Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

rachel_

I've booked my air ticket to HK on 4D3N, going on 29/5-01/06, after that transfer to macau..and for 2D1N..
Advise NEeded - any advise on staying at HK island more convenience or Kowloon?

Hi Rachel-I try email to Allen, but the email was bounce back.. [email protected] is this correct?

sweetsirl

YY : I will sure take lots of pics.. will upload when i return.. hehe.. I might go Stanley.. but my fren.. don seems enthu leh.. -.-"

YY & minssy : I don reali wan to wear shorts la.. but thats wat my fren say.. afterall she's been there for 3-4times le.. me first time neh.. so didnt wan to "argue" lo.. hehe..

HL : wow u flying on 1st may? so good.. hehe.. earlier than me.. Ur deal also not bad ma.. u are flying by SQ?

wyy

rachel,

I think depends on what u want to see.

I feel staying at Kowloon allow u more time shopping as you can even walk back to hotel when there is no more transport (MTR).

And if you take cab, you need not go through the gantry that you need to pay to enter HK Island.

In addition, most night like Temple street, Ladies Street etc are at Kowloon. HK Island maybe the Central, the Lan Kuai Fang (Pub street).

If you stay Royal Pacific Hotel, the ferry terminal to Macau is at the basement. I know cos was staying there when on my first trip.

rachel_

Hi YY, Thks for the advise. For Disneyland, do i need to book the ticket online or juz buy when i reach there?

Hi Rachel-Need ur advise..Ashley Aprtment quoted me HKD1600 per night,isit reasonable? Think most probably will take this offer, coz we are 5 adults + 1 child. If i m going to macau, how can i get to the ferry terminal frm this aprt?

Had the hotel rates gone up quite a bit? I went in HK and hotel was $103/nite... now its $170+. *faint*

Understand its their 10yr celebrations this yr... Anyone knows when will the celebrations end? Coz my tics gotta be used by end Dec this yr... so I can choose when to go during off peak timings...

wyy

rachel,

Me not too sure of the disneyland leh....BUT you sure want to go meh? Alot of my friends even my agent said there is nothing to see and the admin is abt$80 per pax. Place is very small and pack with queues.....

They all suggested me to go Ocean Park instead.

Skywolf....I think the hotel rate will increase more.....BTW what 10 yr celebration you are referring too?

wyy

Hey ppl

Just remembered....For my trip to HK in June, i will be meeting up my ex-lecturer turn friend who is now teaching in HK Uni. Is there any nice place to eat. I mean nice to eat...no need ambiance etc

I want to choose cos maybe treating him and some more he is a very thrifty and i doubt he will go places to eat except in HK UNI.

rachel_

YY,
Ocean Park worth going? Nv been to Disney b4,so plan to go le.. 10 yr celebration is HK "hui gui" china right?

wyy

heard from many Ocean Park is worth lor compared to Disney.

Isit....10 yrs hui gui.....haha....means quite happening in June lor

kjustina81

If you've nvr visited Disneyland before. I would advise u to go there at least once in yr life !! Cos the feeling is definately different than going Ocean Park.

Once u reached Disneyland u will instantly transform into a kid again!! Everything is nice to play with & you will feel very happy !!

Went Hkg Disneyland in March this yr & surprisingly it was not crowded & the weather was cooling (too cold in fact at some points) so went around taking photos with the characters & the rides longest waiting time was like 10mins !! so fun !! Then after that went crazy shopping in the theme shops !!

Even though went to disnyland in paris I still enjoyed myself at hkg's one !! A must go !!

rachel_

yy..u are right!

HK to macau.. which ferry terminal should i go.. YY.. wat about treat ur friend to eat dessert lah.. thought "hui lau shan" very famous in hk.

kjustina81

hmmm ... I went disneyland itself to buy the tickets ... no queue at that time. The tickets can also be bought at certain train stations.

Admission fee fixed. They hkg disneyland website will have the fees (non-peak, peak) so you can go there have a look.

jaspy

Hi, can someone advice on the room @ Disney Hollywood? Are all the rooms with 2 double beds?

Another question on citybus from airport. Do they have screen on bus or annoucement service to inform the location of the next coming bus-stop?

1st timing going, need some advice on travelling btw airport to hotel.

YY,

Yup... the 10th yr anni is their "hui gui" as Rachel mentioned... so for my case will be striking 1st wk of Jul off...

Rachel,

You gotta go China Ferry Pier to buy the tickets over the counter... I saw some ppl selling the tics openly outside the counters, which I dun feel safe buying from them... Thus i bought direct from the counter... Take note of the last ferry back to HK when you reach Macau... miss it and you'll be stuck in Macau for the night.

Jaspy,

The MTR provides foc (compli) shuttle if you purchase the AE ticket... Check out mtr.com.hk for more info. If the compli shuttle bus stops near your hotel, gd for you!

jaspy

Sad to say that the shuttle service do not serve Royal Garden Hotel.

