Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

bb_queen

Does anyone know how to get to Ashley from the airport? Is Ashley near to MTR? Estimate distance like from Wisma to Takashimaya?

rachkev

hi bb queen,

usually i take airport express to kowloon then cab to ashley. is abt sgd7 for e cab. but if we hv 3 or 4, we would call for a van which sends us direct to ashley.

is abt 5 mins walk to mtr depending on which way u take...tink e shortest is e road along hmv...

along ashley, there are some pubs and restaurants. if u turn to e left & cross e underpass, u will get to harbourcity. if u turn to e rite and cut across a building, u will get to e other side of tst, forgot wat's e road name, where there are lots of shopping malls & shops. e whole of tst is a shopping area anyway...some no worries lah...there's a small 'take-away' 24 hrs eatery...jus rite e corner of ashley...usually when i'm hungry in e middle of nite, i will get food fr there...e food not bad ya... hee^^

rachkev

hi ger,

it all depends on how much to you is considered exp. stuff in tst is indeed more exp than in mongkok area...but compared to causeway or central areas, is cheaper lor...

anyway, u cant be only shopping in tst areas, rite...u will also venture to other areas...u can compare e prices, qualities etc then...

wyy

Hello...
I just back from HK....

My stay in Shamrock was not a bad choice and the room was cosy though small.

Really enjoyed my stay in HK esp the eating part.

Will be sharing some pic once i have reduced the image size

wyy

here are some pic from Macau.

496211.jpg

This shop sell super good egg tart

Just next to it, the following shop:
496212.jpg

496213.jpg

Lei Shen is always pack with people. They serve nice ice milk tea and pork burger.
496214.jpg

This is the Steam milk i ate at the Central of Macau....Super Nice!!
496215.jpg

rachkev

hey yy,

welcome back!!!!

u must had enjoyed urself very much ya!!! haha...

so did u bump into soler at macau or any suai ge in hk? :p

wyy

hi rachel,

heard from my guide that the Macauese onli active at night so i dun see much of the local since i am there in the day. All ppl around me was HKer, China, and other tourist from other countries.

Was a bit sad though BUT i did saw a TVB star in the MTR when i in HK. i dun noe his name but can often see him in TVB drama. Not very famous but he is tall,handsome and nice build lor.

In Macau, i got a tour guide for HKD600. She drove a car only for the three of us. She brought us to places and also intro to us the location we visited. Maybe the price is a bit high BUT i feel is good to have her around as now i know I have completed Macau.

snowysun

Hi Rachel, for the wholesale market in Cheung Sha Wan in Sham Shui Po do they require one to buy 3 pieces of the same clothing before they give wholesale prices? I heard that the wholesale style is diff fr Bkk, as they allow u to buy 3 different pcs of diff style in order to get wholesale price. I am still contemplating to go Hkg or Taiwan in Sept leh. If gtg Hkg, would fly to Macau,stay 1 nite there, take ferry to Hkg stay another 3 nites before returning to Macau to stay another 1 nite there before returning to Sg.

thomsonbride

Hi minssy,

Thanks for your reply!

I have booked my tour and will be staying in Lagham Place Hotel.

You stayed there before? How's the room size?

hi thomson,

yeah stayed there in my recent 2 trips cos i simply loved it!

the room size is decent.. even the most basic room is lovely.. just a slightly smaller washroom and smaller tv.. .everything is GREAT!

lingling2

Thomson Bride,

I have booked my package too...Will be staying at Majectic hotel...But won't be taking Cathay, will be taking United Airlines instead...

Minssy,
Hv u stayed in Majectic before?how u find it?Cos 3 of us wioll be sharing a room so wan to know whether it will be cramp...

lingling2

Thoson Bride,
I paid $925 lor...Yup, thr SA..

Flight is 6.45am there...So reaching hkg at abt 10am...good lor, can start shopping early =)...

Can you take some photos of Langham Place Hotel cos maybe next trip we might consider going there...hee

All,
Anyone knows where to find wholesales shops and factory outlets?

hi ger2,

nope i have never stayed in majestic hotel before. sorry.. but should be all right lah..

hi thomson bride,

yes you will definitely enjoy your stay.. do take some time to check out their spa & swimming pool area.. its very nice..

thomsonbride

Hi ger2,

How long will you be staying in hk?

One thing good about UA is that the flight is early so you can start shopping early.

Sure... I'll take pics of the hotel.

Can you take pics of Majestic Hotel too? :p

Hi minssy,

Spa? How is it like?

lingling2

Thomson Bride,
Will be staying at Majectic for 6N, then will proceed to Disneyland =).

Ya lor, since it has discount and the journey is no ttoo long, we decided to forgo cathay and take UA...hee

Tks ger...I will take pic of Majestic Hotel too...

Minssy,
Its okie tks...

Do u know where in HKG we can find wholesale places and factory outlets?

thomsonbride

ger2,

No prob! Thanks to you too!

Do enjoy your trip!!!

Let's catch up here after our trip.

Hi minssy,

Thanks for the info! I'll take a look!

bucherer

Hi ger2,

does your SA F&E package $925 include airport tax ??
does the package includes any half day tours etc ?

lingling2

Thomson Bride,
Tks ger...Enjoy your trip too =)...

Bucherer,
Yup, included airport tax liao =)...

It does include half day tours but din want cos we hv been to one already =)...When u going HKG?

bucherer

ger2,
I intending to go on 11 to 16 Sept.
SA quoting $908 by UA staying at Majestic. Yours seem much cheaper. When did u book the tour, got discount?

lingling2

Baucherer,
Oic...Meaning u going one day b4 me...hmm...I only know the SA staff told me that after 16th, the hotels in teh city are more ex...

