How many of you met your partner through SDS, SDU or private dating agencies?

dragonfruit

Just wondering how many of you met your wife or husband through the above dating agencies?

I actually intend to join one of them in the near future once I have fully recover from the effects of a failed marriage and starting to believe in love all over again.

powderful

Haha...my fren used to tell me that he can tell where the pretty gals are at in the room during a function at a glance...

powderful

No need to be sharp lah...just look out for the groups of buayas circling their "prey" and you will know that the "prey" is a babe...haha

dragonfruit...
trust be..guys do.
if you are smartly dress, neat and do a impressive self introduction...hahaha..girls will flock to you too.

crazytots

i know my hubby thru SDU. was quite disappointed at first becoz the guys at some of the functions always flock to pretty girls and i'm not. i was about to give up when i met my hubby. So it;s fated!

so be patient dragonfruit and have faith. you may get disillusioned for a while but continue to have hope and faith.

powderful

Never really got a chance to attend one of these functions, but must be interesting just to observe how some Singapore guys react in such environment...haha

monster6

Hi.Juz want to share my experience.I always believe there's a guy out there for every gal.I broke up with my ex 5 months b4 i 'met' my hubby.I was living in australia.a gf(who's also s'porean) & I decided to join SDU for fun.juz to find out abt the kind of guys in s'pore.We had a good laugh coz they all look so geeky.

one day,i went into the chatroom & met my hubby.so we started chatting abt very general things.he later revealed to me that he was given coporate membership & that was the 1st time he was logging into the chatroom.i had a look at his profile & tot he was pretty decent.tall,dar,ok looking,decent career.we had something in common.we both studied in australia.he came back to s'pore,i was still living there.

We continued to chat for abt 1 month.he then asked me to go out.BUT i was in australia!never did i once tell him i was in australia & not s'pore! haha.kind of deveiced him.but he was cool abt it.he even asked for my no. in australia & rang me.we started chatting every night,ringing each other,sms-ing etc.

2 months later,i decided to fly home for 1 week to meet him.I fell for him even b4 i met him.strange,considering i never tot online dating could work.after meeting him,i took the painful decision to give up everything in australia to come back.i reckon that w/o being physically here,the relationship would never work.

to cut short the story,abt 2 yrs later,he proposed in australia.it was 1 of the best moments of my life.

moral of the story: there's a guy for every gal.i believe it's fate that we 'met'.never be disheartened.someone special will pop out unknowingly & when u least expect it.

dragonfruit

Thanks to all for sharing your encounters and insights.

To Cynthia and crazytots - Special thanks for your words of encouragement too

I guess guys will still be guys afterall... visual creatures who fall for looks. That can also be one of our greatest weakness. But my experience has definitely made me much wiser. Having a pretty wife certainly doesn't serve as a consolation when disagreement arises.

powderful

I beg to differ...everyone have to be superfical to a certain extend...if you dont even like the exterior look of a person, how can you even attempt to start a relationship?

But dont be too "superficial superficial" lah...Exterior looks can only act as a catalyst for a relationship...It's the inner beauty that will substain the relationship...

dragonfruit

Agree, we should avoid being too superfical and let look become the sole deciding factor of wanting to start a relationship with a person, without considering carefully other important attributes such as personality compatibility, shared interest, outlook of life etc...just to clarify.

my cousin met her HB in SDU when she is in her early 30s. they marry 6 mths later and now had 3 kids.
On personal basis, i have few friends that also met their partners in SDU also
so it is possible that you truly meet someone nice out there
in addition , my good friend met her hubby online and he live in the USA. they marry after LDR for 4 years.
eventhough so far apart, they still meet regularly like every 2-4 mths n tok everyday
it do work sometimes depending on how much effort you made

fate la, if it is yours, after one big circle he will still come back to u
all the best

i dun deny that looks to me is important even for girls.
its will be too fake to say, looks dun matter to me.

but, i think, when you get to know a group of girls, of couse human nature will make you approach the "prettiest" girl among the rest. but that shold not stop you from talking to the rest.

talk to the rest with an open mind even she may not be someone you like, but who knows you may find out more about her and realised that she is more suitable for you that the "prettiest" girl?

snowysun

Yes,denial I agree with u.My hubby & I dated for 6yrs+, separated...I had another bf...broke off after 2 yrs+, & we were back again. Really 1 big circle...

Wats meant to be would be....

saggiegirl

I met my hubby on SDU's online chat program, ichat sometime early 2007. At first we are just chatting on general topics like work, hobbies etc...then he started to PM me and asked for my hp number...we exchange numbers and smsing each other everyday without fail..

then after 3 weeks, he asked me out for a date (movies and dinner), i said yes. He was a decent man with stable career and similar family background as mine..then he asked me to be his gf on our first date. I said yes

fast forward to Nov 07, he proposed to me at Changi Airport and we went ahead to buy our own flat in Jan 08. We ROMed in June 08 and now preparing for wedding stuffs. We will be having our wedding and dinner banquet on 6 Dec 09 which is also my birthday...

My friend attended one. Bad experience from him as he put it across. Once sit down questions like Age/Position/Pay/Property all came at him and he was like... Geez.

