Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

sleepykoara

timid, don't feel bad if you can't join those free tour, because they may take you to a few tourist places, then will bring you to tohse 'jewel factories" or whatever factories and make you buy the overpriced stuff in the factory area. and look at your itinerary, too rush lar...

i was born in hong kong and still have many friends and relatives there, and i go there a few times each year. so i have seen so many of this "tour" when i am there.

Kysha, Waterloo Road is more residential mixed with retail street. Technically any HK-style cafe should be safe, but you have to make up your mind and place the order quick, as those places are not for you to hang around for long! there are many small restaurants in MongKok along Nathan Road and around the MRT area, be explorative!!!

timid,
We booked through Valuair before and they offered a complimentary half day tour. Initially, someone told us that we need to pay the money even if we do not join, but we asked another person from VA and were told that we didn't have to pay. In the end, we didn't sign up for the half day tour when we arrived at the airport and never paid a cent for a service which we didn't enjoy.

timid

huh [shockening]!!!!

can dont give the tipping meh???
i call my tour agency (x2) liao to ask abt this... they say thats a tipping.. for the transport at least unless i decided not to take the transport back to airport on my departure

timid

Hazy... why not you try other agency maybe like CTC instead of mine...
having ask so many pple for guidance then realise... [i got a conned feeling... weeping nw]

had extend a nite so nw a 5D 4N trip... can really make a better plan liao... any recomd?

think will skip Disney & ocean park since aunt & mum wont even wan try those rides

hello

Hi Hazy,

U can try Jetabout holiday.

I got quite a good deal from them.

Can see my posyting at another Hong Kong topic

dolly_gal

hi timid,

me and SIL is aso flying off on 24 june morning thru cathay. We also booked thru CTC , will be staying at Miramar. we will be in HK for 6D5N.In fact CTC recommend Stanford @ Mongkok which is 3 stars but i m not comfortable w 2 of us (gals) staying that area. We opt for Miramar (4 stars) with 50 difference only plus previously i stayed there before lor.

My gf stayed at Majestic before. while she was having her shower, a chinese lady cameby knocking on her room, her hubby went to ans, end up she was trying to sell her 'xtra' service to male hotel guests.

timid

Dolly_gal.... me booked thru SA tour...flying by Cathay on 24th early morning... [maybe we r on the same plane???]

Going on 5D4N, so will be back on Wed nite.Not really sure about the area... so we took Majestic since the offer choice of Dorset seaview sounds not that safe for ladies.(its just beside Temple St).

dolly_gal

Oic, i tik my flight is 8 plus in the morning. Actually got another earlier flight by United at 6am , too early liao

Cos i have CTC travel vouchers so i booked thru them.

Are u planning to go Shenzhen? i was tiking of going on our own but on the other hand, i was worried abt safety especially 2 gals travelling only.

Previously me n gf went HK (Shum Shui Po) 3 yrs back, a man was following us. I didn't realise, luckily my gf was alert, we quickly went into a busy shop so he stopped following us.

hazybreeze27

IF i want to book for 4D3N free & easy for 2pax, can recommend an agency with reasonable price. And anyone know wat will be the price like? (flight,hotel,tax) for 2pax flying around August.

timid

Dolly
Me too at 8am flight!!! so we are on the same plane!!! Cool!!!
Yap heard lots of negative things about ShenZhen & it is not advisable to visit since you have only 1 female campion.

I hope that i will have enough time for a Macau trip... looking forward to it
Keep me update & hopfully we can "see" each other on board

thensis

Can you advice mi on where to shop for good buy in Kowloon and Hongkong Island when you are back from your trip? Im going on 29th June.

yc_mw

Hi, any one has a list of HK Night Market?
The ones that I know are quite limited like:
- Ladies Street Night Market
- Temple Street Night Market
- Stanley Market
- Jardin Bazaar Night Market

Any more inputs from you guys?

timid

Back Finally!!!
the whole trip was super fun...
was out shopping the whole day & only back to hotel just to drop & lighten our load & carry on till late nights!!
its fun!!!

FA Yeun ST is highly recommended to visit!!!
got real cute bags to offer & so low price XP

obaesom

Hi Timid,

Dd you visit "CityGate" , next to Tung Chung MTR on your way to Lantau?

