Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

lili05

I wonder now isn't there's some changes on the tips to the tour guide in HK? Previously when I go HK if not joining the 1/2Day tour, I do not need to pay the tips to the driver & the tour guide who came to fetch us. But now recently when I booked my HK trip, the agency told us that we hv to pay them the tips even thought we are not going! Isn't that they change the rules or I'm unlucky to get this agency who wants us to pay tips? I thought hotel tsf is included in our packaging so it's fair to fetch us!

mr__mrs_ng

Hi... I planned to go HK in mid Dec. Booked Jetstar & Hostel (at Mongkok). A few things to check with anyone of you.

1) Temple street is near Jordan or Yau Mah Tei MTR?
2) The Giant Buddha from Tung Ching how to go? It is very long journey?
3) Is there any entrance fee for the Giant Budhha?
4) Any nice Dim Sum around Mong Kok or other area in HK?

kwc

book direct with Langham Place, apparently if booked with hotel agents they may not confirm if their rates are cheaper than the hotel itself cos there is a booking guarantee that if you find others are cheaper you can claim refund. i booked mine direct for Xmas period HK$1,422++ for executive room 310 sf which is slightly bigger than the deluxe room. email to the hotel direct to get better rate than from the website.

i beg to differ but langham's webbie does not provide the best rates.. one should source from various websites as price differs at different times of the year..

kwc

rates are different from website if email to them to get a quote, nothing to lose. did alot of homework comparing prices with many hotel agents. took me months sourcing for the best location, most convenient, best room size and money's worth on other hotels plus reading loads of hotel reviews on each individual hotel. there were lots of pros and cons when comparing them until we decided to go for langham place altho it is very pricey but based on quality. everywhere in the region including S'pore, good hotels are in the region of S$300 per night. there is one small boutique hotel in S'pore recently opened goes for S$395 per night. maybe book through travel agents for the free and easy to get cheaper rates but not flexible if need to cancel last minute. booking through hotel agents, most have to pay upfront by credit card and no cancellation allowed depending on each terms and conditions.

thomsonbride

Just returned from hk on 17 Sep. Stayed in Langham Place Hotel (Mongkok). Fantastic hotel! How I wished I could stay there longer... haha. Booked thru agency at $1280 per pax for 6D5N via Cathay.

Bought a pair of birkenstock there @ about S$70. Friends told me is cheap!

ostrich

I will be staying at Harbour Plaza Metropolis. If I do not want to take the Hotel feeder to TST MTR station, any idea how far do I have to walk there ?

ostrich

Hi Minssy,
Thanks for the feedback. I am planning a 1 day trip to Macau, anything there intersting to visit on ?

Hi Thomson Bride,
Where did you buy your birkenstock shoes ? $70 per pair is a very good price to get one. Singapore selling at least $120.

mr__mrs_ng

Hi... anyone can advise me on the following?

1) Temple street is near Jordan or Yau Mah Tei MTR?
2) The Giant Buddha from Tung Ching how to go? It is very long journey?
3) Is there any entrance fee for the Giant Budhha?
4) Any nice Dim Sum around Mong Kok or other area in HK?

hi ostrich,

go to the macau town where 'da san ba' is.. its called Rua de Sao Paulo.. area there is senate sqaure with shops and nice floor.. literally..
and if your trip is only 1 day, i doubt you can visit the casinos unless u take a night ferry back to hong kong...

hi pauline,

1) its between the 2 stops.. either way will lead u there...

2) giant buddha is in lantau and u gotta go to tung chung, not tung ching. then gotta take bus 23 which i understand its a long journey...

3) not sure abt entrance fee but food there aint too cheap..

4) dim sum: can go to shamrock resturant at jordon mtr. cheap and nice..

babywong

hi pauline,

suggest that u dun go to lei yun mun for seafood. Its real pricy and they know that u are not local so they normally "chopped" u.

mr__mrs_ng

hi babe

thanks for the advise. i shall remove it from my plan. =)

do you have any suggestion of where to go? I am planning to go disneyland + ocean park.. going there for 5D4N.

emcee

Hi minssy n pauline

1)got a feeling that jordan mtr is nearer to temple st.

2)Bus 23 will take u abt 45 mins or so to reach giant buddha

3)giant buddha no need to pay if u are walking up the stairs only... if u wanna go in then u need to pay ... can't remember how much but included a lunch ...

4) yes i agree!! shamrock is nice and cheap

mr__mrs_ng

Hi Emcee

Is Shamrock a hotel with a dim sum resturant inside or is it just a resturant by itself?

Is it walking distance from Jordan MTR?

emcee

Shamrock is a hotel and the dim sum restuarant is just beside the entrance to the hotel.

yes ... very near to jordan mtr ... if i remember correctly there is an entrance to MTR 30m onli

thomsonbride

Hi Ostrich,

Sorry for late reply.

I bought it in TST area. But can't really remember which shopping centre. But guess it's all ard this price in HK.

