Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

a_k

Hi tobebride,

I stay at majestic hotel yrs back when i went to hk, overall not bad. i didnt try the restaurant in the hotel cos me & my friends also went to explore ard, so we tends to eat as we go ard. it is quite near to temple street in fact. but i feel nothing much at temple street to see at tat time. more to eating store. if u want to go to women street, u need to take the mtr. i think abt 1 or 2 stop away if i rem correctly. so still acceptable. there is not really any big shopping center near the hotel, mainly those street shops. only a big Yuhua Guo Huo. there is a famous gui ling gao shop there. quite nice. tat's all i rem. but it is quite some time back liao. not sure if there is much changes. hope it helps

hoshi5

we are planning to go to HK 2nd week of dec.. can check with u all wat are the good places to go, and wat can we do there?
also, are we able to buy clothes suitable for singapore wear since dec is HK's winter season?

thanks in advanced 4 all ur suggestions!

fatcat

hoshi: Don't think you can buy clothes back to Sing coz they are all selling winter clothes now. And i heard from my family in HK said weather forcast for next week maybe below 17C. You can enjoy a cold christmas there.

chris~m

no prob, sweetypie

tobebride,

if u wanna stay at Majestic, make sure u get as high floor as possible... coz there's a disco rite below the hotel, if u stay too low, u can still hear the beating sound....

fatcat

hoshi: you can have lots of good food, like the food specially for winter, like steamboat, snake soup, stinky dofu....of coz we also have steamboat here in Singapore but it taste much different when you eat it in cold weather.Don't miss tang sui (dessert) too

Besides clothing, there is still lots of shopping you can do, like cosmetic, home accessory etc and if your hubby like gadgets, computer stuff, handphones, HK always got latest models.

fatcat

Tobebride: Eaton near Jordan MTR is ok, BP international house is nearby too. And Ramada hotel in TST also good location and convenience shopping.

delvoltec

Hi fatcat,

I am travelling to hongkong at the end of the month n need yr advice on the following:
- is stanley market going to be operating during winter time?
- what are the great shopping places to visit?
- any idea how do i get to esprit warehouse?

fatcat

Serene: You can check back this thread I think most of the hotel info factory outlet/place of interest or shopping info is here. Anyway here is the add:

Esprit Outlet 1.
Location : Shop B01-03, Basement One, Sheraton, TST, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Esprit Outlet 2--Biggest one
Shop 327-331, 338&339, Level 3, Sun Yuen Long Centre, Yuen Long,
New Territories, Hong Kong

And stanley market is always open just they may not sell clothing for summer this time.But it still a good place to go coz they have lots of nice restaurant, cafe there, and you feel very different from other part of HK.

garfield77

I will be going to HK tis coming Wednesday, travel agency throw in optional 1 day trip to Shenzhen.
Need advice from u all:
1) HK got sell "ren sheng wu long cha" (ginseng oolong tea leaf) that sell in Shenzhen? My colleague told me he bought it in Shenzhen. I wan to buy some pkgs, but don wan to waste 1 day go to Shenzhen just to buy the tea leaf. Any idea where can i get it in HK?
2) Maxim's chinese restaurant at Hennessy centre, how to go there from causeway bay MTR station?
3) Sha tin new town plaza, beside snoopy's world, anything to shop there?
4) Sha tin lung wah hotel restaurant, how to go there from sha tin KCR station? Issit expensive?

bump2

hi fatcat,

need to ask u, are there any shops that sells transformers toys, or even gundam toys ?

from the address of esprit stores, think i ccan only to TST, as territories seem too far away leh...

chlow

Hi everybody

Need expert(s)'s advice...
My hubby and I planning to go to Hong Kong next weekend 3days 2nights.

We will reach hong kong about 11+ morning and we intend to go to "wang da xian" temple and then go to "lanyadao".

Then second day, we intend to go to go "Da yu shan" from morning till 2pm then head to ocean park for rest of the day. Do you think this is possible? I heard that one has to spend at least 3/4 days at "Da Yu Shan".

Third day is own shopping till time to go back to SIN.

Can the first and second day itinerary be done?
I'm not sure if we are too ambitious. Can someone advise pls? Have not been to Hong Kong before...

Also can anyone advise me the normal time to check out from hotel? We thought of asking hotel to extend the checkout time during the last day.

oraia

hi fatcat,

i'm gg to be spending x'mas in HK. was reading the past threads, it's very very helpful. want to ask you re. the joyce warehouse that you posted in an earlier thread. do u still have the directions in mandarin?

if so can u email it to me? [email protected]

Btw, has anyone heard of this place called "space" something - it's a shop or something, selling past season branded goods at v good prices. i've been there once many years ago and i followed a friend. so thinking of gg back again, but i don't know where it is!!

thanks in advance!

fatcat

bump2: You should be able to get these model toys in waterloo road, Peace Avenue (somewhere near the KCR in Mongkok). Quite a no of shop there.

Hui: I think your schedule for 2nd day are a bit tooo tight, I will suggest you leave out ocean Park, and wait 2 yrs later for the Disneyland. I think more interesting.

