Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

fat

Tiarad - when are you planning to go HK coz I will be going in May and will be staying at Shamrock so can update you once Im back.

tiarad

Hi Ka

Me going in early May too...
Guess...will be staying at Shamrock..
Thanks so much.

tiarad

Hi Hi

Actually... me going to Macau too.. anyone noes if i need to change to Macau currency? I only changed HK$... wonder can i use HK$ when i travel taxi, etc...?? Thanks

fat

tiarad - so since you going earlier than me...well maybe you can update me when you come back instead. kekeke.....

Hmmm....i tot Macau can accept HK currencies too?

i'm back!! wanna ask, me forgot to do the refund for the tourist card, do u think still can refund if i can manage to ask someone to do it for me?

madeinjapan

Hi Macau is a nice place! I went there in March. Tat period was soooo cooling, 10 C oni!!
Visited mani plcs . I was there for 4 days.
Love the food there too..yummy delicious really.
I can intro you all good food let me know if u all interested!

365501.gif

hi sweetheart,

how was your trip? did you spend alot?

you are talking abt the MTR travel card? shd be able to but how much is there? u wanna go thru the trouble of getting someone to do it ah?

hi minssy

spend wat i changed and sign card for esprit purchases! left little only

was GD! enjoyable cos 1st time with my girl mah.

i got 2 cards, hubby and mine, so it will be HK100 so abt SG 20, if someone willing, then i wld like to cos easy to change back, can be done at the airport

Anyone going soon and willing to do it for me?

eowyna

hi minssy

200-300 is not ex.. hotel in hk is quite ex.. during high demand, hotels in TST can cost between 400-600 per nite.

where is langham? next trip to Hk, i wana try tat hotel..

hi eowyna,

well i guess it can be a little ex to some tourists in general
. in fact, if i am on a normal budget tour, i will not pick langham place.. hee..

langham place is in mongkok.

schnauzie

planning for my first trip to HK. Doing a 5D4N but my program is so full. Need all the expert advice:

Day 1:
Arrival
Walk around TST area
Night go to The Peak and LKF

Day 2:
Wang Da Xian
Dim sum brunch
shopping in kowloon area (espirit warehouse, kimerly rd, granville rd)
Night go temple street

Day3:
Mornin go lantau island to see giant buddha
Back to Mongkok for lunch
shop mongkok till night! fa yuen st, wang jiao zhong xin, ladies street

Day4:
Morning do wat?
After lunch, go stanley market
Repulse Bay
Shop around causeay bay at night?

day5:
foodie shopping
home sweet home

I don seem to have time to go time square and space warehouse!which places close late? can anyone please comment on my itinerary? shld i try to go to all the attractions or are there any that I can miss? Should I go to Jumbo?

precious_02

Hi Kim,

I'm actually quite keen to go Macau but was a bit worry abt the security over there....
u did F&E? I was tinking gg for 3D2N over the wkend.. any recommendation where is the place must go and food to eat and which hotel did u stay??

Thanks a lot..

gobinggo

Hello Precious,

I work in HK and go Macau at times. No problems with the security there...

You should try the portugeese food while you are in Macau.

A nice hotel to stay, resort style, is Westin resort.... Very nice but will be on the pricey side.

gobinggo

Schnauzie,

I personally don't recommend Jumbo. I went there with FH when we just came to HK. The service was bad, the decor was tacky and the food okay. But saying that, my brother-in-law went too and had terrific reviews. Cafe Deco, serving international cusine, the same restaurant found on the Peak, is on the top floor of Jumbo. Worth a try...

Have u tried the night cruise to catch the night skyline of Hongkong? Very nice.... Can catch it at Star Ferry, think it goes for one hour or 1.5 hours.

Bing

precious_02

Hi Bing,

Thanks for your reply..
Any suggestion which place is a must go and beside Westin resort any other hotel recommendations?

madeinjapan

Hi Funbabe n Precious 02,
I was there this yr March when my future hubby went there for business trip.
Where u all staying? if u stay nearby the hotel i stay (Royal Hotel) then i can recoment you a restaurent tat sell very nice dishes. the price is not very cheap but acceptable lah. Seafood is fresh. they sell local chilli prawn paste!! yum yum to go wth wanton homemade noodle!

