Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

soudezne

Hi KA
i oso duno ler... i chin cai pop by 1 of the money changer at ppl's park centre and ask oni... my trip is at end aug, so hvnt change yet..

btw, anyone intendt to go SZ? my coll told mi that most of the things in HK comes from SZ which are selling 3times lower the price than HK...

adelene

Hi KA,
2 big shopping complex linked to the MTR - one is like wisma Atrium selling stuff like Giorando, Espirit, G2000, the other selling Far East stuff (4 or 5 level high). Of cos the latter is more crowded as there are a lot of small shops and prices are relatively cheaper if you compare both. I heard Tsing Yi oso have similar shopping complex. BIG subjected to individual view, I have no time to shop ard so it took me 2 hrs to walk every level for the 2 bldg. Window-shopping.

fat

Blue - thanks for the info..will chk out the place in my coming trip.

soudez - will you be changing lately from now? Coz if you happen to go back to the money changer, can let me know where they are located? Im going in Aug. Thanks!

fatcat

Hi all latest update on weather, from yesterday there is no more rain, sunny till today and quite hot, almost 30C, but whoever going next week, you gals may not get anymore sale coz it's already final final sale and they are changing window display for fall fashion already.
Seems no one mention APM shopping mall in Kwun Tong MRT, very big and nice , a mixture of Far East and Wisma. Langham Place is also great for shopping too, lots of trendy stuff. Will be back tomorrow so i can still do last min shopping tomorrow morning, ke ke....

soudezne

Hi KA
if i'm gg dwn again, i'll let you know...

btw, anyone stay at YMCA International House located at Yau Ma Te b4? is there any convenient last minute stop there?

adelene

I heard that the Sales last til end Aug. I believe by then most of the general size are out of stock.

I went last week and a handful of my size is out, esp for pants.

dear99

hi ladies!

i went to APM last yr Aug,itz a great shopping place but most of e shops at APM u can actually find in Langham

did u walk outside APM shopping centre?? those stalls? i bought a few tops for my mum, very cheap!! hmm... only for aunties (above 50 yrs old)clothes.. MUST BARGAIN hor!
i'll b gg on 15 Aug to hk...

soudezne

Hi KA
i went to ppl park centre again to confirm my trip, the money exchanger is located beside Singapore Pools.. #01-11.. the rates today is 4.91... =)

P/S: while the other changer that i've ask is 4.905...

singtel

I came bk this morning... touched down only 2am this morning. Flight was delayed due to typhoon. HK Airport was chaotic.... Almost all fights were delayed on fri.

On the whole was fun throughout my trip. All shops are putting up final sale signs.... nt all sizes are available liao...

The Timberland in HK is definitely cheaper than SG! abt SG100+ diff!! Worth buying. Bt u can get it cheaper at their warehouse, too bad their sizes limited. cant get the size my hb wants, ends up get it at their retail... still cheap though....

Adidas warehse, worth it to go.. coz it another 20% more than those reatil shops at FA YUEN ST..
Quite disappointed at FA YUEN ST coz they sell all sportswear... which i aldy got it at the warehse aldy. LAdies Street so so only.... Got many pooh n kitty stuufs bk!!

Experienced typhoon no. 3 there!!! Those going soon.... better get a strong umbrella, coz mine alomost get blown away.... heehee. Food is nice everywhere, any Cha Cang Ting is gd enuff and its really cheap.

hope the typhoon will subsides soon, coz i heard it only reached up to No.3 only... else cant shop liao coz will kena stayed in hotel.

Gals... Happy Shopping!!!!

adelene

I hoped those who were stuck at HKIA are fine. My colleagues went on business trip last week was affected by the typhoon as well. She oso got back this morning at 2am. At the moment, no typhoon from taiwan news, hence hong kong should have fine weather since a typhoon had gathered all the rain over.

fat

Soudez - thanks for the location. I will be changin next week.

393823.gif
hopefully Mr Typhoon will go away when my turn to go next week.
393824.gif

fat

Hi gals...me leaving for HK tomoro liao...

Btw....exchange rate tat i got is 4.91. Changed it at Suntec today.

fat

Thanks Soudez! No itinary for us coz i juz went May. Basically is solely shopping & eating only....hahahaaha......

Will update you when i come back!

fat

thanks Serene!

Soudez - you will be surprise when i tell you that my hubby loves shopping thou i myself love it too but he's extreme...sometime its me who ask to sit down & rest during shopping! Rare rite?

soudezne

Hi Serene
How you find the hotel den?

