Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

selina

hi Blue Ginger
I'm gg HK from 22 to 26 July. Got F&E package from Focal Travel in People's Park. Staying at Prudential, flying Cathay.
May I know what's the rate for HKD now?

adelene

Hi Selina,
IC. We must by date. I'm gng on 26-28. How much is your package(accommodation, flight include tax)?

may I know the exchange rate as well? Thanks.

dottyback

Hey Miu

i found dat namecard but u noe wad? everything is in chinese characters or rather..read in cantonese so i duno how 2 gif the add 2 u lol but i can tell u..the name of dat shop i was toking abt is call...Da Jia Shi (Chinese) or Dai Gay Sek (cantonese) :p

singtel

Anyone chg HK dollar? I juz chk, the rate is 4.85 at IP. Seems to go down huh... Coz couple days bk, was 4.87 at J8. Hmmm... going raffles plc during lunch time. Hope can get better rates.

mist

hi selina

me going the same period as you leh... but i am taking jetstar.. how much you pay for your package huh??

hi singtel,

i think the rate is abt 4.84 to 4.85 leh.... think i will change next week or so...

selina

hi Blue Ginger, mist
I paid $725 for 5 day 4 nite at Prudential. 3 of us going. FLying Cathay. 10 am plus flight on the 22nd. Rch SG ard 11 plus at nite on the 26th. Got airport transfers. incl tax.

adelene

Hi selina,
$725 is for a person or 3 pax?

Hi Singtel,
You have this rate at Raffles Place?
Noted. Will cc look look at Chinatwn tomorrow.

Hi mist,
I'm planning to fly with Jetstar. Interested to share your package? Can indicate the price in terms of per person?

yc_mw

Day 1- 2nd Aug'06 (Wed)
11:30 Reach Hotel & unpack
13:00 Out for LUNCH
14:00 Proceed to Shen Zhen
-Take MTR to Kowloon Tong
-Then transfer to KCR straight to Lo Wu station
*Need to fill in Visitor Entry Sheet (Something like M'sia)
*Must Go Places-
-Dong Men Bu Xing Jie (Lots of Sun glasses, Sneakers, Shoes, Belts, Men's Polo/ Tee)
-City Square Shopping Centre ( Juz 5 mins walk from Lo Wu Custom)
-Nelson Street (Every night at 22:30 got stalls set up for sportswear e.g Nike, Adidas -- But got defects e.g size printed wrongly)
23:00- Proceed back to Kong Kong
0:30- Reach Hotel & unpack
1:00- Wash Up & Sleep

Day 2- 3rd Aug '06 (Thur)
7:30- Morning Call
8:00- Wash Up & Have Breakfast
9:00- Off to Lantau Island ( Da Yu San)(Can take 360 degree Cable Car)
-Take the MTR to Tung Chung,Exit B,& Bus No. 23(MTR journey about 30mins/ Bus journey about 40mins)
12:00- Vegetarian Lunch HKD $60 per pax
13:00- More Sight-Seeing & Photo Takings
14:00- Leave Lantau Island to Disneyland
-Take MTR from Tung Chung to Sunny Bay
-Take MTR Disney Resort Line
Photo Taking & Taking the rides
19:00- Fireworks @ Sleeping Beauty Castle
-Must find a GOOD spot facing Castle
20:00- Leave Disneyland to Lan Kwai Fong
-Take MTR to Central
21:00- Photo Taking & some drinks to chill Out
22:30 Head back to Hotel

