Hotel Jen Tanglin, Singapore by Shangri-La

kris

Hi Sam,
I've not scanned my actual day pix so I'm afraid can't share them. :p sorry...
Anyway, the sign-in area is narrow but the guests would be ushered into the ballroom immediately to the area where the pix are placed, i.e., the left side of the ballroom the moment you enter through the door. The pub had in no way got into our way. In fact, we were warmly congratulated by the pub clients when we were outside the ballroom. It was actually quite fun!
ANd if there were to be another wedding at the Temasek function room, it wouldn't bother you at all cos they are hidden from the ballroom. There's no problems with the lifts overvcrowding either cos the ballroom and the Temasek rooms are situated on the second level. Most of the guests would just use the stairs.

sam

Tks Kris,

now to my final discussion once again with FH and hope we can settle on a satisfied choice soon...wanna get the venue thing settled so that I can move on to source for bridal boutiques...

Will keep you gals informed!

jojo

Hi sam...you are most welcome.
I am glad I was able to be of help in some way.

Have a great weekend.

sweetcorn

hi hi, anyone uses the traders' function rooms before? Thinking of using it for solemnisation purpose...

I heard somewhere that the view in Traders is not bad but didn't have the chance to see it or verify though...

chloe

Can anyone advise how much was the deposit required to secure the place ??
Is there such thing as a tentative booking??

jojo

Hi Chloe...If I didn't forget...we had to pay a 10% downpayment based on the minimum no. of tables we had taken. You can book the tentative date if you have so decided...we booked once we got the auspicious date from my in laws.

Sweetcorn...I used the Gallery Ballroom for my actual day...it was last Dec...paid $638 nett per table for weekday table. No hidden charges cos we didn't have additional stuff...only thing we changed was the size of the free barrel of beer given and topped up the diff...Since we choose the barrel as our entitlement, we had to pay half price for food tasting for 10 pax...seat covers were thrown in free that time and we could bring in non-duty free hard liquour...however, if we bring in wine or our own beer, there will be a corkage charge....Is there anything that I left out? Dats basically about all...cards were given for free and I had to source for a printer myself altho they did recommend a printer for our cards.
Hope I have been of help...if you wanna take a look at how the ballroom looks, you may visit my wedding website at www.piglet.per.sg ....it has some photos of how the ballroom looks like.

Meanwhile, enjoy your wedding preps.

jojo

Hi Chloe...no probs...was glad to be of help. Hope you enjoy your preps for your forthcoming wedding...dun get too stressed out, okie?

Cheerz

pookee

I've oso booked my dinner with Traders next year. Has anyone of u used their banquet captain or staff as your emcee for the dinner? Me having a headache on who to use cos most people usually have their best frens as emcee but my best fren very shy. I oso dun really trust her too since she got no experience in this! My colleague told me that most hotels can offer their staff as emcee. Does anyone of u noe if Traders can do that as well? and how much do they charge?

cutiechar

Hey pookee and all!

I jus went down to Traders to sign up with them yesterday.my coordinator was Rosalind. I am oso having a headache with the emcee coz Traders don provide but most likely I will get my sis to do it. According to rosalind, she can engage someone from the event company for us if I want to..but I think its ganna cost a bomb!..

Hey, anyone wanna share their package?
I don know if mine is good or not but I got complimentary one nite stay at bridal suite plus one nite stay at superior room, my barrel of beer was charged at 50% discount for every barrel that I purchased and there will be free flow of beer for the first one hour in the cocktail reception..

Would really love to share!...

cola

Hey cutiechar

i've got a better deal.....signed one day after you.....you need to bargain......i think what you've got is the standard package.......

pf

Hi Brides,
Does anyone have the email contact for Rosalind, the coordinator?
I have already tentatively booked a date for my wedding in Sep 03 but she has yet to contact me to sign the contract after almost 4 mths..getting a little apprehensive ...any advice?

cutiechar

wow finally someone book the same banquet as mi..kekeke..i tot traders low profile..

Hey PF,
you have to call her.I don think she will call, she has too mani couples to attend. IF you want the dates, pls hurry!! dates are running out fast!

Hey white and cola
Realli ar? my package is standard mah?die liaozz..
hey gals! can tell me wat u all bargain ar?
I tot the package was good enough oredi..
Can u gals enlighten me?? pls........

organic

Hi cutiechar,

I dont understand what you mean by standard package. You mentioned that you have a nite at the bridal suite, how about the nite stay at the superior room? Is it complimentary because you chose a more expensive menu? Is your wedding on a weekday or weekend?

sweetcorn

Hi, anyone know if Traders will be organising any bridal shows this year?

