Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

apple04

San

ya will b bringing my todd n 6mth old bb there! any prob taking stroller there in HK? can advise did u bring any instant cereal for yr bb since now can take solid food?

me will be taking along instant cereal,biscuit for her.did i miss out any since my 1st time travelling wif infant!

nesame

Apple,
So our gal gal abt the same age. Are you in the motherhood forum as well? I salute to you if you are travelling only with yr spouse as as it is not easy to travel with bb in HK since is not a bb friendly city. Me went in big group, so everybody help me out.
1) Train is forever pack
2) Mostly staircase are available only so always have to 'tai' my gal down the stairs when she's in stroller.
3) If you are lucky enough to meet a kind soul out there to give her seats to you in their jam pack train. *i didn't bump into 1 thru' out my train ride and neither did my fren.*

Me too bring along sachets of cereal & biscuit but in the end, i didn't give her the cereals. Most of the time, i give her milk since she has not really started a routine on semi solid yet. You can purchase bottle baby jar food in supermarkets as well. I did that!

And 1 thing, I didn't manage to find a decent bb high chair in a restaurant. Those few i went, they offer booster seats to tie on the chair instead of a high chair. It is not suitable for infant. The rest of the time when we eat at 'cha chang ting', of course they wouldn't have 1 as well.

apple04

Hi San

Me jus back frm HK.Yes i'm also in the motherhood forum. Wow come back really v tired...leg n backache! so much walking frm the mrt stairs. hee hee no wonder there everyone so slim.

i quite lucky got some kind souls offer me seat.

i brought the cereal n also didn't give it to her.she was in no mood to eat n get cranky,tink insufficient slp lor. my gal dum like jar food prefer porriage.difficult since below 1 yr can only take home porriage go there only survive milk.poor tin!!we wen there eat mostly fastfood cos difficult wif the pram plus some shops does not hve bby chair.if go resturant,i one hand prevent bb fall down while the other hand eat.v "ma fan" lor or sometimes my hubby eat 1st after finish take care bb.

Did u wen to stanley market? there sell alot of children clothes n quite cheap too.u DIY or go wif agency?

rm09

Notice this thread is not active so I'm just trying my luck with this enquiry. Just wannna find out if anyone who's familiar with HK knows where exactly I can find those Bandai model kits..robot model kits etc?

My FH is a big fan of such models but we couldn't find many places that sell them during our last trip so I'm doing some homework here to surprise him when we go HK this May.

Kindly advise if u noe?

shelyn

halo everyone,
need to ask about hotels... i m booking a package and they offer Dorsett Seaview/ Dorsett Olylimpic/ Mayfair Garden Hotel. Which one is better???? I m totally lost about HK hotels cos last went there like more than 10yrs ago....
Need greatly appreciate any comments about the hotels above...

adelene

I have only 0.5Days (morning) in Hong Kong. My flight at 4pm. This is my first time in Hong Kong any advise on where to shop?

hi shelyn,

imo, all quite sux :p. they are like 2 star in a way.. abit on motel rather than hotel.. however, if you look at distance:

dorsett seaview: tau ma tei mtr
dorsett olympic?: sorry never heard before. i only know dorsett seaview & dorsett garden.
mayfair garden is dorsett garden. its at yau ma tei area too...

dorsett seaview will be the more popular choice in this forum but of cos not the preferred choice....

if you can, at least take kimberly hotel.. its slightly more than the hotels u listed above but still good considered its 3 star

hi blue ginger,

only morning ah? go mongkok & tst mtr area will do.. more than enough place for you to walk walk around

Am aiming to go HK in April and staying in HK Island.
Can anyone recommend a htl which are nice and not too exp?
Tks in advance!

hi blue ginger,

TST = tsim tsa tsui

these 2 MTR have alot of shops for you to walk and see man! be sligtly adventurous and walk into the smaller roads.. if its day time is ok..

june_goh

Need some advice regarding usage of credit card in HK. If I happen to run out of cash *touch wood*, am I able to use my credit/debit card for transactions in shopping malls? How will the foreign exchange charges be? And will I be able to withdraw money from ATMs there as well?

june_goh

Need some advice regarding usage of credit card in HK. If I happen to run out of cash *touch wood*, am I able to use my credit/debit card for transactions in shopping malls? How will the foreign exchange charges be? And will I be able to withdraw money from ATMs there as well?

hi june,

we used our credit for purchases in the bigger shops such as espirit, cakes shops & shops in shopping centre.. the conversion rate is fine.. nothing extra.. and if you really need cash, just change from the money exchange lor... i aint too sure abt withdrawing from ATM but in all countries, its not worth cos there is like at least $5 charge... best if you bring some SGD there and change...

adelene

HI MINSSY,
Need to check with you. Ladies ST opened from 1130am right? Is most of the shops opened? If not, pls advise on another location cos I also have 1030am to 230pm to shop around. =P

june_goh

hi minssy,

thanks for the info! will be bringing hopefully just enough HK dollars, and the credit card for extra help then :D

hi blueginger,

dun go ladies street in the morning lah.. i rather you save it for nite time.. anyway, the stuff there is not cheap at all so dun expect alot of cheap thrills hor

u can go to the major shopping centres, granville road which is near tst.. dun have to worry abt where to go.. even if you have an specific itinerary, u could be strayed by the many little shops around.. hee...

