Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

i_n_q

hi, i've booked the budget hostel for abt S$25-30 per person per day, location nearby ladies street.

jaspy

Hi, can anyone advice me on the accommodation at Hong Kong Hotel / Apartment, any restriction on maximum person in a room. Agent inform max. only 3 person in a room.

hi jaspy,

your intention is to save $$? if there are too many pple in a double room for example, you are going to face big time inconvenience when it comes to toilet usage and also sleeping comfy...

jaspy

Hi Minssy, my intention is not to save $, i'm actually asking for room with 2 double beds to accommodate 2 adults + 3 kids at 10, 8 & 5 yrs old.

hi jaspy,

then there are always family rooms to cater to groups like yours... your travel agent probably did not know that you are bringing your family along..

hi jaspy,

ignore lah..
with kids of that kinda age, you all will surely stay in the same room..

some travel agents' hotels may not have family rooms.. its hotel dependent.

nyny

ladies
i am back! 5D not enough leh. sigh.... no time to go ladies street! can you believe that? but i managed to find my way to tung chung for those outlets shop. keke... didn't buy much things though 'cos the price is about the same as s'pore at this time.
it was raining for the 1st 2 days when we were there.
overall, i enjoyed my trip there. :D

angie
found vegetarian food at disneyland! yah, not difficult to find vegetarian food in HK. but at Central, we can't find any! gosh.... end up, we went to starbucks to buy muffin. :p

wyy

hey sunny....

can share itinery with me...and MOST IMPT is the travel route to all those outlets.

exciting.....5D not enough......gosh........i still have a Macau to go leh

jaspy

Minssy, scare leh... agent told me that the hotel personnel might stop us, if see so many people stay in 1 room. They said is for security reason.
Hope that apartment can accommodate 5 of us..

jaspy

one more thing to share, kids born in 1997 able to get the deluxe annual pass for free to Hong Kong Disneyland... go check on their website.

hi jaspy,

unless its 5 kids to a double room then the hotel personnel may not even allow u to check in lah..

guazi

hi sunny,

oh got veggie food at disney ?? which restaurant? you mean they got vegetarian item?

central got quite a few leh... but must know how to go la.cuz i printed out the listing from the veg website.. so managed to find a few

temjin68

Hi Tiger

Dragon Hostel is at Mongkok? I am looking for those located at Chungking Mansions area. But not sure if it is safe to stay there.

EA

blanqq

hi, if go HK for 3D2N trip with tix & acc within $400, possible?

cos' my boss intend to organise annual company trip but only willing to pay $400 per head... give me a headache.. Can anyone help me?

sue1

U can check with agency how much they are offering for group discount for airticket. Usually, if you hit 10 or 15, they have group discount, the more the cheaper it is.

As for accomodation, depending how much rooms you are getting, you can ask for corporate rates which can be quite attractive.

Hope the above info help.

hi sue,

i think have.. but the hotels are much further away from the MTR.. maybe 10-15 mins walk that kind.. and cheap cheap one of cos lah....

eiggam

Hi EA,

I'll be going to HK in June and will be staying in Dragon Hostel also. It seems to be the more popular hostel in HK. It's in Mongkok and v near to all the shopping areas. But room is quite small lah. U can try searching Dragon Hostel and U'll see a lot of reviews about them. Me staying there cos it's cheap (only about S$50-60 per night) so can save more $$ more shopping, esp. when I'll be there for 5days..

Anyone can help with recommendations on food and shopping? Am planning my itinerary now..

nyny

angie
not really a restaurant. it's those 'food court' kind. they have vegetarian menu. just 2 dishes. so, lunch and dinner, we were having the same food. haha...

YY
i stayed at majestic hotel.
day 1 - arrival, walked around the hotel to explore, didn't do much things.
day 2 - lantau (big buddha), avenue of stars and Symphony of lights.
(IMO, symphony of lights not worth going. :p)
day 3 - disneyland, tung chung (for outlets), temple st
day 4 - repulse bay, stanley mkt and victoria peak.
day 5 - go to a park near the hotel, flying back to s'pore.

didn't do much shopping 'cos i went with in law and brought my bb there. so, got to be very flexible in time loh.

sweetypie

Hi minssy,

You've been helpful in this thread and then some !

Please can you advise how do I take the express train to Kimberly hotel from the airport.

