Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

lph

most are selling long sleeves t-shirt or winter wear.
the bakery shop is call kee chui cake shop.
the espirt factory outlet sells clothes tat are the past season but its suitable for sgp wear. like working pants, which sells for abt S$50. they sells t-shirts, spag strap tops...

snowiee

Thanks LPH for the reply

Do u know any nice eateries around mongkok area?

would like to try 'zhu chang fen with char siew'type.

u have any recommendations?

i will be staying at langham place at mongkok MTR... first time to HK

bailey

hey guys, any website to recommend for hkg hotel booking? i hv tried a few like zuji,wotif,asiatravel etc..seems that my budget ($120 per room per nite) doesnt get me anywhere in TST. sigh...

or did most of you guys booked thru travel agency?

bailey

thanks ben, hv already seen the website..the cheapest and acceptable hotel seems to be BP international, $$136 per room per nite.

wah...i was expecting the rates to go down esp with the heavy smog in the hkg air,polluting my lungs if i were to go there.

ur hotel eaton seems q popular, also in the TST area. so no worries lah. so enjoy ur trip. when r u going?

Eaton hotel is pretty good, not to worry. It's quite new and location-wise, pretty good. Just a short walk to Jordan MTR station, but in the middle of the popular Mongkok area and TST area. But, Temple st is just a short walk from the hotel. The restaurant opp the hotel is good and cheap, so you can consider there for breakfast. They serve more varieties after 11am, like mango pudding and other desserts.

cainu

Hi Tsukushi,

Do u have the name & the exact location of the restaurant opp Eaton? How cheap is the food? Thanks!!

mr_ben

Hi Tsukushi,
Thk for the info. Really appreciate tat.

Hi, beetle bailey,
BP may be a little bit way off. Go to www.mtr.com.kh. Look for map around Jordan. Judge for yourself. Also, never never go to HK on the 9th or 10th of DEC. Heard tat they are having some major meeting, on par with the IMF we have. Hence the hotel rate shoot up.

kitkioko

I am going to HK on 10th Dec. Please share with me where I should go, I am a bit blur some more go F&E. I also would like to find out where are those factory outlet for hand bag, clothes, pants?

Anyone bought branded hand bang from those factory outlet? How much ??

Anyone been to standford hotel? Please share with me your experience?

bailey

hi Ben! thanks for ur info.
i stayed @ BP before, needs a little 5-min walk from the mtr to the hotel, still oki lah.

my trip is end of Jan '07, shld be their shoulder season.

Shawna,
I don't have the exact address but it's just opp Eaton/Nathan hotels, along Nathan road. You can't miss it. I have a pic here of the shopfront.
430109.jpg

For dimsum breakfast, less than S$20 per pax can burst your tummy. On weekdays, it's about S$2 per plate of dimsum. We spent around $15 per head and had leftover because we just couldn't stuff in any more food.

Compared to Serenade, this place is much cheaper and food is reasonably good too.

There's a pretty nice roadside stall where we had hairy crab and nice cold beer. It's somewhere in Temple St, quite near to Dorsett Seaview hotel. Try their 'niao4 xia1'.. not sure what's the name in English.
430117.jpg

gervynne

hi noscon

u can try the money changers at Raffles Place ie The Arcade. They give quite competitive rates. Now HKD dollar should be quite weak so change more if you like.

noscon

really?!!! i must change quickly. But I dont work in the city... got any other recommendations esp in the west...

snowiee

by the way, anyone who just came back from Hong Kong and wanna change the HK $ back to SGD?

maybe we can change with each other? like this both parties can get better rates hor.. hehe

mr_ben

Checked Parkway. Best rate, the lady was saying if you change more, think abt $1000, you will get a rate of $1 = HKD 5

snowiee

thanks for sharing ben.

which money changer did u go to?

i think got 3 there right?

1 is inside.. the other 2 is outside?

the 2 outside ones (1 is run by chinese, the other is run by indian)

which one u went to?

cainu

Hi Tsukushi, many thanks for the fotos, very nice!! Btw do u know anything about another restaurant in Silvercord called Dao Xiang, read that it's dimsum is also cheap & good

Hi Mr Ben can share where's the $$ changer in PP?? Thanks!!