Oraia: In fact the Space warehouse is at the same bldg as Joyce one. You better call and ask for their opening hours coz i haven't been there for long time, hope it still there.You can take a cab from central or Admiralty if you don't want to take a bus, i think it's not too expensive.

1. Joyce Warehouse
Location : 2/F, South Horizons Plaze (East Wing), South Horizons, Hong Kong
Telephone : 2814 8313
Transportation : Take the bus ( 90B ) at the Admiralty MTR station OR
Take the bus ( 590 ) at Central MTR station

2. Space Warehouse
Location : 2/F, South Horizons Plaze (East Wing), South Horizons, Hong Kong
Telephone : 2814 9576
Transportation : same as Joyce warehouse

Have fun in HK!!

oraia

hi bump2,

the last time i went which was a couple of yrs ago, joyce warehouse had clothes i think. can't rem the brands exactly.

space has more bags and wallets etc.

hth!

chlow

Hi fatcat

Thanks. Will try to redo my itinerary again.

Think I will give up Ocean Park since alot of pple said that there's really nothing to see there except the panda plus the dolphins..

Any recommendation for shopping for bags and office clothes?

Thanks v much.

delvoltec

Hi Fatcat,

Can u please advise me which MTR station should I alight for the espirit outlet and the stanley market? Or any bus services to get there?

Esprit Outlet 1.
Location : Shop B01-03, Basement One, Sheraton, TST, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Esprit Outlet 2--Biggest one
Shop 327-331, 338&339, Level 3, Sun Yuen Long Centre, Yuen Long,
New Territories, Hong Kong

And stanley market is always open just they may not sell clothing for summer this time.But it still a good place to go coz they have lots of nice restaurant, cafe there, and you feel very different from other part of HK.

fatcat

Hui: I think you can get bags and office wear anywhere in HK, if you like branded clothing and bags can go to Joyce or space wearhouse mention above.

Serene: Esprit warehouse is TST MTR, Stanlet market not accessible by MTR must take bus no. 6, 6A, 6X, 66 or 260 from Central (Exchange Square) Bus Terminal.

You gals can check more general info at
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/index.jsp

Have fun in HK!!

hoshi5

Hi fatcat,
i will be going on 2nd wk dec.... it's my first time there with my hubby...
will be staying at majestic hotel, is it good?
also, how much shld we bring?... we'll be there 4 days F&E...
also, our trip includes a day trip to shenzhen. do we need to change $$ for renminbi?

fatcat

hoshi: Majestic hotel is ok i think 3 star but location is quite convenient. You don't need lots of cash coz you can pay by credit cards everywhere, and there is DBS and OCBC in HK you can use your ATM card there too, but of coz got some charges. You can use HK$ in Shenzhen so don't bother to chage for half day trip.
Havd fun and have your cool christmas in HK. I'm kinda jealous, i wish i can be there too, i misss the cold christmas and new year.

mexx

has anyone stayed at langham hotel(Peking Road one, not langham place in mongkok) before? how's the hotel in general? Is it a long walk to the tsim sha tsui mtr station? Is the area the hotel is in alright?

sweetbeng

I'm now in HK staying in Hyatt, TST. The shopping atmosphere is interesting. Still very 're nao' at midnight! It seems the city never sleeps...

babystar

Did anyone book the air tixs via zuji website?
Coz the rates r cheaper than via travel agency.

Also, does anyone has any online hotel website to recommend for bookin hotel rooms in Jan'05?
I only know of hotel.com. Did anyone book from there? Is it reliable and secure?

Lastly, any recommendation for hotels?
I'm considering Prudential hotel.

Thks alot!!!

angel11

Hi Baby Star,

I booked throug Hotel.com.hk , is by hongkong travel agent, the price they quote me is quite reasonable

judetan

which type of jackets you all bring to HK? heard that it's very cold, very windy, any recommendations where to buy?

hoshi5

my hubby only wanted 2 bring 2 long-sleeve shirt... heard it's abt 17-20+ degrees....
shld not be tat cold lah....

can buy from cold wear lor...

babystar

juz an update! Had juz booked my hotel fm www.asiarooms.com N now waitin for their confirmation.

1 nite stay at Prudential is S$120 (inclusive of service charge & tax)

Anyway, what r some of the nice places to visit in Hong Kong?

Also, did anybody explore Lantau Island, Macau and ShenZhen by yourself?

I'm also curious what clothes to bring to HK~~~~~

baibies

i tink march temperature shd be ard 18+- degrees. when are you going? i will be going 1st wk of march.... hee...

baibies

not at all.. it will feel more like a mist. the oni thing I dun like is that the sky keeps looking like its going to rain ... gives me a gloomy feeling.

dawn45

anyone knows how the temperature is like in early april? Got any sale then? Which hotel is gd? It has been some time since i went there.

ruffy_happy

April will be like normal in SG..just a bit cooler.. I don't think that there are any major sales around..unless u are looking at post season stock.

ppgroom

i dun think April is same temp as SG... more like around 20 degrees... which is very cooling

as for hotel, depends if you like convenience of being near to their MTR? if so, then Prudential is not bad (i stayed there b4), directly on top of Jordan Station.

racherlle

hi there!

so tat means in may the weather will be pretty warm???
hmmmm any sales ard that time???
i'm planning to go either bkk or hk