Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

zuki

mystique and minssy:
thanks for the advise

cactus_79

Airport express may have a promo up to Novembeer this year where there's a discount offered to pple travelling in groups of 2, 3,and 4. You can check it from the airport express hk website.
Airport express may be slightly ex but I think it's value for money cos no need to squeeze with people, and it's rather fast! the frequency of the trains is good. I used HK airport express service in May this year. I arrived at HK airport at 1215pm. I reached my hotel (I took the free connecting airport express bus service to my hotel) at 130pm! The train tide itself was about 30 minutes only. Also, if you take airport express back from hotel to airport. you can do an early luggage check-in at Kowloon or Hong Kong station....so, if your flight is at 8pm, you can check in your luggage when you check out at the hotel... do more shopping or eating before going to the airport!!

If you take the MTR, make sure your luggage is within the allowed dimensions... you can check up the MTR website for this.

I took MTR from Kowloon to Shenzhen, so am aware of MTR lugguage restrictions (ie. 1 passenger 1 luggage only not exceeding 170cm in total dimensions).

yc_mw

Wonder if anyone here who'sflying over to HK soon could do me a favour? I need some help in buying some L'Occitaine stuff...

zuki

just wanna share the price with ppl travelling to HK during Nov. just came back from SA travel fare. 3d2n HK is $518 staying in Kowloon Hotel. ext per night is $220. I paid a little more cos the coming back date has to be completed by 17th Nov but i wanna it to be 19th so i need to top up $50 for per pax travel by CX. in total i paid $1784 for 2 pax for 5D4N
CTC was having a fare at Marina Sq, so i walk over to get a comparison, guess wat!! for the same package they quoted me $2426!!!!!!

juanjuan

hi zuki i went for the tour fair too!! but i signed up for de 5 days taiwan and 2 days hong kong package at ard 2.3k for 2......me compared CTC too..siao de their price.....im not quite excited haha...more excited den de wedding dinner cos will be spending xmas in taiwan and hong kong lolz.....but hong kong is free and easy...so now still duno where to go

zuki

hi juan...
did u see the Q? wanna give up at first cos got to wait for abt 100 ppl before us
but i didn't Q for the free gifts... is it ur 1st time HK, me the 1st time so did quite alot of survey

dear99

I'm bac fr my hk trip yest... those of u tinkin of gg to disneyland, hmm... my advice is save e $$ for shopping better.
i paid hk$350 for e entrance to disneyland and dis is my 1st time there and last, if u been to Tokyo disney better to drop e idea of hk disney...

Shopping there was very gd becos discounts r everywhere!!

zuki

deardear...
where do u enjoy the most for shopping in HK? im going with hubby in Nov
any pictures to share?

juanjuan

hi zuki....i was 300 numbers away frm my q...lolz....waited for 3 hrs...yah first time hk and taiwan....colleagues told me not to go disney or anywhere...just shop and eat..haha

hello

Juz to share my HK package during May. I booked thru NATAS fair during March and I booked air tickets and hotel separately. For a 6D/5N hotel stay only cost me $792 with 2 double beds inside the room (buy 4 nites and get 1 nite free). So total 4 adults can share 1 room, we had 3 adults and 1 baby). So 1 nite for 1 person is only SGD50. The room is big and is about 32 square metre and the hotel is Marco Polo Gateway. I quite like the location. Next visit will most probably stay back the same hotel. Cos there is a big shopping centre around, so even if it rains, we still can shop easily. During our stay, it was my MIL birthday, to our surprise when we reached the hotel room, there was a birthday cake on the table :p

For air ticket, we booked United Airline and it was around $340-$350 per person. Wheras Jetstar Asia quoted us $326. United Airline is good cos the flight is 6.45am depart and reaches Spore at 11.15pm. Go early and come back late, that is the most worth deal.

Try to book ur travel from NATAS fair cos that is where u can have the best deal as all the agencies are under 1 roof. We spent total 7 hours inside to ask around and in the end, we found that our deal were quite good.

U must be prepare to ask as many agencies as possible in order to have a good deal.

beenz

Hi, jus came back from HK[air pollution very bad
] and got this 100cash voucher for this shoe brand[acupuncture]- London brand. anyone interested pls PM me. btw i'm giving it away free. but collection will be at JE[Mon to Fri], Weekends[AMK]

jong2201

Hi Been,

Just booked my HK trip today for travel from 27/9/06 to 1/10/06.

Any idea what caused the air pollution? How do you define very bad?

