Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

rachkev

hi brides,

airport express is a train (not, mtr) which provide service fr airport to 3 main island in hk: tsing yi, kowloon, hongkong. if u r staying at kowloon side, u hv to drop at kowloon station and maybe trsf to cab to ur hotel. it costs abt hkd90 per pax per way.

if u've 3 or 4 pax, i would suggest a cab. my fren will only be back to hk this wkend, so can only get back to u on e contact early next wk ya.

rachkev

hi zen,

it depends...if u can get cheap airtix, then is cheaper to book separately...
if not, it is better to book package...as hotels in hk are relatively exp & small...

mystic2451

For those who have stayed at disney hollywood hotel, may I know how you gals spend the night after disneyland closes at 8? I need to know if there's any shopping/attractions nearby so that my buddies and I can head for after disnayland.. thanks...

gerger37

rachel.. i'm also going during apr..

found out tt apr's hotel rates r quite ex ar...

seagal

hi zen,
the prices vary at different times of the year so u should check the rates online and among travel agencies for comparison.

if u dun mind splurging (since it's your honeymoon!), Peninsular Hotel is one of the better hotels and i think there are some nice upper class boutique hotels around too.

I tend to find the latter better as they are less commercialised. check out this one http://www.jiahongkong.com/JIA.html

jerlynn

Hi Thanks for ur replies..I will check those website & compare
anyone know when will be the start of e summer sales? Heard its in July.. any idea when? Thanks

mystic2451

Hi Jerlynn.. think the summer sales are for the whole of Jul and Aug.. Gals, plse correct me if I m wrong.. hehe..
Seagal.. hve u stayed in Jia boutique hotel? Noticed the rates for this hotel is pretty exp..Just wonder is it really that nice?!...

seagal

LY,
i have not stayed at Jia before but came across it whilst searching for HK hotels. Looks real nice and it's designed by Philippe Starck. Real luxury.

newly15

Thanks Rachael.
Dun mind can you msg me the cab's telephone number @ 97965455 (Gin).
Will be going on 28feb
Have 4A and 1 child

mystic2451

Hi gals.. any of you ever stayed in causeway bay area? Any good and reasonable hotel to recommend? Besides this, any good shopping centres or streets I should focus on if I happens to in this area?
Hope to hear from you.. TIA

mystic2451

Hi Nata de coco... I have some qns on mind regarding your post below. Hope you can help out.

Hi all, just back from my 6D5N HK trip, below is my 2 cents worth of comments:

5. When visiting the big buddha at Lantau, can skip the buddha walk and the visit in the big buddha. Don't waste time and money. Our tooth relic temple is much better. :p But the vegetarian lunch is quite nice.. worth trying..
- FOR THE BUDDHA WALK, ARE YOU REFERRING TO THE FLIGHTS OF STAIRS WE HAVE TO CLIMB UP TO THE SEE THE GAINT BUDDHA? IF NOT, CARE TO EXPLAIN. BTW DID YOU GO TO NGOH PING 360? WHAT IS THIS ATTRACTION ABOUT? I AM ONLY AWARE WE NEED TO TAKE CABLE CAR.. OTHER THAN THIS, WHAT CAN WE EXPECT AT THIS PLACE?

8.For the peak, its worth visiting Madame Tussauds if u have not went. For better experience, when taking the tram, better to stand up can feel the 45 degree and remember to face the right side (nice views).. hee.. when going back, its quite packed to take the tram, gonna have long queue. Not worth buying the ticket to skypass, the shopping centre next to it, also can have the same view for free. For best view, it is good to walk the old peak road, really have very good view, and its nice taking the walk.
- IS SKYPASS THE SAME AS SKY TERRACE? I ACCESSED MADAME TUSSAUDS WEBSITE AND FOUND THEY HAVE TICKET TO SKY TERRACE BUT I AM NOT SURE WHAT IT IS.

Thank you for your time. Hope to hear from you..

xuer

i went to HK about 2 weeks ago, 12 feb to 16 feb. it was very cold when i was there between 8-14 degrees and the wind were quite strong.

i stayed in largos hotel @ jordan. its my 2nd time staying there. the rooms are small but i dont really mind as i spend most of the time outside.

i bought the airport express travel pass for hk$300 per pax. it includes 2 way airport express ride & 3 days unlimited ride on MTR. i took the airport express to kowloon station & take the free shuttle bus to jordan, take a 5 mins walk to the hotel.

i went over to macau on my 2nd day. i signed for a one day tour which cost about sgd20. the tour brings you to many places of interest in just one day! i asked to be dropped off at venetian casino and went casino hopping from there.

i only went to the peak, ave of star and focus on the rest of the time on shopping as i've went to disney, ocean park, lantau, etc when i went there last yr & the yr before. =p

nata_de_coco

Hi Ly,

For the big buddha at Lantau, what i refer is one of the tourist attraction which is near to the cable car station. They have themes like buddha walk, monkey show, etc. U need to purchase ticket if you want to see. But, personally feel that its not worth and time wasting, cos there is still many other places to go. hee.. see
http://www.np360.com.hk/html/eng/front/index.asp for more details.