Day 3- 4th Aug '06 (Fri)
7:30 Morning Call
8:00 Wash Up & Have Breakfast
9:00 Off to Ocean Park (Entrance Fee HKD $180)
10:00 Conservation Square - Take photos with Mascot- Whiskers* (HKD $70 per photo)
Take Bus No. 629 From Admiralty MTR Station or Central Star Ferry Pier
Bus Fare -HKD $10.60 per pax
Show:11:00- Bird Show @ Amazing Birds Theatre
11:30- Dolphin Show @ Ocean Theatre
15:00- Set off for Stanley Market
Take Bus 6 or 260 (Express Bus/ Cost abit more) from Central Bus Terminal
Journey takes about 40mins)
16:00- Reach Stanley Market
18:00- Go over to Repulse Bay
-Enjoy the Romantic Sunset
-Enjoy a Scrumptious Seafood Meal
19:15- Proceed back to TST
-Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Exit G, follow signs for KCR -exit via East TST Exit J. Follow signs for "Avenue of Stars"
20:00- Watch the Symphony of Lights (MM show) Aboard a harbour cruise**
** If got time
21:00- Take Bus 15C from Star Ferry Pier Terminus to Garden Rd (Lower Peak Tram Terminus)
-Take the Peak Tram up to The Peak
-If got time then can visit Madam Tussauds (HKD $115 per pax)
-More Photo Takings of the Beautiful Scenery
23:00- Back to TST from The Peak
-Shop around (Dessert/ Supper)/ Or Granville Road
0:00- Head back to Hotel
Day 4- 5th Aug'06 (Sat)
9:00- Off to Macau by FIRST FERRY
-Board Ferry from China Ferry Terminal @ TST
-HKD $140- HKD $275 per paz for round trip Ferry Tixs{7.30am - 12.30am/ Half Hourly Intervals}
10:30 Reach Macau
-Visit St Paul Ruins
-Visit Ju4 Ji4 for their foodie
(Almond Biscuits, Seaweed with Pork floss egg rolls, Portuguese egg tarts, Pork Cutlet bun)*Better to get a guide (about HKD $100 per pax neg.)
12:00- Lunch
13:00- Continue with Activities
-Go-Karting
-Horse Riding
http://www.macautouristguide.com/en/transport.html-Visit Casino
15:30- Visit Coloane Village
-Take any bus marked ‘Coloane’ or ‘Hác Sá’ to Coloane Village
-Turn right on Rua das, Gaivotas, Which becomes Rua dos Navegantes
-Walk along to the Tin Hau Temple
18:00- Dinner
19:30- Greyhound Racing(從港澳碼頭乘的士å‰å¾€ï¼Œç´„ HKD$28)
21:00- Head back to Hong Kong
22:30- Jardin Bazaar Night Market (In a narrow lane @ Causeway Bay)And/ Or Granville Road( For Abercombie stuff)
0:00- Head back hotel
Day 5- 6th Aug'06 (Sun)
9:00- Proceed to Wong Tai Sin temple
-Take MTR to Wong Tai Sin MTR - Exit B
10:00- Pray at Wong Tai Sin temple, maybe can go for their fortune telling
11:30- Leave WTS & proceed for lunch
12:30- Proceed to Adidas factory Outlet & Nike
-Take MTR to Kwun Tong, Exit B3
Unit H, 11/F, Phase 2, Yip Fat Ind. Bldg (Adidas)Unit G, 8/F, Phase 2, Yip Fat Factory Bldg (Nike)
-APM Shopping Center (Next to Kwun Tong MTR Station) Supposed to be open 24hrs
15:30- Proceed to Hong Kong Industrial Centre (Lai Chi Kok MTR)
16:15- Start shopping
18:00- Proceed to Pedders Building (Central MTR)Alight at Central MTR
-B12/13, 7/F, HK Inds. Ctr (Adidas Warehouse) (7th Floor)
Li Yuen Street East & Li Yuen Street West (Factory Outlet)
-Central MTR, Exit C
Settle dinner around the area
(Near to Pedders Building)
23:00- Finish Shopping & proceed back to Hotel
0:00- Reach Hotel & wash up
Day 6- 7th Aug'06(Mon)
9:00- Proceed to Shatin Shopping Centre (Quite a few S.C. ard the area)
-Alight at Shatin MTR
10:00- Shop, Shop & Shop
12:00- Lunch around the area
