Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

jeanneloi

hi minssy,

Nathan is fully booked for Standard Rm thru AsiaRoom. How abt Wesley Hotel @ Wan Chai? Any good review? Or how about Chung Hing hotel @ Jordan?

hi jeanne,

sorry, not familiar with these 2 hotels.. guess if you want something near MTR, u can't be choosy already...

hi pauline,

both are in the same building.. its near TST MTR but like i say, you need to walk..... morning traffic is bad cos there are sooo many pple going to walk etc so even if you wanna walk fast, you can't be

little_a

Hi, going to HK for the first time. wish to find out how long is the journey on citybus 629 to Ocean Park from Admiralty mtr?
Seems like lowland and headland are separated by ocean? am i right? anyone been to middle kingdom?

mr__mrs_ng

Ocean Park (海洋公园)
 MTR cost from Jordan to Admiralty is HK$7.90 and takes about 10 minutes.
 Opens from 10am to 6pm
 Take City bus 629 from Admiralty MTR (Exit B). Outside Lippo Centre and opposite Far East Finance Centre. Bus fare: HK$10.60 ~ S$2.50 (first bus at 9am and last bus at 4pm). Takes about 15 to 20 minutes.

I also 1st time going HK. I did my own research and this is what I got. Not sure how accurate is it but at least for your reference.

lawhouse

hi Rachael, i'm going HK this Sat. Have decided to take a cab from Airport to Ashley Apt. I will try to negotiate the cab fare for HKD200 yea. :D

rachkev

hi KG,

so sorry! hv not been comin here for quite awhile...

you're flying off tmr! hope u can get to see this msg...jus spoken to my fren...is very difficult to negotiate the fare at a flat rate on e spot...they would definitely wana on e meter and it would cost anything hkd300 or so.

my fren would try to give me e contact no. later ^^

lawhouse

Hi Rachel, sorry typed your name wrongly. Btw, is yr fren checking the cabby's contact no? Thanks a lot. I will check this column again later.

rachkev

Hi KG,

sorry for the late reply. jus got hm.

yup the no. is +852 6754 1100. Do u know how to speak cantonese? before you board the plane, just give him a call...check with him the price. give him an estimated time to pick you and ask him where to wait and also cab no.

alternative way is to take e airport express(train) to kowloon station...from there, transfer into a cab which costs roughly abt sg7. it's not e normal mrt so u definitely hv seats and space to place ur luggages. take a look at the link, it explains

http://www.hongkongairport.com/eng/aguide/airportex.html

btw, is better for you to print out a copy of ashley's add in chinese as it's not located on the main road...some of e cabby might not know the english name...

rachkev

KG,

my fren told me that the xmas lightings and decors are up...very nice! yeah

rem to get the famous krispy kreme doughnuts. was there e wk b4 and they had e halloween doughnuts...so cute! bought some for my colleagues and all snatched up within mins. unlike here, u don hv to q to buy doughnuts...haha! available in e airport.

oh yah...rem to bring some thicker clothings for ur kids. although it's cooling in hk now, e weather is quite unpredictable, e temp might drop suddenly to 18 or 19 sometimes. and it can get cold in e nite especially when there's wind.

hope u & ur family hv a wonderful & magical time in hk ya! :)

i will still be hanging ard...anything u can still check wif me...^^

lawhouse

Hi Rachel,

Many thanks for all the valuable info. Oh no...my cantonese is piece by piece. Hope he can understand a bit of mandarin.

Krispy kreme doughnuts...sounds good....will give a try :D

Once again...would like to thank you a million.

Cheers...

jaybaokong

hi rachel,

discovered that you are a guru for hk.. can i check where can i get nice boots in hk? staying around mongkok / jordan area..

sereneli

Will be going Hong Kong in Jan 2008 with my mum and her 2 sisters. We will be staying at Prudential. But I have absolutely no idea of where to shop in Hong Kong as the last time I was there, I was still a toddler! keke Any good suggestions?

fusup

Hi Rachel,

So you are the online local HK guide ya..

I am bringing my 6mths old bb to HK this early dec. Is is advisable? My baby very stick to me so cannot leave her in Singapore.

Also, what hotel u recommend?

dazednconfused

I believe the Prudential Hotel is in the heart of all the shopping along Nathan Rd. Hong Kong is a dynamic city. If you enjoy the urban lifestyle, you'll love Hong Kong.

lawhouse

Hi Rachael,

I'm just back from HK last evening. The weather is SUPER GOOD there...ard 24 deg C.

Would like to thank you for the apt recommendation. Ashley Apartment is really a GOOD GOOD choice. It is very clean & modern. The Superior room is very spacious too. Location is great too. Within walking distance to all the nearby shoppings & eateries.

The receptionist "Joey" is very friendly too. She recommended us where to eat, shop & sight-seeing.

For breakfast, she recommended us to Tao Heung Super 88 (稻香超级渔港)@ The Silvercord - Canton Rd (8 mins walk from apt) for dim sum. For 2nd day, she recommended us to 澳门茶é¤åŽ…for their famous Pork Chop burger breakfast set. It is located at Lock Rd which is 2 streets away from Ashley apt.

