Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

dreamer17

Actually not really worth staying at HK island side coz shopping not cheap as usually branded boutique is located there and most shopping is at kowloon side. actually the best time to go HK is at end july or August coz they will be clearing their summer clothes...means SALE....i can tell u its really cheap...

for eating wise, i can recommend claypot rice at Yau mai tai...cant rem which exit....the claypot is real gd...they have abt 5 shops along the road...beat in an egg and wait for it to heat up...solid...

hippie

hey pple,
I heard that stanley market is not really worth going as in the stuff tat u got there can be found cheaper somewhere, is tat true? If so, i won't waste my time to go there liao...

hi hippie,

so not true. stuff in stanley is cheaper leh... they may not have those fashion fashion stuff like mongkok & tst but its a differnet feel there.. really nice and different... anyway, its only a 40 mins bus journey from central exchange...

moon_dancer

To hippie, ask your hubby to book the SQ air tickets 1st before the miles expiry date for travel AFTER the expiry date. Dates can also be changed later but I think you will lose the 15% online booking discount. You need 25,500 pts after the 15% discount.

hippie

hi minssy, cos my MIL went there & she said she bought something from there & when she goes to another plc, she saw the thing tat she had bot at a cheaper price... Tats wat she told me...
anyway most prob will be gog there as we wil be staying 4 nites, shld be more than sufficient to cover alot of shopping areas...

hi moon_dancer, thks 4 the info. But my HB has oredi bk his tix.

adelene

thank you, schnauzie.
You are going there for wedding stuff too.
I thot I might get bored after 2 days of shopping, so can look for wedding stuff since I'm there.

pinkberrycake

Anyone join the half day city tour to Shenzhen free by tour group?? is there anything to shop here? my tour agency only give half day shopping tour to Shenzhen by not to the 'xiao ren guo', thus hesitate whether to go anot. And oso for the half day city tour to the peak, aberdeen etc, any free makan???

mao mao.
I think mostly go to HK is free and easy. When u reach HK, there is always an option tour for you to take the land tour which usually go Shen Zhen or in HK which will include Disney land and some meals ..

However, disney land is easy to go as MRT go directly.

When are u interested to go HK ??? kee kee

mao_mao

Hi Jenn,

Interested to go next mth with my bro and family lor =)...wan go there shan xin lor ;p.Bro always wanted to go there...

We checked out with SA tour lor...they having this promotion of 5D4N F&E, fly by Cathay paciifc, includes airport transfer and hotels and also a nite tay at Disney Hollywoord hotel and 2 day disney passe...Do you tink its worth it?

snowiee

I will be travelling to HK in december. anyone has recommendations of where i can go?

heard dec is winter time in HK.. anyone knows where i can buy clothes that are suitable for wear in singapore?

mistng

Hihi all,

I am going to HK next year and am planning for the trip now.

Please give me your advice. Should I book Mayfair or BP International?

should go to disneyland? Worth it? I think my hubby isn't so into it but we have not been to any disneyland before so should try right? is it very expensive?

lastly, do you think i should go to macau for 2d/1n or a day trip is sufficient?

sorry, so many questions and thanks alot for ur help

hi mistng,

1) BP is the more popular choice..

2) disneyland - comments from this forum varies.. if your hubby is not into it and both are not a fan of all these rides, you can give it a miss.. ticket is about $60+.. damn ex lor...

3) if you go macau - 1 day is fine... take the first boat out and last boat back kinda thing...

dreamer17

i dun advise u to visit the disneyland. my colleague daugther went and told his dad she wan to return to hotel after less then an hour inside..so it shows tat its not worth it...somemore the tix is so ex and so damn far...

can try to stay Kimberly at Tsim sha tsui...quite affordable off peak will cost u 100+ 200 per room...

there is 1 place tat sells nice claypot rice...its at Yau Ma Tai Mrt i think is exit A or C but must walk a little its behind the MRT station...all of local pple go there to eat...

tourist will not know of this place...can give it a try if u can find the place...rem to include an egg into the claypot and let it cook for awhile

mistng

hihi minssy and dreamer,

thanks for your comments. noted. i just asked my friends abt disneyland too and they told me its so not worth it.

ok, now i need to check with hubby before i book the hotel. hopefully i can get it.

bailey

hey guys, any website to recommend for hkg hotel booking? i hv tried a few like zuji,wotif,asiatravel etc..seems that my budget ($120 per room per nite) doesnt get me anywhere in TST. sigh...

or did most of you guys booked thru travel agency?

bailey

hi sue!
thanks for ur recommendation.
i hv visited the site liao before but they dun hv any reservation function.

hv u stayed there before?

hptang74

hi!

I have not stayed there b4.

My co recently bought this property.

Will be staying there next yr when go HK. Got staff rates..

bailey

hi sue, thanks for ur info.
wow! i think if i confirm liao better book early in case ascott raise the prices.

juz visited ascott website, doesnt seems like able to make any reservation.

will give my review after my stay.

snowiee

just visited the ashley apartments..

seems really cheap...

anyone knows the background behind this building...?

i thought prices of rooms and accomodation in HK is pricey due to the limited space..

any previous 'unclean' background behind this building ah.. ? like a bit too cheap to be true feel.. hehe..

dunno leh...

by the way, where to click to check out the reservations?

hptang74

hi beetle

ascott has not fully taken over the ashley apt yet cos of legal paper works not completed.

u can email directly to ashley to make reservations.

hi snowiee

i would say the price is reasonable perhaps due to smaller space given.

dun worry abt the background of building. my big boss is super patan. if it is really that "unclean" he wont buy one.

