Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

cainu

thanks rinnie & tamarind for the info!!

tamarind yes we'll be going on a weekday & i believe dec is not a school holiday there yet...do u think i should book tix online or juz buy at the entrance?? any idae what's popular in those cha chan ting & what's the price like?

cainu

thanks rinnie & tamarind for the info!!

tamarind yes we'll be going on a weekday & i believe dec is not a school holiday there yet...do u think i should book tix online or juz buy at the entrance?? is 1 full day there too long?? any idea what's popular in those cha chan ting & what's the price like?

tamarind

shawna,
Check this out

http://www.bank-holidays.com/holidays_2006_40.htm

Winter school holidays begin after Dec 15.

I did not buy tickets online, just bought at the entrance. The queues to buy tickets are very short, since most people going with tour groups don't need to buy tickets.

We were there from 10am to 6pm, only managed to cover 50% of the attractions. I should have planned to go there for 2 days. 1 full day is a bit tiring for young kids.

Not too sure about what is popular in cha chan ting, we usually go to porridge/noodle restaurants for lunch. Prices are quite similar to Singapore.

thomsonbride

I just got a quotation ($1500+) from my travel agent for my HK trip.

8D7N (Dec 2006)
Prudential Hotel
Cathay Pacific

I find it pretty ex....

Anyone going in Dec too? Can share your package with me?

tamarind

Thomson Bride,
Actually I think that price is OK for a 3-star hotel. If you want cheaper, you will have to consider budget hotels and budget airlines.

Check this out for the cheapest room rates
http://www.asiarooms.com/hong_kong/hong_kong-hotels.html?type=asc#hotels

Actually the cheapest is to get a dorm bed in YMCA Salisbury, only HKD230 a night.

I find this a very good website to search for customer reviews of hotels in Hong Kong.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g294217-Hong_Kong-Hotels.html

Did anyone book your package through Chan Bros? They told us that even if we do not go for their half-day tour, we still need to pay tippings.

mao_mao

I am planning to go Hong kong in Nov before the sch holidays...Anyone neos which agency includes Disney and ocean park in their itinery?

jong2201

i booked my F&E package for late Sep 06 thru Chan Brothers. Staff there are always instructed to tell customers that tipping is compulsory whether or not you join the half day city tour. however, the staff who attended to me was kind enough to give this advice - unless the HK agent explicitly asks for tips at the point in time when you tell them you do not want to join the city tour, just pretend you are not aware of the "compulsory tipping".

when the HK agent checked with us if we wanted to join the city tour, we told him no and he also never initiate any collection so we didnt pay a single cent on tipping the HK agent.

mao_mao

I will be staying at Dorsett Seaview next mth. Anyone has been there b4? The nearest MTR station is Yau ma tei...Any eateries nearby? Where can i find nice dim sum to eat?

ying11

Hi mao mao,
I stayed at Dorsett before. Room is super small..after put luggage, dont have room to walk. But its in a very convenient place. I think Xu Liu San is just opposite.

I think you can just walk along the street and can go into any "cha ting" and food is good.

At night, you cna go and eat the famous claypot rice...

mao_mao

HI ying ying,

Tks for the infor...Most important is convenience lor...

Xu Liu San is pronounce in mandarin or cantoese huh? Its a cafe?

Where can I find the claypot rice?

Is there any kettle in the hotel?

Is there any time difference in hongkong?

Ops, soory, too many questions liao..hee

"Xu Liu Shan" is in mandarin... It's a dessert cafe. A must-try is their mango pudding...

Near the Yau Ma Tei station is the famous Hang Heong (in cantonese) wifey biscuits. Very small shop, quite ez to miss.

mao_mao

HI tsukushi,

tks for the information..will sure go try the dessert =).

wow, i loved wifey biscuits leh..tks..

Ask u hor, is there any baggage limit for their MTR? cos tink i read in one of the thread that there is a size baggage limit for travelling on the mTR lor...is it true huh?

snowiee

Hi, anyone stayed at Langham Hotel before?

any tour agencies to intro to book for HK trips?

first time booking a trip to hk..

please help !

mao_mao

HI Snowiee,

I will be staying at Dorsett Seaview hotel next mth lor...Also my 1st time to HK..hee

I signed up with SA tour fo rthis free & easy package...Includes 3N stay at 3 star hotel, 1N stay at Disney Hollywood hotel + 2 day passes to Disneyland. Paid ard $867 per pax lor..Going by Cathay Pacific...

