Hong Kong : Some Advice Needed!

sailor_p

I'm planning a visit to HK in Apr this year. I am thinking of staying in Tsim Sha Tsui. As such, can I find out the following from all of you who know HK well?

1 - Where can I go to buy "Lao Po Bing"? I was told that there's this popular shop frequented by Singaporeans call "Hang Heng" or something like that.. where is this place?

2 - Where are good dim sum places in Tsim Sha Tsui? I read in the archive that there's this place place call Serendane. Is it at the Cultural Centre or Space Museum? What time does it open? Can we go there for breakfast?

3 - Anyone try using the airport express from the airport to your hotel? I have heard that it's much faster to take the train and the shuttle service than the land transport. Is it convenient to do the same on the return trip (hotel to airport)?

4 - Where is the mid-level escalator? I read a lot about it but it doesn't say where will the escalator lead to? How do I go to the escalator from the MTR?

Hope to hear your advice. Thanks in advance!

Sailor_P

garfield77

sailor,
1. U can get hang heung lor por beng at Causeway bay Sogo basement 2.
2. Yes, Serendane is located at Hong Kong Culture Centre. Mon - Sat : 11am-3pm / 5pm-11:30pm
3. unable to tell u coz neber try b4.
4) Mid-level escalator located at Central, which lead u to SoHo. Operate from 10:20am till midnight. Out from exit D1 of central MTR station, walk along queen's road central towards the center. Then take the Central - Mid-Levels Escalotor.

sailor_p

Hi Garfield

Thanks a lot for your advice! Yes, I would be going to Causeway Bay. By the way, do u know where is the hang heng loh por beng on Kowloon island?

sailor_p

Oh yes, would anyone advise me where do I exit or MTR to stop for Temple Street and Ladies Street?

By the way, are there any attractions at Happy Valley?

garfield77

Sailor,
There is no outlet at Kowloon island, last time got 1 at MongKok but oredi close down. The best place to get hang heung is at Sogo Dept Store.

Temple street can alight at Jordan MTR station exit A, turn right walk along Jordan road walk less than 5 mins u will reach the starting point of Temple st.

Ladies st alight at Monkok MTR station exit D3, turn right walk along argyle street to tung choi street.

U can refer to following link for clearer view.
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/mustknow/maps/Mongkok_YMT.pdf

Best thing is go to information counter get a copy of Hong Kong map at airport, it is very useful.

La La provide u the website is useful too. If you wan to take ride to & fro from airport to tsim sha tsui. can refer to http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/train/ae_tourtickete.htm

I have used their tourist MTR 1-day pass, find is quite worth especially when i went to lantau island & wong tai sin temple on the same day. This card is 24 hrs unlimted usage, but cannot use for Airport express line.

I did not go to Happy Valley, so unable to provide info to u.

sailor_p

Thanks a lot. I didn't know the one at Kowloon has closed down. The info really helps!

By the way, for the mid-level escalator, if the final destination is SOHO, is there any attractions there or along the stretch of escalator parth? Cos I am going there at night. Is SOHO = Lan Kwai Fong???

garfield77

Hi sailor_p
The mid-level escalator's final destination is to conduit road, from there juz need to take 20 mins walk to lower peak tram station.

SoHo offers a wide range of upmarket international restaurants & bars along Staunton street, Elgin Street & Shelley Street.

Lan Kwai Fong is not at SoHo. To get there, Alight at exit D1 of Central MTR. Walk along Threatre Lane & uphill to D'Aguilar Street, about 5 mins walk to Lan Kwai Fong.

baibies

Hi, can anyone tell me where can I find nice roast goose in hkg? Preferably near the TST area. Also how's the situation the the red ants there? Issit safe to travel there?

neko125

Hi sailor_p,

There is not much attraction at Happy Valley. Furthermore, it is not too accessible as there is no MTR station there. I think you can give this one a miss.

As for the wife cake, there is 2 other brands that are popular in HK. One is Wing Wah
http://www.wingwah.com/ There is one outlet at the airport. I have bought mine at TST. That outlet sells freshly baked ones. The airport one does not. I think the freshly baked ones are nicer but more difficult to carry back to Singapore.