13:00- Harbour City Shopping Centre
-TST, G306, Gateway Arcade
I prefer to go shopping at Fa Yuen Jie
(Prince Edward MTR)
20:00- Dinner @ Revolving 66 Restaurant (HKD $300 per pax for Buffet Dinner)
-At Hopewell Centre, Wan Chai (HKD $328 per pax)Take MTR to Wan Chai Station, Exit B
21:30- Either Temple Street Night Market/ Or shop around Wai Chai, Causeway Bay, TST area
-Temple Street NM (MTR to Jordan, Exit A, then walk along Jordan Road for 3 blocks)
0:00 Head back to Hotel
Day 7-8th Aug'06 (Tues)
8:00- Wash Up & Have Breakfast @ Serenade (TST, Cultural Centre, 2-3/F)
9:30- Proceed to Esprit Warehouse
-Kai Seng Commercial Centre (Esprit Warehouse) 4-6 Hankow Rd, G/F portion, Basement, TST Kowloon (On the same rd as HMV, further down)
- Proceed to Granville Road (Clothing Stuff)
-TST MTR, Exit 1A
Proceed to Mong Kok Zhong Xin - 旺角中心 a.k.a.Argyle Centre
-Mong Kok MTR Station, follow the directors in the station
Proceed to Granville Road (Clothing Stuff)
13:00- Lunch @ Chee Kei Wonton Ndle (Nr Times Sq)
-Causeway Bay MTR station, Exit A
14:30- City Plaza (Tai Koo MTR)
AND Fa Yuen Street- 花園街 (Prince Edward Exit)
17:00- Proceed back to Hotel(Late Check/Out @6pm)
-Pack up & prepare to go Airport
18:30- Reach Airport & Check In
20:30- Flight back to Singapore
11:50- Reach Singapore
1:00- Home Sweet Home
*Celebrate National DAY!
My Shopping MUST GO:
-G306 Gateway Arcade, Harbour City TST (For my Soigne Products)
-Lung Shing Dispensary (Grd Floor, 28 Granville Rd, TST,Kowloon) Cosmetics
-Fa Yuen Jie (Prince Edward MTR Station)
-All the Factory Outlets that I've listed
-Silvercod Shopping Centre
-Fashionwalk
-Pacific Place (Admiralty MTR)
-Mirammar Shopping Center
-èŠ±åœ’è¡—èˆ‡å¥¶è·¯è‡£è¡—ä¹‹é–“çš„ä¸€æ®µæ³¢éž‹å°ˆè³£å€ which is just rite next to Woman street 女人街- all selling bargain sport shoes, you can find many other types which are not selling in Singapore.
-Sham Shui Po
-IFC Mall
Reccomended Foodie Places:
-Lin Heung Tea House @ Central exit frm Central MTR exit D2 Tel:2544-4556.
They are famous for their Dim Sum,Traditional chinese cakes & 8 Treasures Duck
-Lei Garden Restaurant @ Times Sq
-Luk Yu Tea House @ Central exit frm Central MTR E2 Tel:25235464.They are very famous for their Dim Sum but it quite expensive
-Delicious 'chok' (porridge) at a small shop behind Sogo...opens at 11am. it's near some shop selling CDs/DVDs and a pet shop
-All the foodie places that I've listed
-Bird Nest Tart (Can buy back as Gift)
The Shop is at Sheung Wan. It's called Chan Yee Jai.
-199 Queens Road Central
-Mon to sat: 9am to 7pm
-Sun 9am to 6.30pm
-连香 at Central MTR exit D2, 160-164 wellington rd (Dim Sum)
-Claypot rice at 19, Temple street. Xing Ji Claypot Rice
-新樂酒樓-Shamrock Hotel 彌敦é“223號新樂酒店地下 ä½æ•¦åœ°éµç«™C1å‡ºå£ Jordan MRT C1 Exit. (Before 11am)
-For "Lao Por Bing"
*æ†é¦™è€é¤…家有é™å…¬å¸ Hang Heung
1) 新界元朗大馬路64ï¼66號 電話:2479 2141
元朗大馬路 Yuen Long Main Road è¿‘è¼•éµ '大棠é“' ç«™ LRT 'Tai Tong Road'
電話:2394 7668
2) 旺角 ä¹é¾æ—ºè§’雅蘭酒店商場地庫K86
No. K86, Lower Floor, Grand HotelShopping Centre, Mong Kok, Kln., Mong Kok
3) Available at Basement 2 of Sogo (Causeway Bay)
*榮è¯é¤…家 Wingwah Cake Shop
簡介:中å¼çµå©šç¦®é¤…
地å€ï¼šé¦™æ¸¯ä¹é¾å½Œæ•¦é“662號5
電話:23906048
傳真:23966679
網é ï¼šhttp://www.wingwah.com
* è¯å«å–œç¦®é¤…
簡介 ﹕極å“「å«å–œã€ç¦®é¤…
åœ°å€ ï¹•ä¹é¾æ—ºè§’新世紀廣場一二二號舖
電話 ﹕27856066