BTW, howz traders? Is it popular? Like not hearing many people choosing Traders mah...

whitefloral

i asked for more parking but was turned down. Shld try call to make tentative bookings if u r keen. Lots of dates taken for this yr.

patricia

Hi there, I am also abt to sign up with traders.. For the expert negotiators out there, wld like u to advise on what other things we can request for. Want to make full use of the price that we are paying.

orgainic

hi whitefloral,

wat r the dates taken for the year end? any idea?

ac

Both FH and me are looking into 10 to 15 tables at TH. Do you think TH can cater to it? Wjich room will it be? How the hotel room?

Blessed, AC

tpy

Hi all-future bride to be,

I’m just wanted to share my experience with u in regard of Trader Hotel buffet Lunch if u plan to hold there. The food is SUCK! The co-ordinate(he, trader event manager)that suppose to take care of us providing bad service. Reasons because those important things that I ask did not provide such as Dry Ice effect, dummy wedding cake did not provide. They only provide the champagne with wine foundation and a normal dummy cake without a wedding couple on the top of the cake(that is how we difference between a wedding cake, he knew it 2). We are dam busy that day we can’t take care all alone. However, he(the event manager)only show face be4 and after the event a while and disappear. Supposing it is his responsibility to take care for this event until the marching start. (That is what he told me he will do that). But actual fact the event manager just pass his job to someone else who did not know all our requirement(that is what he told me he will do that 2). We are so realy on him. When we march in then we realize there is no dry ice effect( my personal helper also only knew 5 minutes ago before we march in). No notification in advance. The event manager is SHIT. I wonder it is because my table is too small (only 5 tables $55 per persons, then don’t accept)or my case is close. I choose Trader because they are under Shanga-ri La group. Certainly they should have some standard there. Whatever that we agree should provided to us. We are base on manual trust. But it all didn’t happen that way. Furthermore, when we are back to Trader the next day to collect back my photo album, the event manage don’t bother to turn up. We also don’t want to see him 2. No post-sales service. It is terrible.

That is what my personal feeling able them. I have lost confidence on them. Maybe I am unlucky. The reasons for me to public out just to let Trader know please treat all their brides the same. In the future, I hope all happy newly weds will have a sweet and good memory during their BIG wedding day.

girl

Hi tpy,
I think there must be some misunderstanding somewhere because i just held my wedding in traders on dec 2002 and i think who is the event manager that you are referring to. I think we both got the same person. I also have small number of tables but he still provide the good service to us. I used to work in hotel last time and i do know the requirement that a sales person or a service staff should provide. I think i need to compliment on the event's manager that i refer. (He) Although he's not with me and my husband when we are about to march in but he did informed us that he got another couple to meet up so i think we are ok with that. But anyway, i want to thank this guy for making my wedding a success. And not forgetting the banquet staff too. Thanks!!!
Just an information to all future bride that Traders is a good choice for those who want a small amount of tables. Best wishes!!!!

bubble

Hi Girl,

You are indeed one lucky bride! I also think I know which events manager tpy is talking about as I am also a Traders Bride, and like tpy, I have been utterly disappointed in the 'He' events manager's sub-standard. Really wonder why there is such a double standard... Honestly, I don't think it is misunderstanding cos how can there be so many misunderstandings? For brides who want a small amount of tables, I believe there are many trustworthy hotels out there which are good too. Just my 2 cents worth......

snow

What is happening? I just came back from my holiday. My big day was also at Traders and surprisingly i know who is the HE that's you all were talking about. I think i'm also a lucky bride like Girl. I was about to compliment him(event manager)and Traders Hotel staff here when i saw all these messages.

I would like to share my experience to all. I only had less than 28 tables but this manager went all the way to help me and my husband which we think we need to compliment him on this. He really did made our big day a success. We decided to choose Traders because its under shangri-la and they really live up to their name. Good job. Before our wedding, we went down to meet him(event manager) several times and every time, he will always welcome us with a big, sincere smile and right attitude. Actually we were choosing between Traders and Rendevous but in the end my husband was very please with him(event manager) and we decided to hold our wedding there.
The food was actually better than we expected and my guest were very happy about that.
My husband and I would like to compliment this guy event manager for his help for our big day and all the staff and the cook.
I don't know what's people choice, but Traders will definitely be our choice if we were to have function hold in hotel. Good Job.

cutiechar

Hi Organic,

my package includes one nite stay at bridal suite and one nite stay for my helpers at another superior room lo..but I think I keep the room for myself and can stay at traders for another nite..hehe..
but one good thing abt my package is that I got 50% discount for my barrel of beer and event manager throw in a lot of stuff..(i think)

my package is on the weekend and I got 22 tables only and be using the grand ballroom..I would say its quite flexible..