Hope by the time i go, condition will be better.

beenz

oh.. PSI higher then normal. go peak see city view blur blur at the backdrop. have attached a pic. cos b4 i went to HK, my eyes got infection and is recovering. then 2nd day.. the infection like coming back.. city area alot of cars and more smoke :p i'm staying at preduential hotel at jordon mtr station and i can see clearly the dust is flying in the air.
401577.jpg

beenz

air polluation cause by factories at shen zhen. and got news during my stay reporting abt the pollution scaring away investor..

shirgal

hi! i think hong kong don't have the goods n services tax policies yet. Their government even send a group here to study our GST policy...

jong2201

Hi been,

thanks for sharing.

oh no, if the factories were the cause, it's not likely that condition will improve in the short run.

just keep my fingers crossed as i am bringing 2 young children along.

heard some locals even wear a mask. is it commmon there? i may prepare some for my kids if it is not an unusual sight...don't want to look exaggerating too. hahaha.

beenz

no problem 7788,
hmm.. not many ppl wear mask there. i got saw 1 gal do tat tho. think the hongkee are used to these kind of conditions liao. or somemore the food there are very salty, don't knw if u can take it anot. for me, i cannot. :p

jong2201

i have been there some 15 years back and yes even then i didnt like their saltish food. got to instruct them not to add so much salt or sauce lor if possible.

will be staying at miramar & going disneyland. hope my kids will enjoy the trip.

schnauzie

nv see pple wear mask..only onne n its becoz he gt flu.

will be weird to see a family of maskmen...maciam goin to rob bank haha

josie27

Anyone can recommend on (1) which outer island to go ? Chang zhou or lamma Island or Macau ?
(2)To get to the ferry point, is it we hv to take train to Central, than walk to the ferry point ? I try to find out the info, but so far has yet to get it right. pls advise. thanks

selphie

Hi jose

To go lamma island, take the ferry from the wan chai ferry terminal, costs less than S$2. To go Macau, take the ferry from Shueng Wan Ferry terminal - takes 50mins, costs about less than S$20 - walk down the sheltered walkway along IFC.

In Lamma, you can go for the hiking trail and it will lead you to some nice seafood restaurants at the end of the trail. if you're too lazy, just hit the seafood restaurants along the ferry terminal.

In Macau, there're shuttle buses to the various casinos such as Sands, etc. Otherwise just take a cab downtown where the old ruins, fortress and shopping stretch are..

The air pollution is really bad, I used to be able to see the THICK layer of polluted air from my apt at mid-levels side.. some days the fog and pollution was so bad, we could hardly see the harbour or 50m away... HK good for holiday (shopping & FOOD!), no good for staying long-term...

josie27

Hi Selphie :
Me going Hk next week, hope the air pollution wont be so bad. I agree HK is good place for shopping & food. I have been to HK for many times but so far never go to the outskirt like Lamma Island. Hence, thot for a change can visit one of the Island. The Cha chang ting open till quite late like 12 or 1am, hence, is easy to become fat in HK haha, jus joking
anyway thanks for the info

yc_mw

Anyone can do some updates on weather & shopping in HK now. Tinking of going over again... But, have no idea on how's the Shopping now since the sales are supposed to be over.. Will appreciate any new updates

hello

Hi Selphie,

Ferry for Macau is around HKD260 to HKD300, ard SGD50 to SGD60, not less than SGD20 leh :p

yc_mw

Hmm, when I went in Aug, the station isn't ready yet le. But, I saw a poster that says that it will start operating in Sept le.

schnauzie

u can check the website the ngor pin 360 website..when it is up, can even book tic online.
take cable car better,...last mthi took the bus up until i want to puke *giddy*

selphie

Hi Steve

Really?? Oops, may have mixed it up with another ferry ticket price..! sorry..

Hi HK Fans

If you are adventurous, can take MTR to Shatin and go for a Cha Chun Teng there, turn out left and walk downwards.. it's 3 levels, shaped like a 'floating resturant', lots of tables, though some days can get crowded too.. the steamed scallops with garlic and vermicelli is really good!!

But most times, just explore the can tengs.. see the menu and just walk in, most times it's pretty good.. especially if it's cuisine for different parts of China.

Anyone who needs to navigate around, can go to this website: www.centamap.com good directions with pics of bus stops and locations of restaurants etc.

selphie

One more thing to add.. the foodcourts can be pretty good too. The one at Pacific Place beside McDonalds has a Thai Stall that sells 'grilled pork neck', I think it's really meat from near the pig's neck, nicely marinated and grilled and topped with spicy, sour Thai chilli sauce.. it's just heavenly yummy! Have not been able to find it in Thai restaurants in Singapore since coming back.. really miss this dish!