The other one is Kee Wah. http://www.kee-wah.com.hk/public/index.html
You can find their branches address at their web site.

Another attraction is Stanley market.
http://www.etonhk.com/retail/Stanley/

Hope it is useful.

sailor_p

Hi Neko

This really helps!!! Thanks a lot. My trip is in Apr and I am now waiting for the Cathay package to be out for booking!!!

ruffy_happy

Sailor P,
STanely is a good stop for food & Shopping for kids clothes..most of the kids clothes there are at factory outlet prices.
If you are into seafood..sai kung has lots of seafood restaruants but a bit far out in the New Territories area.

inpreps

Hi sailor-p,

there is a Hang Heung outlet at Kowloon! The one that closed down was a small counter at the Grand Tower Hotel basement foodcourt. The new shop is along the mainroad. Can't exactly remember which road and building but it is a block or 2 down from the building that houses California Fitness. Once you see California Fitness, face it, and start walking down the street towards your left. You should see it shortly. It's on the same side of the road as California Fitness. Hope you understand my description! =p

Also if you are looking for trendy and cheap clothes, my recommendation is Fa Yuen Street (take MTR to Prince Edward, I think exit B2) as well as Argyle Centre (aka Mongkok Zhong Sum). Great buys for clothes and shoes. But don't expect excellent quality....go for the variety!

Don't forget to try the mango desserts at Xu Liu Shan as well! Good time to rest your tired feet after shopping too....=)

I love HK!! =p

apple04

Did anyone go to stanley market on their own? wen their website..wow seems like abit confusing & ma fan if i take MTR to causeway bay,walk to tang lung st then take bus no.40 there.

wonder will i get lost? since frm mtr walk to tang lung st how to recognise their street name? easy to notice & how long to is the total journey (mtr & bus ride). can tell bus driver to inform us once reach stanley?

sorrie so much Q....
1st time DIY. previous time wen there so many years ago n through travel agency so only wen to kowloon area shop

giantemu

hi apple04,

To go Stanley mkt, take the MTR to Admiralty (Kum Zhong), theres a bus interchange, take a bus 60 something (cannot really remember but the bus sign got indicate Stanley Market or can chk with the driver there), but the interchange is just outside the MTR station, wuldn get lost one....then sit back and enjoy the trip :p got some splendid scenery along the way....

hi apple04,

u can take mtr to central, then walk to the exchange square bus interchange (near IFC) and take 6, 6A ,6X or 260. the bus stops at stanley interchange directly.. will not get lost one...the bus ride is about abt 40mins....

I went there on my own. Just take to Causeway MTR, Exit B which will indicate the landmarks and street names. There should be a map at the station, if not, just ask the people along the way. This little street is at the corner of Hennessy Rd (back door of SOGO and MITSUKOSHI dept stores) and Percival Street.

Or take MTR to Central and take bus no. 6, 6A, 6X or 260 from Central (Exchange Square) Bus Terminus.

hi apple04,

u can take mtr to central, then walk to the exchange square bus interchange (near IFC) and take 6, 6A ,6X or 260. the bus stops at stanley interchange directly.. will not get lost one...the bus ride is about abt 40mins....

apple04

Thks for the great advise! hopefully got enough time to get there cos will be there for 4 nites.3 in kowloon n other in disney. was planning to go The Peak,lantau island,wishing tree n the famous temple.

did u gals know where to get imitations gds at HK selling Gucci,prada,burberry? quality nt tat bad n cheap 2!
Hee no $ buy real stuff....

smurfying

Mongkok lor...lotsa fake stuff...else can cross the boundary to Luohu at Shenzhen...probably can get the same fake ones but cheaper rates...

apple04

does most pple there know how to speak mandarin? sigh...last time wen there trying to order food at food court some dum really know wat i toking abt luckily my parents wen to my rescue.

Did anyone encounter any miscommunication over there?

Of course the younger ones can speak halting Mandarin. But those uncles and aunties at teahouses might not be too fluent. You can converse in English instead.