Think of going via citybus so as to avoid transition by taking AE. [AE - Tsingyi(mtr) -Laiking - TST]

Jaspy, Citybus is all right. But once you get out of the bus, you need to figure which way to go. For my case, I went to the opp direction of the hotel. Ended up gotta u-turn.
kao_angry.gif

Hi Rachel, no prob~

Haiz, still thinking of which hotel to stay. Tempted to go back BP which I had gone to but it seems the rates are now much more exp. Haiz.

waxie24

Maps of Macau can be found at hotels. I managed to got mine from the hotel, instead of the arriving hall of macau airport

If you happen to visiting Macau Tower, check out 出å‰ä¸€ä¸ shop at the basement of the tower.

waxie24

Hi EvE (eve21) ,

Sintra Hotel good location.. walking distance from St Paul's Ruins.. i stayed at Beverly last Nov, but i also walk most of the time.

Taxi there is quite cheap..

waxie24

Hi wong yy, here the website for hotel sintra http://www.hotelsintra.com/

hm... i remember it to be a bit more ex than beverly... that's why i choose beverly..

anyone who is going there via DIY, remember to get the chinese name of the hotel n tell the taxi driver.. i told the taxi uncle "beverly plaza" he didnt know where was it.. in the end he help us called the hotel number i had from the reservation..

rachel_

Advise needed-anyone stay at Ashley Aprtment b4? Is the location ok? nearest MTR station and how near isit? Please advise.

Thks.

rachkev

hi rachel,

u've booked ashley? which rm type did u take?

location is very good, near to tst mrt and harbour city. abt few mins' walk.

rachkev

Esprit Factory Outlet
G/F, Basement of Kai Seng Commercial Centre, 4-6 Hankow Road, Tsim Sha Tsu

The entire mall in Tung Chung, City Gate Shopping Mall (near the airport) has outlets for brands like Nike, Adidas, Levi, Espirt, Calvin Klein etc.. It's located rite besides Tung Chung mtr, which is abt 30mins journey from central mtr...

millh

I just came back from Hong Kong... It's fun

Some of you mentioned City Gate Shopping mall. There have a lot of discounted stuffs. I bought my samsonite haversack 50% off @ $40. Bought some Nike shirt and shorts.

5D4N is a bit rush consider the fact that I need to go Macau. I took the TurboJet to Macau. With Visa card, there's a 15 dollars off for economy seats. There is a portugues town as well, very nice buildings.

Ocean park is worth going. Lots of fun and also hot air balloon. All rides included in the ticket already.

I went to disneyland entrance, didn't go in. Not enough time. Around 8pm, there are fireworks, very nice.

One thing I must mentioned here is, the wishing tree is not worth going. Very commercialised. You no longer throw the thing up onto the tree but hook at the board(smthg like notice board). No fun le. And they charges you high amount on the praying things like the joss sticks, papers. Not worth to go.

Yuen loong biscuits are really nice. tasty and crispy.

rachel_

Hi RachelGoh,

Thks for ur reply. I havent booked yet, will book Deluxe Romm (B) coz we got 5 adult + 1 kid.. the room can put in an extra bed? they quote me HKD1600+ extra bed 170/night. How is the price? now considering BP International too.. will take up 2 standard rm if can put extra bed.. Any comments?

millh

weather is cooler than here. daytime is 26 degree celcius

Here is too hot... not sure bcos I just came back or wat...really feeling very hot here

HL,

Got fireworks and it can be view from outside Disneyland ah? I didnt really fancy Disneyland but if fireworks are available... perhaps can drop by to look-see.... Can be viewed from entrance?

wyy

rachel....

my planning is no planning

hee hee F&E mah, so must be rest and relax....heehee

Been trying to look for good food recently cos think will be traveling to Temple Street quite often.

millh

Ya...can be viewed from entrance. I also didn't go in. I viewed from outside. Outside already have some disney charaters for you to take pictures.

Last time, ok, 2 yrs back there was this recommended dim sum @ HKCC... no time to go last time, so will be popping by this jul to test test. haha. let u guys know hw is it like.

rachkev

haha u can venture ard mah...don need to stick ard temple st.

wat kind of dinner do u wan? only hk style or anything?

wyy

mi....saw on tv got claypot rice in temple street.

Curry Claypot and also my fav Crab Claypot.....I think is a MUST try for me.

Was also thinking of having afternoon tea at the high class hotel (Peninsular).......

Macau, want to try their Pork Burger......hee hee
Also will try to find the famous egg tart in Macau.

Also not to mention the "curry yu dang"...my personal fav. Was eating almost 1 stick per day for my first trip.

Other than the above, any more suggestion?
- Heard there is this resturant at TST doing very nice pork leg. The chef was a lady,any idea what is the name of the resturant and the address.

waxie24

the claypot rice at temple street.. their oyster omelette is a must try too...

there is 2 storey eating place called mido cafe also in temple street.. the 60s cafe in hongkong.. famous too..

waxie24

oh oh.. i remember at macau.. there is a eatery place is call "gao kei".. also very old kind.. maybe u will like

direction: standing outside of the macau tourism office's entrance at senado square, u'll see a road going uphill, small shop located on the slope.. i recommend homemade ice-cream with soft drinks called "黑牛" (coke with chocolate ice-cream), with other colour such as yellow,red and white. they also serve pork burgers. I saw a group of school girls there jus for their homemade ice-creams, so it shld be GOOD..