U intend to go free and easy?

snowiee

Hi mao mao

Actually have just booked the tickets and hotel.

I am going free and easy. will be going for 5D4N. flying by SIA and staying at a 5 star hotel.

works out to be about $980 or so per pax...

hehe.. am so excited...

mao mao, what time is your flight to HK and back to sg?

did u manage to get the morning flight on cathay pacific?

mao_mao

Hi snowiee,

I also going 5D4N....

My flight bk to sg is at 4pm leh...how abt u?

Wich hotel u staying at?

U mean whether i manage to get morning flight when i depart frm sg/ yes, i taking 10.10am flight to HKG.

Have u plan out your itinrtry? me flying off this sun liao but hv not decide my itiniery yet...

tingz

Hi all, I plan to visit HK during the new year holiday, need some advise

1. a friend of mine recommend Mirama hotel, anyone stay there before? izit convenient?

2. Since it will be winter in jan, will the shopping there all be selling winter clothes? which means it wont be suitable for humid s'pore?

3. Is 3D 2N enough for shopping and a vist to ocean park?

jong2201

hi tingz,

stayed at miramar hotel at Tsim Sha Tsui during my recent HK trip in late Sep 06. yes, i would say is very convenient. within short walking distance from TST MTR, eateries and shopping area. highly recommended.

snowiee

hi mao mao, i am going to stay at langham place hotel.

anyone stayed there or been there or going there?

any comments about this hotel?

by the way, how are u all going to get from the airport to the hotel ah?

the airport express line heard got to change train on different MTR lines. do we have to walk very far to get from 1 line to the other?

mao_mao

HI snowiee,

Ic..heard that its a nice hotel leh...5 star hor?

My package includes the airport-hotel-airport transfer lor...hmm..

Wonder if taking cab in HKG is expensive hor?

Anyone knows hows the weather in HKG now? cold? ned to bring thick clothings?

snowiee

ya mao mao.. heard its nice too.. *keeps finger crossed.. hehe

how much for the airport express if i take by MTR ah?

by the way i got something to ask you ladies for help

u know that octopus card thing ? they got this one -->

HK$300 - Programmed with 2 single journeys on the Airport Express and 3 days of unlimited MTR rides

then its states --> # The 3-day unlimited MTR rides will start from the time of the first MTR journey.

if example i am going for 5 day 4 nights

day 1 - take airport train
day 2 - unlimited
day 3- unlimited
day 4 -unlimied
day 5 - 2nd airport train trip

does it works like this ?

or is it once i take the airport train on day 1 then its already considered part of the unlimited rides liao?

meaning:

day 1 - take airport train ; unlimited starts
day 2 - unlimited
day 3- unlimited
day 4 - must pay
day 5 - 2nd airport train trip

hadoe

Hi I am looking for a hotel in Wan chai area?
Any to recommend?
3-4 star hotel, budget no more than $130!
Going there wtih my hb and bb gal!!

lph

can take the airport express.
buy the tickets at the airport station, take the train and transfer to their airport shuttle bus. there are 5 buses, depending on wich hotel u stay.

i did nt take any cab in hk. took mtr to most places and its like our mrt system here. some of the station need to walk quite far for transfer.

i'll be gg there for the 3rd time, will be staying at concourse hotel this time coz HK trip is so empensive nowadays.

i styed at Mirmar during my last trp in Jan. gd location but room super small.

snowiee

ya tsukushi.. but dunno when the unlimited pass starts...

LPH, how do u know which hotel the bus stops at?

any airport shuttle bus to langham place?

snowiee

hi checked out already. doesnt say that much and not sure if its update

saw langham hotel but didnt see langham place

maybe i email the hotel to ask

momopo

anyone stayed at everygreen hotel before?

is it better than mayfair gardens?

n are the toilets clean in these 2 places?

lph

the K1 to K5 service will list the hotel that they will stop at. its in the webby tat tsukushi provided.

hadoe

Anyone stayed at the Metropark hotel Mongkok recently?

Is it safe now??

i didn't know that some gsts stayed in this hotel in Y2003 contracted SARS....

niko_niko

hi Snowiee,

U could also take the airport express and change the train at HK station to go to mongkok station within one hour you can reach the hotel.