yc_mw

Heehe, have benefitted alot from the forum, so ve planned out the above, but, looks abit too tight, so, juz a rough guide for myself to follow.

singtel

hi blue ginger,
yup at raffles plc. I'm travelling wif jetstar too. 4D3N. May extend if cant get euff of shopping!! Heehee. I paid air tix $452 for 2 pax, booked standford hotel (v near ladies street n fa yuen street) wif priceline. paid abt $320 for 3 nites.
Woa! piglet, ur itinerary so detail ah! i can get some info from urs too.... i'm going shenzhen too bt will leave out disney lands n ocean park. heehee Am travelling on 1st Aug, so gd of u to go on for 1week....

yc_mw

Hi Singtel,

No choice le, wanna go for only 5days 4 night for pure shopping nia, but as my partner hasn't been to HK b4, so needa compromise & do some sigh-seeing lor. Given a choice, I'd rather spent 1 week shopping there! I might cancel Ocean Park should I fins tat there's not enough time for me to shop. Keke, my boyfriend is gonna if he sees tis post.

mist

hi singtel,

which $ charger at raffles you go to huh??? good rate leh.... a couple of days i checked out People's park, they say 4.85 leh.

hi blue ginger,

i booked mine from City 99 asia, 5D4N stay at Majestic, fly by jetstar asia, inclu airport transfer + tickets to disneyland + transport to and fr disney. We pay total $732 per pax.

adelene

Thank mist. Good deal.

Ya, SingTel.
Which $$ changer? Your air ticket very cheaper leh! May I know where you get the ticket?

yc_mw

Saw u ladies talking bout Money Changer, I changed mine at the Money Changer at Bugis- Beside Crabtree & Evelyn. I didn't get my $$ straight-away, instead, I booked the rate with them, and I was given a rate of 4.9, I think that's a very good deal, but I had to leave my money with them for about 10days lor. I heard about this money changer also through the forums, and so far there's no rants about them, that's y I feel safe about passing them my money 1st.

singtel

Hi mist,

the money changer i went to is at arcade (i thk) u will see SOO KEE, den turn left. Its near the escalator. There are two money changers there. i went to the 1 on the left if u are facing in front of the escalator. (hope i din make u blur) Heehee... I din chk the other 1 though. Coz i thk the rates quite gd liao. Maybe u wana chk out and compare?

Hi blue ginger,
I booked mine online lor. During the promo period, so everythg is DIY.

Hi piglet, ur rates sounds gd. :). Bt y need to leave the money with them for 10days?

dear99

hi gers!

i'm travelling on jetstar on 15Aug e morning flight, who else same as mi??

e money changer at e arcade is it malay or indian guys??

yc_mw

Bumping up the thread a little.. For those who juz came back, any feedback on APM S.C.

*I'm taking Jetstar on 2nd Aug- 6.40am flight.* Anyone who's on same flight...

queenie10

Hi gals,i'm in HK currently...been here for 1wk plus.Recommended places for shopping is MongKok - Agryle Center & "Chao Liu Zhong Xin"....pls go during wkdays coz basically everyday is crowded as those youngster r having their summer holiday nw.APM shopping mall @ Kwun Tong has more things to shop than Times Sq @ Causeway Bay.

