Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

rackev

bo bian one lah...hv to be realistic sometimes lor. it's difficult to find something cheap and good at e same time.

so which hotel did u book?

rackev

hv stayed in shamlock b4...location is good ...jus right besides jordan mtr only. but then didnt really enjoy e stay leh. it was quite run-down then. not sure abt now. heard that they've jus renovated. so might hv improved liao.

hv not tried imperial b4. but there's one particular hotel in tst area with alot of china 'chickens'. cant recall whether it is imperial or some others. will check it out & let u know.

wyy

thanks rachel.

I think no need to chk liao. Think will just take Shamlock.

As my F&E trip will be moving around, think room onli for sleeping....but may i ask if there is bathtub inside the hotel? is is clean??

michell79

Hi Jaspy,

I stayed in Stanford b4. Hotel room is ok, but location nt so good. If you bring big luggage, it will be difficult because u need to climb a slope b4 reach hotel. Location wise, is quite far to TST area.. Unless you take MTR all e time.
If you walk, you can see alot of shops like SASA, ESPIRIT...But take u more than 30 min to reach TST (like Flower Market, Temple St, Woman St)

Are you in budget wise? If nt, you may consider Prudential Hotel located at Jordan Rd cum Jordan MTR. It's very convenient, but a little bit pricey.

wyy

how about shamrock??

It is very very near to Jordan MTR. Will be staying there during my stay in Jun 07. Is not too pricey BUT have heard from friends that the room is rather small. As it is also not a new hotel, so is not as good as compared to Prudential (I think)

jaspy

Hi Michell,

Can u roughly tell me the walking distant from Hotel to MTR? Actually consider Purdential Hotel but its quite ex. as I'm looking for room with 2 double beds that easily charged at S$300/nite.

wyy

Irene....you gg june wor....some more 1st trip should be lagi excited.

Mine is the 2nd trip there but 1st trip to Macau.

wyy

sorri Irene ...i mean in May07.

When you gg?? Where u plan to go and rem to take more pic to share wif me wor.

hi yy,

for macau: i suggest the below:

buy the 830am or 9am tickets the day before you are planning to leave, else high chance you will not get tix..

on the actual day, be there at least 20mins to 30 mins for the check in procedure.

from TST to walk to the china ferry terminal will take u at least 15 mins.

once the ferry reaches macau, time is needed for immigration clearance.. and once you are done, go up to buy the return tickets..

immigration and transportation will take a while so its better to reach there earlier....

sweetsirl

Hi WongYY

My flight is on the 10th May... haha.. i have alot of places i wan to go.. don know can finsh ma.. haha.. sure sure.. i will take lots of pic.. den i will show u.. muahahahhaa..

wyy

wow...minssy

thanks for information. Will there be any different if i go on weekdays?

The description sounds so familiar...Just like gg to Batam from Singapore.

wyy

Minssy,

do i need to apply for anything eg writing white card to go macau or can i just simply buy ferry ticket then go? In addition, do you suggest i buy the ticket a day in advance to avoid no tix??

wyy

Irene, i heard from my agent Mayfair is not a bad place wor

Hope you enjoy your trip and meantime hope you enjoy planning for the trip

hi yy,

thats for weekday situation.. weekend even worse

yes i am suggesting that you buy 1 day in advanced at least. if you plan a weekend trip, buy 2 days just in case.. u dowan to pay extra $$ for 'black market' tickets which they will openly sell..

yes when you leave HK, the departure card that you have will be kept by Macau. then on your return ferry, the pple will give you another white card..

wyy

wow...irene you brave lor.....you book thru Asiaroom isit? How much you pay for the whole package incld plane tix.

Cos i thought of DIY the package myself but it turn out to be more ex than signing with agency leh

Heng I got you Minssy to give me all these tips. I shall write down in my notebook. Do you know what time the tix counter close? Cos I planning to go Macau on Monday so i need to buy tix on Sun.

sweetsirl

Hi WongYY,

I book online but not thru asiarooms.. went to compare prices and asiarooms is more expensive.. haha.. total i pay SGD612 per person for 5D4N inclusive of all taxes.. I book for 4 of us.. so i hope things goes well..

wyy

Irene,

You can call me YY

5D4N cheap leh....SGD612 with plane ticket, right (cathey or Spore Airline)?

sweetsirl

YY, its by SQ.. so i find it worth it.. i called almost all the agency and most quoted me SGD700 min. some even reach sgd800..