Actually MACAU is a very convenient plc to walk around. During the time my future hubby go work ,i even try take bus around plc (short distance) to explore the plc myself.
It is abit dangerous for a lady but i try reach hotel b4 sky turn dark. Alot of plc is withing walking distance if u read maps well. Maybe i post some Macua photos nextime? heheh

There is oni 1 shopping Mall call NEW YAOHAN..if you wan to shop but is still expensive convert to Sing lo.

Casino is really eye opening over there !!
Maybe the period i go very cooling (10C) so wherevr we go is nice..haha
MACUA ruins of St Paul, mus visit.
If u go t Penha church, from there u can see the Macau tower. very nice scenery.
Portugese egg tart is so fresh n delicious over there, different from wat u eat in Singapore!

As for the Address, some written in Chinese, maybe u all give me your email address i email over?

oh yah, 1 thing, the taxi driver drive quite racklessly one. same like HK. haiz...

precious_02

Hi Kim,

can email me the address??? [email protected]
Thanks a lot..

Is Royal hotel veri central?? which other hotel do you recommend?

Do they use HK currency over there??

Is the East meet west place worth to visit?

madeinjapan

Ok,i will send u mail.but not so soon, maybe next week? i need search the info :p email u as soon as i sort out..K?

Oni when u go casino they use HK $$..i not so sure about other plc. so far the plc we go they accept Macau $$.

Worth or not worth depends on individual lor. But i feel is worth
368211.gif

hi thomson,

luxury hotel mah.. i support u staying there. hahah. but try to spend more time using the hotel facilities cos its really very nice
afterall, you pay so much and if you dun enjoy, its a lugi mah :p

hi schnauzie,

for day 4, you can go stanley in the morning and leave for repulse in the noon or something. if you prefer to go stanley after lunch, then go times square in the morning?

your itinerary seems abit tight... u gotta play by ear.. with so much to see see look look in hong kong, it could be quite hard to follow the itinerary

tiarad

Hi KA

Me just back from HK... stay in shamrock hotel..very convenient as just outside MTR... hotel room is small but ok lah..but the hotel reception is very small.. BP international & YMCA looks better...As the night shopping is in Mongkok(Ladies Mkt)... i would recommend to stay near Mongkok or Yamautei area.. coz if you stay near Jordon... u have to take MTR everyday to Mongkok to shop..so quite troublesome!!

tiarad

Anyone join our local tour agency Free 1 day shenzhen tour? Coz i join them and they bring us to visit a place where they sell chinese herbs like dong chong xia cao and eat their medicine... anyone tried buying from them?

kurera

Tiarad actually it all depends wheere you want to your shopping. My usual regular shopping area is around tsim shan tsui think jordan is fine lor... after shopping at tsim sha tsui area...throw the stuff back to shamrock hotel than head to mongkok..

Think hkg is all about walking la...be prepared to walk distance lor.

Shenzhen I can't comment cos I go on my own and it was long time back...nowdays is attacks on kowloon and hkg island...;p

madeinjapan

Wonder if you all know the 'Che zhai mee' "chu qian yi tin noodle" in HK? Recently jus came bac from HK, went there eat again. yum yum. And there is a dessert call ' Xu Liu San' (can find at HK international airport)..very delicious lor, mainly fruits like mango n strawberries..some mix with harmesh or bird nest, some with sago. Price range around HK 18 - HK30.heehee.
One thing, this 2nd time i go, the ppl at ladies market are still damn rude. they will even pull u in their stall n pester u to buy their stuffs..
if you dun buy or consider, they will use cantonese to say nasty words. The bargain is even worst, they can ask you to go away if you start request a small discount.. Urggg.

hi kim,

i second 'chu qian yi ding'. fantastic!!!! i went there twice! hee...

xu liu shan is quite everywhere in mongkok & tst... btw, dun go to the singapore xu liu shan cos it sucks like crap. totally no fight to the hong kong one..

trixter

For me I had a good time shopping at their factory outlets!! My friend's BF bought 2 big bags for adidas clothings back at very very cheap prices. I know the goods are genuine because I am in this trade.

