Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

wyy

rachel,
no prob...sure will share the "joy" with you. heehee BUT first have to find those cutie first....hee hee

I have contacted my dear dear uncle who works in a travel agent and he have arranged another agent to come out a quote for my tour. Hope is reasonable.....

qeyser

cherly -

majestic is very convenient, right beside mtr and more or less along natham road. But you should go in expecting HK 3*, ie rooms very small etc. Last I went they had a disco at the basement level so you should request for a higher level room. If it's within your budget I'd advise Eaton, location is also ok but much it feels more 4* (dunno whether it actually is hehe). If looking for 5* langham place is nice

nyny

rachel
3-day mtr ticket is more worth than 1 day? both include trf to/fro airport right?
also, taking their bus need to pay cash or can use the mtr ticket?

nyny

rachel
3-day mtr ticket is more worth than 1 day? both include trf to/fro airport right?
also, taking their bus need to pay cash or can use the mtr ticket?

rackev

sunny,

not sure abt it as i bought e stored value card which can be fully refunded. yes u can use e card to take their normal or mini bus. but some mini bus only accept cash.

u taking e airport express trsf?

nyny

rachel
fully refunded on the spot ah? 'cos i heard that the 3-day one, need long time to process the refund.
ya, plan to take airport express which i think is also mtr?

to see the big buddha at lantau, need to take bus right? that bus accept the card? how about the repulse bay one?

rackev

sunny

yup fully refunded on e spot. airport express is not mtr. it will takes u to 3 main islands...tsing yi, kowloon and central..these 3 stops only...and it cost abt hkd90 per pax per way to kowloon station...if u r staying in e kowloon area...

all normal public buses accept e card...

nyny

rachel
me going next week for 5D4N, staying at majestic.
cham... still haven't found time to plan my itinerary....

nyny

Rachel
i wanna do both leh. but shopping trip can't involve MIL too much. 'cos she will nag at me for spending too much. so, mayb all the shopping plan got to be ad-hoc basis as and when MIL goes back to hotel to rest, then i go out to shop. haha..

the warehouse outlets you stated in previous msg are all nearby MTR? easy to find?

guazi

Just back from HK 1 week trip!!!

the weather is very cooling and nice!@

went to Esprit Factory OUtlet at Tsim Sha Tsui ( very near to YMCA- can take to MTR TST and follow the direction sign to YMCA, then you will see this factory outlet). I also went to another esprit outlet at tung chung, city gate shopping mall ( will pass by this outlet if you are taking MTR at tung chung back to hk).
ESPRIT is having sales now! buy 3 jackets will get additional 40% off! very worth it because the price is already 50% off the suggested retail price.

guazi

if yï½ï½•ã€€ï½ï½’e stï½ï½™ï½‰ï½Žï½‡ã€€ï½ï½” hk islï½ï½Žï½„,yï½ï½•ã€€ï½ƒï½ï½Žã€€ï½”ï½ï½‹ï½… ï½ï½‰ï½’ï½ï½ï½’t exï½ï½’ess bus tï½ã€€ï½ï½‰ï½’ï½ï½ï½’t . i tï½ï½ï½‹ã€€ï¼¡ï¼‘ï¼ã€€ï½†ï½’ï½ï½ã€€ï½—est centrï½ï½Œã€€ï¼ˆã€€ï½ƒï½ï½Žã€€ï½”ï½ï½‹ï½… frï½ï½ã€€ï½ï½”her ï½ï½Œï½ï½ƒï½…s ï½ï½“ well)fï½ï½’ ï½ï½Žï½Œï½™ã€€ï¼¨ï¼«ï¼¤ï¼”ï¼ï¼Žã€€

guazi

oh yea, remember to bring your HSBC card and DBS card, HSBC card provides more dining priviledges - like we went to one of the veg restaurant at tst on tuesday, then they are having 50% discount@@!!! aiyak but i didnt bring my card, wasted . dbs card also can get disocunt la - 10% hehe.

rackev

hey sunny,

like wat angie mentioned, esprit factory outlet is easily accessible. dickson is located at kowloon mtr station. joyce is abit out of e way, u've to alight at central mtr & take a bus or cab there. i.t. shop is at canton road, tst, not difficult to find.

u can drop by city gate mall, on ur way to lantau island as both are located at e same station, tung chung station.

temjin68

hello Ladies
I am thinking abt going to Hong Kong either in late Jul or early Aug. Can suggest some hotels for me and their rate? Thank you so much.

tem

eiggam

I'm planning to go Macau-HK in June. Am flying to Macau then taking the ferry to HK, stay for 4 night, then back to Macau for one night before flying out..

Below is my first draft of itinerary:

09/06 to 10/06 (Sat / Sun) 2020 (SIN) to 0050 (Macau)
Buy Ferry tickets to HK (7am ferry)
Casino / try to catch some sleep somewhere..
7am: Ferry to Kowloon (Do not take the wrong ferry)
Check into hostel
Mong Kok Shopping, Ladies Street, Temple Street
Avenue of Stars, Symphony of Lights

11/06 (Mon) Ocean Park / The Peak / Madam Tussard

12/06 (Tue) Lantau Island / ???