Shawna,
sorry haven't been to silvercord before.. If you're interested in buffets, I'll recommend Todai at Miramar Shopping Centre (between TST and Jordan station, along Nathan rd). It was much better than any buffet we've had in SG. Price is about S$60 per head, but you get lobster, fresh sashimi, varieties of sushi, chocolate fountain, etc etc... The restaurant name is Todai and it is very popular among their locals and is pretty highly rated.

mr_ben

The money changer i went is the one opposite ya kun. But the rate is HKD 4.95 not 5 = SGD 1. Sorry for the mistake there.

hello

Hi Shawna
Yes, the dimsum at Dao Xiang at Silvercord is nice and cheap. But must go before lunch to enjoy the special price (should be quite safe if you go at 10am or so. I went around that time when I was there). Other than the usual 'off peak' price for their dimsum, they also have selected items offered at even cheaper price. For eg, I ate their char siew pau at HKD4.80, ie. less than S$1 (for a basket of 3). Very cheap right?

jacqueline97

I will be going to hk, staying at langham place hotel at mangkok, anyone can recommend good place to shop and eat around that vincity?THnaks...I will be flying off on 11.12.06, which is coming monday...

piepie02

Anyone stayed at Ashley's Apartments before? I'm wondering how to get there by taking the Airport Shuttle.

rackev

hi pei,

you drop at Kowloon station and take a cab from there. it cost less than S$10. rem to print out e address in chinese as some of e cab drivers may not understand english. ^^

rackev

hi sunshine,

you may like to try shopping at 旺角中心 or Fa Yuan Gai. langham place itself is a good place for shopping & food too. ^^

rackev

hi pei,

sorry wat i meant was to take airport express to kowloon station, which is less than 30mins. take a cab to ashley fr there. ^^

jacqueline97

Rachel

Thanks so much for the feedback.

Wonder is there any particular eating place that is worth going...any recommendation?

Do you know is there a esprit factory outlet in mongkok itself...

My gal friend told me that place is like a mini balestier or geylang you called it in singapore...I was so disappointed upon hearing it....

snowiee

hi shawna, my bf changed 1: 4.975 last week at bugis area.

change a bit more HKD today .. got it at 5.015!!!

got it at the arcade .....

who wans can check it out there....

wheeee............. ~~~

rackev

sunshine,

hmm...i'm not really into their local food. for their local food, usually i only eat at 茶é¤åŽ… or dim sum. there is place for burgers tat i love...triple O.

e espirit factory outlet is at tst.

huh? where is like a mini balestier or geylang???

piepie02

hi Rachel,

do you know the airport shuttle number to take to Kowloon station?

You stayed at Ashley's Apartment before?

thanks again!

nez

Hi...anyone stayed at BP International b4? Any comments? Any idea how to get there from the airport besides cab? Thanks alot!

jacqueline97

Rachel

My friend refers it as a run down place, not a nice place to go....

On the other hand, for me, am looking forward to the hotel that I am staying...

Like you, I am not into their local food, so where is the triple o that you mentioned...any other food would you like to share that is nice over there...thanks

rackev

hey pei,

usually i take the airport express direct to kowloon station. not sure abt airport shuttle bus though. it is abt hk$90 for e airport express.

yup i've hv stayed at ashley quite a couple of times. ^^

rackev

sunshine,

hmm...i still don get you...where is a run down place? which area?

langham place hotel is good. my sis has stayed there before and she enjoyed her stay...

e stuff they are selling at fa yuen st are quite similar to those at ladies st but cheaper....

there are few outlets for triple o
1) harbourcity gateway (tst) located at supercity food court
2) exchange square, opp ifc at central
3) pacific place (admiralty), seibu's basement

there's a jap rest. tat i love too but forgot e name...i need to check it up...will get back to u

oh yah...u shd bring ur kids to santa claus town too...^^

jacqueline97

Hi Rachel

Where is santa claus town?

Any idea where is hang heung in mongkok?

Maybe friend is trying to explain to me mongkok is like the balestier area that is found in singapore....

Okay, do keep me posted on the jap restaurant as my gal is a big fan of it....thanks again

rackev

sunshine,

don mention la...

those flats at mongkok areas are indeed old & run down...don expect to see something like e flats here lor...always in good conditions...but u wont be staying there anyway so no worries la...jus don wonder off to those small, quiet lanes lor...u would be safe...i've experienced it before but quite an 'eye opener' for me though... mongkok is very packed...full of people and lots of shopping to do lor...things at mongkok are e cheapest compared to tst & causeway bay...

for shoes, u can try 旺角中心, for bags, there's a stall at fa yuen st. tat we always buy fr, both places hv lots of trendy designs to choose fr and cheap...for clothes, selling winter clothing now so....

but of cos, if u hv e budget, get things fr tst & causeway then ^^

santa claus town is at central, check out e link below,

http://www.discoverhongkong.com/hkwf/eng/festival_overview/santastown.html#tree

here is e link for watami, e jap rest., u can check out e locations & menu

http://www.watami.com.hk/eng/shopinfo.asp

hang heung's shop is jus opp sino plaza ^^