Do you buy shoes from HK? How do u find the shoes there?

traveller17

I am so glad to come into this site.
I am travelling to HK end year - and this is my first time there - it will be great if you can share with me any itinerary? I will be there for 6 days.
Many thanks

hi traveller,

actually there is no fixed itinerary... u have to read to get more information first to see if you would like to go to those places.. basically hong kong is a shopping paradise so everywhere is shopping..

other than that, u can go to the peak, stanley market, soho area (all in hong kong island).

u can also go to macau if you are free...

traveller17

thanks Minssy! i actually planned to go to Macau - and perhaps stay one night there - since there is the recent buzz on Venetian Macau etc.. but that means i need to stay 2-3 days in hongkong - go Macau for 1 day - then back to HK for another 2-3 days - a little disruptive u think? i also intend to go Ocean Park and Disneyland - so 1 day each? or perhaps 0.5 days each - and then the rest will be SHOP SHOP SHOP.
time suddenly seems so tight!!

hi traveller,

okie lah.. but will u be paying for an additional nite of hotel in hk? try to take the first ferry out yah... and buy your tickets in advance...

yes i day each.. nite time can go shopping in the malls...

traveller17

Likely not - so i am intending to book my hotel for my 1st 3nites and then check out - stay at macau - then come back to hongkong and check in to another hotel.
do you know Harbor plaza Hong Hum? seems not bad leh..

hi traveller,

sorry i am not familar with hong hum but if you are expecting to go over to hong kong island alot, then u can consider staying in TST area....

hi lattefan,

its a different feel compared to hong kong.. they have a bazaar there that sells lotsa stuff and lovely makan restaurants.. to me, its cool spending 1/2 day there..

traveller17

thanks Minssy! you have been very helpful!
For Macau - do you know if we can book tickets online?
and any comments on Langham place Hotel? Thanks muchie!

kng

Hi LatteFan, well i been to stanley market are like our Holland road..they do sells lots of handcraft and picture. If you ever take bus there,dont sit on the upper deck as i almost throw out when they keep turning round and looking out of the window does scare me

hi traveller,

welcome..

i dun think u can book boat tickets online. just buy on the day u reach hong kong when you pass by TST area.. u know which building u should go and buy rite? u can buy in advance.. for return tickets, you can buy from macau only. so you need to buy the return tickets the moment you reach macau....

langham place is EXCELLENT! its very pricy but super worth the price cos its very luxurious! everything there is nice.. the room, the bed, the tv, the phone, the bar counter, coffee machine, air con, bathroom etc etc.. perfecto!

xuer

hi traveller

you can book the ferry tickets to Macau at the following weblink:

http://www.turbojet.com.hk/index.htm

I bought mine online when I went to Macau from HK in Apr this year. Good to book online before you go. Recommend to buy the return tickets first as the night ferries (between 8pm-12mn) are usually quite full.

One of my gal friend shared her experience for not buying the return tickets. Her friends & herself were left stranded at Macau Ferry Terminal. She told me she was 'lucky' to get the 2am ferry tickets back to HK that day. She bought the tickets from people selling 'huang you piao' at the ferry terminal. she regretted for not taking my advise. ;p

hope this helps. cheers.

jeanneloi

I'm gg to HK which is near to X'mas. Can anyone recommend a cheap good hotel? Think the hotel price will rise lot coz its near holiday season.

jeanneloi

hi minssy,

maybe 3 star hotels will be ok...but hoping to get one which is near the MTR.
what do u think of Largos Hotel which is located at Yau Ma Tei? Or is there any better recommendations at Tsim Sha Tsui?

hi jeanne,

BP is great.. alot of singaporeans go there.. BUT i may not think its around $150 budget during christmas... another recommended hotel is kimberly... also another favourite decent hotels..

jeanneloi

hi minssy,

ya... during xmas season, the hotel price will rise at least $180 & above unless got promotion. o/w good budget ones r usually fully booked.
Been tryin to search for good budget hotels at $150 & muz located near mtr (hoping to get tsim sha tsui/jordan/hk island area). But quite hard to find leh. Btw i heard bad reviews abt YMCA hotel. wat do u think?

hi Jeanne,

hard lah... where got good and cheap and its christmas and near MTR? even if have its lok kok and you wanna have a better sense of security rite?

YMCA (if its the one near the star ferry) is fine.. a friend was there before.. ok leh

dazednconfused

I just managed to confirm my 4-night stay in Kowloon at the Kimberley Hotel. Going in Dec. Booked through www.hoteltravel.com
Only waited 2 hrs for my confirmation, which is the shortest wait-time for a hotel confirmation I've ever experienced! I've never stayed at the Kimberley Hotel before. I hope it is decent. Any reviews? Comments?

hi jeanne,

normally cheaper by internet booking but since different webbies provide different rates, you gotta surf your own to find out more.. there is no specific webbie that provides the lowest rate.. so really depends then and there when u book.. however, asiarooms is reliable and gives u a guide on the price...

hi ls,

kimberly is fine.. a tad walking distance but still fine..

jeanneloi

hi minssy,

asiaroom seem to give higher rate if there's no promotion. i tot of trying out BP int'l... hope tat the hotel rm rate is not pricey during xmas season & not fully booked. oh... btw anyone tried out ibis north point?

mr__mrs_ng

hi minssy

i got to know from my fren that there are two different ferry going to macau. which is better? both cannot buy 2 way tickets?

pauline

jeanneloi

hi minssy,

had reserved Nathan Hotel thru Asiarooms. Got good promotion rate. BP Int'l is quite ex for me. Anyway hope tat Nathan standard rms r not fully booked yet. At least it'll be nearer to Tsim Sha Tsui. O/w the nx choice will be YMCA Int'l liao. By the way, will there be higher chance of getting rm?

hi pauline,

i dun think can buy 2 way tickets but the last time i did my research, i could only buy 1 way.. thats the reason why its encouraged to buy the return tickets the moment u touch down in macau.

http://www.nwff.com.hk/english/schedule/route.asp?Origin=CF&Dest=M&From=25&line=macau

http://www.turbojet.com.hk/

both goes to macau.. the first is the more popular one... maybe bcos they have more boats and that its slightly cheaper?

remember to check in at least 30 mins before departure time... give at least 10 - 15 mins to walk from TST MTR to the ferry terminal..

hi jeanne,

oh that hotel should be fine too.. my hong kong friend did recommend that hotel to me before...