wyy

yalor yalor

mine is 800 plus for 6d5n.....with a day tour in HK.

should have known you earlier lah then i can save abit......sigh

but never mind cos gg with my troublesome ah lao agency more suits for him....hee hee

rackev

wow irene, tats quite a good catch leh!!!

haha u shd hv post here earlier then yy could get a good deal too...hee

sweetsirl

lol.. i m so sorry.. i jus confirm the bookings too.. hehe..

but for safer trips its still better to book via agency la.. but i don care.. cos the most go there got any problems.. i can still find other hotels.. (touch wood!)

sweetsirl

i no choice ma.. i going with my 3 frens.. all v budget de.. ha.. but anyway, need help let me know.. i help u calculate.. haha..

wyy

me gg with sis and ah lao so we are using 1 double room and one single room...and my sis is paying lots more to go HK than us.....

Better dun let her know got cheaper deal.

Irene, I dun understand leh, SQ online booking is already 500+ per pax how come your accomodation so cheap

sweetsirl

hi YY,

SQ got 500 so ex meh?

i book SQ per person SGD392(inclusive tax le)

den my accomadation SGD111 per room per nite.. so split between me and my fiance..

btw i going with my fiance and my frens..

so total 614 per person lo..

sweetsirl

hi rachel

i don know le.. i went to the singaporeair.com website lo.. i got it from there de.. den i call and confirm somemore.. the lady say ya.. so i book 4 tix lo..

wyy

i know liao....what is the diff
I ask for the SQ new plane (B777-300ER)....heehee $100 more than yours....heehee

my air ticket is abt $492.......

accomdation.....icic.....bcos i wanted TST area so abit more ex. think Shamrock is abt SGD 300+ per day

For your place of stay,my agent quoted me abt $720 for 6D5N with one day guided to Sheng Zheng.

BUT still....IRENE...you got a good catch!

hi yy,

wah bold ah? i shy

the first ferry is like 7am so i believe the counters will open at that kinda time. sunday is fine but must go on a morning. if you are there on sat, just pop by on sat..

sweetsirl

lol yy you are like a live information counter wor.. haha.. so cute.. glad i didnt pay more than wat i need to pay else my frens will kill me.. keke.. but still don know wat to bring there le.. den airport got the new restrictions right? sianz..

wyy

Minssy ....true mah.....you and rachel like walking HK guide wor Better than Lon*ly Plan*t (replace * with e)...... but just that Rachel got a re-booting prob....heehee.......

Irene, i also dun noe need to bring what and the new restriction, mi also not too sure BUT at least you went ahead of me so you can advise me when u return.

sweetsirl

lol.. i kinda know abit.. so its ok..
the restriction is more on the liquid u bringing to hk.. like not more than 100ml per bottle.. den all bottles mus be keep in a 1 litre zip lock bag..

eve21

irene,

u've got a gd deal wor... we are going at abt the same timing. I'm leaving 9-May. Flying with tigerair, touch down at macau den going HK via ferry. Will be staying at Royal Pacific for the 1st 3 nites and Sintra hotel at macau for the last nite. Tat cost me abt $605 per pax.

I have planned my itinerary... will be going to disney, lantau island, peak, victoria harbour, lan kwai fong, wishing tree, etc...

Wondering how's the weather likely to be... hopefully not too hot!

sweetsirl

Hi EvE,

Ya I am lucky i guess.. haha.. i leaving on 10may staying at mayfair garden for 4 nites..

my fren will be my tour guide.. haha.. but i plan to go the peak, central, admiralty.. and those nite markets..

looking forward neh.. keke..

my fren say might have to bring shorts.. zz.. scare too hot.. i m worried neh.. i hate hot weather.. cannot tahan..

hopw will not be that bad.. keke

wyy

wei irene,

remember to take more pic and share hor.

Are you planning to go Stanley Market? If so do take more pic and also share experience. Cos stanley abit out of the way and still thinking wanna go or not......

In addition, can chk for me where i can find PSP things?

hi irene,

u will not see hongkongers wear shorts one, not even summer time.. now its spring and not even summer.. unless you do not mind pple looking at you the whole day cos you are wearing shorts, i suggest cargo pants which are lighter or jeans will be best..

wyy

one more thing...

you will not see HKers wear slipper walking around on the street.

My friend's BF (a HKer) commented that Sporean are the onli ones wearing slipper in HK.

millh

Hi Irene

I just booked mine 5D4N staying at Mayfair for SGD660/pax. Yours really gd deal leh..

I'm flying on the 1st