No miscommunication cos I understand Canto.

smurfying

Oh but i find their burberry's fake really very fake... their more popular replicas are LV n gucci... but hor seriously i dun like to buy replicas, cos will hav tis kind of subconscious feeling tat lobang may piza haha...as in ppl can tell tat it's a fake... But u can try lar, they claim tat the A grade is 99.9% similar ha!

Really? Tansy? I was looking at the Burberry's at Luohu and thought it was well-made
As for the LVs, there are some slight differences cos I usually compare my real ones with the fake ones at the store. You'll spot some dimensional lapses. Otherwise, the LV canvas are well-made.

smurfying

yule, i love the pink checkers burberry's. but hor those in Luohu, either the handle different color, or the shape abit different one leh... LV, the wallets are quite ok...my SIL bot them in mongkok then really look 99% similar to her real one.

Hah for the LV canvas one, i nearly wanted to buy. But then realised that the based, fake one comes with only 4 stubs while real one is 5 stubs. So in the end i nvr buy any replicas...bot mine real burberry's at HKIA instead.

apple04

Yule
Wow dum know nowadays so advance, auntie n uncles know english...hee so knowledgeable.

then i won't be so worry abt the communication.worse sign language or tok like one chicken one duck

yeah, they can utter a bit here and there due to necessity. Just point at the menu will be good enough. The HK'rs are extremely service-oriented these days.

apple04

tis wkend got 2006 Discover HK Year Launch at Plaza Singapura,Atrium,Level 1.can go there get free HK guide at the launch!

Did anyone go Lantau Island on yr own? Can advise whether is it x to take cab from kowloon to the island? Approx how much is the fare? or shld i book through their local agency cheaper?

nesame

hi apple
it is very easy to go Lantau Island DIY. No need to take taxi or join local tour. It will be very ex to join local tour. Think they charge abt HK500 for day tour to the big buddha. You take mtr to Tung Chung station. The same line to go for Disney. Once you came out of tung chung station, there are shopping centres (and also an esprit outlet there as well) and a bus terminal. You take bus 23, you will reach the Big Buddha in abt 40mins time. That's easy right! When reach the big buddha, you pay admission to climb upto the big buddha which includes a vegetarian lunch at HK60 per pax. If DIY, think you only need spend HK$150 below per pax including lunch.

My mum & dad can get there themselves while we go disney, think you definitely can find your way there as well.

four_seasons

apple04

i m interested to drop by PS to pick up some of the brochures/guide for HK...can u let me know how u got the news of the promo at PS and the name of the organiser? HKTB ?

four_seasons

i jus came back on 2 jan but will go again so like to know more abt hk. who knows i might jus quit and join hubby in hk.

work sucks in spore

apple04

Thks San! Tis info really helps. Wat is the best time to reach big buddha? Need to spend whole or half day there? any idea how long the journey frm kowloon to chung tung stn?

was tinking visting buddha in morning & noon go Times Square. So did u been to Times Square b/4?

apple04

Hi Fourseasons,

I got the info frm tis wk 8Days.How u manage to get liao? Me intended to go after my bb woke up. Dum know still got stock when reach there

nesame

Hi Apple
I really can't tell you how long you need to spend there and also not sure what time you leave yr hotel. Mtr ride to Tung Chung already takes at least 30mins. From there, you still need to take bus 23 up to the buddha which is abt 30-40min ride. Don't forget you need spend sometime climbing up the stairs to the Big Buddha for photo takings and yr vegetarian lunch. So jus for traveling journey to and fro, you need reserve at least 2.5hrs.

As for Times Sq, i feel there is nothing interesting there. Branded outlets and lane crawford. However, you can just drop by times sq and then proceed to the shopping outlets just outside times sq. That is the more interesting place to go in Causeway Bay!

happy2

anyone here knows of any good eating place/restaurants near kimberly hotel or anywhere at Tsim Sha Tsui/Jordan? I will be going to hk end of the month and will be having my reunion dinner there..was wondering if I shld book a table in advance...appreciate your advise..

happy2
please book in advance. you're "reuniting" with all the mainland chinese in HK during CNY.

Anywhere with a chair will be good...