chris~m

hi postpet

no prob! go ahead...

u like these..... ?
106558.gif
106559.gif
106560.gif

i hv nearly 100 of them for u to adopt... but if post here will take up lots of space... if u like to hv them, u can email me @ [email protected] so that i can send them to u... remember to tell me u're postpet hor!

Hi sheron,

while reading thru the archives, then realise that you have a recommendation for cheongsum tailor.

Can send to me?

BTW, i'm kinda confused with the good brands for pastries in HK now...
Which one is good ah?
I know someone said about a brand that can be bought in HK Airport. What brand is that?
Any other brands in town to look out for.
Now i know Hang Heung is not the best...hahha

meijia

Does anyone know from Hongkong, how to go to Macau. Where to take ferry and how much does it cost?

And also where to shop in Macau.

Hi postpet2,

I share the same with you. I am also confused which pastry shop is good liao.

I know the one at the airport is Kee wah.

Btw, when are you leaving for Hongkong.

newbride

the ferry from HK to Macau is +/-HK$150 (depending wkday/wkend).

The pastry in Macau is very nice...there is one rectangular in shape with seawood and has flosses stuffing...

cl3o

Hi Meijia,

I bought the pastries from this shop in Macau, called 'Choi Heong Yuen Bakery'. You won't miss the shop coz it's very near St. Paul ruins.
I didn't know if it's good, coz a lot of ppl were buying from that shop, so i kaypoh take a look and bought some

like newbride said, the rectangular one is nice... it called 'Phoenix Rolls with Seaweed & Shredded Pork Jerky'
i also bought the one in roll type (like those sold in Thailand) and found that it's not as nice as Thailand's. So better buy the rectangular one.
I regretted only bought back 2 packs *haiz*

To go to Macau, there are 2 Ferry terminals. One in Kowloon (China Ferry Terminal) and the other is from Hongkong Island. I tried both and the price is slightly the same.

Hang Heung is famous for its wife cake. Then for pastries, Wing Wah (the one in the airport) sells the similar pastries as the one sold in Macau.

chloe81

Any1 going to HK soon? Possible can help me 2 check out the pricing for this YSL slimming lotion called 'Total Fitness'.

sheron

if you wanna buy pastries in Macau, go to Tam Chai. thers is a street that have loads of pastry shop. you get to sample before you buy and most of it is freshly made.
there is a bus to Tam Chai form ST.Paul or you can take a cab which cost around HKD50.

Tam Chai is where Hyatt hotel is located. it is difficult for me to tell you the actual location but all Macau ppl know of this street.

swatch2004

hi sheron,

did not check in the last few days.. yes, i am in sg at the moment... enjoying my holiday plus work... ehhe.. how about you? where are you now?

i am using the nevigator broadband because it's a bit more stable... as i use netmeeting all the time, i need a more stable connection... hehe...

crystalbelle

Hi HK lovers,
I will be gg HK in Sept. Manage to get a free air ticket. But planning to book hotels.
My budget is S$120 per room. Any recommendations?

Wat is the weather in late Sep like? Isst cold?

meijia

Hi cl3o,

Thanks for the information. Wow, you know a lot abt Macau.

I have not plan Macau in my iternary. I am going HKG on 25 June, just in time for the summer sale. After hearing many abt Macau, I also wished I can go too. Which are the places I need to visit and how long is enough to stay there??

As I can't speak Cantonese, I am afraid I have problem moving around. Is it difficult to travel around in Macau, just to check if there is any particular shopping centre which is nice, has many small shop by itself??

Sorry for asking so many question.

sheron

hi swatch,

having loads of fun??
me am in SG till sunday.

wah, still have to work while on holiday?

these days it is okay to get around in HK/Macau with mandarin. the ppl there cannot speak fluently but it is not as bad as before. thanks to the mainland chinese!!!!

Hello Meijia,

I'm only departing on either 17 or 18 June. Not confirm yet.

Chloe81 : i've just made a call to DFS in T2..cos i'm interested to get the Total Fitness YSL...but it seems that the DFS in Airport does not sell it leh...but the one in Orchard does...so get it from orchard lor...but got to incur GST...

So Wing Wah/Kee Wah is good for pastries...

chloe81

Hi Pospet

Maybe u can try the hk watson there got sell ysl products or not. I remember when i went there 2 yrs ago, the cosemetics there r duty free. If the price is less than S$60, possible can get 1 for me?

swatch2004

hi sheron,

i will be here for one whole month, so must con't my work while staying here, plus husband working in the day time,so the best pass time is to work lah...

happy to come around to singapore during sale, hehehe.. another best pass time would be shopping loh!

cl3o

hi Meijia,

I dun know a lot bout Macau lah..

just happened to visit the St. Paul, shopped a bit and followed the recommendation to buy some snacks there.