The climbing of stairs to see the giant buddha is free. But to enter into the buddha building, got to pay. But inside i feels that u can skip, nothing spectacular.

The ngoh ping 360 is just a cable car ride to the big buddha. Last time only can take bus, now they have this cable car.

Ya, sky terrace = sky pass. According to my friends, previously viewing at sky terrace is free. Now they charged at HK$20 per head, which i feel no worth paying. As the nxt new shopping building also offer the same view for free.

For best night view of the skycrapers, you should try walking the old peak road, it takes abt 1hr for slow stroll.

Hope i have answered to your qns.

foreverhappy

Hi Xue er how much you book for largos? I was tols that they charge us even for viewing normal channel, is that true? although outside most of the time but there will be time in hotel too. Can you advise on this.
Most likely going to book this hotel.
Where can we book the 1 day tour at macau?

Is there airport express travel pass for 1 way? only can be bought at the airport?
cos upon arrival at HK i will take turbojet to macau directly.

gd_ger

Hi Xue er, as i will be staying in largos hotel next mth too, do u have any photo keen to share regarding this hotel so that i can mentally prepared.

Thks so much in advance!

xuer

hi apple (foreverhappy)

i paid about sgd420 for 4 nites stay @ largos. viewing of normal tv channel is free. i watched the HK tv serial @ nite for free. =p dont have high expectation of this hotel cos its only 3 stars and the rooms are small. i booked the standard room.

i booked the macau tour when i was in SG. i've joined their tour last yr when i was there with my gal friend. i went with hb this yr so i joined their tour again. my hb said the tour is good. their email add is [email protected] and their web is http://www.grayline.com/Grayline/destinations/asia/macau.go. you'll need to make payment at their counter at the macau ferry terminal one hr before the tour starts at 11am, if not they'll release the booking.

yes, there's airport express for 1 way. if you are taking the 1 way airport express & 3 days unlimited ride on MTR, it cost hk$220. i bought mine at the aiport itself. but i think there's some promo on MTR web if you purchase it online.

xuer

hi li chia

i didnt take any pics of largos hotel... but if you've stayed at first world hotel at genting before, this hotel is definitely much better. =p

i've stayed at park hotel, imperial hotel, stanford hillview and largos in hk. park & imperial hotel are of higher end.

imperial hotel's rooms are also very small although its more expensive cos of its location.

i stayed at stanford hillview last yr with my gal friend and we both dont like it. rooms are more spacious than largos and imperial but you've to walk up a steep slope each time you wanan go back to your hotel. you'll 'hate' it when you're very tired from shopping & walking one full day.

i wanted to try ashley apartment this time but my hb was telling me, save on hotel and spend it on shopping. why pay so much and you only need a room to shower, sleep and leave all your luggage? i agreed! its really up to individual on their requirements and expectations.

foreverhappy

thanks xue er.

But after the 1 day tour u still have time for shopping? the tour is by foot? which hotel did u book at macau? How much? I am looking at casa real. Not sure whether this hotel is good or is there a good and cheaper one? on budget.
Did you managed to go Taipa Flea Market. seems like its open only on sunday. worth going?
pai sei ask so many que.

mystic2451

Hi nata de coco.. thank you for prompt response. I'll take your words into consideration..

Hei gals who have went to HK disneyland.. can u remember the time of the fireworks display on normal weekdays? And are u aware if disneyland allow re-entry on the same day? i.e. I exit in the afternoon and come back in the same evening to catch the parade cum fireworks display...
Hope to hear some replies.. thanks

xuer

hi apple

the tour is from 11am to 6pm. you'll travel around by a tour bus, so space is limited.

i didnt stay at macau. i took the 9am ferry from hk, made payment for the tour, have breakfast at the ferry terminal before joining the tour at 11am. as i requested to be dropped off at venetian, i didnt go to the last stop of the tour, fisherman's wharf. i went there myself as its only located next to the ferry terminal. i went casino hopping after that and took the night ferry back to hk.

i didnt go taipa flea market.. but i saw long Q for the famous pork chop burger during the tour. the tour guide said the Q will form from 2pm when the stall only open at 3pm. you can ask the tour guide where to shop or visit when you're there.

oh ya, the tour may be conducted in mandarin if bulk of the tour members are chinese. mine was conducted in english but the guide explained in cantonese as well.

mystic2451

Hi Seagal.. I noticed u are staying in both nathan and disney's hollywood hotel during ur coming trip to HKG. Can I check with u on the mode of transport u'll be taking to travel from nathan hotel to disney's hollywood hotel and from disney's hollwood hotel to the airport for ur flight back to sg. I have the same intention as u but now kinda stuck cos not sure which is the most worth the value mode of transport to take.

