coudn't afford newspapers...

powder... when i 1st read
"when that game was popular, i was broke and owe 70k to the banks..."

I thought you spent 70k on debt playing this game. LOL

wah... for 70k i could have bought the machines leh... but then i spent abt 10k playing snooker when i could have bought the table...

i dun want to even count how much i spent on bowling. I have bought like more than 20 bowling balls and bowled thousands of games.

I have ordered a stainless steel bathroom cabinet cum mirror. Now a bit concerned that the constant moist state of the bathroom may cause the interior of the cabinet to deteriorate like shit. Any comments?

powder, haha I take that as a compliment from you then

doll, bingo...haha. I like to play those games especially when I was younger last time. Straits Times used to have that in the comics section but they removed it (dunno why?)

as for your cabinet, try using WD40 to polish it every now and then, it will keep it from rusting that fast.

doll, i'd expect a toilet equipment to have the right material for being a toilet equipment.

but to address such issues, i put an extraction fan from KDK... rather than source for an equipment with guarantees that it won't.

Powder, I didn't make provision for the fan as the bathroom is very small estimated 1.3m x 1.3m. The WC is even smaller.

I can give up on the cabinet because they do refunds.

Doll, to reduce the rusting, you can buy some clear lacquer to spray over your cabinet.

Give it 5-6 thin coats leaving enough time for it to dry between each coat.

Doll, u have the size of the 'window' in the toilet? there should be the small size one... just roughly google it. http://www.singaporehandyman.com/Fan/ventfan/window_mount.htm

it is very impt to me becos my experience with the last 2 places is that due to steam - the ceiling sorta absorbs all the mositure n u can see some 'algae' forming... it's not alot, but it's just irritating.. i like my wallls n ceilings white n clean. been using them in all my toilets and it is effective... i find the water in the shower disappearing faster than norm too... but i dun think this is one of the functions. main thing is that it extracts the steam.

bedokboy

i personally find black or dark flooring for toilet better, especially shower area, if you know what i mean.

another thing to take note of is clothes near the bathroom area. Some ppl like the idea of walk-in wardrobe near bathroom but if their clothes are not 'enclosed' in a cabinet, mildew (is that what you call it) will result and white clothes turn yellow especially at the collar

Powder, kinda too late now cos the fans need electricity to be powered. My wirings are all done and the walls coated with the paint. But let me call my contractor now.....

Doll, u can get them to tap from your toilet lights... ie, when u turn on toilet lights, the ventilation comes on. it's only a minor inconvenience when u want the ventilation but not the light - ie during the day.

bedok, better to go grey... with black - u can get white staining.. from white, obviously black/darkish staining... grey mask the 2 stains better.

grey is definitely much better. I have my HDB flat toilets floor tiles black. No matter how I wash, the stains are still there. Not so for my in-laws where i used grey instead.

bedokboy

orh ok. grey then.

are little things like recess into the bathroom wall to keep your toiletries expensive?
or should i just do the obiang and buy a rack?

My flat is black, grey and white, which I find kinda cool. Intending to splash colours on the furniture, paintings and curtains.

recess is definitely much nicer. But not sure if its permitted for HDB.

If you are to read up on books, most would recommend recess for the bathrooms. I did it differently, just a handy box for all the bathing stuffs that I can put away after use.

Both are MRTA.

HPS - covers you against the loss of your property as a result of death or permanent physical/mental disability.

Private insurance - In addition to what HPS covers, also protects your property should you contract terminal illnesses.

HPS is non transferable from property to property, unlike private insurance. Also, if you contract a critical illness your premium will be waived. Most importantly, if you do make a claim (death, permanent physical/mental disability or terminal illness), HPS will only exempt you from paying for your remaining mortgage loan, while private insurance will pay you a lump sum of cash. After paying off the remaining mortgage loan you will have a sum of money for your other expenditure.

HPS premium can be paid through CPF while private insurance is by cash.

The walls are smooth with six coats of paint and has glossy finish while the floor being coated with three layers has a textured feel on bare feet.

deborahng

doll> can i see too?

bedok> when u starting reno?? my hse just started reno so no pics .. but colour scheme mainly white,

bedokboy

deb, a lot of girls seem to like white. I've been to a gf's house and it's ALLLLLLLLLLLL white. Not very homely. In fact I left feeling like I just visited a cosmetics counter or something.

I'm trying to apply to sublet my HDB 4-room. According to HDB instructions online, the application must be approved prior to sublet.

However, in their online application, it requests for the rental amount and tenant details. How on earth am I suppose to provide all these if I'm only allowed to sublet after HDB approval? I actually called a friend who is a property agent. He too advised me to 1st get HDB approval before seeking for tenants. Totally chicken and egg.

I have written in and waiting for their advice.

Anyone here that has successfully gotten HDB approval to sublet? Can you advise me?

i got the approval PRIOR to getting a tenant... although i already had a tenant in waiting. was under mum, and basically she went to the branch office personally... therefore there was no need to input the 'details' since all verbal, but a rough level was given including the likely commencment. Even if u get approval, u still need to have your tenants 'approved' again. and agreement stamped.