Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

adelene

Minssy,
I just check out kimberly hotel. Cost abt HK$950/night (S$195). very expensive leh!

Steve,
How much is Marca Polo Gateway hotel?

hello

hi Blue Ginger
Marco Polo Gateway hotel cost $198 per nite when i booked in May 06. Dunno if the price has increased since. Because there's a free 1 nite stay for 4 nites booked, total paid $792 for 5 nites (about $158 per nite on ave). If i remembered correctly, Kimberly room size is about 20 sqm whereas Marco Polo Gateway 32 sqm. One thing I like is that the room can accomodate 4 adults (cos there are 2 queen size bed in the room). Thus, if there are more people, the average cost should be quite reasonable. You may like to check out Jetabout holidays (www.jetabout.com.sg). Their rates are quite good compared to those online hotel booking sites. Can call them to find out if there's any promotion going on as sometimes the website doesn't show. HTHs.

yc_mw

After reading Steve's post, feel really tempted to stay in Marco Polo Gateway, but as they do not have any good promo at the moment, have eventually decide to book Kowloon. They're having free beakfast for all paying guest (Stay for min 4nights), and there's a complimentary upgrade to Harbourview room. The price is Very reasonable at only $938 for my total 7days, 6nights stay. With breakfast included, I tink it's really a STEAL! Jetabout Holidays are giving pretty good deals fot their hotel rates. Can checkout their webbie. www.jetabout.com.sg

hello

Hi piglet,

Although the hotel provides free breakfast, but we are there to try their 'dim sum' and other good foods from 'cha can tin' mah. So after having a buffet breakfast, will have lesser stomach place to try other foods. Might as well do away with the breakfast and ask for further discount? :p

yc_mw

Hi Steve,

Have tried to squeeze more out of em lor. But, the can't exchange the free breakfast for something else le. But, overall, tink that we still got some a good deal, so we're not complaining. :D

thensis

I be going on 29 Jun to 4 July 6D5N and staying at prudential hotel.
Can anyone recommend any nice place for breakfast around this area?
Pls advice Thanks!

hi eva,

heard the opp hotel, shamrock's breakfast is cool..

else, just walk to any of the 'cha can ting' and you will get authentic hong kong breakfast

hello

Hi Eva,

U can refer to my posting on top regarding the 'dim sum'. It is at level 3 of the shopping centre (Opposite Marco Polo Gateway hotel), the name of the Chinese restaurant is 'Dao Xiang'.

A bowl of porridge with lots of ingredients only cost HKD4.80, its less than SGD1.00. But you have to go during the promotion hour.

Hi SIntel,

No VISA is required.
Juz go there and enjoy.

There is a restaurant opp Eaton Hotel, called "Lian Bang" something, which serves very nice dim sum and is very cheap as well. Was recommended by an Eaton staff.

thensis

Hi minssy, Steve and tsukushi,

Thanks for the recommendations!
I will try these places for the breakfast.
As I am 1st time going HK so abit excited...heehee...
Its nice of you guys. ^_^
By the way, I will be oso going Macau for a day.
Any good place for sightseeing/shopping/food to recommend?

hi thensister,

there area a few posts in this thread . macau is quite mentioned. also there are 2 other hong kong threads in this 'honeymoon & travel' topic. read thru recent ones and you will find good info...

kysha

Hi Steve,

I'm interested to go to the Dim Sum place that u are raving about. May I know the name of the shopping centre it's located at?

hello

Hi ThenSister,

Macau u mustt go to "Dan Zai" tp try out their birdnest egg tart and buy famous local products from there. Even "Mei Shi Da San Tong"(the Taiwan program also recommend that area. U can try out from the Pinokio restaurant).

Macau u must also go to "Da San Ba", there are a lot of local products as well. By the way, the exchange rate is HKD100.00 to Macau103.00. U can change from the bank.

Hi Kysha,

The shopping centre name is "Silver Cord". The "Chai Siew Bao" also cost HKD4.80 only, must try. We ordered a lot of 'dim sum' and ate until veri 'shiok'. :p

iteo

Would appreciate if anyone can advise on these 2 hotels: Stanford Hotel and Metropark (Concourse).