I booked on 5th Aug...I was entitled $30 disount for per room cos I had the DBS credit card. However, tink the promotion for DBS card ended on 5th Aug liao...

But the $908 they quoted should have include the airport tax liao hor?

wyy

oooo Bucherer,

You are gg the same period as my MIL wor....just that she will be staying at YMCA...heehee

Aiyah ppl.....reading all posting make me miss HK leh.....sobsob......

rachkev

hi kg,

you can take e airport transfer and alight at kowloon station...take a cab to ashley from there...

or if you hv 3 or 4 person, jus take a cab straight to ashley...cheaper...

minty_mic

Pls help to advise on hotel offered by travel agent:
Dorsett Seaview or Mayfield Garden

I hear Metropark Mongkok is not bad too for travelers on budget. Pls comment, I would check with my agent too..

My package include tour to ShenZhen, Luo Wu shopping mall, what can I buy from there?

How much should HKG/RMB should I exchange for 4D3N?

Need all yr comments as it is my first trip to HKG!

yc_mw

Hi minty,

I can't comment on ur Htls as I've not stayed in em all.

Anyway, for Shen Zhen, I'd advise u not to shop at Luo Hu SC. It's more expensive than elsewhere. If u've the time, pls take their Metro to Lao Jie (only 2 stations away), then proceed to shop at Dong Men. I bought shoes ranging from RMB 20- RMB 60 there (design of shoes r like pretty fit, substance or charles & kieth). Hmm, coz i went to their Wholesale Ctr, I spent about $2k RMB (About S$400) there. It really depends on wat u hope to find there. For me, I bought about 15 pairs of bottoms there (mainly shorts), which if u buy in S'pore, it'll cost me btw $25-$40. I only spent bout $8-$10 per pc. I bought lots of Accessories there (Eg. Earrings, fashion sunglasses, belts, shoes).

For me, I spent a total of 8D 7N in Hk, SZ & Macau. Just for food along, I've spent about S$400 (HKD $2K). I changed a total of S$1.7K, then signed (about $500, including my purchases for contact lenses) for some of my purchases.

Oh ya, their contact lens are CHEAP. Eg: Acuvue Daily Moist selling for S$55 (RPP), but, in HK, with their Promo, I only spent S$36 per box(Promo is buy 6 get 1 box free)

Hope my info helps.

minty_mic

Piglet

Thanks for your inform.

I decided to stay at Mayfair after friend's opinion who had been there.

I dont think have the chance to go Dong Men as it is only 1 hr shopping at Lo Wu.

Thanks, I will keep a lookout for contact promo.

yc_mw

Hi Minty,

U're most welcome! Anyway, for contacts, tink the most value for money is at Optical 88, coz watever amt u purchase they still give u a 10% discount voucher. Means i got 6 boxes + 1 box, then I used the 10% discount on the 8th box. I dunno if this is a ongoing promo, hope when u're there,this discount is still on.

Juz an additional info, if u're keen on their Dim Sum, a MUST ve is at Silvercord SC (Opp Harbour City), 3rd level, Tao Heung. I tink their Dim Sum is super value for money. 1 thing to note is to go before 11am, or after 2pm, tat's when prices are lower. If u go during Peak Hours, then prices are quite comparable to S'pore. Eg, me & my frens ate the same stuff for 2 days, and the one tat we paid for after 2pm is only bout HKD 170, but, when we were there the next day at 12pm+, we paid HKD284 for the same stuff.

Since u've limited time there, tink u might consider dun go Shen Zhen, coz Luo Hu's prices are comparable to HK, and the travelling time + clear custom time is about 1.5 hours.. Whereas u only ve 1 hour to shop.. Might as well spent the time in HK.

Remember to go to Arglye Ctr. Lots of finds there..

If u've the time, I'd recommend tat u take the MTR to Kwai Fong, there's a New & Old SC. Go to the Old SC, lots of finds there too, and prices are about 10HKD cheaper than in town.

Anyway, the above are only my humble opinion, hope u'll enjoy ur trip there. If need more info, can pm me ba. I dun wanna bore the rest with my stories.

kwc

Langham Place is the best hotel we have stayed so far in our many years of travelling. best location and convenient, opposite to Ladies Market, Mongkok MTR station, hundreds of shops within the same building, many small eateries. rooms are small and very classy esp the bathroom, huge plasma TV, nice beds, fantastic view. choose hotels must feel shiok when you enter, hate to stay in hotels that look gloomy, old and dark. you never go wrong with this hotel better than any other luxurious hotels in TST or HK island for the price. I have stayed there 2 years ago and we are going again this coming X'mas/Dec school holidays staying 5 nights and hop over to Venetian Macau for 2 nights. if you wish to read more reviews about this hotel, go to tripadvisor website, ranked as No. 1 hotel among 146 hotels in HongKong :
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d305813-r8469518-Langham_Place_Hotel_Hong_Kong-Hong_Kong.html

lawhouse

Hi Rachel, thanks for the info. There will be 4 of us (me + wife + 2 kids). How much will the cab fare from Airport to Ashley?

rachkev

hi kg,

feel free! ^^

usually my fren would call a cab for us and negotiate a flat rate of hkd200. so there if there are 4 of us, each only pays abt hkd50 and takes us to e doorstep of ashley. cheap!

lawhouse

Hi Rachel, thanks again for your advice. Am i right to say that i can also get any cab from the airport and negotiate for a flat rate of hkd200 too?

ketoh83

Hi I be going Hk next wk and i heard the birkenstock and Polo is very cheap can any1 advice where i can get them?