Recommended places for Dim Sum is Superstar (Hung Xing) @ Level 10 of Times Sq which i love it the most & Meixin @ Telford Plaza in Kowloon Bay MTR.

For cosmetic,Fancl & SKII products is cheaper in hk.

For those gals who likes jeans,u call try tis store "SALAD"...the jeans is quite nice in cutting & design (1pc is abt S$120plus)....they've branches in Times Sq,APM Mall,Grand Century Place & etc.

For those gals who wan to buy office suits,u can try Wanko coz they r having sale up to 70% disc,i love their pants n blazers (lots of design)

queenie10

I also bought alot of skirts from Esprit warehouse in TST....For adidas in kwun tong,1 normal jacket is roughly frm HKD$300 - HKD$450.Most of the retail is HKD$500 n they r having 10% disc at shopping center outlet.For shoes in kwun tong warehouse,i find that some r more cheaper in sg so nt really worth it.

pinkberrycake

Anyone join the half day city tour to Shenzhen free by tour group?? is there anything to shop here? my tour agency only give half day shopping tour to Shenzhen by not to the 'xiao ren guo', thus hesitate whether to go anot. And oso for the half day city tour to the peak, aberdeen etc, any free makan???

hi pinkberrycake,

suggest u dun go for such....as usual, they will bring you to places that will cheat u of your money one.. save the day and go shopping on your own...

yc_mw

Just wondering if anyone knows where to get doggie stuff like collars, accessories in HK? Anyone saw cute & unique stuff there?

fat

Juz wanna chk wht's the current rate for HK in Spore? And also wat's the weather now? Is it very hot? Im going in Aug. Thanks!

kurera

Kwun tong has all the old models FOR ADDIDAS & NIKE! So disappointing..haiz..

They have morseilla, espirit and sasa too...

Anyway...the season style not suit me leh..especailly for..mastina and bess...haaa

Rate..on July is about 4.86 at LOT 1 if I can last remember.

Piglet maybe yo try the markets lor..may have...

Fancl? cheaper?..erm..I checked the loose power box- they are expensive by a dollar plus..I paid tix to get there I should at least get it at lower rate leh. Since the box is more expensive..I walked out..kek kek kek

Really cheap ar...damn! I should have sort coverting the rest of the items in fancl! ;p

Basically is not like the past years that I went, maybe they took advantage that more visitors are visiting so they are not that cheap on some items...

Can you all imagine their accesories eh..necklace are all above 10 bucksto 79bucks...which I can get $9 from Singapore...not those plastic type.

I saw a particular bag that far east shops are selling at 39.90 for small bag and 49.90 for big bag..when I managed to find that in Li Yuen Street, I was super happy..but guess how much?

Above 100!!! Even she give me a 50% also match the price in Singapore..I may as well get in Singapore right? Grrrrrrr....

I would say BCBG / CK / suzuya / vertical club the branded stuff are cheaper than SIN..but..heh heh..you may not get your sizes leow..haaa

Pedder's building (corner) - you need take lift up has some shops that sell gowns which are of reasonable prices. However, it depends on their season and designs..you may find some good stuff there.

The smaller shops in granvile, carmeron and kimerbely road some discounted clothes not able to try so that is a minus points.

August will be super hot! wear comfortable shoes and t-shirt..skirt =AIRY)

But overall..I enjoyed the food lah..every year it's like rush for time..rush for shopping..so this year I finally get to eat and enjoy my meal! haaa..

yc_mw

Oh dear, the last timw I went, Fa Yuen St was a place that I loved so much due to it's cheap & trendy stuff...

KA: My fren changed yesterday at the changer beside Lim Chee Guan at Chinatown. The rate was 4.89.

fat

Thanks CAT & piglet!

Think will check out the rate nearer to my departure.
Hmmm....guess the weather gonna be like Spore...hot & humid!