There are quite a few outlets in that mall, Espirit & Addidas etc?

timid

Xp.... i went to Kuan Tong Station where APM is...
heard so much about it... but yet abit disappointed there..

nope, didnt like it where the stuff are not what i expected to be... & mind its not big at all...
kind of smaller that i dream of...
so i went in & took less that half hour & head off back to Kowloon..

on Thursday.. the weather is not so good as its TYCOON 1 (level 1 i tik) so windy with rains...
so hope its better by today liao...
do be prepare that its really BIG sunny day there...
but of cos, i am glad it is so that i can go around easily compare to rainy day

dolly_gal

I m back last nite...It was tiring but fruitful trip cos we went to those wholesale outlet and managed to buy alot of clothings / bags and shoes

Yup, before the typhoon signal 1, it was really hot and sunny. i ve to shower 2-3 times a day when i have a chance to go back hotel to drop my things.

Walk until my feet so pain cos basically we shop and walk from 10am to almost midnite everyday.

The skincare there were aso much cheaper than in spore

hippie

hey dolly, which wholesale centre u went to? i went to the ones at sham sui po, alot of them oni sell wholesale, no retail...

My fave place is mong kok's argyle center, got alot of cheap clothings. And yes, Fa yuen st (prince edward there) is gd with lots of small shops selling cute bags/shoes/clothes at cheap prices..

dolly_gal

I went sham shui po and lai chi kok.

Lai chi kok meant more for those who want to buy and bring back to sell. usually minimum 3 pcs but i manage to choose 3 diff designs. Of coz, some will jus tell me in my face that they won't sell to me

hippie

Oic dollygal, 99% of the shops at sham sui po have the 'wholesale only, no retail'...

sweet malibu, if i'm not wrong, its exit D at mongkok station...

taurus

hi everyone, i just came back fr hk on sun nite. was there since wed afternoon. that very day when we arrived, they hv typhoon signal 1. but its juz raining only lah. not so much of a prob... the rest of the 4 days there were damn hot. when i came back, my colleagues even commented that i look more tan now.

everyday was shop, shop and shop. i went to the citygate at tung chung mtr while on my way to lantau island. they have a few factory outlet stores there like nike, adidas, giordano, esprit and u2. but surprisingly, prices are not as cheap as expected for nike and adidas. we did a price comparison. you can get even cheaper price at fa yuen street selling sportswear. so we didnt buy anything fr tung chung mtr. as for esprit, i bought quite a no. of items. besides goin to the esprit factory outlet at tung chung mtr, i also went to the one at tshimshatshi, next to kowloon hotel. just now lunch time, went to esprit shop and compare the price. the things at hk is indeed cheaper by about $20-$50.

as for those pasar malam like ladies street and temple street, i think you guys can forget abt it. nowadays, ladies street nothing to buy liao and their attitude sucks!! and bargaining is tough also.

i shop mainly from esprit, giordano, bossini etc... ya, not to forget, you guys DEFINITELY MUST TRY the claypot rice at 19, Temple street. Xing Ji Claypot Rice. their claypot rice is fantastic. i went there for my dinner for 2 nites.

as for biscuits, i bought some wife biscuits from rong hua and some almond flakes from mei xin confectionery. you guys must definitely try the almond flakes from mei xin. its very nice.

hippie

hi taurus,
on the contrary, i find ladies mkt & temple st got quite alot of stuff to buy leh...

There's 1 store at the very front (Prince Edward MTR Fa Yuen St there) selling those trendy lace taiwanese style tops at HK$20 each & their dresses are like HK$50 each! I bot a couple of their tops...

ANd there are alot of trendy bags going for less than HK$200, some as low as HK$100 or less. After some bargaining, the prices can be reduced. FYI, i bargained in Chinese as I do not knw hw to speak cantonese.