Wow KA... u had got urself a rare species... hehe... but its real fun to hv ur partner sharing the same shopping interest... =)

dottyback

soudez hehe 2 b honest it cant b considered a hotel lah..its juz a room..really a room kekekeke but clean enuf..the MTR is nearby so its all rite...across YMCA got tis noodle shop..yummy

can walk 2 ladies mkt from there somemore kekeke

schnauzie

hi pple,

just back from hk early this morning. my hubby also love hk...when we checked in our luggage, we were overweight by 25kg...paid for overweight luggage.

shopping is realli great coz it is the final sale now but their fashion is abit OTT so think not everything is to our liking so needa walk alot to see. food and transport is more exp than spore but their roasted pork and goose is FANTASTIC.lug 2 roast goose back to spore ;p

fat

Hi...juz came back few days ago. HK is very very hot now...worse than Spore. Not a single drop of rain when Im there for 5Ds. But shopping & food is shiok! Agree w Schnauzie that the sales currently is final liao. But very good buy. If you into Gucci..than you shld buy from there coz its much cheaper than here. Price diff is range from $80 to $150.

soudezne

Hi KA
welcome back!! did you buy lots of things and put on weight? hehe...

so its good bargains now but no much sizes?

btw, anyone who needs this info, exch rate @ 4.92 yday...

shirgal

My friends and i were in hk for 4d3n, we realised that we needed more time to shop, a lot of place we didnt go, next time have to go at least for 1 week. As for branded goods, those who like LV, may check out the LV store there, coz my friend was looking a certain design but not available in SG. (but it was sold out.)
My friends came back with their luggage and one big china bag(white,blue,red strips)! I only 1 luggage!! (coz 1 find the things there quite exp)
We got no time to sit down n enjoy xu liu shan!! I missed the food!! yun-yang(Coffee with Tea), ice coffee, pork chop bun at macau cafe at TST, and po lor bun... Oh no! my mouse wet liao...Haha..

dear99

i juz came bac yest... Shopping was indeed great!
u can still bargain a bit more wif them becos they r trying to clear their summer stock in order to bring in their autumn/winter wear..

I bought 2 gooses & 2 ducks bac to sin... Yummy!!

qoo_grapes

I am going HK this Sat for 5 days..
First time to HK :p

Can you girls suggest Top 5 places for shopping? I not into office suits, Branded Goods.

I read most of the threads here..
Fan Yuen Street .. in chinese words is wat? I asked my Hk friend, she dun understand english.
So i think Fa Yuen Street, Mong Kok Argyle Centre, Causeway Base, Times Square. This 5 places is a must go right:p

fatcat

Qoo: I will suggest:
花园街
女人街
郎豪åŠ
时代广场
APM

soudezne

Hey Qoo!
i'm be gg to 5D HK too with this coming sat... haha... which flight are you taking? =p

i'll be visiting the Fa Yuen Street... but will not hv time at HK island...

My sis bought back pegions b4... keke....

josie27

Hi, anyone know what is the bus number to take from HK airport to Standford hotel, pls let me know, thanks in advance

annabelle

Hi... may i knoe where Lee yuen street, shanghai street, silvercord shopping centre & granville road is near which MTR?

schnauzie

li Yuen Street - Exit C Central MTR, walk 2min along Des Voeux Rd

Shanghai street - Mongkok MTR Exit A2

Silvercord S.c. - TST MTR (Opp harbour city) if i recall correctly

Granville rd - Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, Exit A1

annabelle

schnauzie, thanks alot
will be going next saturday so doing some homework first heehee...

one more thing, how do i get to repulse bay? and wat is repluse bay in chinese heehee... and anything to shop at wanchai? sorry i have many questions cause have not been to HK for 10 over yrs le...

samgirl

I going after my ROM, leaving SG on 15th then back on 18th...staying at Stanford Mongkok...anyone stayed at this hotel before? Any comments?

schnauzie

annabelle - not sure abt repulse bay coz i did not go..u can check the HK tourist website.

samgirl - stanford mongkok is extremely popular coz its v cheap. it is 10 min walk from mongkok mtr if u walk leisurely..think u can reach it in 5mins if u walk quickly. It is v near ro ladies street and fa yuen street and outside the hotel got alot of foodshops. it is very small (just like most hk hotels), nothing to shout about but i find it v value for monie! room's v clean...got comforter somemore keke..i like.

hi annabelle,

you can take bus 6, 6A or 260 from Central Exchange Square bus terminal. There is also 1 bus that goes to repulse bay but off hand i cant recall the number. Then if you dowan to alight, you can carry on the journey and the final stop will be stanley. stanely market is a lovely place

annabelle

thanks minssy, anything much to shop in wanchai or repulse bay? stanley market and quicker way to get there like nearest which MTR?

hi annabelle,

wanchai to me nothing much ba....

repulse bay is just a beach... but lovely...

stanley market is a cluster of small stalls, something like our bugis village but different stuff.. i find some of the stuff the cheaper...i also bought souveniers from there...

its accessible only by bus as per what i listed above..the bus ride is smooth...