How abt u gals?

tpy

Hi Girl,

This is just my experience. All those statement I stated in here was happen and indeed was already happened. No more no less. How can it be misunderstanding? Moreover there are several event managers in Trader. Wherethe it is the same person or not is no more important now. Just that I am the unlucky one. Actual Fact I love to go Trader since 10 years ago. I had a few Birthday Dinner over there wherethe is my friend Birthday or mine. But now I am sure I would not go there in the near future.

Thanks Bubble. Anyway I had a good memory in my Big Day. My guests made my Day wonderful. But I am shame about not providing good food to them.

tpy.

geek

Hi tpy

Just my experience to share.

Can understand your unhappiness when it comes to hiccups during the wedding banquet. After so much planning and coordinating.

It happened to my wedding banquet as well but not at Traders Hotel. Like u, I was very furious and complained to them on the very next day after my wedding. Well they did the normal compensation and thats about it.

I supposed there is nothing that can be done after u have complained to them and they have done something to settle this whole issue.

You cant reverse back whats being done or whats not being done. Yes, u can be angry and frustrated but come to think of it, there's nothing u can do. U cant possibly have another banquet and "rewind" the whole event in the way u planned.

We may choose a hotel due to recommendations. However unhappy things that didnt happen to the other couples may happen to us. Not all things.people are perfect. As long as things didnt turn out to be super disasterous its alright to me.

My guest didnt even noticed things were wrong or missing with my wedding decors. Like u, (probably worst than yours) my original decor wasnt even put up at all!! and nothing was being mentioned to us until i found out and ask the captain. The wedding coordinator wasnt even seen!!!

We tried to gather feedback after the whole event and feedback were very positive. So i guess it sort of make me felt better though my idea of a "dream wedding" was not fulfilled.

I would say my own wedding banquet, though didnt turn out the way i wanted, wasnt that bad compared to those that happened to some other couples. Think of the positive side and i believe you would feel more better.

Like Snow and Girl.
Good things are meant to be compliment about so i think Snow, you should still send them a letter to thank them of their good help.

In my complaint letter to my hotel, I did compliment the ones that really made my wedding a smooth ones. I supposed, since i cant reverse anything that has happened, might as well share my good experience with them too.

Snow, i think u shouldnt hold back any good compliments that u have for the hotel cos they also worked hard for our events. Am I right?

hope my email made u feel better

bewildered!

CAN SOMEBODY please TELL ME WHO THE "HE " IS??????????
I AM a TRADers BriDE TOo!!!!!!!! And I gOT A "He"!!!

geek

bewildered, i think it's fairer to let the "He" remain anoymous cos there are good comments as well as bad comments here.

Like i posted above, i didnt reveal the name of my coordinator in Orchard Hotel despite all the unhappy things that happened to my wedding. Cos i'm aware of the consequences that may happen to that hotel's reputation as there were many orchard hotel brides during that period too.

Cos i believe "people tends to believe more in negative things rather than positive ones", "Bad news spread faster than good ones".

One can do as many good deeds but as long as he/she did something wrong (be it big or small), people will remember it forever.

Have trust in your own coordinator, if he's doing well so far. Dont let negative thoughts linger in your mind.

tpy

I am sorry to make all future-Bride-To-Be scared. I posted this mail just to let you aware of what is going on. Where the in Trader or other Hotel, there will be a chance that it might be happen. Just take note.

Hi Greek,
Thank you for your console. I am perfectly all right. I only had a small group during my banquet. Mainly were my immediate family members and my "good" friends. That is how I knew the food is lousy. Anyway is over. I do have good memory on my Big day all from my guests. I am glad I had them with me.

Thank you so much for all your sharing.