hi june goh,

yes credit card for the extra help in bigger places (for security reasons though i think its cool in general). u can ration your spending but must be careful not to sign too much..keke..

hi minssy

Do u have any recommendations for HK island htl?
What do u think of Cosmopolitan or Cosmo Htl comparing to Wesley Htl?

hi sweetheart,

so sorry but i dun have much info on the hotels of hong kong island.. i think singaporeans will generally prefer to stay in kowloon area cos there are more stuff there to see and walk around..

all i know is:
cosmo: small room. not very near mtr.
wesley: bigger hotel but location i think its better compared to cosmo. simple place though.

hi sweetheart,

yeah go surf abt for info before you book...

BP ah? i never stay there but there are alot of very positive reviews from this thread. its near the MTR (but not like prudential that is just above)... big & comfy considered its an average range.. but to take this hotel, u must book early cos it tends to go full quite fast cos its really good

soxcotton

Read that there're some warehouse sale in HK eg Espirt.
Does anyone know where are the warehouses located at?

hi cotton,

i posted in the other 'hong kong thread' before too.. here you are..

Warehouse addy:

address for esprit warehouse:

G/F kai seng commercial centre,
4-6 hancow road,
TST, kowloon

its opp kowloon hotel, in between hankow centre and prestige tower.

For those who went and came back alrdy, how much SG did u change? For 2 adulats and 1 kid, is S$800 enough to spend including the expenses in Disneyland (tic & transport not included)?
Tks!

hi sweetheart,

disney tix is already abt SGD65 - $77 per tix leh (depending on peak or off peak day).. your $800 may not be sufficient.. suggest u change $900 - $1000 to be a little just nice.... this is more for normal shopping & eating & transport..

hi minssy

My $800 does not include disney tix and transportation as is alrdy accounted for in my F&E pkg. This $$ will account for my normal expenses incurred there. Will that be okay then or is a bit too much?

Like to check with u too, my pkg includes one city tour - Repulse Bay, Victoria Peak (mid level), Golden Bauhina SQ, Ginseng Shop, Jewellery Fcty, do u think i shld proceed or is it better off for me to visit Stanley Mkt where there are more children's stuff?

Thanks for answering my quieries

hi sweetheart,

oh then its fine.. $800 will be very comfortable...

a.... city tour is a waste of time. hahaha! the whole idea of them bringing to the ginseng shop etc is for you to spend money and they earn comm rite?

stanley market is fantastic! i spent quite a while there.. got cheaper stuff compared to the main island. repulse bay is very lovely.. i went during the cool weather so the cool air is fantastic. victoria peak u need like the whole evening that kinda one lor.. dun go by tour lah....

hi minssy

ya, discussed with my hubby. Planning to give up the city tour and go to Stanley mkt instead and Victoria Peak on the 1st evening when we arrived.

Do u think we can comfortably visit both SM and RB on the same day? Will it be v hot @ RB in late April?

Thanks minssy for your wonderful replies! Is really a great help as this is the 1st time i bring my gal overseas

hi sweetheart,

welcome
its ok to visit stanley market & repulse bay at the time cos they are the same area (the bottom south of hong kong island). stanley market closes before evening (if i did not remember wrongly) so i suggest you go to SM, say after lunch.. then spend the noon there and then take the bus to repulse bay and spend evening time there. nice sunset. then before it turns dark, take the bus back to town area. if you very on, then u go to the peak at nite, else you can always shop around in causeway bay area or back to kowloon area....

hot anot i not sure leh.. sorry..

hi minssy

how come after lunch? They only open then? Okie, no prob, at least when i plan my itnery is so much easier! Which way is better to travel to SM? By bus fm Central or Minibus fm Causeway Bay?

hi sweetheart,

cos u dun need to spend the whole day in SM.. just 1/2 day will be more than enough.. its not huge

i prefer to take the bus 6 or 260 from central that side....260 is the express bus.. cost abit more nia...the whole journey to SM is abt 40 mins..

hi sweetheart,

no lah not expert.. i been there mah.. then got do research one mah...

i think change here better... its always slightly lugi if you change overseas but if its small amt, its ok.. big amt you will see some diff...

tiarad

Hi Hi

Anyone tried staying at Chung Hing Hotel or West Hotel? Trying to decide which one is better? Any comments? But the travel agent say both are quite old. Thanks

hi thomson bride,

prudential's location is excellent cos its just at jordan mrt.. u can just walk to mongkok or TST.. like what sally mentioned, room is so so only... afterall its a 3 star hotel at a 4 star price due to the location. but the room is very decent.. spacious enough, nice bathroom.. but the walls are paper thin. i can literally hear the conversation of the neighbour at the wee hours! (yes their conversation woke me up!)

hi tweety,

yeah it is..... can take the mid level esclator as an experience and then take cab up

its a lovely view from there with a decent shopping mall with decent makan places..