I went to HK 3 time this yr this is the way that i go to my hotel which is langham place hotel lor

snowiee

thanks niko !

is it very far to walk from the mongkok station to langham place hotel?

as in are there lifts that we can use.. or do we have to carry the luggage up the stairs by ourself?

oh yes.. niko i looked at the MTR map..

is it better to take route :

1. Airport -> Tsing Yi -> Lai King -> Mongkok

or

2. Airport -> Hong Kong (do i have to change train at Central MTR station to take to the Mongkok line? -> Mongkok

Heard from some forum mates that the walking distance between certain interchange is far... Thus should i take route 1 or route 2 ?

thanks for ur help !

snowiee

we are trying to utilize the MTR line and walking.. hehe

most probably not taking cab as its the first time we are there.. not sure how does cab charging works also... :D

tried checking out the MTR website but it only says free shuttle bus is provided to langham hotel.. but doesnt states if therei s a free shuttle to langham place....

mao_mao

Hi snowiee,

I am bk from Hong Kong liao..Stayed at Dorsett Seaview, room is very very small, small toilet,but quite convenient as it is just in front of temple st market, near to Yan Ma Tei MTR...REalised that their MTR is not lik eour MRT here, not much escalator lor...Have to climb stairs all the time...

Went to some resturant for dim sum in the morning, those ohbasans really got attitude prob. Ask them for a pen to write our orders, they can throw the pen on the table to you....

Overall, only things in Mongkok ( sai yeung choi st)are cheap, the rest are ex ex...Can go to their Fa Yuen st also call the sportswear st where they sell alot of sports shoes there...

I only enjoyed my stay at Disneyland....Thumbs up for the hotel- HOllywood Hotel and their service....It is bery fun in their Disney =)..Might go there again next yr..

So when u departing for HOng Kong?

snowiee

hi welcome back mao mao

their MTR not much escalator?? oh no...

do u think u can recall if they got escalator at mongkok?

coz i was thinking of taking the AirportExpress Line to my hotel

did you visit Ladies Street? The things there also expensive ah? how about the factory outlets? did u go there too ?

by the way are there any clothes that are suited to wear for Singapore for sale in sai yeung choi street or other places?

i not sure if i will be going disneyland coz the schedule seems tight for me.... heheh.. like so many places to visit..

u only went to sai yeung choi st , fa yuen st and disneyland ah?

did u go to the peak , victoria harbour, lantau island etc?

wah lao.. the aunties are the dim sum so rude?? yicks... so their service level is still that poor ... sian liao....

i will be going there next mth in december. hows the weather there now? cold or not?

mao_mao

snowiee,
Mongkok there have some escalator, but tink u have to lug your luggage one floor down before there is a lift lor....

Ladies street nothing much reall ylor...hmm.. mabye not so suitable for us here. Factory outlets?? din go leh..where is it huh?

Yes, dun worry, the sai yeung choi st is like our BUgis Village lor, have Bossini, citychain, giodano and LIPz there....I bought a tshirt for $ there =). Their jeans is less than $20 there lor....Now they selling alot of those windbreakers..

I joinied a half day tour to victria peak, xin guang da dao, took the star ferry, took the open-top bus also lor...Cost us HKD280 per pax. Including a 8 course dinner as well =)..not bad lor...

Actually victoria peak nothing much one, our normal digital camera won't be able to capture those nice lightings...They have those professioanl photographers there to take the photos for yo at $7 per piece lor...we din take ...

Din went to lantau island cos no time liao...went to Disneyland, THUMBS up =).

TST and Causeway Bay things are so super duper ex...only Mongkok things are cheap..tink u can spend at least more than half a day there =)... we went there for 2 days lor...bought bags, hello kitty things...hee

Ya lor, those cha chan ting ohbasan also same thing lor....haiz..

Weahter is like in spore lor, hot but not as hot as spore...nite time, the wind ca be quite chilling esp if u are going up to victoria peak, bring a wind breaker along ya...

snowiee

thanks mao mao for the info !

wah.. meaning at mongkok i got to carry the luggage and walk down 1 flight of stairs?

or will there be like escalators all the way so i can take the escalator and no need to carry the luggage manually and walk up the stairs?

by the way where u went to buy hello kitty stuff? cheap ah?

is disneyland crowded?

iwill be going free and easy to victoria peak.. did u have to queue very long to wait for the tram to take u up the peak?

mao mao,
Surprised to hear that the attitude of the restaurant staff you encountered was bad. We encountered pretty helpful staff in most places, and we asked them for recommendations...

