Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

hi tweety

As what minssy mentioned, it is....went there the 1st time i went HK. Going there soon with my family.

hi minssy
see u again

not_firmed

HI Minssy and sweetheart..

Thanks alot for the information..
Btw, do u know the hotel named New world?? is there alot of shopping centre n makan place ard there??

Do u know the weather now?? gg tommor.. hehe.. thks

hee minssy

Going there this weekend lah, going to enjoy myself with my family.

hi tweety

looking at my map, New Wld is located at the outskirts of Tsim Shat Sui. I'm not tt familar, have to check with minssy.

Mine is a F&E pkg with TA, Cathey airlines and staying in Royal Plaza htl with Disneyland tics thrown in. Going to bring my girl there so my shopping time wont be that much.......

hi sweetheart,

oh! i thought you went already
so how much have you changed? keke...

hi tweety,

new world ah? ok lah.. walking distance to TST MTR and the harbour. then you can just walk to the harbour and take the ferry to HK island.. hahah. try the ferry at least once even though you can take the train. the ferry was so happening that i took most of the times when i cross over. hahhah.

TST area got quite a few stuff.. got sogo, and of cos all the smaller lanes between TST & mongkok.

weather ah? think its quite cool.. dun think its that hot... u may wanna bring cardi in case you are the 'scared cold' type like me. ahhahah

coyote

Anyone can advise me is deluxe harbour plaza resort city (at the heart of Tin Shui Wai) consider a convenient location? And where are all the shopping malls located? Thanks.

thomsonbride

Hi Sally >> Thanks for your reply. What do you mean by the room is so so only?

Hi minssy >> Thanks for your reply too. When was the last time you stayed at Prudential Hotel? I stayed at Eaton Hotel back in 2002. Not too bad but room abit small. Thought of trying different hotel this time round. Any suggestions? Thanks!

hi thomson bride,

it was just end of last year.

something different? if you have the budget, go for langham. its freaking fantastic!

not_firmed

Minssy..
take the ferry?? how much per trip ha?? wah.. the place sounds ok hor.. hehe..

I think i'll bring a jacket in case.. thks ya..

Sweetheart.. u mean u bring $700+ for u alone or with yr family?? is it consider enough for 2 persons??

hi tweety

Haiz....ya lor, now come to think of it, like $700 not enough for 2A1C for 4D3N, so now got to do some calculations before deciding whether to change more

Shld take the ferry, more fun than train. I had a nice experience

not_firmed

Sweetheart... I think we need to change 1k for 2 adults ba.. or change $800 then bring extra sing $ to change there in case not enough..

Do u know how much a trip cost for ferry???

fat

Hello...

For those going to visit the wax museum is call Mdm Tussards at the Peak but i think its still under renovation but maybe can chk it out again. My last trip there in Nov 05 is still under reno

I stayed Prudential every trip to HK...location & convenience is excellent thou i have to agree the room is pretty small but anyway..the room is for us to sleep only coz majority of your time is shopping so shld not be an issue.

Will be going there again next mth but this time not staying Prudential oredi coz fully booked so will be staying in Shamrock instead. So anyone have any comments for this hotel?

hi sweetheart,

yah may or maynot.. but with disney land, you may cos things there are not cheap
. also you may buy back some nice hong kong goodies and the $700 sure cannot cover.. keke..

i strongly encourage u to change more. simply bcos things in HK are not that cheap.

hi tweety,

its HK$1.70 for the lower deck and HK$2.50 for upper deck. damn happening. hahahahah.

$700 for 2 is probably ok.. quite sufficient if you dun over spend on lotsa expensive eating or excessive shopping.

tiarad

Anyone knows the itinerary of the half day city tour (Repluse Bay, Abeerdeen, Victoria Peak, etc)? My travel agent say we will be going up by bus to half way of Victoria Peak only. Is it true? They don't bring us up to the top?

And how about the complimentary Shenzhen Day tour? Does anyone know what time they will release us at Shenzhen? Mine have a free lunch.. so was wondering after the lunch.. can we go back to Hongkong if we want by KCR or do we have to stay in Shenzhen until certain time.. then can go back hongkong? Coz me wanted to go to the Wishing Tree at Tseun Wan after the free Shenzhen day tour.

Anyone tried before the above 2 itineraries? Can help to advise?

tweety, minssy....