For dinner, we had roasted duck around the corner of the apt - Hing Fat (å…´å‘茶é¤åŽ…). They served good food here.

We will definitely stay again in Ashely Apt for our next trip.

Thanks again.

lawhouse

Rachel,

We took Airport Express to Kowloon Station (HK$220 for 4 person) and then transfer into cab to Ashley Apt. It costs HK$42. It is very convenient.

Once again...thank you for all yr valuable info.

My kids enjoyed the last 2 days of the trip at HK Disneyland Park too. We stayed in Disneyland Hotel. A very nice & comfy hotel...where kids enjoyed breakfast together with the Disney Characters (Mickey & Minnie, Donald & Daisy Duck, etc).

hi serene,

prudential is just above jordon mtr.. excellent location.. but hotel is not that new, but definitely decent to stay in..

sereneli

Hi Minssy,
Not new nevermind, as long as decent to stay in

Btw, what are the shopping centres that's worth going? I want to find those factory outlets for adiddas and espirt etc

dazednconfused

Serene,
From what I understand, Prudential is centrally located. With shops surrounding it. I believe you won't be disappointed.
Enjoy your time in HK!

hi serene,

sorry for the late reply..

esprit outlet is at TST.. just find your way to hankow road..
G/F, level 1, Kai Seng Commercial Centre, 4-6 Hankow Road

as for adidas... u can go to city gate shopping centre.. its at Tung Chung MTR (near airport)..
they have international brands... they offer discounted prices but do not expect dirt cheap prices. u can also take a train from kowloon.. should be about 30 mins or so....

hi serene,

welcome. the espirt at hankow is very big.. sure shop till u drop.. also, if you are going during the winter season (nov to feb or so), then esprit will be 1 of the quite rare places that you can get non-long sleeve clothes..

sereneli

Hi LiLi05,
Thanks for the info. I will check it out too keke

Hi Minssy,
Heehee I will be there in Jan 08, so I guess that's the only place I can find "summer" clothes :0

hi serene,

oh still cold... do wear appropriate wear if you are afraid of cold..

another place to check out will be H & M at Hong Kong Island, near Central MRT... hottest place in town.... they should have all season clothes also..

sereneli

Hi minssy,

Yeap, me not really scared of cold, but my mum is. Wonder if long sleeves + jacket is sufficient for her.

H&M sounds familliar. Thanks for the recommendation.

hi serene,

i see i see.. H & M is a swedish brand so they carry plus sizes... no worries lah.. sure can find something one

rachkev

hey KG,

welcome back!!! glad tat u've spent a wonderful time in hk & hv enjoyed ur stay in ashley!!

haha ashley is really a good choice hor! and of cos plus nice weather & disney!!! yeah!!! ^^

rachkev

hey hey jaybao,

boots are everywhere!! u would definitely not miss them!! of cos mongkok area is cheaper! but in terms of quality & designs, i prefer those fr tst & causebay! but these 2 areas are more exp. prob abt at least sgd60 a pair as it's not e sales season now. the trend for this winter is ankle boots! enjoy ur shopping! ^^

rachkev

hi redrain,

it's cold in dec! and weather is quite unpredictable nowadays! can be quite alrite one moment and a drastic change e next! like it was ard 22 in hk yesterday, but it drops to 17 today!

for hotel, i would definitely recommend ashley! my fav haha!!! u can look at KG's comments above!! its really e best choice out of e 11 hotels i've stayed b4! ^^

rachkev

hey serene,

h&m is really a must! nice clothes at reasonable prices! u can find really nice working wears which are suitable for here & of cos winter wears now! don miss it!

there are total 4 outlets in hk:
1) argyle st, mongkok
2) queen's road, central
3) directly above mrt - kowloon station, inside a new classy shopping mall
4) festival walk (shopping mall), kowloon tong mrt

enjoy ur shopping!! ^^

wanone78

Hi Rachel/KG,

Just to check with you, how do you book Ashley? thru which website, can recommend?

Which type of room is more suitable for family? (5 adults)

rachkev

hey wan,

u can book thru asia-travel or direct.

http://www.asiatravel.com/kowloon.html

for asia travel, think their rates are only up to end 31 jan 08. rates thereafter are not up yet.

u can take e 2 bedrms apt wif an extra beds (for this, u've to book direct as 2 bedrms is not available thru online agents) or

u can take 2 standard (or superior) rms wif an extra bed...

maybe u can send an enquiry email to ruby. ^^

lawhouse

Hi Rachel,

Ya...Ashley is a good choice!
My friends look at the apt photos that i have taken, and the first comments from them is : 是美的咯ï¼

There is a mega mall near the apt in construction now. Will be ready by next year if i'm not wrong. Wow...will be visiting again next year.

rachkev

hey KG,

yeah! really lor!!! is 10x better than shamrock or stanford but cheaper ya!!!

hey, i've nv taken any photos of e rms...can u send to me. cos everytime ppl ask for e photos, i ask them to check out e website instead. but they didnt update e photos in their web le...all old ones.

yeah me will be going during xmas!!! cant wait!!! :)

btw, my email is [email protected]

thanks ya!!!