquets. The only good one I had recently was at Swissotel. The food used to be pretty average when it was still called the Westin. But we went for a wedding dinner there a few months back, and the food was surprisingly good. Almost every dish was tasty.

christmas_bride

i also went to acquire about Marriot's wedding lunch rates and found that it is very much lower than the dinner rates. It's only $528 nett on weekends, but with this price, the decor of the ballroom is minimal and beer and wedding favours are not included. But after adding all these additional stuffs, i've calculated that the price is still ard $580 nett per table.

Hi Cindy, don't know why Marriott's lunch banquet is so much cheaper than other hotels of equivalent class...but I was shocked when I knew about the price. I have been to a lunch banquet at Marriott before and found the food quite nice actually.

von

how much will u give on the angbao for a buffet lunch in venue like ACM (Asian civilisation museum) on a Sat?

Hi new,
It depends on the relationship with them. Good friend will give more around $60 - $80...else perhaps $50.

aiko

just for the sake of polling. If I were to be invited to a wedding lunch, I guess I will give about $50 and if my relationship with the wedding couple is good, I will give $80. Generally, I will perceive that a wedding lunch is cheaper than a wedding dinner...

kurera

Hi if it's wedding lunch it's 50bucks but depends on the location and relationship with the bride or groom

astrogirl

I'll be having solemnization & lunch buffet function at a 4star hotel. May I noe usually wat will guests give as gifts & blessings? Ang Paos, gift vouchers or other presents? Actualli i prefer ang paos & gift vouchers.... more practical can use them to use stuff for my new home...

eveuloveme

hi astrogirl,
hmm seem to bum into u alot on the forum, hope u dont mind me replying so many of ur postings.

i had my ROM solemnization and lunch buffet at Carlton Hotel back in 2003, and most of my guests didn't give me anything!!!!!!!

colleagues tend to give ang pows (ard $50), and my close frens gave me presents. however relatives and other not so close frens didn't give anything. ahhahahah well maybe a card...

hmmm maybe u have "better" guests! but we kind of expected that pple won't be giving angpow.. cos later we inviting them again for the wedding dinner.

eve

havavi

I have been to a wedding lunch at concrad, so its my 1st time. didnt know they serve the same things as dinner. so was embarassed that i give only $60 ang pow. i have checked later that for dinner will cost more than $700+++!

aspialle

my wedding was a wedding lunch, actually the price difference per table for a lunch and dinner is around $100.if give $50 couple will make a loss!!!$60-80 is safer

lilacgal

hi i tik either $68 or $80 for wkend hotel banquet (be it lunch or dinner) shd be reasonable?? depending on relationship w couple la....

anybody here gave as much as $100 b4? if six-stars hotels how much will u all give?

havavi

If its 6 star, at least $120. But a lot of people will still give $80, as they thought they are the minority, so the couple wont have any loss. I guess only those who had held their wedding dinner before, will know roughly how much to give.

burger

just had my wedding lunch at Carlton hotel last weekend. Most hotels will have a lunch package which is usually "cheaper" than wedding dinner.

However because our families are pretty particular about food hence we actually made amendments to the wedding lunch package & upgraded to somewhat a wedding dinner package.

All the guests were pleased that the pace of the lunch was comfortable & there was no need for them to rush back home(the next day was a Monday).

Quite fortunate all our guests still gave the same amount of angbao that they usually would give for dinner!

wintertulip

i am planning for a buffet wedding lunch and has been scouting around. The avg going rate for 4 - 5star buffet lunch start from $75+++ to $95+++/pax. N generally these lunch buffet package do not come with bridal suit, beers , wedding favors & other perks. So sure lose out if ang bao received is only ~ 50 - 60.

vvn

Tulip... wow i didn't know that buffet lunch costs around the same as a sit-down lunch! i just had my wedding lunch at a 5 star hotel not too long ago, it was ard 70 per person. hubby and i actually hoped that most ppl will give at least $50 so we won't lose out that much, but we were surprised that most of our guests give in the range of $70.

rhyannon

How about wedding lunch(buffet) at Serangoon country club? I checked the price and buffet there is $30 per person. How much angbao should we give if it's an ex colleague? (not close at all, have not met for years)

cactus_79

I think I'll give $50. $30 sounds a bit too little to give for wedding AP.. $40 not an auspicious number. I think $50 will let the ex colleague make some profit having considered the wines,etc.

sarahq

How about lunch at a 5 star hotel?
How much will you all give? Also, my MIL says that pple wont come for lunch wedding, how true do u think this is?

rinnie

hiya, usually I give around 60-80..but i tink a lot depends on how close you are to the person..cos if it's close friends, you reali wun bother about the venue and timing..it'll be much more...