I would also appreciate if kind souls out there can offer suggestions too on the mode of transport... TIA...

xuer

hi ly

the fireworks display is at 8pm on weekdays. my uncle told me about the re-entry thingy. you can go out and do some shopping before going back to disneyland for the display. he mentioned there's a bus that you can take. but im not too sure where...

xuer

hi sunnyday

hope you'll enjoy your stay at largos. maybe you can provide some feedbacks when you're back.

gerger37

xuer: thanks.. regarding the airport express pass.. where did u buy it? frm the airport counters? it includes 2 way airport transfer and 3 days unlimited mtr pass rite?

mystic2451

Hi to those who have been to disneyland and have taken their free shuttle service from the theme park to the individual hotels, I hope u gals can help me out. I need to check what is the departing time really like.

From their website, I noticed there is resort shuttles providing free transport from the theme park to individual hotels from 1pm-6pm at every 60 mins interval. Does this mean if I need to go back to disney's hollywood hotel at 4pm, I should be at the theme park bus interchange at around 3.50pm to wait for the bus? Is anyone aware? Please advice..TIA..

xuer

hi sunnyday

yup, i bought the airport express pass at the aiport express counter located at the airport. hk$300 for 2 ways on airport express and 3 days unlimited ride. i think there is a promo on MTR web if you buy it online.

to those who are taking turbojet. there's a visa card promo if you purchase it online... i bought mine online. =p

foreverhappy

Hi Xue er thanks.

I am planning my itinerary now. Due to the time arrival and departure is a bad time therefore i have a hard time planning.

Wat time does the night market in HK closed?

Mayb someone here can help me on my itinerary:

Day 1: Arrived HK at 8pm, travel to hotel expected reach at 9 plus or 10 then walk to ladies night market for dinner.

Day 2: Travel to Macau in the afternoon. then go shopping

Day 3: Take up the tour highlight in macau.

Day 4: travel back to HK in the afternoon. travel to Largos hotel. Not sure where to go in the afternoon

Day 5: go to shen zhen

Day 6 to 7: Not decide yet.

Day 8: Depart to Sg

Hope someone can help me with the above, more on shopping and eating.

cheesecake0608

is it cheaper to book F&E package with travel agency or book separately on our own? given tat agency oso provide city tour n airport transfer..

Im planning for 5D4N to HK/Macau in Mar but no idea where to start..

xuer

hi apple

the stalls at night markets start packing up at 11+pm.

are you planning to do just shopping on day 6 & 7? if not, you can visit the peak, lantau island, disneyland or ocean park..

foreverhappy

now i having headache planning the itinery before i can book the hotel and ferry.

Intend to go peak & lantau island, hubby not keen to disneyland so will give it a miss.

Do you or your friend got experience taking the ferry from HK Internationl airport to macau directly or from macau to HK international airport (airport route.

Thinking of mayb going to macau the 6th & 7th day then from macau go straight to the air port but my flight is 11 am in the morning so i need to be there at 9 to check in. the first ferry is at 8.15 and in the turbojet website it states it took abt 45 mins. If like that should be in time, but i am worried that they might be a need to transfer to via a shutter bus or skypier?

nata_de_coco

Hi apple,

Why don't you go to Macau first after touch down HK airport? You may take ferry from HK airport straight to Macau.

Then you may go casino hopping if you like since its so late liao. The security there is very good, so no worries.

You can then join the macau tour the nxt day, and travel bck to hk after the tour. There is not much shopping at macau, i think when u take the tour, they would have allow time for you to shop.

After arrive hk, depending on the time, you may want to watch the light of symp at TST pier at 8pm or join the harbour tour. Then can shop at the nearby deparmental stores, followed by the nite market.

The nxt day you can go lantau island and spend about half a day or so, then go to the peak.

Shopping wise, u can visit citygate factory outlet, Langham place, harbour city (very big, 3 shopping centre joined tog, to get the shopping guide).In fact, there is many places to shop at TST, Yau Ma Tei and Mong Kok. Just roam around and you can have many surprises.