Trendy sunglasses too, i bot 2 for HK$60, can be cheaper if i knw hw to speak cantonese.

mist

looks like you have good buys... hmm, me going HK 22/7 leh.... still got typhoon huh??

btw, seems like the Fa yuen st is a place i cannot miss out for shopping hor? i better mark down in my diary..

how abt any good and cheap place for eating?

dottyback

hi ppl

i juz got back from hkg laz midnite hehe

i belif the best buys 4 me were 7 pairs (5 adults n 2 kids) of adidas n a few sports tanks at abt HKD1200 which is abt SGD250 the warehouse is outta city but accessible by MTR

i oso din manage 2 get anyting from ladies mkt, its juz like another bkk mkt 2 me

i oso got a few ofc suits n shirts...the cutting is 2 die 4 n they r not actually cheap

dottyback

hi SingTel

the adidas warehouse i went 2 is in Kwun Tong, its out of the city area n in the industrial area, but its accessible by MTR so u drop at Kwun Tong station n exit B3

full add is Unit H, 11 floor, Phase 2, Yi Fat Ind Bldg, 73-75 Hoi Yuen Rd, opens from 11am-730pm

the whole bldg is full of diff brands of stuffs so u can actually chk out the directory at the 1st flr..its really a factory-like area so dun freak out kekeke nike is at the same bldg as well

oh n while u r at Kwun Tong, u can go 2 the APM mall 4 shopping hehe

mist

hi serene,

my 1st time to HK, glad to hear you have few places to recommend for makan... can share?

dottyback

hi mist

u can go 2 æ± è®° 4 their famous wanton mee, they serve all sorts of noodles n dumplings n they r not ex, its juz across times square, juz look up 4 their big signboard coz i actually missed it the 1st time i went..only found it the 2nd time i was at times square kekeke

u can oso go 2 连香 at Central MTR exit D2, 160-164 wellington rd, its a traditional push cart dimsum teahouse n its always packed, u will probably haf 2 share tables wif any1 n every1 hehe

dolly_gal

Anyone going HK next mth, can help to get DHC products? i am their member which can enjoys 10% off. DHC is similar to Fancl, another jap brand...

dottyback

Np Singtel

rem 2 chk out causeway bay area...i bot most of my stuffs there...oso chk out pacific plc (admiralty mtr) n the miramar shopping centre stretch kekeke

happy shopping!

taurus

hi anyone goin HK soon? i hv some bal HK dollar notes from my recent trip. very good rate as i changed few thousand dollars therefore money changer give me very gd rate. anyone interested can email me to [email protected]

miu

hi serene,

how's the weather in HK?? I look at the weather forecast, all forcasted scattered thunderstorms. Very depressing leh.

Can you recommended any good eating places in Mongkok?

dottyback

Hi Miu

the temperature is similar 2 SG but its very dry so rem 2 drink lotsa water but there were rains often but short n fast 1s..more like drizzle..juz bring a small brolly whereever u go..trust me..it will b useful keke

Mongkok hmmm ladies mkt side got alot of those small coffeeshhops....i dun haf the card wif me now but i was eating at tis place dat serves simple food but yummy keke they haf tis meat (pork/beef) wif rice n some gravy plus some giam cai..sumting simple but gd! every1 seems 2 b ordering dat in the shop..i'll let u noe the add if i rem 2 post 2nite

oh...n if u wan...theres actually a stall there..dat sells chou dou fu!

adelene

I'm planning a short trip to HK end of the month,
Will be staying at prudential hotel, may I know which flight is cheaper? Or I have to book through agency?

hi blue ginger,

sia can be cheaper also.. it all depends on what is on promo at the point u check and for the period you are going..there is no fixed one.. even cathay can be cheaper than jetstar

so i suggest you check the prices of some agencies, jetstar, cathay, zuji etc...

miu

Serene,

Thanks for your advises. Yes, pls do post more.

I am keen to go to the warehouse which you mentioned. Is it really worth gg? Don't need to bulk purchase rite?

miu

oh ya...for those who are gg to HK, the exchange these 2 days are very good. Can change some 1st.

dottyback

Miu, i duno 4 u lah..but i find the sneakers r the best buys kekkee ladies sportswear not alot tho n not many sizes available, guys will haf more

all the 7 pairs i bot were less than HKD200 each leh...of coz the colours n sizes oso limited..the next higher range is less than HKD400 which is still cheaper than SG tho

i'm still looking 4 the eating house namecard :p