Ya, come to think of it, not really enough....Can u believe it, i alrdy got things that i wanna to buy at Disneyland so dont think $700 can cover much for me, haha!

hi tiarad

Cant help u much cos not joining the tour

hi tiarad,

suggest you skip the 'free tour' cos its a waste of time & money. haahhah. they will bring you to silly shops and make you spend money. u shd go to your desired places on your own cos there is so much to explore in hk!

hi sweetheart,

of cos not that enough lah.. hee.. (ok i am encouraging you to spend more. keke). for me, we signed card of our esprit, muji, some goodie foods purchases and some makan.. in any case, credit card will be handy for some of the purchases in 'reputable & steady' place..

hi minssy

yes yes, my friend actually encourage me to sign card at Disneyland shld i be buying quite alot. But think i will still change abit more

hi sweetheart,

no ah.. you will be paying only bank exchange rate accordingly. how much more do you think it is? a few cents over convenience?

ya lor, for general eating & shopping only, have not included buying presents for family, friends and colleagues...........

tiarad

Hi Minssy

Oic...but me travelling with parents...they like tour coz easier and can go more places than if we were to travel ourselves. But if i follow the tour, then yar... i might not be able to go to other places which i want.

Anyone went to Wishing Tree at Tseun Wan? Is it very hard to travel there? Heard take KCR to Tai Po Market and then take a bus... the bus journey is it very far from Wishing Tree?

sassy_bride

tiarad,

wishing tree is in 'lam tsuen' (somewhere in tai po), can take a cab from tai po market KCR station.

but it's not allowed to throw ur wishes up to the tree anymore, so i dun think it worths going all the way there!

fat

i heard from a fren that to go to the Wishing Tree is to take a train to the very last station than take about a 15 to 20 mins ride in cab will reach the place...but best part is she forgotten the station's name....

hi thomson bride,

welcome.. lemme post some pictures here.. keke...langham is awesome!

the bed
363464.jpg

inside the toilet
363465.jpg

view from outside the bed
363466.jpg

42 inches plasma tv!
363467.jpg

touch screen aircon control
363468.jpg

hi sweetheart,

5 stars luxury hotel. trust me the hotel is fantastic! i wished i had spent more time in there though. the swimming pool and hot spring facilities is great!!!!

tiarad

Hi Sassy Bride

Oic.. they can't throw your wishes up already..thought of going to there to throw.. hehe.. then do you know does the tree still have other's people's wishes up there or the tree now become bare liao.. haha.. how much will it cost to take a cab in? is it very expensive? Was thinking of rushing to the place after the Shenzhen city tour...thought wanted to take picture at the tree..hehe..

eeing

Hi Minssy,

I am planning to go HK. Think of which of hotel to stay. May I know the room that you stay in Langham is the standard room or deluxe room?

hi yeeyee,

in langham terms, its called 'executive' i think... hee..but i definitely took the cheapest price room.. the price i took the last time was about HK$1400 - HK$1500 per nite... cant remember...

sassy_bride

tiarad,

in fact, one of the main branches of the wishing tree is broken and it's not strong enough to hold any more 'wishes'.

if no police around, u can still throw ur wishes to the tree, but as said above, wishes can't be 'hooked' easily anymore (cuz the tree really looks very weak now!) n the wishes r removed everyday.

it's just about HK$20-30 to get there from Tai Po market KCR station.

minssy,

i stayed in the same type of 'executive room' for my last 2 business trips to hk. can't agree with u more that the room is fantastic!!!

hi schnauzie,

langham place is right at mongkok. very near..

TST is in kowloon area.. staying in mongkok & tst is equally cool...

i cant remember. its either directrooms.com or http://www.precisionreservations.com/

hi sassybride,

yah its fantastic hor? but i think the prices are more ex now..

eeing

Minssy, do you book the room direct or you book throu travel agency when you buy the free & easy/tour package? When was that?

tiarad

Hi Sassy bride

Oic.. so there's some people who still buy the "red wishing papers" from the praying stall nearby and then throw up themselves? But it's illegal?? Okie.. maybe might go there lor... since everyday still have the "red papers" hanging on the tree bah??!!

Thanks so much!

hi yeeyee,

i got thru either precisions or directrooms.. cant remember.. hotel webbie rates are high so i never book from them. it was in nov.

tiarad

It's me again... can anyone recommend which hotel is good? Me deciding which one to take? BP International? Shamrock? Ramada Kowloon? I like Shamrock but heard there's no window.. hehe..

Any feedback?Thanks

hi tiarad,

BP is very good for a 3 star hotel (very good reviews in the 'hong kong' thread). do more homework and u will know why.

shamrock's location is good cos its just opposite jordan mtr. not sure abt the windows..