Quite blur on this.

wyy

sunny...

your day 3 and 4 trip is it worth going?
esp the stanley market.....

for disney, me not too keen

lu_meihua

hi, can someone advise me if end-jun is good timing to go hk? will it be too hot, esp for young child less than 1 year old??

rachkev

hi heartbear,

you can try ashley apartments. It is very clean and located at tst area. few mins' walk to tst mtr.

rachel_

Help needed.Anyone stay at BP International b4?Any comments?
Not sure the Standard room can put in an extra bed or not.

rachkev

hi rachel,

i jus got e rates from ashley apartment for my sis. u can take a look at rates below:

For your information, we've just completed the renovation work in the end of Mar, 07 to upgrade room facilities under brand level. Regarding to your queries from 18-24/May, we are offering a promotion rates, please see details as follow :

Room Category :
Standard Room (1 small double bed) : HKD750.00 / night
Superior Room (twin or queen size bed) : HKD950.00 / night
Deluxe Room (twin or queen size bed) : HKD1,000.00 / night
Extra bed : HKD200.00 / night

**The above rates are nett price and inclusive of 13% service charges & government tax.** Please kindly consider and let us have booking arrangement to you accordingly.

bannyeng

I stayed at ashley's 2 weeks ago. it's clean, nice and pretty convenient. Also newly renovated. the place is easy to miss though, u've gotta watch out for the building no. otherwise, the place is pretty easy to find. I stayed in both the superior room and standard room. Their new design is not what you see on their website. Their standard room is rather small, but it's really ok to me. the bed in the standard room is actually a sofa bed. Service provided was also good. security wise, u need a pin for every level, so it's only accessible to residents as well as their employees. They even let me check in early.

only drawback for me was i went during peak season, and they almost didn't want to give me an offer price that they quoted me initially. even then, the offer price was more expensive that what's quoted by rachel.

Overall, i highly recommend the place.

rachkev

yup totally agreed with bannyeng.

their standard rm is jus like any other hk hotels' standard rms. all standard rms in hk are rather small. but superior is spacious.

location wise, it is very convenient.

highly recommend it too. 2 thumbs up.

hi sweetypie,

sorry for the late reply.. i am not sure if the airport express bus goes to kimberly hotel but you can take the airport express train.. that means you take from airport -> tsing yi -> lai king (int) -> TST

lingling2

Can anyone tell me the website for Dragon Hostel?Thanks.

Hi Rachel,
Do u hv the link to Ashley Hostel?cos I am looking for a cheaper choice of hotel but near to MTR =)..tks..

heartybear

July and August weather will be damp hot,even hotter than in SG?Which hotel will you highly recommend?Need feedback.Thanks

481828.gif

lu_meihua

hi rachael, tks. guess HK is out then. too hot for my young (and old) ones. tks. got to look for alternative locations...

rachkev

hi heartbear,

yalor very hot in jul & aug. at least in sg, still quite alrite during e nites. but in hk, during summer period, even night times can be hot & stuffy...probably the whole city is surronded by tall buildings and all buildings are very packed together...tats why

aug can be their rainy season as well...depends on ur luck lor...

watever i go during summer, i need to hide in e shopping malls during the day and only during the nites, then i shop at the street mkts or shops but still sweat like mad...haha

for all the hotels i've stayed before, i still prefer ashley and cosmo...but cosmo is located at hk side...

rachkev

hi mei,

but most parts of e world are summer fr jun to sep le..unless u go to places like aust or new zealand...

rachel_

Rachel,

I've booked Ashley hotel thru Asiatravel. Their rate is rather low, standard (Double)-HKD660. Superior(Triple)with extra bed-HKD1050. Good deal! Now still sourcing for Macau hotel.

rachkev

hey heartbear,

ashley is very clean, newly renovated. like all standard rms in hk hotels, ashley's standard rms are rather small as well. but superior & deluxe are spacious.

if u hv frens working in ascott, u can ask them to book ashley at a discounted rates.

rachkev

rachel,

rem to print out a copy of e hotel's add in chinese or get a their card when u r there jus in case. some of e cabby might not know e hotel or road name in english.

sue1

hi! rachel

fyi, only ascott staff are entitled to staff rates and they have to be presented at the time of check in. Unless, they know the resident manager and then perhaps can get corporate rates for their friends.

I used to work in Ascott and I can say that the staff rates are pretty attractive.

sue1

hi rachel.

staff price is almost 50% off.

capitaland corporate rate is abt 30% off.

haha but now i join the timeshare of marriott vacation and in future, i dun need to bother my acomodation.

if u want to go phuket, let me noe, can help u to get good rates at marriott phuket...