So shoppers out there - I think if you visit HK you should try the factory outlet shopping!!

rm09

hey trixter

care to share where the factory outlets are? been to HK many times but still dunno where these outlets are located? :p

trixter

*Adidas, 1st Floor, Flat G Kasier Estate, Phase 2 Man Yue Street Hung Hom, Kowloon. Tel: 2364 9122 Fax: 23648619 Mon - Sun 10:00am - 6:30pm 5C Bus from Star Ferry. Easier to take a taxi (HK$40 from Star Ferry Kowloon). Footwear, clothing., Factory prices. Staff told me discount is only 30% off normal retail prices and clothing is same as retail!.
*Diane Freis, 4th Floor Unit B Kaiser Estate Phase 1, 41 Man Yue Street, Hung Hom, Kowloon. Tel: 23621760 Fax: 23410000 Mon-Sat 9.30am-6.30pm Closed Sun & Bank hols. 5C Bus from Star Ferry. Easier to take a taxi (HK$40 from Star Ferry Kowloon). If you like Diane Freis, then this is a great place. I didn't think so - seemed over-priced although selection is huge. This and the other 'outlets' in this factory seem to be geared for tourists.
*Dorfit Ltd., Rm 601, 6th Floor, Mary Building, 71-77 Peking Road Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. Tel: 23121013 Fax: 27219000 Daily 9am-7pm Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. Exit Hyatt Regency. Building opposite Hyatt, next to Delaney's Irish Pub (drop in for a well-deserved beer and good pub grub). Men's, ladies', children's good quality knitwear in cashmere, lambswool, cotton etc. Pashminas and accessories. Reasonable prices - very good selection. Another outlet in Pedder Building.- 6th Floor.
*Esprit Outlet P217-220, Basement 2, Palace Mall, Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Open: M-F 11.00-21.00 Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Exit Sheraton Hotel. Opposite Sheraton, next to Space Museum. Esprit Ladieswear, kidswear, some home linens, shoes, bags. Excellent prices. Up to 90% off.
*Evelyn B Fashion OutletRm 303 3rd Floor Seabird House22-28 Wyndham Street, Central , Hong Kong Tel: 28698535 Open Mon-Sat 10.30-6.30 Central MTR. Exit Pedder Street. Turn right out of statn exit. Cross street towards Marks and Sppencer, turn to the right and Wyndham Street is on your left. Start climbing, Seabird House is on left halfway up hill. European imports fill this company's other branch (nearby in Lan Kwai Fong), and caters to expats and locals who live in HK. This branch is their outlet and has some great sales.
*Esprit Outlet, P103, Basement 1, Palace Mall, Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong Telephone : 2366 0366 Open: M-F 11.00-21.00 Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Exit Sheraton Hotel. Opposite Shearton, next to Space Museum. Esprit Menswear. Up to 90% off.
*Joyce Warehouse, 21/F, Horizon Plaza, Lee Nam Road, Ap Lei Chau, Hong Kong Telephone : 2814 8313 Mon Closed Tue - Sat 10:00 - 18:00 Public holiday 12:00 - 18:00 Transportation : I'm not sure of the bus to get there, but a Taxi via Aberdeen tunnel from Central around HK$70. There may be a shuttle bus laid on by the building - there are many homeware/antique outlets here. Upmarket designer label outlet. Armani, Anna Sui, Vivienne Westwood. Men and women's clothing and accessories. Accept credit cards.
*New Euro, Room D, 1st Floor, Kee Shing Centre, 74-76 Kimberley Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. Tel: 23141061 Fax: 23141374 Mon-Sat 10am-6pm Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. Exit Kimberley Road. Walk to nearly end of Kimberley Road - building on right hand side. Italian good quality shoes and bags. This company imports for sale to stores in Asia. Excellent prices and wonderfully friendly staff.
*Pedder Building, 12 Pedder Street, Central, Hong Kong. Nearly all floors have 'outlet' shops. Go to top floor in lift and walk down! 11.00am - 8.00pm Central MTR - Exit Pedder Street and it's next to station exit on your right. Same Building as Shanghai Tang Store. Look hard for the bargains - some prices are expensive, but a good variety of designer shops in this building. You probably need 2-3 hours. Reasonable cafe on 1st Floor.
*Pot Pourri Fashion (2 locations), 1302, 22 Yee Wo St (entry from Jardine's Bazaar), Causeway Bay, Hong Kong. Tel 25766271 Open: Mon-Sat 10am-7pm Sun & Pub Hols 12noon to 5pm MTR to Causeway Bay. Exit Jardine's Bazaar, cross street and walk down street where all minibuses are lned up. 200 yards down street on left (hidden entrance to new building) Good labels. Not cheap but good quality. Anne Klein, Maxmara, Ellen Tracy. V. friendly place.
*Pot Pourri Fashion (2 locations), 16 Wyndham Street 5th Floor, Wong Chung Ming Commercial Bldg, Central. Tel: 2526 6327 Fax: 2973 0083 Open Mon-Sat 10am-8pm Sun & Pub hols 1pm to 6pm Central MTR Exit Landmark or Pedder St. Good labels. Not cheap but good quality. Anne Klein, Maxmara, Ellen Tracy.
*Vigo Fashion (2 locations), 25/F Siki Centre, 23 Jardine's Bazaar, Causeway Ba, Hong Kong. Tel 2576 9106 Fax 25765385. Open Mon-Sat 10am-7pm. Sun closed. MTR to Causeway Bay. Exit Jardine's Bazaar, cross street and walk down street where all minibuses are lned up. 100 yards down street on right in new building. Country Road, Jaegar and other good labels. Jaegar jacket US$120. Not cheap.
*Vigo Fashions (2 locations) Room 601 Tern Commercial Building, 39 Granville Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. Tel 27216239 Fax:23119913. Open: Mon-Sat 10am-7pm. Sun closed. MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui. Exit Granville Road. Country Road, Jaegar and other good labels. Jaegar jacket US$120. Not cheap.
Dickson Warehouse, 417-418, Phase 1, New Town Plaza, Shatin, New Territories. Telephone : 2681 1882 Opening hours : Mon - Fri 11:00 - 21:00 Sat & Sun 10:00 - 22:00 Take KCR to Shatin which brings you to New Town Plaza Brooks Brothers Charles Jourdan Coach Karl Lagerfeld Kenneth Cole Polo Ralph Lauren Polo Sports St. Dupont Prices are up to 80% off.
Nike Factory Outlet, Unit G, 8/F, Yip Fat Factory Building, Phase II, 73-75 Hoi Yuen Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon Tel: 2172 7938 Open : Mon - Sat 11:00 - 19:00 Sun & Pub. Hols 12:00 - 18:00 Take MTR to Kwun Tong. Exit B3, turn right. Footwear, clothing.Factory prices - staff say this is around 50% discount off retail prices. (Have had reports of disappointment from some people who have been here)