There's a nice seafood roadside stall at Temple St. I think it's near to Dorsett Seaview. We had hairy crabs there. Their 'niao4 xia1' was pretty good too.

niko_niko

Hi snowiee,

For me, I took the second route. The no. of stations is less and the walking distance from Hong Kong to Central station is approx 7-8 min. There are travellators linking the 2 stations and there is also a lift to the train platform at Central station towards Mongkok. Since this is the first station, u should be able to find seat. When u reach Mongkok station, look out for the signage that leads to Langham Place Shopping centre. It's a relatively short walk from the station to the shopping centre. From the basment take a lift to Level 4A. U will see Chi Ji (池記), turn right and make a left turn before Delifrance. U will see a linkway to Langham Place Hotel. Enjoy!!

A word of caution: On ur return trip, there is no escalators that is downriding to the train station so therefore u will have to carry ur luggage down the stairs. There is also no lift around.

Hope the info helps.

snowiee

thanks a lot niko !

so u took the airport shuttle bus from Langham place back to the airport on your return journey?

niko_niko

U r welcome!

Nope, we took train coz we felt we can better gauge our timing back to the airport. Luggage carried by my private coolie...my hubby...hehehehe.

mao_mao

snowiee,
ya lor, got to walk down stairs lor..

I went Trendyland at Mongkok and TST...not bery cheap, quite ex too....u like HK things too? I am selling off some of the things in other thread..

Disneyland huh? still quite ok, crowded but just q awhile lor...really worth goign there... I missed the fireworks now...Must stay til 7pm for the fireworks...nice..

I din take a tram up e peak leh...took a coach instead...

snowiee

selling what things?

got any link to the thread?

where is trendyland? expensive also ah.. which things expensive?

wah.. take coach up to the peak will get road sick? i thought the attraction is the tram? i itnend to take the tram up

u went to disneyland on a weekday or weekend ah? not crowded ah?

i thinking if i wanna go macau.. dunno if got time.. heheh

u went for 5D4N?

mao_mao

snowiee,

haha, selling some hello kitty things but quite ex from wat i got in HK lor...

Trendyland sells Hello Kitty things and other sanrio items.

cos we joined a evening tour, so the coach send us up to the peak...

I went disenyland on a wkday, quite crowded though...but the q clears quite fast...only except that got to q awhile for taking phtos with Mickey, minnie etc...

Ya, went 5D4N...should have stayed 1 more nite in Disneyland....Felt in lvoe with the fireworks...really...still tinking abt it now...

samgirl

Langham Place is very very near to Mongkok MTR station. It's a very new shopping centre (and huge) from what I gather.

426175.jpg

There's a building near Ginza Place (a shopping centre near Ladies Market...and the end of the stretch...the building has many small shops selling collectable toys. It's called Toymart I think

426176.jpg

426177.jpg

As for the 1 day tourist MTR tix, it is valid for 24hrs...meaning if u purchased it at 11am, then it will be valid till 10:59am the next day.

lph

i juz came back a few days ago.
stayed at metropark mongkok. stayed on the highest floor n according to the staff, they upgraded the room for us as we can only check in at 3+pm. btw, i think the hotel with SARS is Metropark Kowloon, not Metropark Mongkok.

a short walk to prince edward mtr. 1 of the cha chan ting at the next building sellz very nice porridge and carrot cake. still miss it a lot.

things are the cheapest in fa yuen street. u can get the same belt at half the price compared to grandville or a S$ a few bucks cheaper for shoes.
there is a traditinal bakery shop along fa yuen street that sells freshly baked egg tarts n coconut tarts. very nice. there are also a lot of shops selling sanrio things.

i also like to go to the esprit outlet at TST, near Peninsula hotel. It has more variety compared to the outlet at Mongkok. Allied plaza and Agrlye Centre is another shoppping mall that sells trendy clothes n shoes.

Theres nothing much at Ladies mkt, almost everything needs to be bargain as they dont indicate the price. n the attitude is still as bad.

snowiee

thanks samgirl for the pic !

wow LPH sounds fun

allied plaza and agryle centre now do they sell clothes suitable for wear in singapore weather? or all winter clothes already.

The traditional bakery shop sounds interesting.. i think i will go try it ! hehe.... do u have its shop name?

by the way, how much are the espirit factory outlet things cheaper as compared to singapore?

eg. pants in sg selling for $100, how much can we buy similar pants at the espirit HK ? did u manage to get any clothes at espirit Selling clothes suited to wear in Singapore weather at Espirit? or now is all selling winter clothes liao..? Thanks in advance for your reply !