How much shd i bid for COV

Basically, I believe there is no need to be so honest with real estate agents. Don't have to divulge the maximum COV you are willing to pay because that may limit the number of units they will arrange for you to view. Just go for viewing with an open mind as it's not like you don't have a roof over your head now. You may also need to cast your net wider by opening up to the neighbouring estates since there aren't that many 3rm flats in Dakota or Joo Chiat in the first place.

doll, the divulging of COV would weed out the useless brokers who are self-defeated mentally... they are not tryers nor processors of information, but typically monkey-see, monkey-do types... throw out and weed out those, Including your fren-agents.

Know what you mean, Powder. Just that I did have a range of COV depending on the condition of the flat among other factors. If only minimum refurnishing is needed, paying a little bit more isn't going to be a problem.

Sometimes it is really not the doing of the buyer agents but the seller agent that play tricks. For example, encourage or allow bidding war, take "kopi money", etc.

yeah, guess we all have our own mix of doing it... i personnaly think bedok should cast his nets wider to include possible estates... sometimes there are places we miss out by virtue of not even knowing they exist, or discounting them before we see them.

Yes, it will definitely worth the effort to take a look at other housing estates nearby. In the first place, there aren't that many 3rm flats for resale compared to bigger size flats since HDB has stopped building 3rm after 1985.

I have managed to bargain down a 65K COV to 40K mainly because the flat was in the market for longer than usual due to high COV. But I didn't buy that unit eventually because there were other negative factors that made the whole deal suck for me. If asking COV is too high just let reality set in for the seller. Buyers have nothing to lose not to buy an overpriced flat.

bedokboy

thanks thomas and everyone.

i personally prefer the east.

grew up there.

marine parade will be even more expensive.

don't mind haig road if any comes up.

bedokboy

oh ya forgot to tell u guys.

haha, so funny, i'm so obliged to keep everyone updated. Hope everyone is entertained.

The buying agent called me and when i picked up he went, 'what happened?' repeatedly. I asked 'what do you mean?' and he said 'someone contacted the owner and dunno what happened lah'. Then I asked him, 'what do you mean?'. Then he was afraid to elaborate kept saying 'I dunno lah, what happened?'

I said I dunno what is going on but if he thinks I got in touch with the owner how can that be possible I don't even know who she is. Then he kept quiet. So I asked what's up with the deal so far and he still persisted old terms.

I sort of gave him a piece of my mind telling him my concept of how agents should conduct themselves. Their fee should remain agreeable with the parties involved, the assets in question do not belong to them and they have no right to squeeze more commission for themselves. How are they helping buyer and seller?

So I told him my offer is firm and nothing more than the current.

In my heart I also thinking, if these low-lives can't squeeze more out of me, there will surely be some way they will short-change me later since the issue of trust is no longer there and if there is going to be so much hassle getting the place, I'm quite prepared to drop the deal in a heartbeat.

Off to flat-hunting again loh. Haha.

deborahng

bedokboy> can check out marine parade. I just bought my 3rm start of the yr.. I tout it was very ex too but i got a very good deal on COV.

verluv

Hey Bedok,
reading your thread really makes me remember how hard and stress was my house hunting for the past 1 year. Im glad i have found one...

deborahng

bedokboy> its original but full seaview and near parkway
i didnt get a good deal on COV cos of condition but becos the seller's agent made a mistake when advising the seller.

bedokboy

wahhh so u keok teo debs.

thanks verge for your encouragement!

I'm holding firm. If they can get back to me to talk terms I suppose I must stand a chance.

haha no lah bedok, dun think that way...ur situation is somewhat similar to mine also that time during my own househunting...really brings back the memories haha.

imho, i wld suggest u to be wary of ur disgruntled agent like what u said. he's beginning to suspect something based on his phone call to u and he shld be feeling upset right now after failing to squeeze anything more from u. good that u stood firm too.

if i were u, i'd drop this deal and go look for others...i'm sure there are other houses out there which suit u.

verluv

Yah i think so too... Agents are all the same. if i were you, i will look for another one too unless you really really love that house! Go Go, Bedokboy!

bedokboy

ok. so means thomas and verge are of the opinion that since the situation is as such, there is really a high chance that i will kena bite from them in other ways if i proceed with this deal lah.

I also think so but I thot give the human race another chance mah. Haha.

But nobody told me agents are not humans.

bedokboy,

You are the buyer.. you are not in any exclusive deal with the buyer's agent.. so you can always drop him.. he should know..

You can always approach the owner or the owner's agent..

bedok, since ties have soured, I'd rather not leave things to chance. No one knows what he may be up to, as the chinese saying goes, "Ren Xin Nan Che"

when it comes to commission, agents will not hesitate to show u that ugly side of theirs...hahahaa...