trixter

hi all..aiya, I shouldne paste the file above...its so long and messy!!

Check this instead

I've only visited nike, adidas and Esprit, didnt have time to visit the rest.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
HK fty outlets
HK FTY OUTLETS FULL LIST.doc (31.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

trixter

I think the esprit opp Sheraton hotel is a must visit! It is 3-4 floors so theres a lot of variety... I got this file after doing a search on the internet so you may want to try searching from the web for latest shops(mine was done 2 years ago)! Happy shopping..

Just some personal thoughts to share:
- Budget airlines may not be the cheapest. Can try searching for discounts/promo from the main airlines. I got my pair of tickets from Cathy and it is cheaper than the budget carriers!

- Did you check out this website http://www.discoverhongkong.com/login.html

I got my maps from there and they are really useful cos the maps cover all the small streets so we could check out each and every "shopping street" haha.. they even highlight the popular eating and shopping streets so you may want to check it out.

I have saved all the maps in a zip file so if you want I can fwd it to you. email to me at [email protected]

- I stayed at Prudential Hotel (above Jordan station), no regrets. Fantastic location and although it is not a 4-5* quality, it is still consider very clean and comfortable.

have a good trip pple!

taurus

hi, anyone stay in Shamrock Hotel before? Any comments? Me got to book fast as the seats are limited. Thought of taking Shamrock Hotel but not all travel agency have tis hotel. Is it this hotel not good? Can anyone give advice?

timid

Taurus

Found this site with some useful information regard to the hotels in Hong Kong... (happen to find this while doing research for my June trip)

http://www.kktravel.com/
(hope you can understand chinese)

Which Travel Agency are you getting??
Me thinking of getting from Asia Pacific...
seems like the cheapest i can find already beside CTC....
Me getting YMCA instead...

Hi taurus
I had stayed in Shamrock Hotel, me just returned on 15 May. The hotel location is great, just 1 min away from Jordan MRT, but the hotel room is very very small, but still quite cosy.

tiarad

So anyone join the free shenzhen tour provided by singapore tour agency before? Did they bring you to a chinese medical place where they sell dong chong xia cao... and then they also have chinese sinseh to see your health? Coz i bought their medicine... dun noe gd anot!!?? Scare Scare... hee.. got to eat 6 mths!!! Anyone oso tried their medicine?