It's quite easy to go around Macau, I also can't speak cantonese and only speak really little 'broken' mandarin.. could survive there.

Once you reached ferry terminal @ Macau, u can go directly to the tourism office there. They have plenty of information about places and a good map.

The bus is also easy to ride. It costs 2.5 (can pay by HKD) per ride/pax.

It was really hot when I visited Macau, so from St. Paul ruins, we took a public bus, until the last stop. Then took another public bus until ferry terminal..
go around Macau by public bus route.

I heard there is this beach with black sand @ Taipa Island. probably it's quite interesting to visit.

I think, 1 day shld be enough for Macau.

cl3o

have fun postpet2!

viavia.. I did went to the shop to get the birdnest one, but too bad, it's sold out. I think it sold out quickly and when I was there, the shop owner told me that actually they make the cake on the day itself and asked me to come back the next day @2pm. Too bad I had to fly back the following day and didn't manage to get the cake. Probably u can call them beforehand and see if can order before it's sold out.

meijia

Hi Postpet,

Thanks for the guide. Enjoy your trip. I am also looking forward to next Friday where I am flying to hkg also.

Hi cl3o,

Can tell me where is this shop selling the birdnest cake, is it expensive??

viavia

The Shop is at Sheung Wan. It's called Chan Yee Jai.

199 Queens Road Central
Sheung Wan MTR exit A2
Mon to sat: 9am to 7pm
Sun 9am to 6.30pm

Hope the infor is up to date.

Sounds kinda interesting. Wondering if it's good.

Hi viavia,
is the address that you posted for the Chan Yee Lai's birdnest cake?
What's dat? nice?

Ladies, can i know how do you call Wishing tree in cantonese ah?
I scared, when i board the bus at Tai Wo station, the uncle just looked at me and dun understand what the hell i'm talking about..ahhaha..

viavia

Yes. It is. It's suppose to be bird's nest cake as the name implies i suppose. I've not seen it or tried it. Just heard of it. So i really dunno if it's nice...you may wanna try if you have a chance.

Hi sheron & fatcat,
may i know if the brands of cosmetics sold in shops like Angel and Bonjour in HK is genuine..
Cos the price like quite cheap leh...dunno the pdt got overdue or not...

sheron

postpet2: the wishing tree is call "hui yuen shui" in cantonese.
so far the items in Angel n Bonjour dun have too much complain from ppl.
juz the perfume is diluded.

crystalbelle: the major cosmectic brand are cheeper in SG DFS espeacially Biotherm! (it is cheaper then France)
but you might like to check out brands like Kehl's, Aesop, Paul & Joe etc which is not yet available in SG.

tiny

i just came back from HK this week. Just to share some things with u...
1)Yung Kee was not selling goose at the moment cos of the bird flu scare!! we were so disappointed.
2) there's a very good beef brisket noodle place at Tin Hau (walking distance from Victoria Park) - can't remember the exact add now but i have the namecard somewhere - if you want to try.
3) delicious 'chok' (porridge) at a small shop behind Sogo...opens at 11am. it's near some shop selling CDs/DVDs and a pet shop.
i didn't do much shopping tho, so can't help u with that! we have friends there (locals & S'poreans working there) so it was mostly meeting up with them & eating lor. But basically TST has enough shops to last u a day..

hazel

<font color="aa00aa">Hi ladies</font>,
Need help here.. may I know when is the Hong Kong sale period? Is it in July?

I am thinkin of bringin my family to Hong Kong for a short getaway of ard 4-5 days, ie. includin my parents and a 9mth baby. What itinery would u gals recommend?

Any ok hotels to recommend? Anyone has comments on the followin hotels in Kowloon?
- Concourse
- Stanford Hotel
- Stanford Hillview

Any other area dat is good for hotel stay other than Kowloon?

Appreciate your advices

violetgem

I've been following this thread for quite a while. Me going to HK this Sun. Feeling very excited about it cos it's my first time there.

Just like to know how's the weather like now ? Is it raining everyday ? Cos I read one of the guide book that during Jun/Jul month, the raining days is like 19 - 21 days in a month. If raining, then will be very sian liao...

tiny

violet, it wasn't raining when i was there last wk. only on the last day. it was very hot in fact!

loveluis, Hmm...no idea but I can ask a friend who got her wedding kua from there.

by the way, the nice beef brisket (ngau lam min)i was mentioning is at Exit A2 of Tin Hau MTR. Just cross the road and the shop is called "Da(4) Li(4) qing tang nan". It's quite a small air con restaurant/coffee shop.

violetgem

Thanks, Tiny. Hopefully don¡¦t rain lah¡K hee hee¡K

But really got no roast goose ah ?? Aiyar, their roast goose is so famous¡K I thought the bird flu is long over liao ???

I'm back!