The aboved is just my 2 cts worth of suggestion to you. Hoped it helps in your planning.

mystic2451

Hi nata-de-coco.. what can i expect to find in Langham Place? Is this place for high-end shopping? Perhaps u can elaborate. Thanks.

seagal

LY,
On transport arrangements, I'm still waiting for Rachel to give me her contact. Will prob take the cab there.

Alternatively, you can take the MTR to disneyland from kowloon. heard that the disneyland line is quite nice.

mystic2451

Hi seagal.. thanks for dropping me a reply. BTW i think the best way for me to get to disneyland is to take a bus from HK airport to tung chung and transfer to MTR from there. This is still ok as I dun have much luggage to tag along on the first day there. However I m not sure if it's the best way to take MTR from disneyland to ymca international house or to catch A21 from lantau toll linkway. Hope someone can advice me on this.

nix77

I oso gg to hk this month... and will be staying at YMCA international House.

Anyone stay at there before.. Any Feedbacks?

rachkev

hi seagal,

sorry for e late reply. been pretty tied up recently...

charges are to kowloon side...more exp if travel to hk island side...

cab +852 6754 1100 (abt hkd200 flat rate)

van +852 2396 6666 (betw hkd250 to hkd300)

7-seater +852 3171 1111 (hv not tried b4 yet)

it would be good if u can communicate using cantonese...as most of e cabbies don really understand english or mandarin

btw, my sis has to go for a biz trip next wk. it's a last min thingy and she has jus booked her accomodation today. she booked ashley apt for 3nites at hk2300 thru asiatravel. abt hkd765 per nite. quite a good deal ya!

seagal

Hey Rachel,

No worries. Thanks for the contact! Can I know how many passengers they can take for the cab? we have 4 adults and 1 child.

Need to let him/her know that we are referred by you?

The Nathan hotel charges under ratestogo.com looks pretty good. But I notice that their price increased to almost HKD5,000 for the period I'm travelling for 4D3N. Asiatravel.com still cheaper.

Btw, the rates at asiatravel.com for nathan hotel went up by more than HKD900+ now. good thing I book early....phew.

foreverhappy

Ly some hotel may not have the rate yet but if you can find a good rate now why not. Don't end up like me. Travelling this month but my hotel is still not confirmed yet. Only managed to book dorsett seaview for the first night and homeinns at zhu hai for 2 night. Not sure xuer stay in this hotel or stay at hongkong where she is there. I am still pending confirmation from my hotel at largos. the good offer for nathan the other time i told seagals has already been grab by others, sigh hope i can received their infomation soon else i will book shamrock of stanford. But stanford not cheap leh its states 616 for 4 nights...

seagal

LY,
Apple is right. Some hotels do not release their rates so early. No harm trying though, just play around with the online sites to see if you can find any rates for Oct.

Anyone been to Natas fair? wonder how their prices are...

xuer

hi apple

i've not stayed at dorsett seasview before but i think most of the travel agents in SG offer them as one of their hotel for their F&E or package tours. as for stanford, do you mean stanford hillview? if so, i paid about sgd550 for 4 nites stay last apr.

hi LY

its good to book the hotel early, if you've in mind which hotel you wanna book. i booked mine 2.5mths ahead for my recent trip. you can check out various web to check the rates for oct, i think they've the room rates till dec 08.

foreverhappy

hi xue er, I think not stanford hillview, the stanford is located next to ladies st. sian I still have not received the confirmation from aisaroom yet.

nix77

Hi seagal...

Think Natas Fair's prices are not that cheap too... My frd book 5D4N trip to HK in Jul and I bk thru zuji 5D4N gg in Mar. our price only diff by less than $50.

mystic2451

Hi ladies...yeah i do have the hotel on mind but my itinerary is still not form yet. Firstly I do not know if it's beta to stay at disney's hollywood hotel on the 1st nite or the last nite of my stay in HK. And for the next 2 nites, I have decided on YMCA international house but I am hesistant on getting an extra bed... looks like i really need more time to decide.

rachkev

hey seagal,

yup can take 4 adults and a kid. we tried e other time. don hv to tell him referred by me lah cos it's my fren who always do e booking for us. ^^ maybe jus him tat u've frens who booked him for a flat rate of hkd200.

oh u gg end of march rite? becos of e rugby 7 and a few conventions going on end of mar thru apr...alot of hotels hv increased their rates by double or more during this period ah! think oct is another peak season.

1 thing i really hate abt hk is e difficulties in finding toilets! can faint!!! there were a few time when i had terrible tummyache and nearly fainted while looking for toilets. e more nervous i was trying to look for toilets, e worse my tummyache got! arrrgh...