Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

soudezne

i hv just came back from HK.. the sun during the day is extremely hot... had my nose burnt for a few hours trip at ocean park...

i stayed at YMCA hotel at Yau Ma Te, had love the location, very convenient, MTR exit just across the road... and less than 5mins walk to mongkok ladies street... =)

cainu

hi ladies, juz joined the forum!! saw tis hkg thread & am plan'g to go there w hubby & 2 young sons, keke

hi soudez! wat room did u stay in @ ymca? do u recommend the standard twin for my family? is the bed big? wat abt breakfast, do u recommend book'g from the hotel or can find better food ard ymca? thks in advance!!

soudezne

Hi Shawna
if you are not those who goes for rooms, i think the ymca room should be sufficient.
They have 2 wing at ymca. hotel wing and tower wing i think. 1 with smaller rooms and 1 with bigger rooms. i stayed at the smaller room. thnk mayb just a standard room at the hotel wing. we bunk in 3 in a room (with an xtra bed). normal single beds. the room is nothing fantasic but it comfy enuff tho... if you are would prefer a little more space, you can try the bigger ones...

we did not hv bfast from the hotel. we makan at the few tea restaurants across the hotel instead...

mao_mao

Anyone has stayed at Dorsett Seaview before?Cos i will be staying there so need to know if there is any cha chang ting there or shopping centers there lor....tks

soudezne

Hi tsukushi

there is hair dryer... as for kettle, there is but we oni found the kettle on the last day of our stay... =p

Hi mao mao
its very hot durin my stay cos summer mah... if you are gg recently, it shd be cool.. at max a thin or windbreaker?? u might wanto seek a 2nd opinion...

snowiee

Hi, anyone stayed at Langham Hotel before?

any tour agencies to intro to book for HK trips?

first time booking a trip to hk..

please help !

mao_mao

HI soudez,

Tks for the infor..will be bringing a windbreaker there lor...tks...

Is there a limit of baggage on the MTR? As in is there any size limit of our luggage when we bring to the MTR?

carinal

hi, snowiee,
I've just booked a trip, gonna spend New Year's Eve in HK...I booked tix thru jetstar and hotel thru asiarooms.com. 5D4N total is about $700 per pax. Its gonna be my 1st trip to HK and I can't wait.
When you planning to go?

mao_mao

Hi carinal,

Wow, which hotel u staying at? I will be flying to HKG this sun liao, 1st time there too...so excited...can't wait to go there to shop for hello kitty things =D.

Hv u plan your itinerry?

mao_mao

Hi carinal,

Ic...is this hotel ex?

Tks for the webbit =).

By e way, do u happen to know wat is the weather like now?

snowiee

hi anyone can help me with this about the octopus card thing?

how much for the airport express if i take by MTR ah?

by the way i got something to ask you ladies for help

u know that octopus card thing ? they got this one -->

HK$300 - Programmed with 2 single journeys on the Airport Express and 3 days of unlimited MTR rides

then its states --> # The 3-day unlimited MTR rides will start from the time of the first MTR journey.

if example i am going for 5 day 4 nights

day 1 - take airport train
day 2 - unlimited
day 3- unlimited
day 4 -unlimied
day 5 - 2nd airport train trip

does it works like this ?

or is it once i take the airport train on day 1 then its already considered part of the unlimited rides liao?

meaning:

day 1 - take airport train ; unlimited starts
day 2 - unlimited
day 3- unlimited
day 4 - must pay
day 5 - 2nd airport train trip

linglun

Anyone has any lobang to recommend for air tickets / hotels to HK during 23/12 - 28/12 ??

i'm suppose to go there for my HK jiu xi, but cant seem to find a suitable hotel/airline with reasonable rates! =( Sobsob..

snowiee

wah those days hot periods leh..

coz near xmas...

i think more promo seats for airlines dun have cheaper fares already

jetstar cost about $4xx for return air tix.

maybe u can try ?

drizzlingday

hi hi anyone can advise when is the best time to go hongkong if going next year?? more for shopping and buuying fshon suitable for singapore weather hehee thks

bailey

drizzling day..wait for their summer sale, somewhere end of july till aug.

i think the tourism board of hkg should hv put up this info on their website to promote hkg, juz like spore also will promote our GSS.

bailey

hey guys, any website to recommend for hkg hotel booking? i hv tried a few like zuji,wotif,asiatravel etc..seems that my budget ($120 per room per nite) doesnt get me anywhere in TST. sigh...

or did most of you guys booked thru travel agency?

hi beetle,

$120 for a hotel in hong kong ah? abit tough leh.. even 3 star hotels like BP are like $130+ at least....