I like Fa Yuean St too!!! Mongkok & Causeway Bay is also a good place to shop as well.

Who's going HK in Aug?

fatcat

piglet:http://hk.dogonelife.com/
this one is very big 3 story with doggie cafe too, also in Mongkok goldfish street there is a few ,one call Red carrot in chinese, they also sell lots of unique stuff from japan, i used to buy loads of things for my cats. When are you going? Now weather very bad, super hot and rain too.

yc_mw

KA: U're most welcome! When u leaving for HK?

fatcat: Thanks eh! I'm departing next Wed. Heehe, will be in HK for a week.

fat

piglet - im going 11th Aug for 5 days. Wow..you departing next Wed liao...looking 4ward rite? Which hotel you staying, btw?

yc_mw

Ya la.. Me counting down oredi.. Keke. I'm staying in Kowloon Hotel. U le? Thought u departing near my dep date... Hehe, U goin by which airline? I'm taking Jetstar le.

fat

piglet - Im staying in Prudential and fly by Cathay. Since you going for a week than you planning to go Disney?

I dun like their Disney coz currently is juz all those kiddy rides and not fully done yet too....

yc_mw

Wah, so nice, taking Cathay, the other time when I book, no promo on Cathay, so, in order to 'cut cost' , gotta take Jetstar. Keke. Yup, planning to go Disneyland, but if given a choice, I wouldn't go la. Prefer to spend time hunting down great buys. Haha, but no choice le, my bf wanna go. My sis went to Disney liao, she say not too bad la, except that damn pissed off by the Mainland pple. Rude & Loud.. Well, no choice lor.

mist

i just came back from HK... weather is really terrible.... very hot even i wear sleeveless...... my arms and face are tanned and red!!!

as for the sales, i dun find it really interesting leh.... after converting the $$, the clothes cost abt the same price in singapore.... i may as well get it in singapore.... me didn buy alot of things lah. as for the food, i think it depends on individual lah..... i find some are rather oily and salty. maybe the weather is too hot, until i also dun hv much appetite. overall, the trip still okay lah....

fat

Hey Sch!!! you are here too! Oh, so you going next week liao lor? How many days you going? Which hotel?

Thanks Mist for your info...guess I got to bring more sun block liao..kekeke....well, I kinda like their food thou...

fat

Hi gals....thanks for the info about the rate. Will chk it out!

Sch - me staying Prudential @ Jordon Road

adelene

I came back last friday. Hong Kong not like what you gals said. The weather not hot cos typhoon is hitting Taiwan area, hence brought occassional shower to Hong Kong at the same time. Remember your rain coat and umbrella. A waterproof wind-breaker can oso do the job if you just went there shopping.

Great shopping at HK. I left HK with just HK$40 at the airport and have no extra to buy goodie back for friends. Greatest catch is a skirt that costs HK$5 (S$1) at the shopping complex next to Prudential Hotel (I stayed there). You gals can go to Kwai Fang Stn near Tsing Yi. The shopping complex is similar to Singapore Far East plaza. It is better to compare the price in HK cos some of the place dun sell cheap stuff, you have to hunt up and down for them. Time square at causeway bay is super crowded. I enjoy my time there. If you are going for nightlife (clubbing), can forget it. It is not so happening at Lan Kwai Fang, disappointed!!!

If you gals are planning to take the 3Day Tourist Unlimited Train ride, go to the airport service counter to get a bonus guide. You can get discount for the ride (HK$30 less/card). Disneyland is super expensive due to the summer holiday now (HK$350/entrance), if you are not having any package, not worth going. But it is up to individual. =)

fat

soudez - juz to chk which money changer in Chinatown you changed?

Blue Ginger - i agree with you that some shops next to Prudential have nice stuffs. The last trip i went, bot a pair of shoe only Sin $8.
Btw, the shopping complex at Kwai Fang Stn, is it big? Is it near the station? besides the shopping complex, is there any other shopping area there?