Want a hotel in Mongkok, 3-star enuf since only there for 2 days.. Which will be better in terms of location and cleanliness? thanks!!!

iteo

Would appreciate if anyone can advise on these 2 hotels: Stanford Hotel and Metropark (Concourse).

Want a hotel in Mongkok, 3-star enuf since only there for 2 days.. Which will be better in terms of location and cleanliness? thanks!!!

erko_

Hi Irene, i juz came back frm hong kong yest..stayed at the Concourse Hotel.. it was not bad..very convenient, it was less than 5 mins away frm the mtr and within walking distance of shopping malls like langham place and ladies street.room was quite clean too.

iteo

hi erko! think might take stanford instead.. cheaper and seems like location also better than concourse as checked with a friend.. hehe.. thx!!

juz_dimp

hey folks,
me tok of going hk F&N end of july.but just wanted a budget hotel for 2.
is there any one tat can tell me to get S$50/night at TSHIM SHA CHUI

tks tks
gam sia gam sia

ting1977

Hi Juz_dimp

Try Mayfair Garden hotel. Its small but the location is good (near Jordon MTR, less than 5mins walk) and its cheap (about S$50 per pax). Dun worry, I have stayed a few times. Its not the sleezy hotel.

miu

Im back from HK recently. Stayed at Stanford @mongkok. As I prefer shopping at mongkok so I find the hotel location is very ideal. However the distance from Mongkok MTR station to the hotel is quite a distance. Personally I find very shag to walk from the MTR station back to hotel after a day out walking/shopping somewhere else.

The hotel room is very small but for 2 pax, it is enuff lah. Overall, I had a pleasant stay there. Room is clean, bright and tidy
We stayed at room 1003 & 1004 (non smoking floor)
Their check out time is 12pm, if you wish to extend it, they charge HKD50 per hr.

Anyone staying at Stanford can try their dim sum at their chinese resturant. I think they are open from 11am. If you pay your bill before 12.30pm. There is a 30% discount. Their lobster porridge is very yummy but jus a small bowl. We ordered abt 15 items, the bill after 30% is HKD380+. There were 5 of us eating.

We tried a no brand "tian-tang" shop along the way to the hotel. Definitely cheaper than the branded ones like Xu liu Shan. Prices starts from HKD15 onwards.

I hope the above info is useful for those gg to HK and are deciding whether to stay at Standford Hotel.

Happy shopping!!

pinkberrycake

Anyone join the half day city tour to Shenzhen free by tour group?? is there anything to shop here? my tour agency only give half day shopping tour to Shenzhen by not to the 'xiao ren guo', thus hesitate whether to go anot. And oso for the half day city tour to the peak, aberdeen etc, any free makan???

honeybear

Hi.. i was bk from Hk last wk. Hit by typhoon no.3. Stayed at Stanford hotel, the room is really really v small.

Hi Miu, My check-out time is 3pm leh, only aft that will be additional charge. I like Xu Liu Shan! patronize every single day. I will say a MUZ GO desert place if u like mango desert. Their servings is generous esp the mangos. Cant compare in SG lor

pinkberrycake, u may join the 1/2day tour to SZ if u want. I went there by myself. only visit the shopping mall nxt to the custom. Alot of imitation goods lor, Tiffany, LV, Rolex.... and oso lots of mani, pedi svcs! Other than that... nothg much liao. Spent 1/2 a day there. I thk A tour guide will be better, will bring u to more places in SZ.

Fa Yuen Street, nothg to shop. All the sportwears retail which i've aldy got it at Kung Tong warehse liao.

Rem to try their "Chu Qian Yi Ding" at the Cha Cang Ting at Mongkok... Yummy.

Ladies street, disappointed. not much thgs to buy, Their imitation look really faked!!

Fot Lao po Bing, along Mongkok, theres a Heng Heung shop liao. If nt, theres 1 at Basement Sogo. Almond flakes from Meixin oso worth trying....

