Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

miu

hi schnauzie,

you book thru an agency or you book the air-tic & hotel separately. I am planning for a trip in July. Hoping to get the best deal.

schnauzie

Hihih i book separately coz the travel agency is charging me a service fee of $20/pax
Im flying in early august and stayin at Stanford Mongkok hotel. The room is $90/night ;)
just need to find your own transport to hotel.

Hi schnauzie
U can buy the 3 days MRT card which include 2 airport express transfer . The card cost HK 220.00 with a HK50.00 deposit

schnauzie
Yes, the 3 DAYS card is unlimited rides. U can also take to Disney land, which cost HK50.00 for single trip.

estben

I am travelling to HKG this coming July5-9 travel by Cathay Pacific at S$599 staying at hotel concourse. Kindly share where to shop for real nice stuff......... So looking forward to our trip..

Hi schnauzie
Yes, u can purchase the ticket from the airport.
BTW, when u are approaching the arrival gate, will hv a HK tourism counter and there is a brochure which offered 5% discount on the purchase ticket price and many others discount too.

madeinjapan

Hello Esther,
Have a nice trip.
Remember to try the dessert at the airport " Xu liu San".. the mango dessert is very delicious!!
hehehe!

Kim,
On my departure day, i also purposely went to Arrival hall to have the Jin Zhi Yu Lu mango dessert before coming back to spore...kee kee

Esther,
For night viewing, u can opt to go to THE PEAK. U have to take train to central (Zhong Huan), and take bus 15 to THE PEAK, journey is abt 20 min and cost HK9.20 for one way. Up there, u can admire the nice scenary of HK and saw those rich ppl house...so big !!!

For shopping, basically i found that only Giordano, Baleno and Bossini are cheap there...Those fashion clothing price are quite steep.

If u like branded clothing - Tsium Sha Jiu

Those normal clothing are - Jorden, Mongkok and Wa Jiao.

If u purchase the tourist ticket, u may opt to go to Disney land, cos there one way cost HK50.00. Before you stop @ disney land, u can opt to go to "Qing Yi" for shopping too.

Below is the pricing for disney land @ HK
371967.jpg

taurus

hi minssy, timid, jenn

thanks for all your advice... most likely will choose shamrock hotel. room small is still ok cos most of the time will be outside shopping. as long as the hotel location is good i don't mind.

hopefully i can buy lots of thing this trip...

anyone been to GOD? heard they sell household stuff. is the prices ex?

taurus
Well, you had make the right choice. Basically we spend very little time in the hotel. After shopping, u will doze off fast on the bed lao... the rest cant be bother lao...kee kee . However, just to tell you the size of the queen bedroom is smaller than 2 single bed room. Up to you to choose lor.

Most important, enjoy your trip there.

madeinjapan

Hi Jenn,
Did u order the one tat is HK18 one? Forget the name, the dessert in cup on the table flip chart. the bottom is sago, second layer is mango top layer is milk blend someting like tat. I tell you, after i came back i still think of eating the dessert loh
so so so delicious!! i rate 5 STARS

rm09

Hi Taurus

I can answer u on GOD. Just came back from HK last week. Yes the stuff r so exp. Some r quite cute & unique lah. Couldn't buy anything cept small items

Hi Kim,
Yeah..that is the one. Is coconut milk actually. In spore also have one xu lu shan @ international plaza, but is expensive.
Further, the feel is different lor compared dining in HK...kee kee

madeinjapan

Hi RM,
I oso went G.O.D.shop at harbour
Yah stuff there are exp.. almost wanted to buy the curtian (Noran) back. cos $40 when convert to Sing..wahhh so exp lo in the end didnt buy liao ..
372311.gif

There are alot of double "Xi" stuffs in G.O.D.
The stuffs there is somehow like Singapore 'Lifeshop'

Hi Jenn,
Oh so is coconut milk! haha . Emm..I thought The Singapore xu liu san close down already. I din try Singapore one.

schnauzie

GOD expensivE? hmm then where else can we go to find house stuff? how r the double "xi" stuff? I saw the sweater on website..looks cute
wat can we buy in GOD?

yc_mw

Hi Ladies, Need ur help here. I'm goin to HK in Aug. Am currently tore between staying in Harbour Plaza Metreopolis & Stanford Hillview. Can anupne pls advise on which is a better choice in terms of location. Thanks so much!

dear99

hi Kim!

i heard dat GOD got lot of nice stuff, whr is e place located?? i'm gg in mid Aug wif Jetstar..

Schnauzie: can i hav e website add?

thks!!!

hippie

hey, any kind soul can help?

I've got 2 addresses for the Esprit outlet, which is the current/correct one?

1. G/F Kai Seng Commercial Centre
4-6 Hancow Rd
TST, Kowloon

2. Basement 2, Palace Mall
Salisbury Rd
TST, Kowloon

lollypop24

Hi, anyone can tel me how to get to Lamma Island in HK, recently watch a HK serial which converted in English means "not easy to be a woman " one of the latest serial, is v v nice! they went to shoot partly at Lamma Island, hence thot of visiting there in Sept, since i will be there for a week. Pls advice. Thanks

taurus

hi jenn,

may i know which agency you book wif for your recent hk trip? cos i went to check most of the travel agency but unfortunately they dun do shamrock hotel. only Five Stars Travel have shamrock hotel. the rest of the agency do mostly kimberly or majestic.

taurus

hi schnauzie,

you goin hk in aug via jetstar? how much do you pay for your trip? does it include accomodation or you got to book accomodation separately? not sure how cheap is jetstar. i only check the price for cathay. can't decide whether to go via jetstar or cathay.

hi hippie

i'm not sure abt 2nd one thou! the address i got is the 1st wan and i went that area to shop and by chance i found it so tt's why i know is def there

miu

anyone travel from HK to Macau? Can provide some directions on how to go to Macau?