cainu

hi beetle

consider this : http://www.asiarooms.com/hong_kong/hong_kong/tsim_sha_tsui-area.html

but it also depends on the room type + location, TST i think is more touristy than say yau ma tei & mongkok, also if u had tried like maybe 2 or 3 weeks ago u could have gotten cheaper rates as i noticed pxs have gone up recently

be warn that if u book thru asiarooms, everything should be fine until if u try to cancel a booking (u can search on this in this site) i booked a room in sept & got a reminder email from them last weekend about my trip in dec
so now i will see how my stay at the hotel goes....

bailey

hi shawna,
thanks for ur recommendation.
yah, i hv notice the spike in prices as well.
i was actually expecting the price to drop a bit with the heavy smog that is polluting the air. and also the time i'm visiting next yr jan is not the peak period.

how is speed of your response from asiaroom?

shirgal

My trip to hong kong was 4D3N in aug for $640 each , with 2 of my friends. Stayed at Kimberley hotel, air tickets is United Airline with airport transfer.

shorty_gal

Can someone please recommend some cheap hotel (3 stars) to stay in HK?

Any idea how is the weather like in beginning of mar?

miso_888

Hello

Can anyone in HK pls advise, HK was covered with smoke these days n 31Jan yesterday hit dangerous level. It is just a rumours or it is true.

camy

I just came back from HK last night. I don't really face the pollution at Kowloon and HK island.

hi jhoo,

its spring... relatively cool and can be quite windy.. a normal long sleeve sweater is good enough if you are afraid of the cold..

jhoo

Thanks Minssy... I heard from my friend that it was cool and windy in Taipei for Jan and went there for honeymoon and was really cold, toe and finger freezing and we bot winter wear, hehe.. any idea what's the temp like next month?

hi jhoo,

temperate stuff is hard to predict but by right, its about 16 - 20 degrees. weather could be humid but may not be as rainy as april..

miso_888

Hi missy and rugrat
Thanks for your reply…

I just came back from HK last night the weather is hot & sunny like Singapore but a bit cooler. I bought my winter clothes but didn’t wear at all. Also, no need to wear any jacket. Just wear a long sheelve t-shirt. But I saw people in HK do wear jacket wherever they go even is on a hot day. Maybe this is their style or fashion.

Just bring a jacket along with u at the time just incase the temperture turn cold at night. Also bring umberlla and sunglass as it is very sunny. The temperture is around 21degree but is still warm.

melly

hi. anyone can advise what's the weather like in may. is it gonna be hot and humid?

which hotels are good with nice bathroom for soaking up and relaxing after a day of long walk?

chickenlittle

mimi (miso_888)

I going in mid of April.....hopefully the weather temp dun go up to 30 degree.

how yr HK trip??
Which hotel u stay?

thks for the info........

jaspy

hi, i'm going on 26 May for 4 nites with my hubby & 3 kids... any recommend on accommodation? anyone can give me comments on Shirley Apartments at TST MTR.. Any shopping that dun require bargain as i do not know how to bargain and heard of the people there are quite nasty.

rackev

hi jas,

nv heard of shirley apartments, only know of ashley apartments at tst. if u r referring to ashley apartments, i will give 2 thumbs up.

majority of the people are nice & friendly now. their services hv improved alot. hv not bumped into any nasty one. even when i ask for directions, they will try their best to help.

most of the shops & malls are having fixed prices. as for those mkts, like ladies st, fa yuen st or temple st, u can bargain. but for me, i don bargain as well ..if i find e prices reasonable, then just buy lor...if not, i will just say thank you and go away...

jaspy

Hi Rachel, Thanks for your valuable advice... may i know what's their daily rate and normally which website do you book for Ashley Apt (cheaper rate)and lastly do Ashley Apt provide service like hotel? e.g. counter where we able to enquire on direction, shutter service to city, airport, etc.

rackev

their rates hv increased quite abit after taken over by ascott. they charged me abt $145 for standard rms, $180 for superior rms, $190 for deluxe and $220 for 2 bedrms. for a family of 5, u can take e 2 bedrms or like wat my colleagues did, they took the superior rms and threw in an extra bed, which totalled up to $200 per nite.

i usually book direct thru the manager, allen, [email protected]. u can also check wif her e rates first.

there's only a small receiption area and usually only 1 front-desk staff on duty. but of cos u still can check with him on directions, bus services etc. they will assist. e staff can speak both english & mandarin so no worries.

take a look at their website:

http://www.ashleyapartments.com.hk/area.htm

wyy

hey rachel

have found my agent and got my quote. 6D5N flying HK by Spore Airline cost abt $850 during June holiday. I have choose to stay in a 3 star instead of Mirama which is a 4 star hotel. Cannot have all good things at once...sigh......