Happy shopping gals!!!

mystique

I am planning to go to HK in Dec. Am considering between these 5 hotels.. Anyone has any reviews or comments on them? TIA!

[*]Royal Pacific - Hotel Wing
[*]Harbour Plaza Metropolis
[*]Royal Pacific - Tower Wing
[*]Kowloon Hotel
[*]Langham Hotel

dear99

I'm gg hk next wk, intend to go to disneyland, can someone advice do i need to buy e tix online first?

zuki

hi..me planning my first trip to hong kong, after some research, most likely will stay in kowloon hotel, when is the best time to book the ticket and hotel? any advise?

zuki

hi mystique
depend on where u wanna shop? i guess if u wanna shop more at TST, kowloon hotel seem to be a better choice,TST MTR is just few mins walk and i was planning oso to visit causeway bay for shopping too. langham place e one in mongkok i heard is beautiful and big shopping mall just few step away, but not too sure abt langham hotel. correct me if im wrong, cos im still finding out more before i decide. thanks...

hi zuki,

as soon as once your air tix or trip is confirmed... if the hotel is popular or if its peak season, you may not get a fast confirmation.

langham hotel is 5 star.. ex if you are looking at budget hotels..

mystique

Zuki, Langham is a new hotel nearer to TST rather than Langham Place which like you said, is actually in Mongkok area.

Minssy, we're travelling there for our 'mini' honeymoon.. I guess Langham is a good choice, then.

dear99

Dis is my 3rd visit to hk and 3rd time staying at kowloon... Aug2004, Aug 2005 and Aug 2006 i'm staying at kowloon hotel... really thumb up!! S$156/nitz only.. i bk online. i'm departing on Mon..

yc_mw

Hi girls, I'm back. Will really recommend you girls to check out Argle Center. (Mongkok Zhong Xin)Lotsa Fab & Reasonable priced stuff there. If planning to go Shen Zhen, pls change to RMB, I think it's more worth it then using HKD there.

yc_mw

Kowloon Hotel IMO in real small. Even smaller then Park Hotel. (There's no dressing table for ladies de lor) But, in terms of convenience, it's a BIG thumbs up. For Dim Sum, I think MUST try is ''Tao Heung'' at Silvercod S.C (3rd floor). It's Real Cheap & Good! My & my So ate about 12 types of Dim Sum & we only paid HKD 120. (Inclusive of tea- less then $25 for 2 pax)

kar

fatcat, really ah... hmm.. ok... maybe we'll stay concourse then.

Btw, bookin direct from the hotel's website is cheaper or via zuji.com is cheaper? need help... thanks.

zuki

thks minssy...
guess i will try to book asap. travel by CX ,5 days 4 nights staying in kowloon is appx $1700 during nov. is the quote ok?

hi qris lynn,

oh i support! its very very very lovely! u will enjoy it!

hi zuki,

$1700 for 2 pple? what hotel?

hi zuki,

oh then its very expensive... DIY your hotel from www.asiarooms... as for CX, i aint too sure if you can buy online.... u gotta double check.... why not take jetstar? no frills.. not bad..

zuki

hi there...asiarooms for 4 nights kowloon hotel is $928...jetstar quoted $279 @exclude tax , the safe isn"t that much huh??? anyone can advise?

hi zuki,

when u diy the room bookings, you are paying per room per nite..

when you pay to travel agencies, you are paying per person... so you will save some in the room charges if you DIY... unless you come across an exceptionally good package...

travel agencies are middle parties that need to receive in cut so they will charge a little more....

hongkong is a place that you can go diy booking and travel on your own and you will not be lost one... so the extra savings can be used to convert to HKD for your shopping

zuki

OIC...minssy..another thing tat i need to know, if we book seperatly the ticket and hotel ourself, when we reach HK and need to transfer to Hotel, do u guys usually take a cab? or MTR? $?

hi zuki,

the airport express is one way but its more ex.. u can take the MTR from airport to tsing yi station, then just hop over to take to mongkok/tst... remember to buy the round trip ticket for to & fro airport MTR rides cos its more convenient & cheaper...

the webbie that qris lynn posted has details there... very easy one...