As for reservation, email them directly.

rosey

Hi Snowiee,
Just to share with you. I had emailed ashley apartments. At the present moments there standard 1 rooms are all under renovation. Me intend to go during late jan.
They can only offer
Superior Room (1 double bed)
- HKD1,000.00 nett /night
Superior Room (twin bed)
- HKD1,100.00 nett / night
Deluxe Room A (1 double bed)
- HKD1,200.00 nett /night

**The above rates are inclusive of service charges & government tax.**

cainu

hi anyone know where is a good place to go for bargains in cosmetics, esp like M.A.C. thanks in advance!!

rackev

i've stayed in ashley for quite a no. of time even b4 it was taken over by ascott. it was only abt S$120 (standard), S$145 (superior) per nite back then. ever since it was bought over, they hv increased to a much higher rate. i happened to come across ashley in a reservation website and decided to give it a try. i really hv a good impression of it and no regrets to try. most of the other hotels that i've tried b4 are either too small, old or dirty. unless u've e budget for a 5-stars hotel, it is not easy to find a suitable accomodation. ashley is just perfect for me. location is great, near to tst mtr and jus right besides HMV. rooms are modern and very clean. superior rooms are spacious with a huge wardrobe, shoes cabinet, dvd player, surround system, counch, dinning table with plates, forks, spoons etc, kettle, hot plate, microwave etc. Bathrooms are big & clean as well. the rooms are bright and most importantly, there's no eerie feelings at all, i feel very comfortable. as compared to other hotels with e same rates, it is really worthwhile to stay at ashley instead. although e rates are much higher now, i continue to stay in ashley everytime i go over to hk. a quality serviced apartment that i really like alot. yeah!!! ^_^

sabrinalai

i will be goin HK in Jan, thinking of goin for shopping, but now is winter, do u think that it is wasted goin to HK in winter time?becoz cant get our clothing.Thans..Really need advice, bcoz Hubby and me thinking go for relax, shopping, eat. (But me mostly for shopping)
))

chickenlittle

I planing to go at mid of April 07..Dunno how to speak cantonese,itzit a big prob there?Coz I intend to go for free & easy.1st time there oso.

anise

hi sabrinalai... for shopping of bags and accessory u can try at the HK industrial building, it's a warehouse type selling cheaper stuff as compared to ladies street. mTR alight at lai chin kok, exit B.. mi juz back from HK.. mostly selling winter wear now

hi chickenlittle,

nah its fine... u can always point at tthe menu if you are ordering food stuff...

the roads are easy to navigate so actually its not a prob at all.....

chickenlittle

I hav booked 5D4N to HK,Dept date is 13 Apr 07, back 0n 17 Apr 07.My package included 3 Nite stay at Dorsett Hotel (I choose tis hotel coz is nearer to the MRT),1 Nite stay at disney hollywood hotel.Free & Easy.

Do I hav to change the HK $ in S'pore 1st?
How much do I hav to bring there?(Per person)
How the weather there during tis period?

Thks for the Info!!!

hi chickenlittle,

dorsett's condition is like 2 star hotel one hor...

change in SGD will do... i believe your disney ticket is included in the price so i think you can change abt $400 shd be ok.. its just a guide.. if you intend to buy lotsa lotsa clothings, of cos $400 will not be enough

the weather there is spring... its abt 20ish degrees...humid.. may rain so do bring a brolly with you...

chickenlittle

Thks minssy

(dorsett - 2 star hotel) Hopefully not too bad

(weather - may rain ) Hopefully not everyday

Any reccomend places to go for shopping?
Any reccomend places to go for food?

Thks.. :D

hi chickenlittle,

hahhaha. keep fingers crossed ba

shopping: everywhere! just walk along nathan road from mongkok to TST MTR and there will be many many stopovers. at TST, there is a harbour city which is very very big...

at hongkong island, u can visit causeway bay, admiralty and central mtr cos these are the more popular shopping areas in their 'cbd area'. at central mtr, u must go to li yuen street east & west....

skip ladies street & temple street if you dun have time cos they sucks.. in my opinion lah

at ladies street, however, u must go to this restaurant that has a shop front full of 'chu qiam yi ding' wrappers. they serve excellent food!

yc_mw

Other then Rachel, anyone has reviews for Ashley Apartments?

Based on Rosey's quote, it seems to be much higher then what it have advertised in their webbie.. I've emailed them for a quote ler, but have yet to receive replies from em.. Their online rates seems GOOD! Given that their rooms are BIG. I always stay in Kowloon Hotel, and their rooms are simply pathetic. Dun even have a dressing table..

Anyway, juz for a comparision-
*Kowloon Hotel's room is about 18sqm, and *Ashley's Standard Room is 35sqm

And,

*Kowloon per nite is about $155.00, and
*Ashley per nite is about $90.00 (Based on their webbie price)
*Ashley per nite is about $220.00 (Based on the quote that Rosey have received)

rackev

hey piglet,

e last round when i booked was $150 for standard and ard $170+ for superior...

hv checked with them before. the rates that they quoted in their website are for the super super low season...so cant base on that...