Taurus,
You jus missed JetStar promo to HK for travel in the mth of Aug. Return trip inclusive of tax is abt $230+ per pax.

I have been checking cos planning a trip to HK in July. Cathay is abt $350 per pax exclusive of tax rite?

Miu
Yes, i had travel to Macau. First, u need to take MRT and alight at Tsium Sha Tsui, and walk to China Ferry Terminal 2nd floor to purchase the ferry ticket. The earliest ferry is 7.00am. The ferry ticket will cost HK306 by First Ferry

http://www.macautourism.gov.mo/english/getting_to_macau_en.phtml

TO MACAU FROM HONG KONG
Tourists can find quite a number of jetfoils and Catamarans available, run by TurboJET or First Ferry, which differ in speed, comfort and price.

The most rapid are the vessels of the TurboJET. {For inquiries call Macau (853) 7907039 or Hong Kong (852) 28593333. For telephone bookings, call Hong Kong (852) 29216688. You can also visit the website: http://www.turbojet.com.hk}.

Journeys will take one hour from Hong Kong to Macau and vice versa operating almost 24 hours. Drinks and snacks are available on board. The ticket prices range from HK$141 in Economy class on weekdays day service to HK$176 Economy class for night service. Tickets in Super class range from HK$243 to HK$275, VIP cabins for 4 to 6 persons are available at prices from HK$972 to HK$1,650. Trips are made between the Hong Kong Ferry Terminal (located in the Shun Tak Centre at Sheung Wan) and the Macau Ferry Terminal (located in the Outer Harbour). For senior citizens (60 years old or above) and children (under 12 years old), there is a HK$15 discount per ticket.

Economy class passenger is allowed to carry on board, free of charge, one piece of luggage not exceeding 20 kg in weight and for Super class passenger not exceeding 30 kg. Please note that the sum of length, width and height of the luggage may not exceed 158 cm (62 inches).

Catamarans from the First Ferry offer roundtrip sailings to and from Macau and Kowloon, arriving at the China (HK) Ferry Terminal in Tsim Sha Tsui. The journey takes about 70 minutes. The ticket price ranges from HK$140 to HK$275. For details, please call Hong Kong (852) 2516-9581 or Macau (853) 726301. You can also visit the website: http://www.nwff.com.hk.

schnauzie

taurus,
$567 flying with jetstar (including tax) and 5 nights hotel stay.
Price do not include breakfast and airport transfer. think i will take the airport shuttle service

miu

hi jenn,

Thanks for your very detailed directions!!

Any interesting places in Macau to recommend?

How much you paid for your HK trip?

miu

hi Schnauzie,

Which website did you book Stanford. I am considering there cos hubby prefer to stay near Mongkok?

Miu
I paid $613 for my HK trip for 4D3N, exclude the ferry ticket to macau

In macau, the famous place is the DA SHAN BA...and the rose church, the rest, u just need to shop around, however, do take note that in macau, there hv macau currency, but u can also used HK currency which is in par. But in shopping centre, there will be a convertion in exchange rate.

lollypop24

Hi Sassybride :
Thanks for your advice.
Do u mean we have to take MTR to Central, than take ferry from there ? Can I know which exit to go from Central ? cos I know there are many exits points in HK MTR. Will try the seafood
thanks. BTW, any idea on the ferry fares ?

madeinjapan

Hi Miu,
I can intro u where to go around MACAU ..
hee hee.. any one interested can take note too.
U MUST try their " Zhu Pa Bao" in Macau..really nice! I tried it at this coffee shop call "Kong Zai Ji" within walking distance from our hotel (Royal Hotel),,it is grill with herbs and really taste yummy.Eat it for breakfast for 2 days! When i was in HK, i oso tried thier "zhu pa bao" but thiers taste different. I stil prefer Macau's.
Then, "Da San Ba, St Paulo Company of Jesus Square " is a mus to visit lo.
Oso we visited the oldest casino in Macau - Casino Lisboa. Now they open a new one call - Sands.
Visited one mini chinese restaurent sell delicious food, it is call; Huang Guan Xiao Chu. Their crab are so fresh and they sell hand made noodles with homemade chilli shrimp paste.
Remember to brin home some Almond cookies with shredded Pork. Their dim sum oso taste nice leh.
There is oni 1 shopping complex - NEW YAOHAN.

These are all i have tried and been. The time when we went, was oni 10 degree +- very cool but i love Macau loh..quite convenient to walk around n taste lots of good food.
375556.jpg
375557.jpg

taurus

hi jenn n schnauzie,

i hv book my hk tour finally!! staying at shamrock hotel and fly via cathay. i do a price comparison between jetstar and cathay and the price is difference by only $40. thats why in the end i choose cathay.

can't wait till end of the month for my shopping spree...

got to start planning my itenary liao.

Hi taurus
I agreed that jetstar also not that cheap after all, further just $40 different, but cathay flights seats and meals shld be much beta and comfty.

Njoy your trip

miu

hi kim,
Thanks for your recommendation. Will definitely try the Zhu Pa Bao...

Taurus,
Congrats! For that small amt of price difference, Cathay is beta. How many days are you going?