Kim

organic

Hi Cutiechar

I am really surprise to hear that you actually had an extra nite stay. What is the menu that you took? Is it the higher end ones? I thought they were quite strict on the beer and it's good that you got a 50% bargain. Is your coordinator Rosalind? Hope to hear from you soon? BTW, when is your big day?

whitefloral

organic

havent replied coz i havent been logging in for a while. Duno abt the exact dates taken up but when I was asking for dates in Aug-Oct, lots were unavailable. BTW I didn't get an extra nite stay like Cutiechar.

geek

Hi tpy aka KIM

really glad that you are not taking it too hard on yourself.

Close friends and relatives are usually good and comforting support when it comes to unhappy moments in our life.

To let go and not to hold on to it would be the best way one goes on with his or her life.
wah, hope i dont sound too "philosophical" hor. heehee

Well thats what forum is for. A place to share and get advises. But sometimes people tend to take the words "literally out of context" and hence something simple maybe blown up to a big problem.

cutiechar

hey all

I got a bridal suite for one nite stay and ANOTHER COMPLIMENTARY ROOM for my helpers..(I think u gals haf this oso)..tat means I got two room on my wedding nite..so if I dun wan to give the room to my helpers, I can negotiate to stay one more nite..das what I meant.
I got the package Bliss wedding package at $698 nett per table of 10 persons, mine is on sat 27/12/03..
As per my agreement,I will be getting 50% discount for every paid barrel of beer..

so organic, wat urs ? care to share?
how abt the rest of traders bride?

Greetings!

Just to check if there are any feedbacks or comments given for Traders Hotel Singapore? Thot of having my wedding there....

Any advices?
Thanxs!

christmas

Hi Skylar,

I'm having my wedding there this December. Hope it turns out good.

Which room are you intending to take?

Hi X'mas,

Sounds like u r having ur wedding tis X'mas maybe? just asking....

well, not sure yet, coz I haven't been there to view, most prob, this weekend, so wat abt u? which ballroom u took? Heard dat 1 is small & the other one is bigger but with 2 pillars (which is alrite) so not sure yet...
Btw, how much did u pay for? weekend or weekday?
I would like to work things out here
Thanxs

christmas

Hi Skylar,

Yes I'm having it on xmas day which is my bday. I'm taking the small ballroom because I like the fact that it's long and narrow (2 rows of tables) so there's a nice aisle to walk down :D

The bigger ballroom is ok too the pillars are nicely decorated. We don't have that many guests.

They're charging me weekend rate for public holiday. When is your big day?

On the pamphlet I think it's $698, $768 and $848 (nett prices) for weekend.

Hi X'mas,

My big day should be in Oct next yr. So when did u start booking for your big day this year? Man, on X'mas day, it must be really nice!

So u hv been to see the big ballroom too? Really? are the pillars nicely done up? Then, its not so bad, so the 3 prices that you gave me? wat are those? is it of diff. menu sets or wat?

canonbell

Had my wedding dinner there in Dec 2000. Quite a nice cosy place. Food is quite nice too. Does have the Shangri-La touch. Suite was a bit small but the package included 2 nights stay, so no complains.
Was one of the cheapest places back then.

christmas

Hi Skylar,

The prices are weekend ones for different menu. Weekday prices are slightly less and they throw in 20L of beer.

---------------------

Hi CanonBell,

I think it's still good pricing now.

Was deciding between 4 seasons & Traders. Actually 4 seasons have more of what I want (fresh flowers & cake) but the small room is just too claustrophobic. Also got to bear in mind old folks prefer better fish and abalone, etc so going for Traders for better price.

Did you try to swap anything out of your package? I wanted to get beer, flowers, cakes, etc, but all they allowed was give me extra room. I literally said I don't need anything from the package except the dinner but they still won't budge. Guess the rest of the things gotta pay myself.

soupie

hi skylar, i'm also having my customary in 2004

i've checked with traders. their pricing for 2004 is not out yet, will only be out in june this yr. but their 2003 weekday package is 638 and 668 nett for 8 and 9 course respectively.

haven't been to view the place tho... since the prices won't be out so early guess can take my own sweet time to go view the place

would just like to check for those who had their banquet at traders, are there any additional cost incurred by u besides the banquet cost of per table? thanks in advance!

soupie

hi christmas, i thot the deco and cake is included in the package? how come u need to pay extra? or u wanted extra flowers?

christmas

Hi soupie,

Becos I wanted flowers on all chairs and all tables, and a real cake to eat.

All these very impt to me :p

Hi Soupie,

Well, me too, will be having it somewhere end next year, wat abt u? I will be most prob looking at the weekend pkg lor, so have u called on them yet & make arrangements or wat?