Then some guys were there like trying to hype up and upsell themselves and blah blah blah till they are not far from Steven Lim. Probably the wrong crowd ba.

HBH,
My friend joined speed dating. One woman was handing out questionaires to all the male participants! 1 question asked about salary. Hmm I think I shared this story with chatters before haha.

Ask your guy friend to ask her questions back, like age/cup size/waist measurement/virgin status! :p

salsa_babe

a frd once dragged me to accompany her to a speed dating.
One of the guys asked me how many kids I want after I get married.

Scary lor! 7mins with the guy seems like 7hrs

crazy_guy

if din rem wrongly, there's a list of questions to assit u during speed date one..n also u r discourage to ask sensitive qns like age, position, pay etc

But then he kenna all the questions. Anyway he was there just to support his friend as his friend was organizing the thing and they do not have enough males. Then my friend went to support lor.

"Scary lor! 7mins with the guy seems like 7hrs"

Haha, I felt like this once, though not in a speed dating or SDU setting.

never_the_same

I have never attended any SDU functions. but thinking of going for one just to meet more people. Whats the ratio of guys vs girls? It is very intimidating and overwhelming? If the guys flock to the prettier girls then won't the rest of the girls there feel neglected?

i been to speed dating through SDS before, its quite bored to repeat yourself so many times. common questions like job, hobbies...

i find that reality of life at the end of the day still surface.
if you are very pretty - no chance
if you are very handsome - no chance
because ppl assume u r not lacking of suitors and does not dare to shortlist you for the fear of rejections.

if you are ugly / fat / old - no chance.
no need explain further

just be average! if you are in the median of everything, chances may be there.

crazy_guy

most events got more ladies than guys.everynow ans then i receive emails on various events..usually is ladies vacancies closed, guys still either for a few or quite a few left..

Janice Teo

I noe my hubby thru SDU I've got no time to noe any guys, im a nurse! My mum got worried, so She help me register . Computer generated applicant, 3 choices... I chose my hubby He is my 1st & last boyfriend!

rip_curl

Will they match make based on if you are a divorcee with kids etc? You know the sigma with people who are divorced with kids

Eggwhite

Is not necessary to match mate D w D lar
You may be the last to match but may come out the only winner. Is ok.. lets nature takes it course.

kathyooi

Just wondering how many of you met your wife or husband through the above dating agencies?

I actually intend to join one of them in the near future once I have fully recover from the effects of a failed marriage and starting to believe in love all over again.
You can join volunteer work too

rip_curl

How many legit match making agencies are there? Is there even legit match making app validated by the government agencies?

Eggwhite

Just go out and enjoy dating...
Dont think so much. If not right..changed..

To commit is another level.

去好好谈个浪漫的恋爱吧。
祝您成功。

rip_curl

And from reading this thread, I am quite surprised that there are more female attending such match making sessions than males.

newproject

Met 5 or 6 after chatting online. 2 were certifiable mentally ill (can't even keep craziness in after 1 or 2 dates).

2 were ok I guess but think no spark.

The last I married. She's perfect and we have been blissfully married for many years.

I remember feeling damn tired after the last woman I met before my wife was so crazy.

But I'm glad I never gave up. Otherwise I would have never found Bliss

rip_curl

Met 5 or 6 after chatting online. 2 were certifiable mentally ill (can't even keep craziness in after 1 or 2 dates).

2 were ok I guess but think no spark.

The last I married. She's perfect and we have been blissfully married for many years.

I remember feeling damn tired after the last woman I met before my wife was so crazy.

But I'm glad I never gave up. Otherwise I would have never found Bliss
God has been good to you then. Care to give more details as to what you meant by mentally ill?

newproject

God has been good to you then. Care to give more details as to what you meant by mentally ill?
here is just one.

suffice to say made up stories , delusions of grandeur and paranoia (everyone against her, eg a professor went out of the way to harass her even after she switched courses) as it was first date I gave her benefit of doubt. but before 2nd date while talking she accused me of being married and still fooling around etc.

It made me curious enough to check her story (she claimed quite big public things I could easily check) and all false of course. I should have known of course, some of those stories made no sense if you think about it but normally you dont assume people totally make up stories.

the other was even worse...

rip_curl

here is just one.

suffice to say made up stories , delusions of grandeur and paranoia (everyone against her, eg a professor went out of the way to harass her even after she switched courses) as it was first date I gave her benefit of doubt. but before 2nd date while talking she accused me of being married and still fooling around etc.

It made me curious enough to check her story (she claimed quite big public things I could easily check) and all false of course. I should have known of course, some of those stories made no sense if you think about it but normally you dont assume people totally make up stories.

the other was even worse...
That's scary!!! Screening not done throughly

newproject

there is almost zero screening except to check in rom you not currently married . maybe the expensive lunch actually type might do more screening.

anyway hat lady even complained to SDN say I told her I engaged/ married lol. I scolded the guy who called me and say I want complain her!!!
That's scary!!! Screening not done throughly

rip_curl

there is almost zero screening except to check in rom you not currently married . maybe the expensive lunch actually type might do more screening.

anyway hat lady even complained to SDN say I told her I engaged/ married lol. I scolded the guy who called me and say I want complain her!!!
Make me think twice now