Definitely a tiring trip...walked so much...haha..
Weather is definitely hot...in fact, one of the days there, I heard it had reached 36 Deg(think it was on the weather report on TV). My advise is do not wear jeans...wear skirts, nice shorts,etc..

Actually, this round, I had gone up to Shenzhen as well. I would say that things are not that bad after all. But basic principles still apply. Like carrying your bag in front of you. Don't wear shiny jewellery, etc..
In fact, I had gone there via KCR and the only "dangerous points" is only when you alight from the station and walks towards the Lo Wu shopping complex...Once you go in, not that bad...
Did not do sightseeing in Shenzhen, did all my shopping in Lo Wu shopping centre only...not enuff time and $$ at the end...

Yung Kee is selling Goose now. Ate that on my last day there(yesterday). Taste is not too bad. Ate it for lunch. Price is definitley more ex than 'cha chan ting' but similiar to our 'Dong Hai' in Singapore. Our lunch cost about S$30.

I absolutely love "xu liu shan"...fantastc...had it almost everyday...they specialise alot on mango healthy drinks...some even had birdsnest, hashima, aloe vera...

I tried the Chee Kei wonton noodle near Times Square. Nice nice..
The 'Chok' recommended by Tiny is also rather good....

Kua at Goon Nam Wah is rather ex leh...i think a normal one that we see usually in SIN cost about S$1K onwards...The cheapest cost S$400 for those beaded ones without gold/silver thread...not worth leh..

For cosmetics brands, it was selling at this chain called Angel and Bonjour...Found practically everywhere...wasn't that ex...but din get anything...

Overall, the trip was rather interesting...cos i had done it F&amp;E, so can plan at own pace...
Did a little sightseeing as well. Went to the Peak, Lan Kwai Fong, SOHO and the midlands escalator...

Was kind of amazed at how the Hong Kongers who live so high up on the mountain travel daily...
There are lots of apartments near the midlands escalator where residents has to walk down to the nearest MTR. I really wonder how do you maintain your freshly made up face and survive till you reach the MTR without perspiring like crazy...

violetgem

Hi Postpet,

Glad to hear that they are selling goose now.

BTW, you mean S$30 per person ah ??

I also intend to go to the Mid-level escalator cos' it's the longest escalator in the world leh...

Actually, i prefer hot weather than raining leh... lazy to bring umbrella around.

My colleague told me die die also must eat the Xu liu shan, really looking forward to my trip this Sun.

Hi chloe, no did not manage to get YSL cos most shops in town do not carry this brand for body products..A lady in Bonjour said that YSL not that popular in HK anymore...dunno how true lah...
In fact,DFS in HK is the only place that has it. And its selling the same price...So i din get lor..
Was recommended another brand of cream for slimming and got that instead...
Think you've got to get it from DFS orchard liao...

meijia

Hi Postpet,

Where is this "xu liu shan" located?? Is it a chain store or just a specialise store.

And also did you get any wife cake??

Did anyone know whether the yuen lang one or heng hiang is nicer.

And btw, where in Mongkok is Heng hiang located?

I am leaving for HKG tomorrow and hope to hear from all of you soon.

Hi Violetgem,

Yung Kee is located in Central.Near the midlands escalator. Take the MTR to Central and walk there.
I think if you scroll upwards or see the archive got posting for directions.I actually printed out that directions and followed it. So quite ok.

Meijia : Xu Liu Shan is a chain for desserts. Found practically everywhere. Even airport have it liao. In Kowloon and HK island all have.
Have fun eating...

For Wife's cake, i got the hang heung one.Had tried the Kee Wah one as well.
Before i buy bulk, had bought a piece of each and tried. Then i asked this other counter girl selling something else. She said generally, hang Heung is good for wife's cake while Kee Wah is good for Mooncake. Personally, i think that Kee Wah's one is not bad. Not as sweet. But less 'sticky' as Hang Heung one...so personal choice lor...
Hang Heung can be foung in Sogo Causeway Bay still.
I dunno where in Mongko is Hang Heung located leh...
The address on the plastic bag says this(in chinese hor):
Mongkok Nathan Road
605A Xin Xin da sha
Basement G5A

meijia

Hi postpet2,

Thanks. Then where can Kee Wah be foun. My colleague just came back also and she said she can't find it at the airport. She only managed to find Wing Wah.

Does SOGO have both hang heung and Kee Wah??

Meijia,

I did not spend much time at the airport cos i was running late. But i think i saw a branch of wing wah before check in and a branch of Kee Wah after i check in...if i remember correctly. Don't depend on my info for this. Get your pastries earlier in town.

For Kee Wah and Wing Wah in sogo, its at the basement and its back to back. So once you see one counter, go round the bend and its the other counter.

benee

Hi Chloe
I'm in HK presently.. what's the full name of the drink.. there's a FANCL near my office.. can go check.