Sarahq, I tink luncheons are getting more popular and it's actually quite convenient too..so i guess ppl will attend..not to wori=)

sea_blue

I love going for wedding lunches... which means I still have my weekends nites to R&R!

Think more people are aware now that lunches at 5 stars hotels are not much cheaper than the dinners. My friend had his on a Sat afternoon and the turnout was great! If 5 star hotel...I give min80.... if good frens then no difference whether it is lunch or dinner..

rinnie

Hi Sarahq, I tink Sat will be better..cos you might have problems with those going to church on sun..=)

sea_blue

I agree. I prefer Sat lunches.

Sundays are for church...after church activities or gatherings...family time...etc

cho

hw about sat lunch at Marina M?
juz for polling sake, hw much would u give for wedding lunch in 08?

sit down 8 course chinese lunch.. only inviting colleagues n close friends.. approx 20 tables..

poorthing

i think maybe $80. if close friend, maybe $100
my friend say that time her church friends hold a sun lunch in grand hyatt. she say they hint her each table is 1200. so she must give 120
is that true?
i saw hyatt's weekend dinner abt 1200, how can lunch also 1200per table?

sea_blue

I think average price of catering for church reception is around $12-$15 per pax. As in the normal catering companies lar.. just the buffet line with some decor. I normally give about $30 if not very close.

olengjuz

I had mine wedding luncheon at PJ rest in early June.
Had received $20 x 1, $40 x 1 and abt 3-4 x $50 AP.

Standard price package for PJ regardless of lunch or dinner. Luckily, still earn abit.

yeohyeoh

How about Malay Weddings at the HDB void areas? Went to one a few weeks back, everyone in our group gave 50, but was only served Nasi Briyani...

blue_skies

Whether it's lunch or dinner, restaurant or hotel, I would give $80 minimum coz restaurants are not necessarily cheaper than hotels, and also, lunch is not always cheaper than dinner.

When I attended friend's church wedding (with simple lunch reception), I also gave $80 because I wasn't going to attend her dinner banquet.

I just held my wedding lunch at PJ and the smallest ang pow I got was 1x $50. Ang pows from relatives were actually better than what we expected so we covered the wedding costs.

As for ang pow for jie mei & helpers, it depends on how many you have. I only had one gf to help me from morning to afternoon (6am-3pm, mine was wedding lunch) and she was a close friend, so I gave her a big ang pow $288. We also had a friend who drove the bridal car and he had to go around searching the route & parking lots etc 2 weeks before the wedding, plus the night before (to make sure there was no funerals etc along the way). Quite a lot of work, so we also gave him $288. But I also know of friends who gave $88 or $168.

cheekychick

Blueskies, ur guests so generous! I have had ppl giving $20 for a weekend dinner at Chervons...planning to have my dinner at PJ, so i tink i need to prepare for some losses. Your point abt making sure there is no funeral along the route is quite interesting...thks for the tip!

newbie_quest

hi everybody

I have just checked on Grand Copthorne Waterfront on their Sunday 8 course banquet lunch. The package is very attractive...I am having my banquet on Sunday instead of Saturday which is supposedly my customary. We opted for Sunday because the package is priced at weekday rates...more reasonable...the rate for a Sat nite is $999 nett! Btw, for those couples who are having banquet lunch or still deciding...one thing to take note is to list out the 8 course dishes on your invitation card so that people will know is a 8 course banquet and not buffet...

newbie_quest

my apologies...no need to list out the 8 dishes..just mention that it will be a 8 Course banquet lunch on the invitation cards will do

yun11

Was wondering how much would u bao if its a buffet lunch/ high tea?

Would it make a difference if its at a hotel or a country club? Thanks!

bugbug

Story time…
I just attended an ex classmate’s wedding dinner few months back. Before attending the dinner, her good friend told us the groom mentioned that each table was more than $1K. So no choice, we the ex class mates gave $100 each… also, this couple is the flashy type (overseas wedding photo shoot, huge wedding ceremony at church, branded gowns, antique wedding car…)

The dinner was lousy… nothing spectacular, no exotic food, no shark’s fin, nothing… someone at our table commented that the dinner cannot be more than $500… so later one of our girls called up the hotel to ask how much each table cost, it was $628… we bitched about it over and over again during our last gathering (of course the bride was not there la…)…

Perhaps the $1K was inclusive of their overseas photo shoot, gowns, and wedding car loan ya…@#^&

Felt taken advantage off…