The Korean stall there serves pretty authentic stuff too..

Need some help here...

We're planning to take Jetstar but there is no free express-check-in for this airline.

Do you normally deposit your lugguage after checking out of the hotel, at the hotel concierge?

shirgal

My Kakis and i checked out of the hotel in the morning and deposited our lugguages at the concierge.Then we went shopping until we go back to hotel to collect the bags n wait for our bus.

We went to hk on 10-13 Aug(Thur-Sun). the experience from the Hotel to the Plane was scary.
Firstly, the bus that was surposed to pick us left without us. we stood at the entrance n waited for about 10 mins, our hk friend sensed that something wasn't right and called the number on the confirmation letter. She later told us that the hk tour agency said that the bus had came half an hour earlier and it had reached the airport liao!! (our friend also mentioned that the person on the phone was rude)later, the agency called back and offered hk$300 cabfare to go airport.(agency borrowed $$ from hotel)
When we reach the airport, there was a v long Q at the check in counter. we were told not to bring in any liquid/gel stuff onto plane. We had to go thru a 2nd security check(have to take off shoes/slippers for checking purpose), as we r taking united airlines.
Finally on board and settle down, and the plane was starting to move off from its stationary position, when suddenly the aircraft had a power failure!! Power came back a few minutes later.. flight was delay as plane missed the slot to move to the taxi way.. take off about 20 mins later..

pruechan

I love HK! Am going back next year. I just went in May this year. I stayed at Eaton Hotel which was very convenient to every where as it is in Jordan.

Must-Try is the Yee Shun Steam Milk! *drools*
Actually in HK, dun need to go to restaurant, any Cha Chan Ting is worth a try!

But I didnt enjoy the Disneyland.. kinda boring except shopping for the souvenirs. I think Ocean Park is still a better choice and not so expensive.

Travelling on the MTR is a fantastic choice and my sista & I just simply hopped off at any stations and explore the place! So one of our fav. place is Kwun Tong! Eat & Shop! hahaha.. i'm losing control here now..

cainu

hi prue!

am going end of the year, staying at nathan (juz beside eaton)
so any recommendations of nice eateries around that area? esp breakfast? did u try walking from the hotel to the star ferry & is it very far away? did u take taxi from airport to the hotel, if so how much? do u reckon kids will enjoy disneyland? is it better to book tix online or buy at the entrance?

sorry to ask so many questions but it is my 1st time there with the kids so need to do some homework!! appreciate ur help!!

rinnie

That area is gd..convenient for everything...actually i also can't remember the eatery names..but we went for Dim Sum and it was fantastic!! also tried their famous pineapple bun one of the mornings too...

The first time when i went with my friends, we actually manged to walk to the star ferry place..can't remember how long we walked but bu dun feel it cos you're shopping along the way..so it's possible...

Mine had the hotel transfer so I'm not sure how much it cost..actually it's possible to take their MTR(train) also..cos the first time I went, can u believe it, my friends and I were happily shopping in the morning that we forgot the time...so took the MTR to the airport..quite easy...

I've not gone to disneyland but I have friends who have gone and they're adults and they love it as well..so I believe your kids will like it...tink u better buy at the entrance cos there have been cases where tickets were bought but they dint manage to get it..but do be prepared for the crowd too....

Tink for kids ar, they will also like Ocean Park. =)
Enjoy your trip!!

bwsy

I'm going to HK in Nov but booking accomodations can be a real headache especially with tight budgets.

Can anyone help to suggest some budget hotels for my stay in HK and Macau? I'm open to guest house also but provided they are safe and clean. In fact, I'm looking at spending $100+ for each night stay.

Can kind souls help?

I think $100+ each night can go for 3 star hotels already... Checked recent prices, for 3 nights it's about $500-600, fly by either Jetstar or Cathay, staying in Kowloon area. The price includes tax.

bwsy

Thanks Makino. But the period that I'm going
is very expensive. Hotel rates have gone up.
With $100+ to stay in hotel is tough.

Anybody knows of any good guest house or hostel in Kowloon?

tamarind

bwsy,
Try YMCA Salisbury, they have dorm rooms for HKD230.

http://www.ymcahk.org.hk/sales/html/DR.htm

It is in a very good location, beside the Peninsula Hotel in TST. I have stayed in a harbour suite room there before, it is a very good and clean hotel.

shawna,
I have just returned from Hong Kong, with a visit to Disneyland with my kids, it is very nice ! If you have kids, you certainly must go. But make sure you go on a weekday to avoid the crowds, and make sure it is NOT public or school holiday in mainland China.