I am wondering.. as a buyer.. what is there to be worry about being "bite"?

At the very most, you won't be given priority to the house you are looking.. if for eg, the buying agent is making less money from you..

So, you can look for another house.

Sellers are more liable to be screwed if they sign on exclusive... When I sold my house, I sign on exclusive but I insisted on 1.5% commission instead of 2%... At 2% I can have many agents at my disposal.. so why the need to sign exclusive..

But as a buyer, you don't sign anything.. you are free to go to any agent.. or even to the owner directly if the owner has not sign any exclusive with any agents.

But to be ethical, if your buying agent is good and has helped you to scout for many units - it is only right for you to give him his commission if he finds the right unit for you.. well this is only applicable for HDB. For private, sellers don't pay commission at all which make more sense.

bedokboy

yeah true, nothing to fear, just that they may not give me access to the property.

but then again, maybe if the deal goes ahead, they may choose not to do certain things for me that I am entitled to?

deborahng

bedokboy> its impt to go with a good agent or else you will have a big headache .. for me, i got a terrible agent and in the end, im paying him commission but checking everything on my own and checking on him to make sure he does it.

why are we even on this topic? i still stand by my AL Pte Ltd style... hehe, some O$P$ can do wonders to the selling price...

ok ok just joking... very boliao today.

I wonder, why would anyone tolerate any "bad agents" when you are the buyer?

You need not sign anything.. Just ask the agents to go fly kite..

I won't even tolerate bad agents if I am the seller.

bedokboy, What are you entitled to as a buyer? I am puzzled to think that you are entitled to anything. If the buyer's agent get you to the house you are buying, that is his job and you pay him for that. That is all.

bedokboy

yeah thomas, cut corners is correct. Afraid he will do that.

anyway latest development. Buying agent just called to say that owner will budge at COV 35k.

I still wanna hold firm to 30k which is my first and final offer.

sm: that means what he's supposed to do as an agent, he will try to do lesser or he won't try as hard as he should to fight for bedok as his agent.

bedok, hold your ground!

bedokboy

sm, I also dunno, but the typical paperwork stuff lor.

i'm holding firm on 30k lor.

but after what u guys said, i'm wondering if i'm still over-paying.

YES u are.

the pple in your area saw the cov that Other pple in Better places are getting, and they want it Too... and the agents encourage them on it to get the 'rights'... it's a vicious cycle.

15k would be the level i set... i see no reason to be paying more when u have the ability to set this level. chances of COV exceeding 50k is remote in the area u're looking at, and the age of the estate isn't exactly very young...

If u dun get what u want, dun give others what they want... the deal is off. a good deal is one where both parties are happy... but when dealing with greedy pple, they will only derive satisfaction when they get the better of u... i avoid such buyers.

smileguy

definately u r overpaying it, leave alone the COV , the val of the house is far too high for a 3rm, several reason that contribute to high val maybe its reno / a corner unit/ the location/high floor/neat & nice that it affect the val/nearby amenities/ val around the area is abt the same / nice view / or market going crazy etc ..but definately this kind of val report is equivalent to / just a little slightly higher than or EVEN slightly lower compare to some 4rm in other areas...yes 4rm...

P/s :never let my views affect u..definately u have ur own reason for ur interest in the unit if not by now u will have already given up on tat unit..if u ask me abt the COV yes 30k indeed too much...realistic COV max 20k-25k

bedokboy

wah, went to do some asking around in the morning. Really no joke. Not sure if agents are bluffing but quite a number of units COV 50k-100k Marine Parade, Farrer Park, Cantonment Close all sold within 1-2 weeks of posting.

Not for the area u're looking at rite? I can understand for cantonment close.. Anyway a large number would be selling cos they're trying to cream off pple.. Stand firm bro.

bedokboy

it won't be easy.

i have tried over the weekend.

marine parade asking 50-80k amenities and sea view if high floor enough.
central area asking 40-90k location and reno'd.
pine close which is stone's throw from Mountbatten MRT and offers sea view if high floor is asking 80-100k!!!

really challenging!

"marine parade asking 50-80k amenities and sea view if high floor enough.
central area asking 40-90k location and reno'd.
pine close which is stone's throw from Mountbatten MRT and offers sea view if high floor is asking 80-100k!!! "

These are COV for three rooms?

good question. dun be conned by half-truths hor...

bro bedok, u should consider the Age of the place too... some of these places are over 25yrs old... it makes no sense and we can't assume HDB is gonna enbloc u everytime and give u something new to choose...

what is the big deal of high floor frankly? Kind of stupid to pay so much more than a neighbor at a lower floor.