13/06 (Wed) ???

14/06 (Thu) 7am Ferry to Macau.
Macau Fisherman's Wharf
St Paul's Ruins
Macau Tower
Greyhound Racing (!)

15/06 (Fri) Macau final shopping
Macau 1540 to SIN 1925

Am staying in Dragon Hostel at Mongkok cos travelling on a budget. Anyone knows what's there around it?
Also need advice on where to go (as u can see, i got one empty day).. This is mainly a shopping & sightseeing trip. Any good places to eat?
Is shenzhen worth going? cheap stuffs? My fren went in Jan, say not very safe.. Is that true?

guazi

sunny,

ya i'm vegetarian! hehe. it's easy to find veg restaurant because i'm prepared with a whole long list. and with the help of map, it's not hard to find la. just go for those near the MTR station.

Dineyland doent have any vegetarain food , but if you dont mind you can buy bread at one of the bakery there. are you veg? For me I brought many breads from outside to DL , and went for dinner elsewhere after the fireworks.

wyy

Hello Rachel,

I have booked my stay and air ticket to HK Liao, now mi working on my itinery.

Can advise if my itinery is ok??

Itinery (Draft)
<u>Day 1, thurs</u>
- Sin to HK at 2pm. (transport to hotel)
- TST / Night Market shopping

<u>Day 2, fri</u>
- Day tour provided by my Travel Agent
(Places incld: The Peak, Aberdeen, mostly HK Island)

<u>Day 3, sat(HK Island)</u>
- Stanley Market
- Central, Time Sqaure
- Lan Kwai Fang

<u>Day 4, Sun (HK Island)</u>
- Sham Shui
- Happy Valley

<u>Day 5, Mon</u>
- Macau Trip full day

<u>Day 6, Tues</u>
- Tea at Peninsular
- around HK

Do you think is too little activities?

BTW, can you advise if there is a street/builidng that sell
1) computer stuff
2) Handicraft shops for beads etc??

wyy

ocean park maybe but not disney.

My travel agent representative also advise me not to go cos nothing much and also the entrance fee is ex.

She say if gg theme park, Ocean Park is good enough.

Other than that, any other place i can add on to my itinery?

BTW is there anything like "SIM LIM" Square in HK?

rackev

yup there is but hor my memory lapse again...

abit busy in e office...

give me some time to 'regain' ok...

wyy

hahahaa....

Rachel rachel...you so funni....

ok i'll wait till you "regain" your memory.

i did record all the warehouse location that i can find from this forum. Will pay them a visit......

BUT, i need to get the HK Sim Lim.....this is for my ah lao.....he needs all the PC things

wyy

i printed the sheet out

really helpful lor

I think i can use it as an lure so i will have more time with my sister for shopping around those places.

Heard there is also warehouse at Sham shui po, right?

rackev

cheung sha wan road, at sham shui po, alot of wholesale and retail shops.

you can try ladder st. Ladder Stree, a street in Sheung Wan, composed entirely of stone steps. and also the Man Mo Temple on Hollywood Road at the corner of Ladder Street.

bannyeng

need abit of help here. due to the peak season in April, i've narrowed down my accommodation choices to 4 which is within my budget:

1. Stanford Hotel
2. Metropark Mongkok
3. Ashley's Apartment
4. Mayfair Hotel

Read the good review on Ashley's. A friend in HK recommended Metropark, but i'm a little sceptical coz it's the furthest. Any comments in terms of convenience, cleanliness and space? Thanks heaps!!

rackev

hi bannyeng,

in my opinion, ashley is e best out of e 4 in terms of convenience, cleanliness &amp; space.

location of stanford is not so good.

metropark is quite spacious too but it's an old hotel. location not bad too...besides prince edward mtr

of cos, compared with ashley, metropark is cheaper.

wyy

wow wow wow

Rachel, I am overwhelm wif the information you are providing me leh....

still say u not a walking guide of HK.....

rackev

i'm definitely not...

rem my memory lapsed yesterday...hee

paisay...

btw, when are u there?

cos i might be gg in jun too....hee

wyy

isit....good good

I will be flying off to HK on 14th Jun and be flying back on 19 Jun

when you go when you go *excited*

rackev

aiya i shd be there in early jun...

but now too early to confirm e actual date yet....hee

if we are at e same timing, then maybe can meet up...

then u will know how blur i am...haha

rackev

if it's only 2 to a rm, then it's fine...but don expect something very big &amp; spacious cos standard rms in hk are small...

if u hv e budget, then u shd take e superior rms...u sure will enjoy...hee

temjin68

Hello Ladies
I am thinking of checking into those budget hotel abt $20-30 per person. Any one has tried these budget located in Kowloon before or has any feed back on them.

thank you

EA